White trash

Postby UML » April 10th, 2011, 2:57 pm

For shame of for style?
By By Cedriann J Martin

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/woman-ma ... 21984.html

Story Created: Apr 9, 2011 at 12:38 AM ECT

Story Updated: Apr 9, 2011 at 12:38 AM ECT

"The gyal and them love out me bleach out face," Vybz Kartel boasts in the self-aggrandising Look pon we. In another taunting track he croons: "Gyal… say me look cool (light skinned), like me wash me face with de cake soap (blue soap)."

Yessir. The dancehall artiste that, ten to one, your teenager is pumping on his iPod, is boasting about having gone from dark chocolate to a brownish, grayish hue complete with raccoon eyes and smoker's lips. He allegedly accomplished this chick-magnet complexion through the combined forces of laundry detergent and air conditioning. We all know that's improbable but when have performing artistes ever been an honest race?

I've been taken with the prolific Jamaican star, songwriter and businessman ever since I got wind of his University of the West Indies, Mona lecture last month. Armed with a PowerPoint presentation and an unending appetite for controversy he defended his skin-lightening by channeling Haile Selassie: 'Until the colour of a man's skin is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes….' In an interview with JA's Entertainment Report late last year he shrugged smugly: "black people lightening their skin to me is tantamount to white people getting a suntan."

It's a tricky and often futile job questioning people's motives. Kartel says he wanted to make his skin "a living, breathing canvas" and thought his tattoos didn't pop during his darker days. Plus he gets a kick out of shock and awe. He's stated that his decision to go lighter has nothing to do with shame or race. Women who straighten their tightly-coiled curls or stitch in locks shorn off unknown Indians' heads might be doing so for convenience or variety. Or they might have a fundamental discomfort with their naturally occurring kink. Which is it? Well that depends partly on the person and partly on the value we collectively place on light skin and "good" hair.

Kartel paints a picture of a more evolved African diaspora for which these shifts are purely a matter of aesthetics.

"Bleaching today doesn't mean the same as bleaching 25 years ago," he said at UWI. "We are a much prouder race who know that we can do what we want as far as style is concerned."

I wish that were true to the extent he submits. The whole put-milk-in-your-coffee mentality is so painfully old. But you still hear people going to great lengths to dilute or distance themselves from their blackness. It manifests in a thousand little ways—overly reverent mention of your "Spanish" great grandmother and cooing over babies with straight noses or "red" skin. And I'm not just talking about African people here. I've heard enough stories about Indians and bleaching creams to know that there's something of a universal value placed on lighter skin, particularly for women.

Men wanting to be lighter is new to me. Whatever for? In his foreword to Peter Frost's 2005 Fair Women, Dark Men, sociologist Pierre van den Berghe states that across cultures many people are either "indifferent to male pigmentation or even prefer men to be darker". To the Afro-Trinidadian male skin bleaching might sound unnecessary and extreme—a far harder sell than Gaza/Gully violence, apparently. But what are his attitudes to skin colour? Does he value one type of woman more than another? Are we still lugging around insecurities? Are we still rewarding lighter skin with everything from jobs to love?

He's a cynical one, that Kartel. To a business empire that includes everything from a line of rum to a condom named "Daggering", he now adds the Vybz cake soap. His job has nothing to do with black pride or health or empowerment and everything to do with persuading people to part with their money.

There's one point on which Kartel and I agree. He's nobody's role model. And if you're worried about the effects of either his skin-bleaching or his intensely witty and rhythmic brand of misogyny on your children, it's time to begin having open, honest conversations with them about who and what they're listening to lest backward ideas fester uninterrupted for another 25 years.

