Buying a Vehicle *Advice*

Postby DFC » April 30th, 2011, 12:33 pm

Tuners, i'm interested in buying a Black Eg8 Civic.
The guy is from Sanfernando, and he says walk with cash and take the car.
Car is in great condition, works great, and within my budget.

Now this is the first time i'm purchasing a vehicle on my own, (Parents out of the country) and i actually don't know the procedure.
Because i'm thinking to go give him the money, take car and drive.

So yeh..i don't want to be conned and get robbed.

What questions should i ask the guy?
What should i be wary of?

Whats the proper procedure in buying a used vehicle from a guy?

Please help me out !

Or better yet..somebody come with me!

jeevdude199

Re: Buying a Vehicle *Advice*

Postby jeevdude199 » April 30th, 2011, 1:05 pm

go wit some friends and dont walk with cash!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!it have other alternatives.....

Postby Bizzare » April 30th, 2011, 1:12 pm

^^ What the guy above said. Especially the part about other alternatives to cash. Personally I'd find it fishy if someone persists that I walk with cash only!!
Lol @ mommy and daddy outta the county. You iz 16 orrr??

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 30th, 2011, 1:12 pm

i always tort this DFC guy was some big hard back man so im surprised ur buying ur 1st vehicle

walk with a good mechanic

decide if d vehicle worth it & what repairs it may or may not need

do a credit\ownership search

pay with certified check or u & d guy go to d bank

go licensing office in town & get it transferred right away ...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 30th, 2011, 1:14 pm

go with a mechanic and friends hoss

Postby DFC » April 30th, 2011, 1:21 pm

lol, i'm 25.
All the vehicles i've had, my mother buys it because she is a business woman and knows how to get good deals, she gets great insurance deals, all of that sort.

And yes i worked hard and saved and it's an accomplishment kinda thing i wanna fulfill by buying this vehicle and doing it on my own. you know...

I am planning to go with some friends...i'm not that stupid !! lol.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 30th, 2011, 2:02 pm

[[quote="(...Rovin...)"]
pay with certified check or u & d guy go to d bank ]

most important pay with certified or manager check , just as good as cash and you can prove you pay the man the money

doh stick, get the vehicle transfered. Find out if the guy stopping his insurance then you will have to go get a cover letter from the insurance company for the day to transfer it to your name

Postby cinco » April 30th, 2011, 2:17 pm

something people never mention and it gets over looked
SIGNED AND DATED RECEIPT with both of your license numbers and 2 witnesses

Postby DFC » April 30th, 2011, 2:40 pm

thanks guys,
i will keep these points in mind.

Postby rollingstock » April 30th, 2011, 2:48 pm

Ensure the certified copy is in his name. As cinco said get a receipt, Best advise i can give is go LO in pos monday, and hand over money and transfer one time, never buy a vehicle on a weekend.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 30th, 2011, 7:25 pm

DO NOT GO WITH CASH!

Postby brams112 » April 30th, 2011, 8:06 pm

don't even go,let the guy meet you somewhere you think is safe,get some grimey face padnas to stick around in case of trouble,don't carry cash silly boi,stick up book,plus walk with a mechanic and go in broad daylight,ask owner for certified copy,recent one,do a title search and don't be in a hurry to buy anything espically vehicles these days,,,oh and carry mammie for a discount heh heh

Postby sliderz1 » April 30th, 2011, 8:08 pm

pass yuh money after d vehicle is transferred

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 9:52 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:i always tort this DFC guy was some big hard back man so im surprised ur buying ur 1st vehicle

best advice here.......
criminals were using this avenue to rob ppl of their money say about 1-2yrs ago
distintively remember a guy from tobago came with cash to buy a vehicle in trinidad...he went missing.........eventually showed up dead....

this transaction sounding fishy DFC..........

do a background check on the car if u can...........

Anton

Postby Anton » April 30th, 2011, 10:08 pm

If the guy insists on cash, arrange to meet in a police station to do the transaction.

Postby black start » April 30th, 2011, 10:29 pm

brams112 wrote:don't even go,let the guy meet you somewhere you think is safe,get some grimey face padnas to stick around in case of trouble,don't carry cash silly boi,stick up book,plus walk with a mechanic and go in broad daylight,ask owner for certified copy,recent one,do a title search and don't be in a hurry to buy anything espically vehicles these days,,,oh and carry mammie for a discount heh heh

man say grimey face padnas yes....doh carry no grimey face padnas....CARRY GRIMEY PADNAS....grimey face cyah do nobody nun xcept screw dey pan...on a more prodcutive note....

