PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

adriano7910

Re: HELP: Computer techies

Postby adriano7910 » May 14th, 2011, 10:22 pm

1. who built the system,how long as it been running an are you sure that the air flow pattern is correct. trust me it might sound simple but i cant start to tell you the amount are nani fly it have here building computers.
2. you said the cooling system was upgraded. was the system repasted , what paste was used and how was it applied. different pastes havedifferent heat transferability at diff temp cause their structural integrity changes to much
3. does the ram coolers still transfer heat as should.
4. does the computer start immediately after shutdown on its own or does it take a while b4 it can be started or does it restart and not shutdown
5. what recent changes have you made including hardware or software.

Postby Sky » May 14th, 2011, 10:50 pm

bushwakka wrote:
TK! wrote:overheating. most likely. did you upgrade the intercooler? :-P
when it goes down, can you immediately get it back up?

as rodfarv said.. try taking it back down to stock GHz. that 0.something wont be missed much.

doesnt seem to be the temp....yes the CPU cooler had been upgraded and temps appear to be normal

it just started happening again even after dropping to stock speeds
when the system booted tho, the windows repair console came up asking me to repair, so i did, and now here i am again waiting to see if the problem is solved

Spend some quality time with Knoppix. If you're on the comp all day tomorrow, use pix. Do this before you look past windows.

Postby bushwakka » May 14th, 2011, 10:52 pm

i've heard of the knoppix approach b4, system seems to hav stop randomly shutting down for the moment tho...its been 2 hrs without incident...keepiun fingers crossed

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 14th, 2011, 10:53 pm

you should replace the headers.. idk if that causing some kinda blockage

Postby bushwakka » May 14th, 2011, 11:01 pm

xtech wrote:busted power supply.............u killed it an its pushing out un-stable voltages across the range

how do i check this?
zcarz wrote:you should replace the headers.. idk if that causing some kinda blockage

wat headers u talkin abt?

adriano7910 wrote:1. who built the system,how long as it been running an are you sure that the air flow pattern is correct. trust me it might sound simple but i cant start to tell you the amount are nani fly it have here building computers.
2. you said the cooling system was upgraded. was the system repasted , what paste was used and how was it applied. different pastes havedifferent heat transferability at diff temp cause their structural integrity changes to much
3. does the ram coolers still transfer heat as should.
4. does the computer start immediately after shutdown on its own or does it take a while b4 it can be started or does it restart and not shutdown
5. what recent changes have you made including hardware or software.

1. Im the nani that built the system, its an Antec 1200 case, the only problem with the cable management is the lack of a modular PSU i think

2. yes, i did repaste the heat sink using Arctic Silver 5

3.I dont know abt the RAM heatsinks, but I dont think faulty RAM wud cause the system to shut down so suddenly and completely....it should hang shouldnt it?

4. the computer can be started immediately after the shutdown, it doesnt reboot, it shuts down like if u pulled the plug

5. at the point when it started shuttin down, the only software changes were some windows updates which were removed when i did the system restore the first time around and after i did the restore, the problem stopped but started again (not right after tho) after installing the updates again

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 14th, 2011, 11:14 pm

I wouldnt get so technical one time. First thing I always look at in an overclocked system is the airflow. It might work perfect for months after build and overclock. But as soon as you get dust involved, It really can affect the Ambient airflow inside the case..
Give it a dust out and see what happens...

If you find it running stable now, you can get yourself 3d mark and run some intensive benchmarks, they will push your system to the limits and you'll know just how stable you really are

Postby bushwakka » May 14th, 2011, 11:56 pm

yea, i will do de stress test, for now i running at stock speeds...if it passes that, ill OC again an re-check

raybic

Postby raybic » May 15th, 2011, 7:16 am

i think its overclocking problem for sure, software you can use for free is SPEEDFAN, it monitors pc temp and fan speed, just google it.

xaira

Postby xaira » May 15th, 2011, 10:12 am

that system is how many generations old, i would keep it at stock indefinitely, download hwmonitor and ensure that all the temps are within proper ranges

get a linux boot cd and use the pc in linux for a day, if u get no issues, u know its the os

try running the system as barebones as possible, disconnect errthing you dont need and test it

Postby bushwakka » May 15th, 2011, 1:54 pm

this is wat hwmonitor givin me

system still shuttin down on stock speeds

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2011, 9:43 pm

why your CPU fan rpm so low?
and why your case fan speed so high?

seems like they should be the other way around - you use you have the fans plugged into the right socket?

or is that 2000+ rpm the GPU fan?

