Re: 48÷2(9+3) = ?

Postby DuAL StaR » April 13th, 2011, 9:05 pm

2 and 288 is correct depend on the method u use

Postby teems1 » April 13th, 2011, 9:17 pm

not really eh, division is inverse multiplication, and if nothing is next to a bracket, a multiplication sign is to be used

eg 100÷2 = 100 * (1/2)

so the equation is (48) * (1/2) * (9 + 3)

which is 288

Postby sMASH » April 13th, 2011, 9:20 pm

pete wrote:48/24 = a totally different equation from the original one!

48÷(2(9+3)) = 2

48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2*(9+3) = 288

that there is wrong, because the a number right outside of the bracket, implies that each term inside the brackets be multiplied by it ( it can be before or after the brackets but before is the norm). the bracketed terms associate themselves with the '2' which is the denominator, so the denominator is actually '2(9+3)'
for the denominator to be just '2' alone, the terms 48/2 would need to be in brackets i.e. (48/2)...
... that is the purpose of the brackets, to separate them from being done left to right, and to be worked out before and the result being used after.

think about it like this,,, if u work out the brackets first, u would have
48/2(12)=

now if this was the sum, then what would u work it out to be?

48/2 cannot be worked out the same stage as 9+3 because the 9+3 is bracketed and the 48/2 is not.

the steps have to be:
48/2(9+3)=
48/2(12)=
48/24=2

if u could work out the 48/2 at the same stage as 9+3, then there is no reason for putting the 9+3 in brackets... just leave it out.

Postby Stephon. » April 13th, 2011, 9:25 pm

tripplediamond wrote:great!, now 48/24=?

You're working it out wrong.

Postby Stephon. » April 13th, 2011, 9:28 pm

Hmmmm ... The more and more I look at the sum the more I see how people are getting 2. It's still wrong though. Guess that's what separates Maple Leaf from Tranquil.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 13th, 2011, 9:42 pm

6x3---two terms, 6 and 3
49/5---two terms 49 and 5
49/15--two terms 49 and 15
49/5(3)---same as above, factorized the 15, two terms 49 and 5(3)

48/2(9+3)= 2 terms, 48 and 2(9+3), which is the same as (18+6)...

the answer is 2.

badart

Postby badart » April 13th, 2011, 10:01 pm

^ X2 !!!

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 10:06 pm

I just hope none of you guys getting 2 are teaching maths or, maths being an integral part of your job spec :?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 13th, 2011, 10:13 pm

if the expression is converted to postfix for computer analysis however, the result will be 288.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » April 13th, 2011, 10:29 pm

48÷2(9x+3) = 0

solve for x.
:D

eg8

Postby eg8 » April 14th, 2011, 4:19 am

sMASH wrote:

48÷(2(9+3)) = 2

that there is wrong, because the a number right outside of the bracket, implies that each term inside the brackets be multiplied by it ( it can be before or after the brackets but before is the norm). the bracketed terms associate themselves with the '2' which is the denominator, so the denominator is actually '2(9+3)'
for the denominator to be just '2' alone, the terms 48/2 would need to be in brackets i.e. (48/2)...
... that is the purpose of the brackets, to separate them from being done left to right, and to be worked out before and the result being used after.

think about it like this,,, if u work out the brackets first, u would have
48/2(12)=

now if this was the sum, then what would u work it out to be?

48/2 cannot be worked out the same stage as 9+3 because the 9+3 is bracketed and the 48/2 is not.

the steps have to be:
48/2(9+3)=
48/2(12)=
48/24=2

if u could work out the 48/2 at the same stage as 9+3, then there is no reason for putting the 9+3 in brackets... just leave it out.

Math teacher in the making...this is also very correct.

Postby Stephon. » April 14th, 2011, 7:10 am

Once you teaching in public schools I don't mind, my kids safe, and stay away from QRC till my cousin graduates. Thanks!

Postby rollingstock » April 14th, 2011, 8:01 am

Stephon. wrote:Once you teaching in public schools I don't mind, my kids safe, and stay away from QRC till my cousin graduates. Thanks!

Can't believe men getting a form one maths question wrong :?

