****Stop The Religious Onslaught ******

JoKeR1980

Re: ****Stop The Religious Onslaught ******

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 27th, 2011, 2:44 pm

rainman wrote:Cid, i totally agree with you. Unfortunately there lies inequity in the moderation of the boards; in the 200+ page thread there is some form of intellectual debate taking place but most use it as an excuse to bash Christianity, however when a similarly themed topic comes up but affects the hindus it is deleted, users are banned etc. But your statements ring true and hopefully it would reach the persons who can improve the process. *eye

This is the heart of the problem and until this is addressed
I personally don't expect any change in the way things are done on 2nr.

I myself, like others, try to adhere to the 'if I don't like it I wont read it or comment on it' but this is a fallacy as one must read it to form any opinion on it in the first place and if you don't like it is within your right as a user to say so.

However its another matter when the people who are moderating the forums are the ones engaging in the trivial, juvenile and often derogotory that is the complete opposite to any mature discussion that other users may want to start, continue and learn from. Not only this but the inequality that exists in that they are allowed to be that way when others are punished for similar offences.

Its already seen in this thread that some opt to laugh at the issues that are being raised and to trivialize it instead of trying to improve this community we all share in and thats sad because as moderators who by definition are those who should be one that arbitrates or mediates, not one who pokes fun and trivializes.

I don't pretend to tell Duane how to run his site or how to tell the moderators how to moderate but unless I"m under the mistaken belief that my viewpoint as a user should count for something, then I hope this leads to some change here.

*eyes*

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2011, 2:53 pm

yuh realize we only make fun of those who try to proclaim their religion is the correct religion or is better than all the other religions.

i doubt you gonna find a thread where someone say "i`m a christian because xyz, i understand you are a hindu because abc, and well you're a muslim because of hij and we all have our different views" and then yuh get bash for it

its mostly, "i am superior, your religion sucks, you going to hell, CONVERT!"

Postby 16 cycles » April 27th, 2011, 2:55 pm

simple concept - some mods want to be a mod for the status whilst partaking in the frolic they've been asked to guard against....

have cake and eat - win win

Start - open thread AND read
IF thread offends AND IF choose to comment
THEN comment ELSE click 'x'
END END END

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » April 27th, 2011, 2:57 pm

^^^exactly ABA Trading LTD

rossi

Postby rossi » April 27th, 2011, 2:58 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Triniangie, there will always be differences of opinion. Mods are here to help weed the nonsense out, but they are not infallible.

If something truly is offensive, and you feel it is not being adressed, then you have the option to escalate it and report the post.

Duane can't check every comment in every thread and make a moral judgement on each and every statement.

So you have a few choices:

1) Read and enjoy the forum, good and bad. Participate and communicate.
2) Feel offended and report something that does sit wrongly with you.
3) Leave the forum.

Up to you.

Understood. 8-) This is why there are MODS.
You all should do some work and warn users who cross the line. That eh no big maths!!!!
User have their repost threads dealt with in no time! They get f*q up and thread lock like there's no tomorrow! :lol:
Deal with users who obviously trying to start bacchanal nah man.

furthermore, everybody hadda open up their eyes big, big after every post??!?!?

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 27th, 2011, 2:59 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:yuh realize we only make fun of those who try to proclaim their religion is the correct religion or is better than all the other religions.

i doubt you gonna find a thread where someone say "i`m a christian because xyz, i understand you are a hindu because abc, and well you're a muslim because of hij and we all have our different views" and then yuh get bash for it

its mostly, "i am superior, your religion sucks, you going to hell, CONVERT!"

