What is the flaw in the dangerous dogs legislation ?

Postby Greypatch » May 11th, 2011, 7:08 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,140308.html

Cabinet to consider Dangerous Dogs law

Wednesday, May 11 2011

PRIME MINISTER Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday said Cabinet will consider how to implement the Dangerous Dogs Act. She made this statement 24 hours after 46-year-old Denise Rackal was mauled to death by five pitbulls in Chaguanas.

Speaking with reporters after a meeting with President George Maxwell Richards at Knowlsey Building, Persad-Bissessar’s reaction to the attack was, “Oh my God!” Asked whether Government intends to reintroduce or try to implement existing legislation regarding dangerous dogs, the Prime Minister said: “On Thursday in the Cabinet we will have a serious consideration of that matter.”

She noted that while Dangerous Dogs legislation was passed in 2000 under the then UNC government, of which she was a Cabinet member, Persad-Bissessar said the law was never implemented because there were concerns that it was flawed. She added that Attorney General Anand Ramlogan “has his eyes” on the legislation with a view to implementing it.
spacer

Re: What is the flaw in the dangerous dogs legislation ?

Postby noshownogo » May 11th, 2011, 7:15 am

wonders if having mandatory insurance on any dog deemed dangerous will be suitable.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 11th, 2011, 7:30 am

Probably cuz Ramesh draft it and Anand want glory

rossi

Postby rossi » May 11th, 2011, 8:31 am

the flaw is prob with regards to the breed of dog. I don't know so I just talkin up in mih ass eh.
Prob the law stated Pitbulls, Rottweilers, German Shepherds and Dobermans as the dangerous ones and the loophole could be you having a MIXED breed dog.
Again, I jus saying.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2011, 8:40 am

Didn't the law state Pit Bulls, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino and Fila Brasileiro. Basically just ripping off the UK Dangerous Dogs Bill.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 11th, 2011, 8:43 am

rossi wrote:the flaw is prob with regards to the breed of dog. I don't know so I just talkin up in mih ass eh.
Prob the law stated Pitbulls, Rottweilers, German Shepherds and Dobermans as the dangerous ones and the loophole could be you having a MIXED breed dog.
Again, I jus saying.

umm a pitbull is a pot hound. So in mixing breeds i can cross a bull mastiff and boxer that'll look like a pit on steroids but it won't have a bull dog mixed or any terrier..thus not a pit but still a potentially dangerous dog unless trained accordingly. The dangerous dog act is HIGHLY flawed.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 11th, 2011, 9:10 am

rossi wrote:the flaw is prob with regards to the breed of dog. I don't know so I just talkin up in mih ass eh.
Again, I jus saying.

They specified breeds of dogs in the legislation.

IMO i think the law should have something in place where it's mandatory that all dogs receive proper obedience and aggression training, and properties are well fenced.

If you look at it 99% of attacks happen in the road, where the dogs should not be without a leash or a muzzle (if they are aggressive).

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2011, 9:55 am

Captainzaak wrote:
IMO i think the law should have something in place where it's mandatory that all dogs receive proper obedience and aggression training, and properties are well fenced.

).

I think that will lead to a massive amount of people dumping their dogs in canefields/at the side of roads or wherever

men with pothounds not going to send them for obedience training

might be easy to just make the owners criminally liable as well as financially liable so they take it upon themselves to secure their dogs/make sure they get the right training

yuh dog bite meh child? pay the medical bills plus spend a 3 months in jail

yuh dog kill somebody? pay the family for loss of earnings for that person's lifetime as well as spend a 5-10 years in jail

but then again u jus hadda simply claim the dog isn't yours if it attack someone.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2011, 10:28 am

if yuh dog bite somebody outside of your property then the owner should be fined heavily - $20K or more to the state plus pay all medical expenses for the victim.

Dog kills someone outside of your property then the owner faces involuntary manslaughter charge.

regardless of breed.

don't see what is the big science in worrying about breed - all dog have teeth and any dog can have a bad temper.

yuh want bad dog? then take responsibility for it.
is not a fashion show

nivek

Postby nivek » May 11th, 2011, 10:35 am

these careless dog owners going to make everyone have to pay for their actions or lack thereof....cuz i have 4 rotts and i honestly in no position to pay insurance for them if they class it as a dangerous dog....place is well fenced and they very aggressive inside but if they do get out they are real mooks outside.......

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2011, 10:46 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:if yuh dog bite somebody outside of your property then the owner should be fined heavily - $20K or more to the state plus pay all medical expenses for the victim.

Dog kills someone outside of your property then the owner faces involuntary manslaughter charge.

what if a bandit cut a hole in yuh fence and come in your yard...and then the dogs attack him...and chase him tru the same hole that he cut and maul him to death in the road?

Postby turbosingh » May 11th, 2011, 10:50 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:if yuh dog bite somebody outside of your property then the owner should be fined heavily - $20K or more to the state plus pay all medical expenses for the victim.

regardless of breed.

don't see what is the big science in worrying about breed - all dog have teeth and any dog can have a bad temper.

is not a fashion show

Can't put it any better......