Postby M_2NR » May 15th, 2011, 10:38 pm

that hadda be a next fan... cpu fan is quite low.
where is the 12V reading?

what cpu cooler u using?

to check your PSU... refer to my older post in this thread... RE: get a psu checker off amazon for <20usd.

That said... i dont really trust HWMonitor for my PSU readings.. its saying my 5 and 12 are off but everest and down to the bios saying its good.

Also, did you try booting another source yet? like linux/ubuntu/another HDD/livecd? i bet u have a old ide lying around instead of livecd'n slap ubuntu or some other linux on it or even another windows (i sure u have a cd of that somewhere too) and see whats up.

Virus

Postby Virus » May 16th, 2011, 6:03 am

Memory degradation simple talk done moving on, there was no mention of the type of memory you are using if it generic ram with an overclock like that i am sure you pass safe range ie voltage or multiplier someone of your stick just called it quits

Postby M_2NR » May 16th, 2011, 7:16 am

bushwakka wrote:2 x 2gb corsair dominator ram @ 800 mhz

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 16th, 2011, 10:25 am

I think the machine wouldn't post or would freeze up in windows if it was memory - I don't think it would just switch itself off as he said it was doing

Virus

Postby Virus » May 16th, 2011, 12:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think the machine wouldn't post or would freeze up in windows if it was memory - I don't think it would just switch itself off as he said it was doing

Yes it would, actually it can still boot even run for a long time, many errors happen like this and only after running men test etc can it be detected, it doesnt mean the entire stick of memory has failed understood?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 16th, 2011, 2:19 pm

bushwakka wrote:Hey, I've got a custom built system that has been running Ultimate 7 for quite sometime now with no previous issues. All of a sudden, I'm getting sudden shutdowns. Previously, I rebooted in safe mode and performed a system restore and that had seemed to cure the problem for like a day

Now, it just started happening again, so I reverted my overclock settings on the FSB to its original setting....its an E8400 processor that was overclocked from 3.0 ghz to 3.6 ghz

I have no idea what the problem is and I just keep trying things, apparently, the taking off of the OC is allowing me to type this but I don't know if its really the issue

Suggestions as to things to check? How do I check the Power Supply? Need an electrician diploma to do that?

specs are as follows:

evga 750i sli ftw mobo
e8400 now @ 3.0 ghz
Corsair 750W TX PSU
1 evga 470 gtx+
2 x 2gb corsair dominator ram @ 800 mhz
1 300gb velociraptor (boot drive)
1 300gb WD HDD (not used to boot)

ok now read this question

few options

powersupply.. jus swap out and have a test run with another

cpu is fine..once u hit calculations above 50% the cpu wud crash if it was bad..

ram also can be a problem.. surely..cuz using that last bit in there cud be the bad one and it isnt always accessed unless needed.. that how assembler code operates.

the harddrives... that might also be a case..cuz they to operate like ram .. unless u hearing knocking and so forth..

and last but no least, random shutdowns start with a faulty board..

this is from experience that we ( at work ) deal with everyday!

btw.. i didnt read everyones responses..sorry.. lol

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » May 20th, 2011, 1:26 am

i didnt read all the comments so dont complain if i miss anything..

