The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

zcarz

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby zcarz » February 17th, 2011, 2:43 am

ok, so tell me something here.. cuz i confused. My friend was arguing with me and saying that a location fix from GPS can only be obtained in Trinidad via wi-fi or edge (which is A-GPS), which means if i take out the SIM card from my phone and disable wi-fi, there is no way for me to get a location fix although my phone has both GPS and A-GPS, because the US gov't would never put expensive satellites into space for the world to use free. Is he not wrong?

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2011, 4:57 pm

zcarz wrote:ok, so tell me something here.. cuz i confused. My friend was arguing with me and saying that a location fix from GPS can only be obtained in Trinidad via wi-fi or edge (which is A-GPS), which means if i take out the SIM card from my phone and disable wi-fi, there is no way for me to get a location fix although my phone has both GPS and A-GPS, because the US gov't would never put expensive satellites into space for the world to use free. Is he not wrong?

well I'm not sure about that, but u would get a GPS fix without using the wifi, but the question is what app wanted to use the WiFi to get that fix, if its a map app like Google maps, then u would get the fix but the app itself would not be able to dispaly your location as it needs the WiFi or an EDGE connection to download the map, these apps are not offline apps

How ever if u use an Android app like Google Sky Maps, GPS Status or Speedview, u are able to get a usable GPS fix and a location using Longitude and Latitude, U will get also your elevation and the speed you are travelling at depeding on how detailed the app is, and all this is independant of any Wifi or EDGE connection because i ahve done this while travelling on the highway

So in theory, you should be able to take out your SIM card and still be able to get a fix using just GPS.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 17th, 2011, 6:47 pm

^yea tnx i just tried it, took about 10 mins on GPS Status app, but i got a fix (latitude and longitude)

Postby RASC » February 17th, 2011, 6:54 pm

tr1ad wrote:Sorry RASC
i wouldn't call it MAJOR lag
Say whaaaaaa :? You on kixx or what? That's major lag to me buddy.

what phone wouldn't experience lag like that?
Errrrr iPhone 1-4 and any WP7 device :?

if it bothering you take your OCD arse outta here
:lol: You think that's gonna get any faster? That was a FRESH phone they were viewing there. It wasn't running any background apps, it wasn't loaded to the brim with media...what you think gonna happen after 4 weeks of use?

Postby RASC » February 17th, 2011, 7:13 pm

I like the way the U/I has grown up a bit in the Galaxy S 2 tho...
I'm looking for less nerd/tech green and more mature polish. Sharper lines and a more contemporary grown up look...not to mention dual cores before I jump on board.

I doh wanna have to be side loading anything or flashing nuttin to get the thing to work smoothly.

Saw this on XDA-(This is EXACTLY how I used to feel about symbian themes, there would always be this one screen or couple of screens that did not mesh with the overall theme...hated that. I want it to be flush, seemless and clean through out)

...the third thing is its lack of consistency. like i said earlier, i customized my ROMs a lot. My home screens, icon sets, fonts, and launcher theme all were consistent. Then when you open an app (the dialer for example) its a whole different look. This may not bother some people but it bothered me quite a bit and im sure im not the only one...

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 17th, 2011, 7:21 pm

RASC wrote:

:lol: You think that's gonna get any faster? That was a FRESH phone they were viewing there. It wasn't running any background apps, it wasn't loaded to the brim with media...what you think gonna happen after 4 weeks of use?

RASC were u using a branded phone? they tend to be much slower than the original ROM's.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2011, 7:24 pm

RASC wrote:

The funny thing is i am in the android thread, i dont read the iPhone thread and i dont read the WP7 thread (if there is one), i love android and i love my android, Those phones must be really lacking something because i cant figure out why you have the time to spend in a thread where the topic discussed is something you find inadequate for your own personal use. It's like you hate to get wet but you cant wait to step into the rain

Android is not for everyone, and if I have had a great experience using my HTC Magic and you didnt when using whatever you used, then it sucks to be you, LOL!

Now the WP7 interface is beautiful but i am not really into all that glitz and glamour, i'm into more of the substance of what android can do and the huge amount of choice i have

Postby RASC » February 17th, 2011, 7:26 pm

I cannot wait til WP7 comes to T&T...
I wanna see Mitch face when he sees the sexiness that is WP7 :lol:

Also taken from XDA:
Anyway, I took a chance with the HD7. I thought I'd play with it for a bit just to check out Windows new UI. I knew when picking the phone I'd sell it because I didn't want a Windows phone. I'm an ANDROID FANBOY! The money made from it would break me even for my Tab purchase. Sweet!