Re: White trash

Postby Bizzare » April 10th, 2011, 3:13 pm

Who cares.......No really, whats the big fuss about? :roll:

I saw the title and thought:

Postby K74T » April 10th, 2011, 3:17 pm

thought this ched was about

Postby UML » April 10th, 2011, 3:22 pm

Bizzare wrote:Who cares.......No really, whats the big fuss about? :roll:

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 10th, 2011, 3:24 pm

Bizzare wrote:Who cares.......No really, whats the big fuss about? :roll:

Postby UML » April 10th, 2011, 3:30 pm

guess he came out from the rock today

Postby Bizzare » April 10th, 2011, 4:06 pm

You guys have no clue...carry on with your Em ft Kartel collaboration :roll:

rossi

Postby rossi » April 10th, 2011, 4:17 pm

honestly.....reading "White Trash", I thought this thread was about poor white people. Hell, even Eminem came to mind.

OP, rename it to "Bleaching with cake soap - A report on Vybz Kartel"

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 10th, 2011, 5:11 pm

Bizzare wrote:You guys have no clue...carry on with your Em ft Kartel collaboration :roll:

it bad eh boidanboidawgboi

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 10th, 2011, 6:39 pm

will he stay like that?

Postby ismithx » April 10th, 2011, 6:39 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Bizzare wrote:You guys have no clue...carry on with your Em ft Kartel collaboration :roll:

it bad eh boidanboidawgboi

danraj alert! :!: :!:

Postby shogun » April 10th, 2011, 6:44 pm

"boasting about having gone from dark chocolate to a brownish, grayish hue complete with raccoon eyes and smoker's lips"

I just thought that was funny. What a fcukin' fake. Carry on then...

Postby Bizzare » April 10th, 2011, 6:56 pm

jm3 wrote:will he stay like that?

Does anyone recognize the wannabe red man in this thread :(

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 10th, 2011, 7:18 pm

Yeah but ent skin bleaching does cause Cancer?

Is like recommending someone to pick up the habbit of smoking from what I understand.

Postby Bizzare » April 10th, 2011, 7:30 pm

Kartel gonna curl/straighten his hair soon and sing about wearing false eyelashes. Then distinguishing between male and female gonna be a bit more difficult in the new wing ah Trincity mall.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 10th, 2011, 10:40 pm

*troll mode activate*

Postby sharkman121 » April 10th, 2011, 10:51 pm

fack he...he a kant :!:

some of he older tunes when he has now buss was decent doh.

Postby De Dragon » April 11th, 2011, 1:14 am

Now if he'd just get melanoma and dead!

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2011, 8:11 am

so these guys get the yutes to follow dem like how snoop dog, em, buju, beenie, had fellas followin dem back in the day. as he heads down his shemale road, them yutes gonna follow dat too.

Postby ismithx » April 11th, 2011, 8:24 am

Bizzare wrote:Kartel gonna curl/straighten his hair soon and sing about wearing false eyelashes. Then distinguishing between male and female gonna be a bit more difficult in the new wing ah Trincity mall.

could never know

Postby Razkal » April 11th, 2011, 8:30 am

somebody do the world a favour and kill this man....

Postby TRAE » April 11th, 2011, 8:39 am

de title thief meh head there g

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » April 11th, 2011, 9:05 am

sMASH wrote: them yutes gonna follow dat too.

it started already in jamdown
*awaits for it to happen in trini :roll:*

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » April 11th, 2011, 9:24 am

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 11th, 2011, 9:29 am

Aint nuttin but a danraj parday

Postby sharkman121 » April 11th, 2011, 9:41 am

dancehall just aint wat it used to be.....sigh. i feel sorry for this generation.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 11th, 2011, 10:39 am

kyatel shud go jump off a high cliff so that he wud end himself & d sh1t "music" he makes .......

Postby goalpost » April 11th, 2011, 10:42 am

UML wrote:Image

What the hell is this jed?

:?: :?: :?:

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » April 11th, 2011, 10:01 pm

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » April 11th, 2011, 10:17 pm

sharkman121 wrote:dancehall just aint wat it used to be.....sigh. i feel sorry for this generation.

Stueps @ this thread, I just wasted my time in here :(