3ne2nr fishermen

jramsarran

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby jramsarran » June 2nd, 2011, 9:17 am

TURBOT wrote:by patos have banks 80-100 feet, also heard of a 60 foot shelf, never been there yet.
the grouper was 254 lbs, josh L shot it

yea yea....dats wat i meant!!....
that grouper looks around 254lbs

80-100ft aint bad...but i doh like banking in deep water...imagine yuh pulling 200ft ah line to see a damn grunt on d hook....
at depth...it better be big fish or nothing....lol

Postby Razkal » June 2nd, 2011, 9:52 am

^amen brudda :lol:

i like it somewhat though...deep water banking that is.

i've made some rigs that work for me in 150ft plus...circle hooks are a must imo, anything grabbing my bait better be coming up atleast for a look :lol: ....fishing with 5/0 and 6/0 circles kinda eliminates the grunt problem...if you hook one, use it as live bait for a big snapper or grouper.

i always send two 'big rigs' down when fishing deep, and use lots of chum. sending a chum bag down about 20 feet works like magic too....a hefty ziploc, scrap bait cuttings, a sinker and a length of mono is more than enough to stink up the place.

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » June 2nd, 2011, 10:10 am

By patos i mean like approximately 1 mile away have to verify it on GPS we use patos as a marker the depth out there can vary quite a bit the 60ft banks are prob the sholes (Reef) in the Grand nice shark and reds out there. The banks we fish out there dont have grunt thank god only in between some small salmon aka Gunners once them F*#@%^ Shrimp trollers eah come down the fishin does be fantastic out there from now till September.

Postby SUPAstarr » June 2nd, 2011, 10:23 am

for those fishing this weekend like myself, keep an eye on the weather, tropical wave expected to reach by this weekend

bumpie

Postby bumpie » June 2nd, 2011, 1:16 pm

i heard d best time to fish is around new moon.tell meh nah.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 2nd, 2011, 4:21 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:for those fishing this weekend like myself, keep an eye on the weather, tropical wave expected to reach by this weekend

My uncle them went fishing on the Holiday....Monday...
Bad Weather.....the boat sink....

all they come back with is their life!....and they had 2 children on board....

lucky thing there was another boat close that saw what was happening and rescued them.

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » June 2nd, 2011, 10:28 pm

if you want fish head up north to paria bay, wahooo and kingfish....sum cavali 2

need to get braided line 100lb any one knows who sell dem locally....?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 2nd, 2011, 11:00 pm

most fishing stores sell braid now...i heading up saturday to get sum for my new penn and finally get to test out sum jigging...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 3rd, 2011, 12:39 am

hey dudes!! i know i keep promising to post pics so here's a few

coupla weeks ago me and some bros went here:

1st stop.jpg

got no play on the rising tide.......decided to peel out cause rain was threatening....made a couple small stops and ended up here:

last stop.jpg

by that time tide was falling, but still got some nice bites. anyhow this was my gear -

this reel:
fin nor fs80.jpg
fin nor fs80.jpg (72.69 KiB) Viewed 2159 times

on this 9 ft rod:
penn power stick.png

and this reel:
penn fierce.gif

on this 10 ft rod:
penn torque.png

both reels were spooled with this:
power pro 50 lb.jpg
power pro 50 lb.jpg (14.51 KiB) Viewed 2159 times

50 lb his vis yellow on the fin nor 80 and 40 lb red on the fierce.

the rig used was a basic carolina rig.....2 oz egg sinker on the main line, tied to small swivel and then attached to about 3 ft of 25 lb seaguar clear fluoro leader and a small circle hook (eagle claw 3/0) on one line and 2/0 J hook on the other.

we had a variety of bait....ballyhoo, flying fish, shrimp, squid.....but the clear winner was de all time favourite.....bonito chunks

anyhow all in all we held quite a few small fish....but we also held these...
catch.jpg

they resting on the tailgate of meh pick up dere....i cyah tell yuh how excited / relieved we were to finally hold something substantial after a day in de sun / rain trying all kinda ting.

anyhow next mission might be a run to the table.....i out right now but will be back last week of june......who up for it??

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 3rd, 2011, 12:45 am

ohho i know ryan was asking bout the penn battle reel....this was the firsttime i used the firece and i was impressed....for a "budget" reel it held out pretty good. Reel itself was pretty smoothe....drag held nicely and seemed to be of good quality overall. did meh normal service and clean up / oiling before i left home. time will tell if it will hold out as long as the more expensive stuff....buh for now it wukking!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 3rd, 2011, 9:57 am

Smeed, yuh already answer meh question...lol...anyhow, wen yuh ready to head on d table let me no nah, we guh make ah spin...i suppose to check out d scene there ah lil wile now...u ever went on d table yet?

vedesh

Postby vedesh » June 3rd, 2011, 10:18 am

fellas could you bring a fish gun in a suitcase or do you need some permit to do so??

