Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » May 24th, 2011, 11:52 pm

ohh na i eh wasting a dime on them

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 25th, 2011, 9:53 am

It’s official, MacBooks are the highest-quality notebooks money can buy. Consumer advocacy group Consumer Reports has awarded the entire lineup of Apple notebooks the highest scores among all contenders, ranking them #1 in nearly every category across the board. For example, Mac notebooks lead the pack in five out of seven spots in the 13-inch category. The paid report, relayed by The Loop, puts the 11- and 13-inch MacBook Air as well as the 15-inch and 17-inch MacBook Pro ahead of other branded machines from first-tier vendors.

Appeal of Apple’s stylish portables is so strong that even HTC’s boss couldn’t resist getting two MacBook Airs for herself and her spouse. Oh, and let’s not forget that Apple-branded notebooks have consistently been a hit with analysts and media, not to mention Google geeks who showed unconditional love for MacBooks at the company’s developer pilgrimage earlier this month (above).

The 11-inch Air ranked #1 with a score of 62/100, ahead of the #1 Gateway (52/100) and HP (49/100).

The 13-inch MacBook Air beat Sony and Asus machines to the notebook punch with a score of 76/100. The 13-inch MacBook Pro took the top five of seven spots with Sony and Asus taking the final two spots.

The 15-inch MacBook Pro ended first with just a three percentage points lead while the 17-inch MacBook Pro led the pack in two categories with the scores of 80 and 81, respectively.

scientist

Postby scientist » May 25th, 2011, 11:10 am

M_2NR wrote:dominica hoss

if its factory unlocked as you say, updating it will not pose any threat... arks duane. ;)

SRASC, tried wa?

Yeah dominica and grenada would be web.digiceloecs.com

Postby M_2NR » May 25th, 2011, 2:15 pm

SRASC,
i wa meh mc $1 back... :|
yuh make meh try d ting and it tek $1 from pops account. Whatsapp actually works ok though on a 2G iPhone. but the battery lost 5% in 2 minutes.

I took it off now though.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 25th, 2011, 4:41 pm

^^ $ 1 ?
HECK

bastards take 5$ we!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 25th, 2011, 4:42 pm

Postby M_2NR » May 25th, 2011, 4:59 pm

Chiney wrote:^^ $ 1 ?
HECK

bastards take 5$ we!

:shock: i woulda cuss if it was 5$

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 2:53 pm

I don't know if you all saw this before:

It's the rumored back plate of the iPhone 4S/5.

But new light in this story... Watch the reflection of the camera hole from the apple logo....

Notice anything. Where is the flash? Hmmm.

They are saying that the new prototype device took a pic of the prototype back lol!!!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 26th, 2011, 3:08 pm

The hole on the right is supposed to be where the flash on the iPhone 4S is supposed to be

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 3:37 pm

yup! and watch the reflection off the backplate as well...

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 26th, 2011, 4:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:farva, I dunno, but you are the first person I know who complains about the proximity sensor at all.

if there are worldwide complaints, I've never personally had a single instance of it giving trouble or not working properly.

I think its pretty selective. You either have the problem regularly or not at all

I remeber you and a few other ppl here saying that it was never an issue for you guys..
but sometimes I would be on a call and my cheek would be muting and putting people on hold or speakerphone or even hanging up
it really bugged me because I just couldnt go back to the 3gs after experiencing the retina display and the camera.
Its much better now with the iOS 4.2 and up I think

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 8:08 pm

Guys, would you buy a Factory Unlocked iPhone 4 right now? I decided to keep my phones for two cycles but... i dont think i can let this case go...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 26th, 2011, 8:24 pm

With the latest rumors of the iPhone 4S (that's the name I'll go with) coming on next 2 weeks at WWDC after all (though I doubt them personally (& unfortunately)), I'd wait.

------

One of the factors that points to an imminent release of a product is when ads for it are being made. An alleged post on Craigslist regarding a cast call for an "iPhone 5" ad was posted and pulled within two hours, but thankfully still indexed by a few search engines and screen captured by some users. Is a new iPhone imminent?

While the listing does not provide specific information about the product, it asks for a cast of 5 people, both male and female actors of different ethnicities and ages. That’s it, an incredibly standard ad.

