WTK: laws pertaining to vehicle lights

nismo17

WTK: laws pertaining to vehicle lights

Postby nismo17 » March 30th, 2011, 11:36 am

Ok tuners, monday gone i pass tru a roadblock with my almera which has the white 5-led parklight blub. A dumb ass popo who cudnt even read the insurance certificate tell me how that white light illegal and give me a ticket for $750!!!!! Please inform me if this is correct, becuz i ent decide to pay that ticket, especially when d same popo gyul pass rite before me with a corolla with BLUE ligths on d fender and bonnet and one headlight not working....dat is rel BS!!!
Last edited by nismo17 on March 30th, 2011, 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: WTK: laws pertaining to vehichle lights

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 30th, 2011, 11:40 am

shyt i got those on some vehicles..thats illegal?

nismo17

Postby nismo17 » March 30th, 2011, 11:41 am

thats wat i wanna find out....

nismo17

Postby nismo17 » March 30th, 2011, 11:41 am

thats wat i wanna find out....

Sierra-117

Re: WTK: laws pertaining to vehicle lights

Postby Sierra-117 » March 30th, 2011, 11:45 am

nismo17 wrote:Ok tuners, monday gone i pass tru a roadblock with my almera which has the white 5-led parklight blub. A dumb ass popo who cudnt even read the insurance certificate tell me how that white light illegal and give me a ticket for $750!!!!! Please inform me if this is correct, becuz i ent decide to pay that ticket, especially when d same popo gyul pass rite before me with a corolla with BLUE ligths on d fender and bonnet and one headlight not working....dat is rel BS!!!

28 )(m)
(i) every motor vehicle shall be equipped with a minimum of two lamps at the front of the vehicle, one on each side to the satisfaction of the Licensing Authority. When a motor vehicle is in motion on a road at night, the lamps at the front of the vehicle shall be lighted, and the rays from the lamps shall be of a type approved by the Licensing Authority and, if the vehicle is capable of proceeding at a speed greater than thirty kilometres per hour, of such intensity as to illuminate the road ahead for a distance of at least ninety-five metres or such greater distance as is sufficient to ensure the safety of the vehicle and the persons carried on the vehicle, and to indicate clearly the presence of the vehicle to approaching traffic. However, a motorcycle shall show one such lamp as aforesaid, but if a sidecar is attached to the motorcycle, there shall be shown on that side of the side-car not
adjacent to the motorcycle, an additional light of sufficient intensity to indicate the
presence of the side-car from a reasonable distance to approaching traffic;

(ii) save as is contained in regulation 92, when stationary on a road at night every motor vehicle and every trailer not attached to a motor vehicle shall show two lights in front, one at each side, of sufficient intensity to
indicate the presence of the motor vehicle or trailer from a reasonable distance to
approaching traffic; but a motorcycle not attached to a side-car shall show one such light as aforesaid;

(iii) save as provided elsewhere in these Regulations, every motor vehicle or trailer
when on a road at night, whether in motion or stationary shall carry at least two lamps each showing a red light to the rear, of such intensity as to indicate clearly within a reasonable distance its presence on the road to traffic approaching from behind. There shall also be fitted lamps of such construction showing an uncoloured light of such intensity as to clearly illuminate the figures and numbers on the rear
identification plate. Except as aforesaid, no other lamp shall be carried to the rear of the vehicle without the special written permission of the Licensing Authority.
Where a trailer is attached to a tractor it will be sufficient if one such lamp as aforesaid is carried at the rear of the trailer only;

(iv) no spot lights or other similar swivelling lamps shall be carried on any motor vehicle without the authority of the Licensing Authority, who may authorise such lights at his discretion and subject to such conditions as he may impose;

(v) in addition to the foregoing provisions as to lamps to be carried, motor omnibuses shall also carry a lighted lamp on the inside top of the hood showing a white light visible within a reasonable distance in all directions;

(vi) in the case of motor omnibuses and goods vehicles, when either of the lamps referred to in subparagraph (i) hereof is placed in such a position that the distance of the centre of the lamp from the extreme outside point of the vehicle on its appropriate side exceeds three hundred millimetres, two additional lamps shall be fitted at the front of the said vehicle one on each side so that its centre shall not
exceed the aforesaid distance of three hundred millimetres, and so as clearly to indicate the width of the vehicle to approaching traffic; the said lamps shall be focussed below the horizontal and shall exhibit a light of sufficient power only to indicate the width of the vehicle.

hope this helps

Postby gastly369 » March 30th, 2011, 12:00 pm

:| my whole car is LEDs

zcarz

Postby zcarz » March 30th, 2011, 12:04 pm

rice laws.. nice

Postby rollingstock » March 30th, 2011, 12:13 pm

I have no idea what a 5 led parklight bulb looks like, post a pic of teh light on,may be able to give some better advice.

nismo17

Postby nismo17 » March 30th, 2011, 12:41 pm

sierra-117 thanks for d info. Now i need to find out what is the intensity limit. I think is 6000k?? But from what i read in this act I dont tink it is illegal...

zcarz

Postby zcarz » March 30th, 2011, 12:49 pm

vigos illegal?

rossi

Postby rossi » March 30th, 2011, 1:03 pm

zcarz wrote:vigos illegal?

