Importing an iPAD

Re: Importing an iPAD

Postby Monk BANzai » November 25th, 2010, 1:06 pm

Sky wrote:.....MY HTC DOES THAT!!
And I don't have cargo pockets that big :P

well show off nah!!

Postby Greypatch » November 25th, 2010, 1:33 pm

so men have to jump through hoops to use it here in T&T..

LMAO

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » November 25th, 2010, 9:53 pm

My personal preference for a tablet is the Galaxy Tab or an Archos 101. But this is for the wife and in her eyes anything other than an iPAD is 2nd tier - some battles you just can't win even if you're right.

Postby RBphoto » November 25th, 2010, 10:19 pm

Thanks for the advice on activating in the states banzai. Will do.

carjunkies

Postby carjunkies » February 23rd, 2011, 12:20 pm

will duty and taxes apply to the samsung galaxy tab ?

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » March 9th, 2011, 3:07 pm

I think that this will clear it up...

E COURIERS LTD. T/A: EZONE
& P O Box Int'l. Unit #4,
Bldg 4, Fernandes Industrial Centre
EMR, Laventille, Port of Spain.
(868) 626-2345 (Fax 626-2345 ext. 237)
VAT#: 120786

INVOICE: 837176
INVOICE DATE: 3/9/2011
Printed: 3/9/2011 1:54:39 PM
AWB NO.:877814
AWB DATE: 3/4/2011

name removed
box number removed

address removed

Work: xxx ext 2xxx
Home:
Cell: xxxxxx
Route :

SHIPPER:
AMAZON.COM

CONSIGNEE:
name removed
DESCRIPTION:
IPAD/CASE
WEIGHT: 7 PCS: 1

FREIGHT: $139.96
INSURANCE: $96.75
CUS DUTY: $820.00
IMPORT VAT: $738.00

TOTAL
TTD $1,794.71

zcarz

Postby zcarz » March 9th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Well I'm assuming it's new, is the engine over 1600 cc? It will obv be subject to taxes but as I said please give more information. Also where you bringing it in from? Here's a rough guide:

engine size not exceeding 1599 cc Free
engine size exceeding 1599 cc but not exceeding 1799 cc – $ 4.00 per cc
engine size exceeding 1799 cc but not exceeding 1999 cc – $ 8.00 per cc
engine size exceeding 1999 cc but not exceeding 2499 cc – $21.00 per cc
engine size exceeding 2499 cc but not exceeding 2999 cc – $25.00 per cc
engine size exceeding 2999 cc but not exceeding 3499 cc – $30.00 per cc
engine size exceeding 3499 cc – $45.00 per cc

Postby M_2NR » March 9th, 2011, 5:28 pm

Just updating some info here.... lol @ z post :lol:

You don't need to activate wifi models per say, they behave like iPod touches. The 3G version with the sim that you may need to activate. The devices are not locked if they are from the US so you can use a datasim in them.

Wrt to apple ID's apple's site outlines specifically how u can get a free account without a CC. You basically go into iTunes and purchase a "free" app like ebuddy and create an account to "make" the purchase. If you go just so and make an account without "purchasing" an app, u will not be given the "no CC" option.

Some skyboxes as you can see charge vat and duties, others dont.

Postby pete » March 9th, 2011, 5:52 pm

At 1800 in duty, shipping and VAT ya could practically buy a ticket to Miami to buy it :|

Postby Stephon. » March 9th, 2011, 6:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ no it didnt - you still have to pay duty and VAT on a Kindle

only if you bring a laptop, or a COMPLETE computer system would it be free of duty and VAT

Not exactly, I never pay duty on external hard drives. My 4th 2TB ext is coming in tomorrow :wiggle:

Postby Stephon. » March 9th, 2011, 6:41 pm

I am pissed off that the iPad2 prices are the same as the iPad prices :( - Now the resale value on my iPad next week will be next to nothing compared the what I paid for it. *sad face*

Also I've never had any problems with mine as far as the activating, getting online with data etc. Only thing I can't stand is the credit card issue.

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2011, 7:01 pm

people I know with Ipads use Itunes gift cards instead of credit cards

Postby bushwakka » March 9th, 2011, 7:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ no it didnt - you still have to pay duty and VAT on a Kindle

only if you bring a laptop, or a COMPLETE computer system would it be free of duty and VAT

BUT BUT.......i thought an ipad was the amazing wonder device that cud do everything?

yuh mean to say it can't?

A33_BZ

Postby A33_BZ » March 9th, 2011, 9:51 pm

brought in a good amount already...got charged vat on 2 on separate occasions and the others no vat no duty..its up to who u shipping with and the customs applying the charges i guess..when i attempted to ask why was i charged and not on the other occasions..they said that its not considered a laptop or a full desktop to be vat and duty free...only in trini yes..can never make up dey mind

thesnake11

Postby thesnake11 » March 10th, 2011, 3:46 am

Good question
Last edited by thesnake11 on March 10th, 2011, 3:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

thesnake11

Postby thesnake11 » March 10th, 2011, 3:46 am

Greypatch wrote:Would like to hear from the users...

ah fell dem rocking WiFi only

I use 3G and wifi.... Works faster than phones also.

