Sergio Ramos drops trophy from bus during celebrations

Halfbreed07

Sergio Ramos drops trophy from bus during celebrations

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 21st, 2011, 8:36 am

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/vide ... -bus-video

Real Madrid defender drops the Copa del Ray from the top deck of an open-topped double-decker bus, which then runs over the trophy Link to this video
Exuberant Real Madrid footballers rode triumphantly back into town on Thursday morning with the Spanish cup in their hands, but then accidentally dropped it from the top of a double-decker bus – which ran over it.

Defender Sergio Ramos was at the front of the top deck as the bus neared the central Cibeles fountain where Real Madrid fans traditionally gather to celebrate their victories.

A 1-0 win over arch-rivals Barcelona in the Copa del Rey, thanks to an extra-time goal from Cristiano Ronaldo, filled the city centre in the early hours of Thursday morning with chanting Real Madrid fans waving white flags and scarves.

Ramos had the huge cup perched on his head and appeared to be trying to jump up and down with team-mates when it slipped from his hands.

The trophy fell on to the tarmac in front of the moving bus and was run over. "The cup has fallen!" Ramos cried out.

TV pictures showed the cup disappearing under the slow-moving bus at a spot close to its right front wheel.

The bus came to halt while some players peered over the edge to see where the cup had gone and others continued to bounce up and down.

A group of firemen and police then appeared to recover the cup, which was not seen again as the party continued. El Mundo newspaper's website reported that the cup had been smashed into 10 different pieces.

But Ramos later told the Telemadrid TV station: "The cup is all right."

The incident did not prevent Real Madrid fans enjoying their victory over Barcelona in the clubs' second of four encounters in just 18 days.

A huge number of fans had stayed on the streets until the team arrived home from eastern Valencia, where the final was played, at 4am.

The club's captain, Iker Casillas, tied a Real Madrid scarf around the neck of the Cibeles statue.

The two teams meet again next week – on 27 April – to play the first round of their Champions League semi-final at Real Madrid's Bernabéu stadium. They will play the second leg at Barcelona's Camp Nou on 3 May.

On Saturday they drew a league match, leaving Barcelona comfortably ahead in the table as the season draws to a close.

Ramos joked about the incident on Twitter on Thursday morning. "There has been a misunderstanding about the cup," he wrote.

"It didn't fall, it jumped when it got to Cibeles and saw so many Madristas [Real Madrid fans]."

But he later added in a second tweet: "Don't worry, it is fine."

Halfbreed07

Re: Sergio Ramos drops trophy from bus during celebrations

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 21st, 2011, 8:37 am

dem fellas eh used to holding silverware!

Postby SUPAstarr » April 21st, 2011, 8:41 am

it committed suicide cuz it rather be in Barca's hand

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 21st, 2011, 8:43 am

*open excuse book page 12, "when a on the loosing side of a match, mako the news for mishapps of the winning team and quickly repost it on the forums. That way you can laugh at the winning team and ignore the fact your team lost and 2nd place is that bad"*

searchingone

Postby searchingone » April 21st, 2011, 8:46 am

Postby K74T » April 21st, 2011, 8:55 am

searchingone wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?p=5273107#p5273107

look i done post it

searchingone

Postby searchingone » April 21st, 2011, 8:58 am

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » April 21st, 2011, 9:04 am

Thaz to show Barca we doh even care about that trophy we just wanted to beat them and show them what time it really is HALA MADRID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 21st, 2011, 9:52 am

I smell a bandwagonist

Postby tr1ad » April 21st, 2011, 10:33 am

i smell more than that....

doh study it halfbreed... there is always next year to try

Postby sharkman121 » April 21st, 2011, 10:36 am

SUPAstarr wrote:it committed suicide cuz it rather be in Barca's hand

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » April 21st, 2011, 12:31 pm

x3.... if i was d trophy i wuda do dat too

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 21st, 2011, 12:52 pm

jmccomie wrote:

x3.... if i was d trophy i wuda do dat too

I could organize the bus, you could pretend to be the trophy.

Postby tr1ad » April 21st, 2011, 1:23 pm

toters will tote

Postby mero » April 21st, 2011, 1:51 pm

i not toting.. still funny as fack. Seriously though Ramos, you really drop allyuh brand new trophy under the bus :lol:

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » April 21st, 2011, 2:55 pm

^^...level scrape up da trophy get.... well dey aint accustom holdin da trophy 2 eh ..lol

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » April 21st, 2011, 2:57 pm

1kant. funny thing no one in the crowd notice. theyre so focused on seeing the players

Postby De Dragon » April 21st, 2011, 5:28 pm

Dat go buff out normel normel.

Postby Bizzare » April 21st, 2011, 5:57 pm

Shango_13 wrote:1kant. funny thing no one in the crowd notice. theyre so focused on seeing the players

:? :? :? :? ....you really think so huh?
Anyway, thanks to the Gods of football, justice has been served.

Postby Mark! » April 21st, 2011, 6:09 pm

Bizzare wrote:
Shango_13 wrote:1kant. funny thing no one in the crowd notice. theyre so focused on seeing the players

it funny as fcuk, but what justice fanboy?

Postby Bizzare » April 21st, 2011, 6:23 pm

I'm no fanboy....

Postby Cjruckus » April 22nd, 2011, 1:07 am

Bizzare wrote:

Justice has been served indeed. About time Barca crumbled.

congrats Real Madrid.

I hope you deal with Barcelona in Champions League as well. They shouldnt have made it this far anyway.. Especially since the robbing of Arsenal.

Postby Mark! » April 23rd, 2011, 6:50 am

It dont look that bad :|

Postby De Dragon » April 23rd, 2011, 6:52 am

Cjruckus wrote:
Bizzare wrote:

Justice has been served indeed. About time Barca crumbled.

congrats Real Madrid.

I hope you deal with Barcelona in Champions League as well. They shouldnt have made it this far anyway.. Especially since the robbing of Arsenal.

Can always count on this place for an early morning chuckle. :lol:

Postby Bizzare » April 23rd, 2011, 8:14 am

Cjruckus wrote:I hope you deal with Barcelona in Champions League as well.

Can always count on this place for an early morning chuckle. :lol:

ENT!! Lol. This guy is hilarious!!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 23rd, 2011, 10:08 am

Postby rfari » April 23rd, 2011, 11:26 am

Copa del rey is rell sheit. Cyar blame de man. Dfb-pokal is where it's at. Only take trinis to hype sheit sides.