Hadda be.

At least the OP lights are white. He shouldn't have been charged though.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » March 30th, 2011, 1:04 pm

Try to remember that our Motor Vehicles Act was written sometime back in the 1930's, it even still has references for steam powered vehicles.

The wording in the act leaves alot of room for interpretation by the charging officer at the time.
(e.g. There is no legal limit for tint, all tint is illegal but they will let you get away with some, but you can be charged for tint by an officer who is just having day or needs to make quota)

Back to you question on the lights, if your lights are the correct color and are all functioning, then I dont see the illegality.

You need to examine the exact wording of the ticket and find out exactly under which chapter of the act you are being charged with. From there you decide if you want to pay the fine or appear in court and plead your case.

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » March 31st, 2011, 6:27 am

Sierra-117 wrote:
nismo17 wrote:Ok tuners, monday gone i pass tru a roadblock with my almera which has the white 5-led parklight blub. A dumb ass popo who cudnt even read the insurance certificate tell me how that white light illegal and give me a ticket for $750!!!!! Please inform me if this is correct, becuz i ent decide to pay that ticket, especially when d same popo gyul pass rite before me with a corolla with BLUE ligths on d fender and bonnet and one headlight not working....dat is rel BS!!!

28 )(m)
(i) every motor vehicle shall be equipped with a minimum of two lamps at the front of the vehicle, one on each side to the satisfaction of the Licensing Authority. When a motor vehicle is in motion on a road at night, the lamps at the front of the vehicle shall be lighted, and the rays from the lamps shall be of a type approved by the Licensing Authority and, if the vehicle is capable of proceeding at a speed greater than thirty kilometres per hour, of such intensity as to illuminate the road ahead for a distance of at least ninety-five metres or such greater distance as is sufficient to ensure the safety of the vehicle and the persons carried on the vehicle, and to indicate clearly the presence of the vehicle to approaching traffic. However, a motorcycle shall show one such lamp as aforesaid, but if a sidecar is attached to the motorcycle, there shall be shown on that side of the side-car not
adjacent to the motorcycle, an additional light of sufficient intensity to indicate the

(ii) save as is contained in regulation 92, when stationary on a road at night every motor vehicle and every trailer not attached to a motor vehicle shall show two lights in front, one at each side, of sufficient intensity to
indicate the presence of the motor vehicle or trailer from a reasonable distance to
approaching traffic; but a motorcycle not attached to a side-car shall show one such light as aforesaid;

(iii) save as provided elsewhere in these Regulations, every motor vehicle or trailer
when on a road at night, whether in motion or stationary shall carry at least two lamps each showing a red light to the rear, of such intensity as to indicate clearly within a reasonable distance its presence on the road to traffic approaching from behind. There shall also be fitted lamps of such construction showing an uncoloured light of such intensity as to clearly illuminate the figures and numbers on the rear
identification plate. Except as aforesaid, no other lamp shall be carried to the rear of the vehicle without the special written permission of the Licensing Authority.
Where a trailer is attached to a tractor it will be sufficient if one such lamp as aforesaid is carried at the rear of the trailer only;

(iv) no spot lights or other similar swivelling lamps shall be carried on any motor vehicle without the authority of the Licensing Authority, who may authorise such lights at his discretion and subject to such conditions as he may impose;

(v) in addition to the foregoing provisions as to lamps to be carried, motor omnibuses shall also carry a lighted lamp on the inside top of the hood showing a white light visible within a reasonable distance in all directions;

(vi) in the case of motor omnibuses and goods vehicles, when either of the lamps referred to in subparagraph (i) hereof is placed in such a position that the distance of the centre of the lamp from the extreme outside point of the vehicle on its appropriate side exceeds three hundred millimetres, two additional lamps shall be fitted at the front of the said vehicle one on each side so that its centre shall not
exceed the aforesaid distance of three hundred millimetres, and so as clearly to indicate the width of the vehicle to approaching traffic; the said lamps shall be focussed below the horizontal and shall exhibit a light of sufficient power only to indicate the width of the vehicle.

hope this helps

what language is this?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » March 31st, 2011, 7:10 am

1ce it is not the lights the vehicle came with .....it is illegal ......take like the audi an dem dey hav white LEDs ..but they came like that so

venomz

Postby venomz » March 31st, 2011, 7:48 am

i never got problems with any ...i have 9bulb white led and 6000k hid kits

Postby sMASH » March 31st, 2011, 8:34 am

post the exact words of the ticket, i want to compare it to the law itself concerning the lights, to see if i might contest it if was me.