Sabot

Postby Sabot » June 3rd, 2011, 11:31 am

jramsarran wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:for those fishing this weekend like myself, keep an eye on the weather, tropical wave expected to reach by this weekend

My uncle them went fishing on the Holiday....Monday...
Bad Weather.....the boat sink....

all they come back with is their life!....and they had 2 children on board....

lucky thing there was another boat close that saw what was happening and rescued them.

How exactly that happen pal and where?

Postby Razkal » June 3rd, 2011, 11:58 am

^yeah that would be nice to know....where is important, i've been thru the 1st and 2nd bocas quite recent and although choppy and very very wind blown...wasn't lethal, unless your boat driving skills is lacking or freak wave...

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 3rd, 2011, 12:46 pm

^^^ you won't believe this happened rite in the gulf. not too far from d "turn down boat"
...says there was a mini freak storm...14ft speedboat soo it not high off the water...
monster waves just full d boat in seconds...d waves kept beating then in the water too..the boat dat was rescuing them had to make abt 5 rounds just to get to them.

things like that happens too fast!!.... only when u in the situation you know wat it's like.

gotta respect the sea man!!...
i was in Paria Bay once...dropping off to go by the waterfall...and it just took 2 monster waves to completely full the front half of the boat...<<and the bow was on the wave eh...>>.....so the waves came over the bow...nearly pelt me straight off!!...i was slacking the anchor rope on d bow. was veryy scary!..

had to bail out water with "Pig Tail Bucket"...lol

Postby Razkal » June 3rd, 2011, 1:23 pm

^i know sometimes it gets hairy out there....thats why i was sure it had to be a newbie boatman OR freak wave/storm that dealt with those people...thank god everyone is safe though.

Paria bay has some big swells sometimes, the one time i was there by boat it was way too rough to pull into the bay...ten foot breakers easy...one helluva good surf spot though :lol:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 3rd, 2011, 1:38 pm

^^ surfed there many years ago.. big waves but they were breaking way too close to shore... we broke 3 boards in less than 2 hours.

Postby Razkal » June 3rd, 2011, 2:01 pm

sounds like a vex day at big bay :lol:

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 3rd, 2011, 4:09 pm

vedesh wrote:fellas could you bring a fish gun in a suitcase or do you need some permit to do so??

i saw a youtube vid with someone travelling with all their equipment...
<<gun, fins, mask, snorkel>....everything in 1 big bag.....

but when yuh find out for sure...let us kno aite?!!

todd61

Postby todd61 » June 3rd, 2011, 8:43 pm

fellas how far up north coast the fish is?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » June 5th, 2011, 12:31 pm

went up north yesterday and this is what we managed to pull out.....
the kings not too thick these days apparently and neither is anything else, im getting bored with kings and looking at targeting tuna/dolphin/cobia....anyone catching anything exciting these days? where and how? lemme know....
IMG00287-20110604-1008.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 5th, 2011, 1:22 pm

reeLpACE, yuh does get d odd bigger fish in between but now and then but u doin gd so far...well lewwe organise sumting an we guh try for sum bigger fellaz, wat yuh say?

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 5th, 2011, 2:48 pm

reeLpACE wrote:went up north yesterday and this is what we managed to pull out.....
the kings not too thick these days apparently and neither is anything else, im getting bored with kings and looking at targeting tuna/dolphin/cobia....anyone catching anything exciting these days? where and how? lemme know....

lol hoss...u getting bored with kings??...
i never even catch one before....i have some artificial...but i never really used artificial before...i jus kno banking, spearfishing, nets <fillet and sein>>, cast nets, and catching fish bare band...in d swamp!...lol...ohh....and setting fish pot in ah river...

somebody havta show me d ropes on this trolling thing...

Postby meccalli » June 5th, 2011, 7:16 pm

Guys, anyone of you all have a surf rod you looking to sell, really refraining from buying a new one unless its my last resort.

Postby X_Factor » June 5th, 2011, 8:48 pm

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FI ... 6Z1UXMXS2X

was gonna order one of those for some basic fishing, should cost less than 200TT landed

Postby meccalli » June 5th, 2011, 9:19 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Okuma-Fishing-TU- ... 018&sr=8-2

Initial plan was to get this, but i studying size and how much them nasty aiport ppl go want to charge. thats why i looking for summin used and local first.

Postby X_Factor » June 5th, 2011, 9:45 pm

that rod shouldnt cost more than maybe 350-400
u can bring it via skybox
fishing rods only have 15% VAt on it, no duty
so it doesnt cost much

Postby meccalli » June 5th, 2011, 9:56 pm

ooh ok, that applies to most fishing tackle as well?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » June 6th, 2011, 2:25 pm

ryan99tt wrote:reeLpACE, yuh does get d odd bigger fish in between but now and then but u doin gd so far...well lewwe organise sumting an we guh try for sum bigger fellaz, wat yuh say?

i doh mind.....what you have in mind???

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 6th, 2011, 10:56 pm

reeLpACE, lewwe organise ah trip up d north coast and try for sum big fellaz (wahoo, tuna, sail)...i sponsoring d drinks....