(...Rovin...) wrote:i always tort this DFC guy was some big hard back man so im surprised ur buying ur 1st vehicle

and trust meh doh stick wid the transfer....we had bought a lil laser a few years ago....pops stick wid the transfer and well the previous owner died....to prevent any later trouble...the next owner was the scrap yard... :(

Postby DFC » April 30th, 2011, 10:46 pm

Bess advice here, thanx guys.

I honestly would have never thought of all this.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 10:48 pm

yeah dfc its scary out there.........take all precautions

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 30th, 2011, 11:11 pm

To legally transfer a vehicle from the current owner to the new owner, both parties must go, with the vehicle to the Licencing Division, with two forms of ID.

If you are buying a car from someone you know, who you are certain had the car for some time then you can skip some of the following.

Else Mr. Buyer, beware!

In the first instance, even before going to check the car with a mechanic, one must first obtain a certified copy of the car, and confirm the current owner, and that the engine and chassis nos. match what is stated on the Certified Copy.

The reason for having a search done on the car is to determine the true owner of the car, and whether the car is mortgaged and have monies still owing on it. If you buy such a car, some time after you will suddenly find a bailiff coming to seize your car, and there is nothing you can do, except pay the outstanding balance owed to who ever, and still have to now pay a transfer fee from the mortgagee to yourself, again! Very painful.

Having received this clearance, then you look to check out the condition of the car, mechanical, and especially to determine any previous accident damage.

Payment – never cash. Get a certified cheque. If the seller still demands cash, tell him to meet you in your bank, have a seat, and let your banker pay him. But not before receiving a receipt with all car information clearly stated on receipt. And then you still have to deal with the first paragraph above.

Postby DFC » May 2nd, 2011, 5:17 am

The car is a PBL, how much would the transfer like?

Can I transfer the car to two person's name?

And the guy has insurance on the car until next year, do I take out new insurance or wait until this one expires?

Postby ronsin1 » May 2nd, 2011, 5:25 am

take out the new insurance once the car is sold and transfered the old insurance is null and void

check the cars classifieds sticky on transfer details

Postby dougla_boy » May 2nd, 2011, 11:09 am

DFC, make sure and do a background check on the vehicle....i myself wanted to buy a car and did a background check on the vehicle only to find out that the car was paid for by a loan in 2010 and the loan was to last for 4yrs.....so background check ins a must!

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » May 2nd, 2011, 12:50 pm

do ur background checks, makesure dat the car is on d guy's name, if u do decide to take it pay via certified cheque and only hand over d check to d guy on d day u transfering d car, make sure and get a receipt with the registration & chassie number of the car on it

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 2nd, 2011, 1:00 pm

jmccomie wrote:do ur background checks, makesure dat the car is on d guy's name, if u do decide to take it pay via certified cheque and only hand over d check to d guy on d day u transfering d car, make sure and get a receipt with the registration & chassie number of the car on it

jusme

Postby jusme » May 2nd, 2011, 1:04 pm

PBL = $1400

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » April 28th, 2012, 8:54 pm

dougla_boy wrote:DFC, make sure and do a background check on the vehicle....i myself wanted to buy a car and did a background check on the vehicle only to find out that the car was paid for by a loan in 2010 and the loan was to last for 4yrs.....so background check ins a must!

raising d dead here.
if a car have a loan does this mean that it cannot be sold until the loan is completely paid?

Postby r3iXmann » April 28th, 2012, 8:56 pm

ado15mk3 wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:DFC, make sure and do a background check on the vehicle....i myself wanted to buy a car and did a background check on the vehicle only to find out that the car was paid for by a loan in 2010 and the loan was to last for 4yrs.....so background check ins a must!

raising d dead here.
if a car have a loan does this mean that it cannot be sold until the loan is completely paid?

it can be sold but the person has to clear off the loan with the bank..if not, they can and WILL seize it from YOU

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » April 28th, 2012, 9:09 pm

so i will be trusting him to pay his loan?
well there goes that idea.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2012, 2:48 am

r3iXmann wrote:
ado15mk3 wrote:

raising d dead here.

it can be sold but the person has to clear off the loan with the bank..if not, they can and WILL seize it from YOU

Yup cause remember if the loan is not paid off it is the property of the bank....

just ask him which bank he has the loan with and call the bank and talk to a loans person there.....they could call the owner and remind him that the loan should be paid off if the car is too be sold.....proper follow up action could still get u the car......so no worries....

Postby pete » June 1st, 2012, 9:04 am

What companies can I go to to get a vehicle search done? Just want to find out if there is any loan outstanding on the vehicle.