5onDfloor wrote:Baaaa Baaaa Baaaa......... give jack his jacket RASC did his research unlike the PP supporters who dealing with emotions
Aaron 2NR wrote:ok where do i start....
yes i do support the death penalty...as well as the bill that the government had before parliament...no where did the government say it is going to stop crime but they are going to enforce the death penalty as the highest form of conviction in the land.
if we recall from Imbert's speech.....the privy council told us in three landmark decisions in 93, 03,04 that our laws are so tightly worded that the privy council has said that even if they wanted to, they cannot interfere with the imposition of the mandatory death penalty for murder in T&T.....
Under the human right's act, after being convicted a person has to be executive before 5 yrs has passed otherwise it would be illegal to execute said person....
Under our current constitution there is so time limit in which a person has to appeal his conviction and the government wanted to amend the constitution, so that, after being convicted a person has 12 mths to appeal and be heard by the appeal courts and human rights commission.....the PNM then asked for it to be changed to 18 mths because the appeal courts usually take sometime to respond....
This was just one of the plans that the government were going to rule out in its fight against crime. ie. setting a time limit on appeals for those on death row.....
Well all that is doing is giving more legal powers to the defense attorneys.
1. If within the 18 month period, a response is NOT heard...the defense then has ammunition with which they can postpone their clients impending execution even more. Ramlogan tried to make it seem as if "well don't worry even if the 12 (18) month period has passed, we will carry out the execution". We all know that will NOT happen in reality, as the lawyers would simply say "it's unconstitutional-because we aren't fully aware of the IHRC ruling"...and we will just be going back and forth in a see-saw circle. Next thing you know 5 years reach, can't do anything.
OR
2. If within the 18 month period a response IS heard from the IHRC-and it's in total opposite to our ruling...the State would constitutionally have NO prosecution with which to attack with, and we're stuck with Criminal X eating his supper til the end of his days. If it were not in the constitution at least we could stand a chance fighting it.
The point is this...WHY on Earth even inject the IHRC into the fray? Why even give the option? It's just gonna make it even harder for us to execute criminals. Defense attorneys live for finding loop holes.
The government is in the process to bring legislation to construct a DNA lab, setting up a database and include it in its fight against crime.....
Aaron 2NR wrote:a criminal already has the right under the law of the land to take up a case with the UN in cases where they think their human rights are being taken advantage of....
IT IS ALREADY THERE IN BLACK AND WHITE!....
what the government is doing, is setting a time period for this to be done...
Aaron 2NR wrote:a criminal already has the right under the law of the land to take up a case with the UN in cases where they think their human rights are being taken advantage of....
RASC wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:a criminal already has the right under the law of the land to take up a case with the UN in cases where they think their human rights are being taken advantage of....
Yes and in the process making it a Constitutional right to be exploited by crafty lawyers.
...and worse you attach a time limit. The time is too short...it's going to be used AGAINST the prosecution.
Again, let's say the 18 months past, we say OKAY-we gonna hang him. They decided to go to the Privy Council-who are then gonna examine our constitution and see "well you only gave 18 months as a constitutional right...that's a bit short no? Let's wait some more time"
...within that time period the IHRC can then come and say Nope don't hang him, we go back to the Privy Council and they say "Well the IHRC rights are entrenched in your constitution you can't ignore their ruling"
Without the IHRC entrenched in our constitution we could've ignored or even fought the case tooth and nail. Now with it entrenched in our constitution our sovereignty is being diminished.
zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:a criminal already has the right under the law of the land to take up a case with the UN in cases where they think their human rights are being taken advantage of....
Yes and in the process making it a Constitutional right to be exploited by crafty lawyers.
...and worse you attach a time limit. The time is too short...it's going to be used AGAINST the prosecution.
Again, let's say the 18 months past, we say OKAY-we gonna hang him. They decided to go to the Privy Council-who are then gonna examine our constitution and see "well you only gave 18 months as a constitutional right...that's a bit short no? Let's wait some more time"
...within that time period the IHRC can then come and say Nope don't hang him, we go back to the Privy Council and they say "Well the IHRC rights are entrenched in your constitution you can't ignore their ruling"
Without the IHRC entrenched in our constitution we could've ignored or even fought the case tooth and nail. Now with it entrenched in our constitution our sovereignty is being diminished.