Postby sMASH » April 14th, 2011, 9:38 am

pyung99 wrote:48÷2(9x+3) = 0

solve for x.

first 'man' to every have me wakin most of a night. i real rusty with the algebra, i thinking infinity.

silver racer

Postby silver racer » April 14th, 2011, 9:58 am

Stephon. wrote:Once you teaching in public schools I don't mind, my kids safe, and stay away from QRC till my cousin graduates. Thanks!

Can't believe men getting a form one maths question wrong :?

I cant see how one could say its 288 :? .. when its clearly 2.

Makes me remember the days of the Raymond Toolsie Maths Text!

Postby sharkman121 » April 14th, 2011, 10:11 am

alyuh still beatin up in 'ere

Postby teems1 » April 14th, 2011, 10:16 am

sMASH wrote:
pyung99 wrote:48÷2(9x+3) = 0

solve for x.

first 'man' to every have me wakin most of a night. i real rusty with the algebra, i thinking infinity.

you're kidding right...

48 * (1/2) * (9x + 3) = 0

the 9x + 3 must be 0 since any number multiplied by 0 gives 0

hence 9x + 3 = 0
x = -3/9
x = -1/3

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 14th, 2011, 10:32 am

This is a great thread. Loving the responses, but I'm still on Team 2! :D

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » April 14th, 2011, 11:12 am

48 / 2x(9+3) = 2

Postby Stephon. » April 14th, 2011, 1:04 pm

All kinda ting wit allyuh junior sec students. Well have fun with allyuh 2 na!

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 14th, 2011, 1:13 pm

I am seeing what the "2" guys are saying.....(my immediate response was 2 though) ......but why can't 48÷2 be a constant multiplied by(9+3) ???

I blame the confusion on poor problem statement... lack of the use of brackets!

sleeper

Postby sleeper » April 14th, 2011, 1:48 pm

brackets must always be dealt with first. 48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2(12)

the brackets here still dictate that 2(12) must be addressed first. 48÷2(12) is not the same as 48÷2*12!!!, which would be done from left to right.

48÷2(12) is the equation one would have if there was a situation where 48 people had to get eggs from two crates of a dozen eggs each.

the answer is 2.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 14th, 2011, 3:37 pm

48÷(2(9+3)) = 2

Both answers depend on how you are taught.

A computer will treat 48÷2(y) as 48 ÷ 2 * (y) in which case the operations are done left to right after the brackets are calculated. It's how computers have been programmed from the beginning when life was simpler.

However, some are taught on paper that you must multiply the value next to the bracket first. So the equation really implies that 48÷2(y) becomes --> 48 ÷ (2*y). Long before computers the same equation would have been written differently (fractions), or rather written how the problem is meant to be solved.

Before the computer were in charge of calculations you would have gotten 2. But computers don't give priority to terms adjacent to the brackets as some people were taught. So in the year 2011, the correct answer is 288.

Postby Stephon. » April 14th, 2011, 3:40 pm

In other words. 2 is d stone age answer then. :lol:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 14th, 2011, 3:54 pm

^^ Correcto!

Postby sMASH » April 14th, 2011, 3:54 pm

okies, computers tellin humans what to think...

*well, me eh know, dais wah the computah do. de computah cyah be rong...*

Postby rollingstock » April 14th, 2011, 4:26 pm

^^^ Uhhhhhhhmmmmmmm who wrote the program for the computer to operate?

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 14th, 2011, 6:30 pm

A man say long time 2 was correct but now a days 288 is correct yes...
I STILL SAY 2!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 14th, 2011, 6:52 pm

i write plenty of code, and because i do, I can tell you about the limitations of writing code to solve problems such as these. If you cant set strict rules for the layout of the input data then processing the data is difficult.

The mathematical statement can be worded in too many different ways for a single piece of code to process accurately, hence the conversion to a standard form, ie postfix. Like said before, if converted to postfix the answer yielded will be 288. Though, I do have a minor in mathematics, it may not count for much here but that math minor leads me to the conclusion that the answer is 2 when read most logically.

Postby pete » April 14th, 2011, 8:25 pm

My sharp said it's 2 and a casio I tried yesterday said 288. *shrug*