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » March 31st, 2011, 8:37 am

they are not illegal
go contest your ticket
i got a ticket 2 mths ago for the same issue and contest it

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » March 31st, 2011, 9:32 am

DRAGULA wrote:
Sierra-117 wrote:

28 )(m)

hope this helps

what language is this?

It is called Legalese.
Apparently lawyers and law makers aren't allowed to put anything on paper in plain english.

Postby Hook » March 31st, 2011, 10:38 am

Sierra-117 wrote:

28 )(m)

hope this helps

Actually, the OP was talking about these:

It tends to look like this:

Personally I switched back to the regular yellow-looking bulbs because I kept getting the ones that look kinda blue-ish and not the actual white ones.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 31st, 2011, 10:43 am

i have these on my civic...never got stopped....

got charged for these

but rolled thru roadblocks normal with these

it's always up to the officer and their stupid mood....

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » March 31st, 2011, 11:24 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:Image

i have these on my civic...never got stopped....

got charged for these

but rolled thru roadblocks normal with these

it's always up to the officer and their stupid mood....

Congrats! You are sooooo impressive!

jonathanpolo509

Postby jonathanpolo509 » March 31st, 2011, 12:27 pm

once yuh light white then yuh orn but if you know to your self it looking kinda blue then pay yuh fine and change it

Postby gastly369 » March 31st, 2011, 2:29 pm

does roll thru normelllll normellll
hit dem ah pieces 0X

nismo17

Postby nismo17 » March 31st, 2011, 5:53 pm

on the ticket it says, 'Unauthorised lights on vehicle'. But from reading the act, unauthorised lights are defined as lights other than the two headligths and side lamps (indicators). I am 100% positive the lights are white not even with a trace of blue....d officer said that white is illegal, it is suppose to be yellow...that was his exact words.....
I really want to contest this in court but the thing is I will be out of the country on the given court date.....I spoke to a couple other officers and they told me to talk with the superintendent, but the most she could do is ruff him up a little or get him transferred....I guess I have other choice but to pay it, but atleast he'll get some embarassment.....

nismo17

Postby nismo17 » March 31st, 2011, 6:20 pm

thelem wrote:interesting.....well i guess u have $750 or whatever for the government. Sell yuh bulbs and buy the $5 ones.

I feeling it rel hard to pay that cause I know it not illegal...Is there any way I can get the court date changed?

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 6:25 pm

As with the law regarding tint, so to is the law regarding lights left to the discretion of the officer. Which is total BS mind you. So if the pow pow get a piece of a$$ b4 he came on duty, then you good to go. But, if the pow pow find out that sumone else getting piece of his a$$, then be prepared to get charged......

nismo17

Postby nismo17 » March 31st, 2011, 6:32 pm

Sierra-117 wrote:As with the law regarding tint, so to is the law regarding lights left to the discretion of the officer. Which is total BS mind you. So if the pow pow get a piece of a$$ b4 he came on duty, then you good to go. But, if the pow pow find out that sumone else getting piece of his a$$, then be prepared to get charged......

lol....hors d man gyul is my cousin....this fella jus plain wicked....he wanted to pull some sort of rank....I really want to contest this....again is there any where I can get the date changed?? If i go to them my confirmed ticket and a legitimate letter from work?? I flying monday, so that too mite be hard....I'l pay it if i have no other choice....that eh notin he go get his....

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 6:41 pm

nismo17 wrote:
Sierra-117 wrote:As with the law regarding tint, so to is the law regarding lights left to the discretion of the officer. Which is total BS mind you. So if the pow pow get a piece of a$$ b4 he came on duty, then you good to go. But, if the pow pow find out that sumone else getting piece of his a$$, then be prepared to get charged......

lol....hors d man gyul is my cousin....this fella jus plain wicked....he wanted to pull some sort of rank....I really want to contest this....again is there any where I can get the date changed?? If i go to them my confirmed ticket and a legitimate letter from work?? I flying monday, so that too mite be hard....I'l pay it if i have no other choice....that eh notin he go get his....

my advice, jus pay the ticket bud. If you contest it in court, that will take money and time, Mind you both aren't exclusive because in todays world one is the other. More feasible opt, pay the ticket. Don't stroke the pow pow ego by giving him the satisfaction of disrupting your life to contest him....
hope this helps

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » March 31st, 2011, 9:07 pm

horse the vehicle did not come wit LED lights ....u may lose ur case ......some officers may let it slide ...but some will say " did u buy the vehicle like that?" nope ...well it is unauthorised

nismo17

Postby nismo17 » March 31st, 2011, 10:15 pm

i figure thats d best ting to do rite now yes....