Defending your own faith or resisting the overtures of another, to me, is completely different to 'making fun' of another.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2011, 3:03 pm

Scoop wrote:The contrary can also be applied here...it may be the same very content sometimes that turn ppl away from the site
very true, and the same can be said of the internet as a whole

Postby AllTrac » April 27th, 2011, 3:07 pm

16 cycles wrote:simple concept - some mods want to be a mod for the status

:lol: :lol: what status?

last i checked, i pay asking price to powersellers and I dont get a discount or premium parking, no phone plan or health. The position is not pensionable, my nookie percentage decreases when I tell chics im a a mod on 2nr, the doors dont open simultaneously for me in zen, duane is half my size and shorter than me but he verbally abuses me on a daily basis, what status?.........now state appointments on the other hand.........I could abuse that! :twisted:

triniangie

Postby triniangie » April 27th, 2011, 3:09 pm

triniangie wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:while we want to remove hate posts, racist comments etc
no one is forcing you the read the thread or take part in the discussion!

just like a political thread you have people who are passionate about what they believe to be true - if you don't like it then don't read it!

You can feel free to report it if you feel it is breaking a forum rule - if it is we will remove it and perhaps ban the user.

However we cannot censor the public forum because someone gets offended every time someone else questions something they blindly believe - this is an open discussion lounge!

This is an immature response from the 'owner' of TriniTuner - an opinion to which i am entitled to... and i chose to read or not read ....and comment or not comment

Im jus asking a question here - but isn't this part of ur responsibility to ensure that your members are not disrespected in some form or fashion - be it religion or race etc? Do you only wait until something is reported?

what happen is an external party looks at this site n see it as an abomination?
this is not preschool, it is a public forum on the internet. Do you not use google because a search might bring up pornography?.

We have rules and everyone has to abide by those rules, moderators, administrators and users. Everyone is entitled to their opinion in a public space. We cannot censor everything. We will remove racist or hate posts automatically as they are against public norm, however if you are offended by the sight of cleared forests then we cannot be responsible for removing posts with pictures of felled trees just because you are a passionate conservationist - understand. If you open a thread and it is against the forum rules please report it, if not you are free to post your own opinion in the thread to share your differing thoughts on the subject - if you do not wish to participate and are still offended then close it and move on - that is the nature of the internet.

thanks for sharing

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 27th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Jahaji Bhai - Brother Marvin

Kumayah Zindawey Ayayo

I am the seed of mih father
He is the seed of mih grandfather
Who is the seed of Bahut Ajah [great grandfather]
He came from Calcutta
A stick and a bag on he shoulder
He turban and he kapra
So I am part seed of India, India.

Chorus:
The indentureship and the slavery
Bind together two races in unity [Achcha dosti - good friend]
There was no more Mother Africa
No more Mother India, just Mother Trini [Jananbhoomi]
My Bahut Ajah planted sugarcane
Down in the Caroni plain
Ramlogan, Basdeo, Prakash and I, Jahaji Bhai
Brotherhood of the boat, Jahaji Bhai

I would be ah disgrace to Allah
If I choose race, creed or colour
Bahut Ajah had to make that journey
For I to have Zindagee [life]
So it is ah great privilege
To have such unique heritage
Fifty percent Africa, fifty percent India, India
I have "do chuttee" [two holidays]
Emancipation and Arrival Day [Aant bhala so bhala]
Since Fatel Rozack made the journey
150 years gone already [Bahut achcha -very good]
Whether you're Hindu, Muslim or Christian
Let's walk this land hand in hand
We could only prosper if we try a Jahaji Bhai

Kumayah Zindawey Ayayo
O mera dost mera saathi [o my friend, my companion]
Chal tahalna ek matt [let's stroll together]
Agal bagal.... [side by side]

For those who playing ignorant
Talking 'bout true African descendant
If yuh want to know de truth
Take ah trip back to yuh roots
And somewhere on that journey
Yuh go see ah man in a dhoti
Saying he prayers in front of a jhandi, jhandi

Chorus:
Then and only then you'll understand
What is ah cosmopolitan nation [Haat melawo - let's join hands]
There's no room for prejudice at all
United we stand, divided we'll fall [Bete baat ko garro - child, pay heed to what I'm saying]
So to all races here in Trinbago
Aapko kalyan ho dhaniaho [may you be blessed, may you prosper]
Let us live as one under the sky, Jahaji Bhai,

Kumayah Zindawey Ayayo
O mera dost mera saathi [o my friend, my companion]
Chal tahalna ek matt [let's stroll together]
Agal bagal.... [side by side]

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2011, 3:14 pm

triniangie wrote:

just like a political thread you have people who are passionate about what they believe to be true - if you don't like it then don't read it!