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2011, 11:08 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

what if a bandit cut a hole in yuh fence and come in your yard...and then the dogs attack him...and chase him tru the same hole that he cut and maul him to death in the road?
if yuh shoot a bandit while he running away, what happens? You get charged.

all them big bad dog and all you have is chainlink fence around your property?

in any case if the man was in your yard before then the first violation was his.
your problem after that is ensuring your dogs don't attack anyone else, which is no different than any other day, like when you forget your gate open etc.

toybago

Postby toybago » May 11th, 2011, 11:16 am

The way i see it this, and previous governments just looking for PR.....just want to jump out with laws etc that look good on the front page and on tv. First of all it should be made law that ALL and i mean ALL dogs be registered and tagged so there is no doubt of ownership.

So a dog on the streets with no tags.....kill it....a dog attack/kill someone fine and/or jail the owner then deal with the dog

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2011, 11:27 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

if yuh shoot a bandit while he running away, what happens? You get charged.

all them big bad dog and all you have is chainlink fence around your property?

in any case if the man was in your yard before then the first violation was his.
your problem after that is ensuring your dogs don't attack anyone else, which is no different than any other day, like when you forget your gate open etc.

who say anything about big bad dog, i talking about regular pothound runnin yuh down and ripping out yuh throat

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2011, 11:32 am

wasn't there a story recently where someone pitbull jump a wall and kill a bandit after they attack the pitbull owner in the yard (in trinidad)

wha did happen to the pitbull/owner in that case?

Postby toyolink » May 11th, 2011, 11:53 am

I have not read the proposed law but i do believe that laws must be in-sync with the society's values/expectations and this is where problems arise in terms of implementation.
Ours is a place where dogs have been embedded in our way of life with a very relaxed/loose relationship between our people and these animals.
Look at the examples-strays like that,dead dogs roting on the roads,zaak and his people trying to clean-up other peoples mess,garbage days is feeding time,every morning you have to be side stepping crap all over the road........etc,etc,etc.
Laws will only have meaningful traction if the general society/country is at a place in our development where we are all (including the state machinery ) ready .
Who the hell will be responsible for attacks by strays?
What dog is more dangerous than a pack with a female in heat?
Why limit the list of breeds?
We don't take care of women and children who are subjected to murder and abuse at the hands of so called loved ones yet it is being suggested we ready to handle dogs.
In some ways our society operates with a pack mentality;
-dogs attack people=kill the dogs , castrate the owner AND PROCLAIM THE LAW.
-place flooding in the rainy season=fire the gov't and hang the neighbour and the developers who
block the drain.
-produce destroyed by HDC=stop building houses,fire somebody,picket and cuss
and the list goes on.
What is common is short term real aggressive behaviour and desire for blood followed by everybody going quiet until next cause for a pack attack.
WHAT EVER HAPPEN TO CALDER HART AND WHO CALLING FOR ANYTHING?

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » May 11th, 2011, 11:59 am

regardless of breed.

is not a fashion show

In total agreement with this statement!
Owners are to be held liable for any animals in they care.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2011, 12:05 pm

^ I find they should do the same for children committing crimes - charge the parent too!
under 18 is a child and the parent is responsible too.

watch how straight dem children will get when their parents know they too can be held accountable.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:wasn't there a story recently where someone pitbull jump a wall and kill a bandit after they attack the pitbull owner in the yard (in trinidad)

wha did happen to the pitbull/owner in that case?
they got rid of the dog and bought Security Cameras and Supplies! Best Prices

360-3996

8-)

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2011, 12:19 pm

:D that was a non-paid advertisement ^^^

Postby 16 cycles » May 11th, 2011, 12:33 pm

there used to be a registration system for dogs many years ago - before independence???

wondering if a high concentration of dangerous dogs in the area you live will be grounds to be granted a FUL???

Postby Greypatch » May 11th, 2011, 12:48 pm

Anyone have a copy of the bill that was passed in 2000 ?

toybago

Postby toybago » May 11th, 2011, 12:55 pm

Well put toyolink, it all comes down to "all show, no go" and a set ah glamour/media hype. See if they wont go visiting the poor woman's family bearing gifts(trailing media of course), then do nothing to actually effect change, then go silent till the next big news headline jump out

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2011, 1:09 pm

reactive

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2011, 1:11 pm

toyolink wrote:WHAT EVER HAPPEN TO CALDER HART AND WHO CALLING FOR ANYTHING?

calder who? trinis have ah 10 day memory oui :)

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 11th, 2011, 1:12 pm

Owners are to be held liable for any animals in they care for real

Postby Bizzare » May 11th, 2011, 2:19 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

So iz every proposed law go have flaws in dem so...... :roll:

Wizard

Postby Wizard » May 11th, 2011, 2:41 pm

i believe the major issue slowing it down were dogs used as security like aba trading said

although domesticated all dogs are dangerous

if a pack of stray dogs were to kill a child in the street will we hold a goverment minister responsible for the death

neoise

Postby neoise » May 11th, 2011, 3:18 pm

My dogs are my pets...... the big louts will quicker lick a bandit to death than anything else - however I have seen some people harass them by throwing stones etc at them. Now any time these idiots pass the canines go crazy. My place is properly well fenced and there is no way for them to escape however say for instance a vehicle crashes into my wall at the same time these people are in the area and the dogs get loose ........ why should I be held responsible for these muffler bearings Karma?

Postby toyolink » May 11th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Now heard on the news that 2 pitbulls attacked someone in Diego yesterday and the police responded killing both animals.
These stupid dogs don't seem to realise all eyes on them now and is really bad P.R. at this time.Everybody need to go to their kennels and behave.
Owners who themselves at this time don't exercise control of their animals must be hard headed.
I trying my best to do all the right things for years and some jokers causing hurt to all concerned.