1 your fan is too slow for an overclock (my minimum is 1000rpm and i havent started overclocking yet)
2 those specs that you listed (with the fans and temps) how long was the machine running when you took the screenshot?
3 did you set any alarms on your board?
4 thermal paste - when last you change it? and do a general cleanup?
5 have you ran a live cd and replicated the problem?
6 is the ambient temp inside the case very hot? (if it hurts the back of your hand then it is)

answer those. and we will move on from there

Postby M_2NR » May 20th, 2011, 11:05 am

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 20th, 2011, 11:37 am

^^ did that alrdy..vex to this day i didnt take pics!!!

wasnt water cooling.. but had loads of cable management...........

only thing is..i had a 19" LCD rofl

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 20th, 2011, 12:41 pm

but I running 4.57Ghz on air - stable

Postby M_2NR » May 20th, 2011, 4:34 pm

Duane is d desk bai not the clock speed. :P

I seriously wont mind doing something like this though... would take some serious work and time but eliminating a large tower to the side will be great.

Chiney how d rass you could do this and not take pix :| I disappointed.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 20th, 2011, 6:37 pm

^^ the extr space was very epic

i vex i didnt take pics :(

the system was sold to a tuner as well..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 20th, 2011, 7:36 pm

I know, I know, was just saying - dunno why he needed water cooling :|

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 20th, 2011, 7:39 pm

^^ DOH TOTE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol

is not wrong to have the extra cooling ae... but...um.... i good, air ftw. yeh....

who runnin a lil game tonight?

eh play in a while

duane.. upgrading yuh ssd yet?
they actually have muffler bearings that spend cash and RAID 2 SSDs..... like that supposed to make a difference..wehn yuh board/system can d only so much... i does read all them online thread and thing and laugh!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 20th, 2011, 8:08 pm

LOL - nah not yet,

Since the 120 GB Intel X25 SSD in my system was only for the OS and apps I set up a RAID 0 array made up of two SATA II 500GB WD 7200rpm Blacks to keep all my working files and to keep the pagefile (even though with 16GB ram I dont think it ever writes to the pagefile!)

Because I wanted the Intel SATA controller to remain as AHCI, I used the Marvell SATA III controller to run the RAID. I found that the response time was LONG, I'd open a txt file and the notepad window would stay blank and then I'd hear the RAID drives spin up and click and THEN I'd see the tiny txt file open - that was HORRENDOUS!

So I got rid of them and got a SATA III 6GB/sec WD Velociraptor 10,000rpm 450GB as my secondary drive. That is one sweeeeet drive. Feels like an SSD at times though it's not as fast, it comes damn close.

I'll prolly change the intel X25 to a 510 or a OCZ Vertex 3 just to make use of the SATA III - but I really dunno how much a difference it will make.

WRT to cooling
with the i7 2600k at 4.5Ghz I'm getting ~32`C idle temp and ~57`C under heavy load.
I'm using a Corsair A70 CPU cooler
the stock fans for the A70 were LOUD!!!
I used the included resistor to bring them down to 1600rpm and that was quieter but still audible.

I bought a pair of 120mm Noctua NF-S12B fans and replaced the Corsair fans with it this morning. I didnt even use the included resistor on it. The rpm's dropped to ~675rpm and they are nearly silent, my office a/c makes more noise. And on top of that my CPU idle temp dropped to ~27`C

yeah it's US$18 for ONE but IMO my sanity is worth it!

wanna change the three 120mm case fans in my rig to these!!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 20th, 2011, 9:38 pm

^^ yes i would spend 30US on a fan if my mind would be as ease.

Postby M_2NR » May 21st, 2011, 12:22 pm

eh dan... sell meh one of the 120mm na if you're not using em. hear wa... ill just pass and thief it :lol:

And i agree the watercooling was a bit overboard on that. I have a fear for water cooling. Not the Corsair type sealed setup.

I kinda like the howl of my 120mm's on the antec though but the 120mm's on the front pc is plain annoying.

Question, I see on some sites, they suggest oiling the fans when you clean your pc out...do u guys do that?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 21st, 2011, 12:47 pm

^ no
dont do it!!!!!!!

unless u have high grade machine oil that doesnt wear out the metal

Virus

Postby Virus » May 21st, 2011, 12:59 pm

I using the H50 with a pair of SilverStone FM121 some of the best fans around and when i hit full its like aircraft taking off those fans alone does cool my case lol