3ne2nr fishermen

Smeed

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Smeed » February 24th, 2011, 10:18 pm

ryan99tt - i got a fierce but i ain't use it yet. i think i bought it either on amazon or tackle direct. they supposed to be good enuff....i was impressed with the all metal appearnace...feels solid.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 24th, 2011, 11:15 pm

u bring it in yourself or u ordered it? i think i mite go wit the battle though..

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 25th, 2011, 7:38 am

ryan99tt wrote:damn, daz ah gd weekend to go...

anyone have the penn battle reel or penn fierce reel in the country? can anyone tell me which is the better buy bcuz i getting ah penn battle reel for the same price as a rod and reel fierce combo?

BATTLE

FIERCE

Invest in either the Penn Slammer 560/760 or the SSM series. Will last for years with the proper care and has enough stopping power for the big ones, hard to go wrong with these.

The battle and the fierce has about 6lbs more drag but the internals are not the same quality as these and will flex under maximum pressure eventually.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 25th, 2011, 8:05 am

they said that the fierce and battle are made from all metal so there wudm=nt be any flex...its really as a secoundary reel, i already have ah few...how long u have yours?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 25th, 2011, 12:51 pm

ryan99tt wrote:they said that the fierce and battle are made from all metal so there wudm=nt be any flex...its really as a secoundary reel, i already have ah few...how long u have yours?
Last edited by Sabot on July 1st, 2014, 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 25th, 2011, 1:48 pm

i think that it will be a gd buy, well at least i would test it out an keep u guys posted on how it holds up...

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » February 25th, 2011, 2:41 pm

ryan99tt.....im not familiar with the battle or the fierce but i own a penn 760 reel and i am very pleased

which battle u lookin at? if you are looking at the 6000/7000 series i seriously recommend spending the extra and looking at either a 560/760 slammer

what type of fishing you doing? if you are surf fishing then you def want a better quality reel that would stand up to the sand and the water......cuz u WILL get sand in there at some point
either way u go, both reels have 20lb+ of drag at the higher end and you want a solid rod that can handle the drag pressure on bigger fish....iv'e caught king fish 20lbs+ with a penn 760 losing no more than 50 yards of line with the drag at about 15lbs of pressure

....good luck let us know which you choose

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » February 25th, 2011, 2:44 pm

btw Sabot talk real sense about the type of metal used for the main shaft and bearings being of lesser quality than higher end reels.......check out the reviews!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 25th, 2011, 2:45 pm

i think i buying the penn battle 8000 for the extra line...u may not know these reels because they were released 2011...by d way which rod u suggest?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » February 25th, 2011, 3:11 pm

i have a billfisher live bait series rated for 20-40lb test mono paired with my 760 which i think would be real good for any big spinning reel but it is only a 6ft boat rod so if you doing surf fishing forget it cuz ya aint passing the breakers lol....i got it at mankee's, he was tellin me he was bringing in a new shipment soon too so link him

who fishing this wknd?
gonna take a troll in the gulf tmr afternoon and see wha good

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 25th, 2011, 4:25 pm

reeLpACE, wat are sum of d artificials yuh does use? rig? bait? when trolling...

hear dis nah fellas, when ulyuh feel is the best moon to fish? sum ppl say ah few days before and after 1/4 moon and sum say ah few days before and after new or full moon...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 25th, 2011, 9:18 pm

aye ryan.....buy it an try it out....doh take wha anybody say......i agree dat is not de most expensivest or exoticest reel on de market....buh de price is good

personally, i would love a coupla shimano stella reels coupled wid terez rods (de red ones)....even tho i might be able to afford it....at us$800-us$1000 for a combo...i will have a very hard time validating dat expenditure to my wife!!

i learnt de hard way to be careful wid gear especially since i would usually provide de gear that we would use on a trip....i lost a new tirajelo rod wid a saragosa reel.....it didn't drop overboard....i figure someone moved with it.....de hard part was dat i was fishing wid friends and family.....as such i now make it clear who can use what gear.....shakespeare for de majority ah people.....i keep de penns, shimano and fin nor for de wifey and myself!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 26th, 2011, 7:28 am

Smeed, daz real hard boi...family and frens...i does usually carry all d equipment wen i heading out wit my frens too but i never had anything gone missing...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 26th, 2011, 8:49 am

Smeed wrote:aye ryan.....buy it an try it out....doh take wha anybody say......i agree dat is not de most expensivest or exoticest reel on de market....buh de price is good

personally, i would love a coupla shimano stella reels coupled wid terez rods (de red ones)....even tho i might be able to afford it....at us$800-us$1000 for a combo...i will have a very hard time validating dat expenditure to my wife!!
!

Quite agree with you here.
While I would like to have a Van Staal reel or a G-Loomis rod the expense is not worth it in my opinion. At the same time however I prefer to spend a little more and get something that would perform flawlessly without much possibility of failure or having to be looking for a replacement in a few months. This is the main reason for advising on the Slammer or the SS/SSM line of reels rather than the battle or fierce. It may be that the internals are the same as the Silver Series with a few enhancements on the body. I personally would wait on more reviews on those two reels before shelling out 100US or thereabouts for one. :wink:

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2011, 9:47 am

I still have my same old gear but i have some stuff at my relatives home in miami that i use when i go there....

I will try and bring it down.... and buy better stuff... I always believe in having the best tackle but rods like the daiwa can take reall jamming for those who cant afford the higher quality rods.....Any time i going miami i will let people know and i do all my shopping in outdoor world...so someone can just check out the site see what they want and let me know and give me the money and i will ship it from there.......