So RASC tell us what is the best way to deal on this?
Aaron 2NR wrote:so RASC why didn't uncle Rowley sit down and work together with the PM instead of voting No....he forgot he represent his constituents and not himself...he supposed to put his emotions aside and think country first...
oh wait...he doesn't
RASC wrote:Look, the IHRC and the Privy Council do not our will at heart.
They are OVERLY liberal organisations that do not see the execution of any convicted murders as a way to deter crime.
We need to MOVE away from these two institutions.
One of them we can't technically move away from-the IHRC, but we can buffer their sphere of influence by swiftly engaging in the CCJ.
Aaron 2NR wrote:many criminals know if they are caught, they would be fed and taken care of my the state....if they know that if they are convicted, they will be executed, dont you think they would think twice??
zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Look, the IHRC and the Privy Council do not our will at heart.
They are OVERLY liberal organisations that do not see the execution of any convicted murders as a way to deter crime.
We need to MOVE away from these two institutions.
One of them we can't technically move away from-the IHRC, but we can buffer their sphere of influence by swiftly engaging in the CCJ.
But RASC can we really trust the CCJ. God forbid if the PNM was to steal another election and then appoint PNM judges where would this leave us?
Aaron 2NR wrote:^ many of the times, ppl who are charged and convicted for murder are not first time offenders of any crime...they often carry a theft charge or something before....that was my point...some ppl know it is safer for them inside jail and continue to do crime when they are on the outside...
when they are in prison, they dont have to hustle for a meal or a place to sleep.....so if they commit murder, they dont business cuz at the end of the day, the victim's family paying for them to eat
Humes wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:^ many of the times, ppl who are charged and convicted for murder are not first time offenders of any crime...they often carry a theft charge or something before....that was my point...some ppl know it is safer for them inside jail and continue to do crime when they are on the outside...
when they are in prison, they dont have to hustle for a meal or a place to sleep.....so if they commit murder, they dont business cuz at the end of the day, the victim's family paying for them to eat
Aaron 2NR, yuh living in a dream world. Yuh talkin rubbish. I'm sorry, but there's no other way to put it. Criminals don't like jail. End of story. They commit crimes boldly because they don't think they'll be caught.
Problems aren't solved by concocting imaginary emotionally-fueled scenarios in your head. Problems are solved by facing reality and moving accordingly.
SUPAstarr wrote:OK,i understand what Aaron is sayin, but looking at past history IMO the privy council has always been a stumbling block, an thats not any kinda of revalation. Why isnt the exhaustive appeal process been dealt with? What sense does it make to bring this bill is you are jus cleaning up the edges but not REALLY helping the process.
5onDfloor wrote:^^ because they passing bill for passing bill sake.....and want to condemn the PNM for not supporting the bill and in so doing its "blame the PNM syndrome"....
The reason why they wont amend it so we wont have to go the Privy council is simple.....If they loose they marbles and remove the Privy Council as our Highest Appeal Court what would that mean for they boys Ish & Steve who are still in jail?![]()
Aaron 2NR wrote:^ they have security so they fear nothing......lets see those smiles when one of their loved ones die
RASC wrote:Humes wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:^ many of the times, ppl who are charged and convicted for murder are not first time offenders of any crime...they often carry a theft charge or something before....that was my point...some ppl know it is safer for them inside jail and continue to do crime when they are on the outside...
Aaron 2NR, yuh living in a dream world. Yuh talkin rubbish. I'm sorry, but there's no other way to put it. Criminals don't like jail. End of story. They commit crimes boldly because they don't think they'll be caught.
Problems aren't solved by concocting imaginary emotionally-fueled scenarios in your head. Problems are solved by facing reality and moving accordingly.
You can tell alot of them have never been in a jail or spoken to ex cons...the vast majority are scared shittless of jail. They rather die in the streets. They've already made up their minds that they're gonna die doing "this".