You can feel free to report it if you feel it is breaking a forum rule - if it is we will remove it and perhaps ban the user.

However we cannot censor the public forum because someone gets offended every time someone else questions something they blindly believe - this is an open discussion lounge!

This is an immature response from the 'owner' of TriniTuner - an opinion to which i am entitled to... and i chose to read or not read ....and comment or not comment

Im jus asking a question here - but isn't this part of ur responsibility to ensure that your members are not disrespected in some form or fashion - be it religion or race etc? Do you only wait until something is reported?

this is not preschool, it is a public forum on the internet. Do you not use google because a search might bring up pornography?.

We have rules and everyone has to abide by those rules, moderators, administrators and users. Everyone is entitled to their opinion in a public space. We cannot censor everything. We will remove racist or hate posts automatically as they are against public norm, however if you are offended by the sight of cleared forests then we cannot be responsible for removing posts with pictures of felled trees just because you are a passionate conservationist - understand. If you open a thread and it is against the forum rules please report it, if not you are free to post your own opinion in the thread to share your differing thoughts on the subject - if you do not wish to participate and are still offended then close it and move on - that is the nature of the internet.

thanks for sharing
glad to help

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 27th, 2011, 3:17 pm

triniangie wrote:

Duane,

Can you explain how any of us are to know if we don't like something on the forums if we don't read it? i for one prefer to read something before making a decision on whether I like it or not, if theres another way I'd be glad to learn it.

Regards,
JKR.

p.s. even if we don't like it we read it because we don't want to be accused of not reading the entire thing or taking something out of context because if we don't read it and say that we didn't then it is exactly that argument that will be levelled against us so I ask again how are we to know if we don't like it if we don't read it?

Cid

Postby Cid » April 27th, 2011, 3:26 pm

all that is needed is a little more respect......
it doesnt cost an arm and a leg ,
why is everyone so defensive,
why are we making excuses and defending the right to make a mockery of the bible, or Hinduism or any other religion,??
i cant understand why anyone would want to defend something like that.
Asking questions is not the problem , having a debate is not the problem ,
the problem is idiotic comments by users and mods about a revered figure such as Jesus Christ which is offensive to users and guests alike.

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2011, 3:29 pm

but err..that's the problem isn't it, "revered figure such as Jesus Christ" is your OPINION not so?
why can't that be criticised? especially as the Jesus as seen in the bible is a smiting/banishing to hell kinda fella.

Postby rollingstock » April 27th, 2011, 3:32 pm

pioneer wrote:It's called freedom of speech and expression.

If someone making fun of your religion gets you all riled and offended, then you need to check your level of faith.

Have to agree fully with you, i can understand someone being displeased wrt a statement made about their belief but the fact that they go the lengths that they do in defending their belief only feeds the trolls, and would further encourage the bashing.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » April 27th, 2011, 3:33 pm

Wait trinidad haz freedom of speach and expression. Yuh sure yuh aint taking the yankee thing too far dae hoss

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 27th, 2011, 3:33 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:but err..that's the problem isn't it, "revered figure such as Jesus Christ" is your OPINION not so?
why can't that be criticised? especially as the Jesus as seen in the bible is a smiting/banishing to hell kinda fella.

................and then the fighting began...