I have a shimano stradic spinning reel to bring and i looking at investing in some big game reel and rods for when i making my deep water fishing and tobago fishing...

looking at investing is a penn torque(i heard its one of the best spinning reel ever), and a really good penn rod.

Postby X_Factor » February 26th, 2011, 9:54 am

^ yep the torque series from Penn is one of the best out there
my father has a sargus and that works sweet and thats like one of the lower ends
so i can imagine the highest line

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 26th, 2011, 11:06 am

for reel!!....nuttin cyuah beat good gear....de torque, shimano stella, shimano trinidad a....de new one reaaaal nice boy....light and power like wow....check out spanishflytv.com....dais jose wejebe website

he does a lot of trials for shimano and developed the new trinidad a and terez series of rods.....very skinny and light.....but power like WOW!! i macco a couple at anglers center in new jersey....reaaaal nice feeling gear...all feedback from actual users were good....men say is de bestest gear dey ever buy.....and dis is from men who have working reels and rods that more dan 10 - 15 years old!!

i hoping to make a lil trip later dis year wid meh family to florida.....if i get dere den i go invest in some stuff.....i saving up from all now!!

like de saying goes......good ting not cheap and cheap ting not good!!

tight lines!!

for me personally if i buy anything online, i'm hesitant to go high end...just because i'm basically buying blind.....kinda scared to spend a heap of money on something i can't feel in my hands....as such the stuff i bought online were the penn fierce, a fin nor offshore, shimano sargus, shimano spheros....hooks, fluoro leader, power pro......

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » February 27th, 2011, 1:25 pm

ryan99tt wrote:reeLpACE, wat are sum of d artificials yuh does use? rig? bait? when trolling...

hear dis nah fellas, when ulyuh feel is the best moon to fish? sum ppl say ah few days before and after 1/4 moon and sum say ah few days before and after new or full moon...

for trolling in the gulf i would usually use heavy spinning gear (same 760 combo) 30lb braid onto 50yards of 25lb mono topshot (cuz the braid is too visible and might spook some fish) that is then tied to a swivel and wire leader.....
for bait i usually stick with yo zuri crystal minnow, changing colors depending on the bite but if the bait in the area is real small i like to use a pin minnow with a 1oz trolling sinker 4ft from the lure

trolling offshore i really find that using heavy trolling sinkers or a downrigger has the most success esp for kings and cavali but fish like dolphin and bonito like more surface lures like islanders and squid type lures, NB these need to be trolled faster to give the correct action especially if used with an umbrella spread.....as for the moon phases i usually talk to the fishermen in the area cuz i could never quite understand it lol

Postby Razkal » February 27th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Cosign on Penn Slammer series.
currently own a 950ssm going on four years.. all it needs really is a fresh water rinse after each fishing day, and a service anytime its gonna be put down for a while...never had an issue, good solid reassuring rod to hold and battle big ones...

i changed the rod tip once...it got banged up shifting around the pick-up tray.
cost me ~1100TT for the combo..
http://www.scottsbt.com/pennparts/reels ... 950ssm.htm

yuh know yuh like it :lol:

btw...heading north coast in half hour....call I if anyone wants to link up.. # on prev page

vedesh

Postby vedesh » February 27th, 2011, 5:44 pm

anyone ever dive and spearfish in macaripe bay?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 27th, 2011, 9:20 pm

reeLpACE, with respect to the braid, how often do u change line? does it lose its coating and begin to soak up water? which brand do u use?

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » February 28th, 2011, 2:15 am

vedesh wrote:anyone ever dive and spearfish in macaripe bay?

I went with my gun once, water visibility was really low so it was pointless. i am sure that there is game in the bay but I think it is illegal to spearfish there,so is fishing i can be wrong but people still do it .
i just got some new gear
can't wait to test it out!

venomz

Postby venomz » February 28th, 2011, 7:26 am

spearfishing is illegal at macqueripe bay....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 28th, 2011, 10:27 am

yea, spearfishing is illegal at macqueripe but it doh stop ppl...wat ulyuh fellaz wo went out for the weekend hold? give we sum inspiration nah...

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » February 28th, 2011, 2:49 pm

ryan99tt wrote:reeLpACE, with respect to the braid, how often do u change line? does it lose its coating and begin to soak up water? which brand do u use?

actually i have only recently started using braid
i've had it on a reel for about 5mths and haven't changed it yet and it still seems pretty strong.....it is power pro line and it soaks up water from the first go but that doesn't affect performance from what i have noticed. I originally got it to try deep jigging but i haven't found any spots where that method has had much success but then again i may not have been "on" the fish, who knows.......anyone else try jigging????

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 28th, 2011, 4:18 pm

i tried jigging on ah few trips with no success either but i does till try anytime i go, u cud never tell wen sumthing mite happen...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 28th, 2011, 6:58 pm

reeLpACE wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:reeLpACE, with respect to the braid, how often do u change line? does it lose its coating and begin to soak up water? which brand do u use?

actually i have only recently started using braid
i've had it on a reel for about 5mths and haven't changed it yet and it still seems pretty strong.....it is power pro line and it soaks up water from the first go but that doesn't affect performance from what i have noticed. I originally got it to try deep jigging but i haven't found any spots where that method has had much success but then again i may not have been "on" the fish, who knows.......anyone else try jigging????
Last edited by Sabot on July 1st, 2014, 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venomz

Postby venomz » February 28th, 2011, 7:58 pm

good info on the braided...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 28th, 2011, 8:27 pm

Sabot, which jigs do u use? seems i does use the wrong ones...lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 28th, 2011, 8:32 pm

u ever tried the williamson lures? they have some real nice jigging lures...