Pay $200TT approx from TSTT(not bmobile) monthly

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » March 10th, 2011, 9:38 am

Stephon. wrote:I am pissed off that the iPad2 prices are the same as the iPad prices :( - Now the resale value on my iPad next week will be next to nothing compared the what I paid for it. *sad face*

Also I've never had any problems with mine as far as the activating, getting online with data etc. Only thing I can't stand is the credit card issue.

i got iTunes cards for sale

Apple iTunes Gift Card's

US$15 Value - $150.00 - Retail

US$15 Value - $120.00 - Wholesale - [ 10pcs Minimum ]

ImageImageImage

US$25 Value - $210.00 - Retail

US$25 Value - $180.00 - Wholesale - [ 10pcs Minimum ]

ImageImageImage

US$50 Value - $380.00 - Retail

US$50 Value - $350.00 - Wholesale - [ 10pcs Minimum ]

ImageImageImage

US$100 Value - $730.00 - Retail

US$100 Value - $700.00 - Wholesale - [ 10pcs Minimum ]

FREE Delivery <--- Almost Anywhere !!!

Richard - 680-3752

you can pay me in US$ also

US$15 value for US$20

US$25 value for US$30

US$50 value for US$60

US$100 value for US$120

toolpusher

Postby toolpusher » March 10th, 2011, 6:43 pm

Recently imported an IPad also and was charged Duty and Vat also.Is there any way I can query this and not pay the VAT and DUTY .

Postby bushwakka » March 10th, 2011, 7:40 pm

^^lol...good luck wit dat...

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » March 11th, 2011, 6:50 pm

bushwakka wrote:^^lol...good luck wit dat...

After roughing them up :

Printed: 3/11/2011 5:43:31 PM

xxxxx
xxxxx

xxxxxx

Workxxxxx ext xxx
Home:
Cell: xxxxx

Route :

SHIPPER:
AMAZON.COM

CONSIGNEE:
xxxxx

DESCRIPTION:
IPAD/CASE

ADJUSTMENT/ CORRECTION: ($1,558.00)

TOTAL
TTD $236.71

I have now paved the way for importation of ipads without vat and duty to T&T with E COURIERS LTD. :D
Kindle and nook also included.

Postby Stephon. » March 11th, 2011, 7:05 pm

Nice :p

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 11th, 2011, 7:57 pm

Tired Accord wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:agreed..but then when you try to download apps for the Ipad it asks for your i-tunes account or info regarding it....the last one i brought in (for myself) i had to use a friends US CC info to activate it locally...
bear in mind folks that just like the Iphone, any one sold out of the US or the UK is considered to be an illegal unit...

Oh yes! F0@k - I forgot that! If you don't have an iTunes account - you need to put in a credit/debit card to activate an account - and you need to do that first before you can even use the 'Pad. I used my Bank of America debit card. But I guess there is a way to use your local credit card as was said a couple posts back.

I have an iTunes account and it was very easy to set up, either the Unit Trust Visa Debit or the Republic Bank Visa Debit works. It doesnt need to be a US card. I used the my Republic card.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 11th, 2011, 8:05 pm

Greypatch wrote:does TSTT or Digicel have a data plan for the ipad ?

Or are users limited to WiFi ?

Bmobile's data plan should work, but it's only EDGE so it real slow. Digicel doesnt officially offer EDGE to anything but BlackBerrys, however there was a way to trick the system. Unfortunately after the update they did last week, it doesnt work anymore...hence why my iPhone has no data connection now. (fecking Digicel :evil: )

toolpusher

Postby toolpusher » March 11th, 2011, 9:01 pm

Way to go nighttroll ................If only we had more poeple like you to deal with the rest of the Country...not just Customs

Postby S_2NR » March 11th, 2011, 10:08 pm

Nighttroll wrote:
bushwakka wrote:^^lol...good luck wit dat...

After roughing them up :

Printed: 3/11/2011 5:43:31 PM

xxxxx
xxxxx

xxxxxx

Workxxxxx ext xxx
Home:
Cell: xxxxx

Route :

SHIPPER:
AMAZON.COM

CONSIGNEE:
xxxxx

DESCRIPTION:
IPAD/CASE

ADJUSTMENT/ CORRECTION: ($1,558.00)

TOTAL
TTD $236.71

I have now paved the way for importation of ipads without vat and duty to T&T with E COURIERS LTD. :D
Kindle and nook also included.

way to go! trinis too dam tolerant IMO..
more need to stand up to all d BS

rossi

Postby rossi » March 11th, 2011, 11:08 pm

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 11th, 2011, 11:53 pm

i paid $60.00 TT with Freight Movers last year.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 19th, 2011, 9:15 pm

thesnake11 wrote:
Greypatch wrote:Would like to hear from the users...

ah fell dem rocking WiFi only

I use 3G and wifi.... Works faster than phones also.

Pay $200TT approx from TSTT(not bmobile) monthly

3g??????? u serious? or is edge u talking bout?

Postby M_2NR » March 19th, 2011, 11:15 pm

hoverauto wrote:
Greypatch wrote:does TSTT or Digicel have a data plan for the ipad ?

Or are users limited to WiFi ?

Bmobile's data plan should work, but it's only EDGE so it real slow. Digicel doesnt officially offer EDGE to anything but BlackBerrys, however there was a way to trick the system. Unfortunately after the update they did last week, it doesnt work anymore...hence why my iPhone has no data connection now. (fecking Digicel :evil: )

what update? my data is working fine on my iPhone on Digicel. And I'm on a BB data plan. It's slow during the day but it working normel :?
Please let us know what u are talking about bud

And AFAIK there is no 3G data via sims from either carrier. Unless we all sum up and petition them...

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 20th, 2011, 5:49 am

u got a bb data plan to work on a iphone???????? how u did that?