The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » May 15th, 2011, 12:44 pm

Smurf saying otherwise though. he's getting access without MarketEnabler

even on the Market web app, i'm trying to install a FREE app and it's saying it cant be installed in my device's country and i cant even find the app using the Market app on my phone. wierd...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 15th, 2011, 2:52 pm

They still blocking certain apps outside the US it seems. My Amazon.com for android app still wont show up unless i use market enabler. :|

achillies

Postby achillies » May 15th, 2011, 5:16 pm

Which app in particular, it could be that they have not finished rolling out the updates

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 15th, 2011, 6:01 pm

^Amazon.com app, google maps, youtube, pandora radio.
all free apps, but dont show up in the market place unless i use market enabler.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 16th, 2011, 8:59 pm

Time will tell

stretch

Postby stretch » May 17th, 2011, 3:52 pm

question. in android.com how do you choose what phone you have to download free apps?

Postby Chimera » May 17th, 2011, 3:54 pm

why can't i find paypal app lol :( same thing allyuh talking about? i outside the us?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 17th, 2011, 5:13 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:why can't i find paypal app lol :( same thing allyuh talking about? i outside the us?

https://market.android.com/details?id=c ... .p2pmobile

yep basically some free apps are region blocked just like the paid ones.

hopefully it means all this wont be a problem again from June since we are in the list of the 99 countries the full Android Market is expanding to...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 17th, 2011, 6:11 pm

gettin my atrix tomoro :) anything i should no about? first time android owner!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 17th, 2011, 6:23 pm

^i suggest u start reading these forums :lol: loads of info available

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=994

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 17th, 2011, 7:20 pm

yea ive gone through most of that forum already... jus wanted to no like wat r like ull top apps/games.. any tweaks i should no about... sum cool stuff... like if ur an iphone owner ill tell u u must download sbsettings, any must downloads for android?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 17th, 2011, 7:26 pm

well havent used motoblur so dunno how good the interface is, but for one, i'd recommend Launcher Pro or ADWLauncher EX as replacement launchers...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 17th, 2011, 7:56 pm

i prob wont keep motoblur, but ive actually heard golauncher or something so was better than those two and free. care to tell y u like those?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 17th, 2011, 8:23 pm

honestly i've only used Launcher Pro. never really had a reason to try others since it did everything i wanted

i paid for the Plus version so i have all the extra features like the contacts widget, messaging widgets etc.

i especially like that u can have up to 3 shortcut docks and u can throw any app u want on them. in addition to that u can specify what swiping up on a shortcut does

e.g. for the 'phone' shortcut, u can set it to call someone u call often jus by swiping up

add Power Widget together with Launcher Pro and i have the perfect interface that suits my needs...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 17th, 2011, 8:46 pm

ok cools.. ill check prob check them all out anyway noin me..

are they like choosable from a menu or sumthing which one u wud like to use or do u have to uninstall one to use the other?

any other suggestions?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 17th, 2011, 8:53 pm

nah u can install any amount of launchers u want and anytime u press the Home button u'll get a pop-up asking which one u want to use.

from there u can also choose which one u would like to use as the default launcher as well

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 17th, 2011, 9:22 pm

nice.. cant wait.. sucks that motorola locked the bootloader of the atrix though..

Postby RASC » May 18th, 2011, 11:24 am

Anyone have the Samsung Galaxy S II???
Would you guys argue that this is officially the highest spec'd phone in the world right now?

Every review has this leaps ahead of the comp.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 18th, 2011, 2:39 pm

so im guessin this is relaated to what i have been seein ull talkin about.. got my atrix :) yay.. trin to download whatsapp from market and its just sayin starting download and its not starting.. what to do?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 18th, 2011, 2:41 pm

ok i guess it just needed to wait a while because its the first download or sumthin because as i posted this it installed.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 18th, 2011, 7:10 pm

Anyone using SPB 3D?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 18th, 2011, 8:17 pm

I'm using go launcher an me likey alot. Anyone has a solution for the low res contact pics when syncing with google. I no its a problem from way back

achillies

Postby achillies » May 18th, 2011, 8:43 pm

zcrugby wrote:I'm using go launcher an me likey alot. Anyone has a solution for the low res contact pics when syncing with google. I no its a problem from way back

all the apps made by the "Go Dev Team" are pretty good, I use the Go SMS Pro and Go Weather, I sometimes switch between ADWLauncher EX and Launcher Pro, Launcher Pro seem to be smoother overall, but i rather the Dock on ADW, :-?, you should try them all though

Live Profile is sweet, get that shyt immediately

And the issue with Low Res pics, still ongoing

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2011, 9:01 pm

zcrugby wrote:I'm using go launcher an me likey alot. Anyone has a solution for the low res contact pics when syncing with google. I no its a problem from way back

i now install go launcher cuz of wha u say dey yes...it bess

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » May 19th, 2011, 6:08 am

just got my phone and downloaded Drag Racing from Market for free. It's pretty cool and quite addictive. You can race against other online users. Any one can recommend other cool games?... preferably free?

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » May 19th, 2011, 7:12 am

zcrugby wrote:gettin my atrix tomoro :) anything i should no about? first time android owner!

XDA Developers is a good place to start.

I was able to root/sideload using Gingerbreak if you are interested in that.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1046626
Just make sure you cross check your Software versions and read thoroughly.

Haven't tried any custom roms but did install the Tenfar's CWM recovery for full backups/recovery.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1019143.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 19th, 2011, 7:17 am

@mitch, I have been watching some videos on the SGS2, Whoa!

Phone is sweet, performance for so

Now Im thinking to get this or wait for the next nexus device
The vids are made by @samjpullen‬‏ on youtube

Crucial

Postby Crucial » May 19th, 2011, 8:00 am

Finally got the 2.3.4 update OTA for my Nexus S early this morning. Google Talk now has built-in video chat and the color temperatures have been adjusted. 12MB update if the OS is 2.3.3.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 19th, 2011, 10:47 am

I finally rooted last night, Installed CoreDroid V6.5,
Sense 2.1 with 3.0 features (weather etc)
Running pretty sweet i must say.
Last edited by Captainzaak on May 19th, 2011, 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 19th, 2011, 1:01 pm

sekhar_777 wrote:
zcrugby wrote:gettin my atrix tomoro :) anything i should no about? first time android owner!

XDA Developers is a good place to start.

I was able to root/sideload using Gingerbreak if you are interested in that.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1046626
Just make sure you cross check your Software versions and read thoroughly.

Haven't tried any custom roms but did install the Tenfar's CWM recovery for full backups/recovery.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1019143.

Yea I went through all of it already. Have gingerblur installed. pretty sweet