Postby AllTrac » April 27th, 2011, 3:37 pm

Cid wrote:all that is needed is a little more respect......
why are we making excuses and defending the right to make a mockery of the bible, or Hinduism or any other religion,??
the problem is idiotic comments by users and mods about a revered figure such as Jesus Christ which is offensive to users and guests alike.

its interesting you asked for respect and understanding, since Sai Baba is seen as a god by some and worshiped around the world and by some 2nrs which is their prerogative yet, in the "sai Baba is Ill" thread you called him sly and said he is paying for his karma and he should soak it in. I hope you know that want you are asking for is separated by a very thin line.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » April 27th, 2011, 3:37 pm

If someone making fun of your religion gets you all riled and offended, then you need to check your level of faith.

Have to agree fully with you, i can understand someone being displeased wrt a statement made about their belief but the fact that they go the lengths that they do in defending their belief only feeds the trolls, and would further encourage the bashing.

its not solely about defending your beliefs... its more about having a little respect for the beliefs of your fellow men... weather you believe or not

Cid

Postby Cid » April 27th, 2011, 3:39 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:but err..that's the problem isn't it, "revered figure such as Jesus Christ" is your OPINION not so?

my friend , i say again, what does it cost you to have some respect for the man?

to not make offensive jokes about him?

if you have a valid question post it in the appropriate thread,

all i am asking is if you can please draw a line and have some respect for other users.

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2011, 3:44 pm

Cid wrote:
my friend , i say again, what does it cost you to have some respect for the man?

to not make offensive jokes about him?

if you have a valid question post it in the appropriate thread,

all i am asking is if you can please draw a line and have some respect for other users.

AllTrac wrote: in the "sai Baba is Ill" thread you called him sly and said he is paying for his karma and he should soak it in. I hope you know that want you are asking for is separated by a very thin line.

Comfort

Postby Comfort » April 27th, 2011, 3:46 pm

Well said CID......I agree.......

*eyes*................

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2011, 3:46 pm

Scoop wrote:

its not solely about defending your beliefs... its more about having a little respect for the beliefs of your fellow men... weather you believe or not

Agree!!!!!!

Cid

Postby Cid » April 27th, 2011, 3:48 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Cid wrote:all that is needed is a little more respect......

its interesting you asked for respect and understanding, since Sai Baba is seen as a god by some and worshiped around the world and by some 2nrs which is their prerogative yet, in the "sai Baba is Ill" thread you called him sly and said he is paying for his karma and he should soak it in. I hope you know that want you are asking for is separated by a very thin line.

this is another topic all together , as i said before he does not represent anything in Hinduism , nor is he a religion , the fact that he is seen as god does not make him a religion or god, or any authority on god. This topic is about authoritative religious icons.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 27th, 2011, 3:50 pm

Let's get ready to Rrrrrrrrrrrrrruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmbbbblllllleeeeeeee!!!!!!!

Postby AllTrac » April 27th, 2011, 3:52 pm

Cid wrote:the fact that he is seen as god does not make him a religion or god, or any authority on god.

and you are the authority on this?

How about respect for other 2nrs who was genuinely concerned and worried sick about his status? where is your respect for your fellow men? who are you to judge whether is he is worth it or not?

Cid wrote:This topic is about authoritative religious icons.
[/quote]

once again who decides where he is an authoritative religious icon in your fellow 2nrs life? you?

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2011, 3:55 pm

Cid wrote:

this is another topic all together , as i said before he does not represent anything in Hinduism , nor is he a religion , the fact that he is seen as god does not make him a religion or god, or any authority on god. This topic is about authoritative religious icons.

who are you to dismiss Sai Baba as a God? when millions believe he is a God?

Same usual thing yes, you seeing Jesus > Sai Baba
Your beliefs> others

Postby rollingstock » April 27th, 2011, 3:55 pm

Some people skin just real thin in here. I personally try not to bash anyone's religion.
I find it a lot more entertaining to just call them a kant directly.

But then again it's kicks for a mod to make fun of a member by making derogatory remarks about a user's mother and other users "booting up" for the small goal or whatever, how is this any different from bashing a man's religion.

Postby tr1ad » April 27th, 2011, 3:57 pm

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 27th, 2011, 3:57 pm

report dem bai RS