The only eye-catching part of this offer is that customers will be paid in British Pounds, even though the ad will allegedly be taped in Los Angeles. That can be explained by the fact the company responsible for the commercial might be based in Britain. About one month ago, a similar ad ran on the New York Times, although the product was only identified as an "iPhone", not an "iPhone 5", but the production company was the well-known British Tiger Effects:

Commercial Casting Notice for Apple iPhone:
    Employer: TIGER PRODUCTIONS
    Duration: 1 DAY, starts MAY 4TH.
    (Non-Union artist contracts)
    Director: H. GOLAN
    ROLE: family oriented happy, male and female
    RATE: $3000 +10%

Of course, this could simply be a plain and simple hoax, considering how rumors have suggested a future iPhone would still be months away and how many are starting to believe there won’t be an iPhone 5 this year, only a smaller upgrade dubbed the "4S". Yet, "iPhone 5" could be a standard designation for a future iPhone device, and not necessarily a big revamp.

Apple is known to hire outside production companies to tape ads shortly before product launches. Last year, there was a cast call for FaceTime and the then-unreleased iPhone 4. A taping so early could point to an announcement around the WWDC time frame, which is set to start on June 6th, although nothing’s certain at this point.

Rumors of a future iPhone have been ongoing for the last few months. Enhancements will likely include a faster processor and an 8-megapixel camera, unlike the current iPhone 4′s 5-megapixel one. Earlier this week, an alleged photo of the a next-generation iPhone’s back plate was released. It looks similar to the one found on the iPhone 4, aside from the positioning of the camera.

Whether there will be an "iPhone 5" or not is up in the air. Vague information on an alleged Craigslist ad will only fill a small piece of the puzzle.

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 10:27 pm

Same here. I promise myself I'd wait but TBH it doesnt matter to me about the new/latest model.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 27th, 2011, 9:50 am

Picturescue is a tiny app that quickly finds any and all images stored in old iTunes backup files, which are made whenever an iPhone or other iOS device is synced with with its "home" computer. The full version of the app is available for $4.99 and allows the user to export some or all of the photos found, while a trial version allows viewing of the images but not export.
Picturescue is an extremely simple app. It's built to do one thing, so it's light and fast, and it does it all automatically. When the app is first run, it immediately scans any iTunes backup files stored on the computer, and sifts through them for any image files. The interface itself looks like a spartan version of iTunes, listing backups by date and displaying images as thumbnails.

The ability to quickly and easily recover images from old iPhone backups is a pretty great thing, considering how often iPhones are lost, stolen, or crushed under car tires. When users get new iPhones, they normally have the option to use a recent backup file to transfer personal data, but there are times when that's not possible (like when an iPhone user decides to buy an Android phone, instead). Since many iPhone owners use their phone as their primary camera, this can result in a pretty high number of images that might forever be lost, so an app as cheap and simple as this could be a life saver in more ways than one.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 27th, 2011, 10:12 am

M_2NR wrote:Guys, would you buy a Factory Unlocked iPhone 4 right now? I decided to keep my phones for two cycles but... i dont think i can let this case go...

I would... Since most new iphones take a couple months to unlock/jailbreak (and even factory unlocoked ones are not released until awhile after)

I plan on holding onto my iphone until a good while after the new one is released, and I'm sure that its a nice, strong stable iOS build

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Not the first typo I've seen on bmobile's website...

------

Nice feature.

------

Oh I keep forgetting to ask, anyone having issues with MMS? I have the settings correct as far as I know, but it keeps failing.

Postby M_2NR » May 27th, 2011, 3:56 pm

I stopped using MMS a while now. $1 for a message >_>

I'm seriously considering the i4 though. Rod i agree! that's sort of what is motivating me. iPad 2 is barely JB'd. Yes we saw one dev with it... but nothing more.
I really need the screen to. :oops:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 27th, 2011, 4:30 pm

A new analysis of mobile applications has found that while paid software in the iPhone App Store routinely finds success, selling software on the Android platform is a much more difficult proposition.

Analytics firm Distimo on Friday issued a new report offering an "in-depth view on download volumes in the Google Android Market." The results show that reaching sales of more than a half-million for paid applications on Android is extremely difficult.

Distimo found that only two paid applications in the Android market have been downloaded more than 500,000 times worldwide in the history of the digital storefront. For comparison, six paid applications available on the App Store reached 500,000 in the U.S. alone in just a two month span.

Even when the numbers are reduced to 250,000, it still shows Apple with a clear advantage. Looking at just games, Distimo found that there are five paid games in the Android market with more than a quarter-million sales worldwide. For the iPhone, ten paid games reached 250,000 downloads in the U.S. alone in two months.

The study also found that the "refresh rate" of paid software in the top 10 is much higher on the iPhone App Store than it is in the Android market. During the month of April, 94 distinct paid applications appeared in the top 10 total downloads, while only 26 distinct paid applications reached the overall top 10 in the Android market.

The data further confirms comments made earlier this year by an Android platform manager at Google. Eric Chu told developers in January that Google is "not happy" about the limited number of mobile applications actually being purchased from the Android Market.

The new numbers show that sales of mobile applications on Apple's iOS platform remain well ahead of the competition, even though the collective sum of Android devices has been outpacing Apple's limited number of hardware options for some time now. In April, the NPD Group revealed that Android devices accounted for 50 percent of U.S. smartphone sales, while the iPhone and iOS accounted for 28 percent of smartphones sold domestically.

------

Apple will unveil a new version of its mobile operating system, iOS 5, at this year's Worldwide Developers Conference, featuring widgets and a revamped notification system, a new report claims.

The news was part of a brief inclusion in a story at TechCrunch about the upcoming Worldwide Developers Conference. Author MG Siegler characterized the "big news" for iOS as "completely revamped notifications and widgets."

Signs of an improved notifications first cropped up last June, when Apple hired the designer who created the notification system for Palm's webOS. And Apple, through patent filings, has shown interest in creating always-in-sync widgets for touchscreen devices.

Sources also told the site that Apple is pushing journalists to come to this year' show because "the software announcements will be huge." Apple's big changes with iOS 5 are expected to make up for the anticipated lack of hardware to be shown off at this year's event.

The report also presumed that Apple will make announcements related to cloud storage for both iOS and Mac OS X 10.7 Lion. The site previously reported in March that Apple may not release a cloud-based iOS 5 until this fall.

Sources also reportedly indicated that the new licensing deal with Nuance for voice recognition will not play a part in the "Voice Control" feature of Apple's mobile operating system.

"That's odd since it's perhaps the most obvious usage," Siegler wrote. "But apparently, in the builds of iOS 5 currently being tested, the little-used feature hasn't changed at all, we hear."

The report noted that Nuance technology could eventually make its way into iOS Voice Control, but relayed a rumor that the licensing deal is meant for "bigger things more core to the OS than that one feature."

Back in February, The Wall Street Journal reported that Apple was working on "voice navigation" technology for the next major update to iOS. And another report from The New York Times claimed that Apple would enhance operation of iOS devices through voice commands because some users dislike using a virtual keyboard.

WWDC is looking exciting... :)

Postby M_2NR » May 28th, 2011, 10:15 pm

:D :D :D

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 29th, 2011, 8:44 am

M_2NR wrote:Image

:D :D :D

how is it? ...

Postby M_2NR » May 29th, 2011, 2:54 pm

Postby M_2NR » May 29th, 2011, 6:49 pm

guys using the gevey sim, how is the battery life?
I assume you are using the "pro" one.
Im reading the pro one has some battery drain issue?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 29th, 2011, 11:19 pm

im good for 2 days

den again.. i use my phone all the time

i jus waiting for an unlock for the 4.10 baseband :(

Postby M_2NR » May 29th, 2011, 11:23 pm

that sounds normal. Im guessing lots of push messages and email checking?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 30th, 2011, 1:05 am

^ ditto

alone with serious apps

im a high end user

also im selling my macbook pro to get a high end laptop, hopefully it sells

goin back into the windows platform.. more practical for me as well

Postby M_2NR » May 30th, 2011, 8:50 am

Just yesterday my buddy and I were discussing this. OSX might be good and all but unless where you work uses it, you will might be straggling along at times to be compatible with the others as most people use windows.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 30th, 2011, 9:03 am

yupppppp

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » May 30th, 2011, 9:19 am

M_2NR wrote:Just yesterday my buddy and I were discussing this. OSX might be good and all but unless where you work uses it, you will might be straggling along at times to be compatible with the others as most people use windows.

Compatible u say ? Parallels VMware fusion this is just to facilitate the apps well i should say programs that u might not find for OSX . i have been using macs for over 15 years and after OSX 10.X.X i find my self having to use Vmware fusion less and less most work related stuff are on MS office which is available for macs. Once u start using OSX u will relies what crap u have been putting up with in windows . Windows is not bad but its not good either .I cant wait for Lion

Postby M_2NR » May 30th, 2011, 11:29 am

Right so is a company gonna buy parallels? for each of its employees? nope.

What if you had to go offsite? use another computer and all they have available is a pc? Yes you can huddle your MBP around.
See, for some people it would not be worth it. ;)

I must admit tho for simple straightforward apps it is sometimes easier to find them for OSX. Like i was looking for something to split up i think it was mkv and at the time the only free one was for OSX.

Recently, the Locationgate issue, the first app was developed for OSX.