Guess what...? The phone is not going to sold, because I think I'm in love? I also feel like I'm cheating on my wife, or something. This phone ROCKS! Still not sure why I feel this way, but I do.

1. Phone is SEXY!
2. Love the layout of the UI.
3. It's just so damn smooth!

I also tried going back to my Android before my 30-day return window was up for my HD7, but within an hour I couldn't even stand how sluggish it was compared to my HD7.

There is no question, I am sticking with my HD7 and will probably continue with some sort of WP7 device until they come out with something better.

HD7 (WP7) works smoother than any other phone out there including iPhone and is so much sleeker than every other OS. I absolutely love it.

Can't wait ;)

Postby RASC » February 17th, 2011, 7:39 pm

zcarz wrote:
RASC wrote:

RASC were u using a branded phone? they tend to be much slower than the original ROM's.

I have used all all all
Stock Vanillas
///and those bloated with blur and sense...same story. All laggy. The bloated ones lagged even more of course.

We have basically the same internals...WP7 and Android
One is running multitasking, sd cards, flash the other isn't.

OF COURSE it's gonna lag more :? That's what I've been trying to convey and everyone's calling me a liar. Android branded phones need dual cores and the OEM's need to get on that pronto.

Postby RASC » February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm

achillies wrote:
RASC wrote:

The funny thing is i am in the android thread, i dont read the iPhone thread and i dont read the WP7 thread (if there is one), i love android and i love my android, Those phones must be really lacking something because i cant figure out why you have the time to spend in a thread where the topic discussed is something you find inadequate for your own personal use. It's like you hate to get wet but you cant wait to step into the rain

Android is not for everyone, and if I have had a great experience using my HTC Magic and you didnt when using whatever you used, then it sucks to be you, LOL!

Now the WP7 interface is beautiful but i am not really into all that glitz and glamour, i'm into more of the substance of what android can do and the huge amount of choice i have

Hear this one with the magical "snappy and responsive HTC Magic" Stop lying to yourself and me pallie :lol:

sensiman

Postby sensiman » February 17th, 2011, 7:56 pm

So I am trying this out before the iphone4. Had it just a few days, anyone here used a Huawei smartphone before?

Cheap chinese droid FTW $130CA Brand new prepaid

General 2G Network GSM 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 900 / 2100
Announced 2010, February
Status Available. Released 2010, July
Size Dimensions 107.5 x 57 x 13.8 mm
Weight 104 g
Display Type TFT touchscreen, 256K colors
Size 240 x 320 pixels, 2.8 inches
- Accelerometer sensor for auto-rotate
Sound Alert types Vibration, MP3 ringtones
Loudspeaker Yes
3.5mm jack Yes
Memory Phonebook Practically unlimited entries and fields, Photocall
Call records Practically unlimited
Card slot microSD, up to 32GB, buy memory
Data GPRS Class 10 (4+1/3+2 slots), 32 - 48 kbps
EDGE Class 10, 236.8 kbps
3G HSDPA, 7.2 Mbps
WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g
Bluetooth Yes v2.0 with A2DP
Infrared port No
USB Yes, microUSB v2.0
Camera Primary 3.15 MP, 2048x1536 pixels, LED flash
Video Yes
Secondary Yes, VGA
Features OS Android OS
Messaging SMS (threaded view), MMS, Email, IM
Browser HTML
Radio FM radio
Games Yes
Colors Pink
GPS Yes, with A-GPS support
Java Via third party application
- MP3/WAV/WMA/eAAC+ player
- MP4/WMV/H.264/H.263 player
- Document viewer (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF)
- Voice memo
Battery Standard battery, Li-Ion 1150 mAh
Stand-by Up to 240 h
Talk time Up to 4 h 30 min
Misc SAR US 0.76 W/kg (head) 0.86 W/kg (body)
SAR EU 0.68 W/kg (head)

http://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_u8100-3157.php

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2011, 8:00 pm

RASC wrote:
achillies wrote:
RASC wrote:

Hear this one with the magical "snappy and responsive HTC Magic" Stop lying to yourself and me pallie :lol:

Go to Google or any search Engine for that matter and do a search for "the top selling mobile OS" then come back in here and lets see who is Laughing Out Loud

Now I am waiting on your response
Last edited by achillies on February 17th, 2011, 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » February 17th, 2011, 8:08 pm

achillies wrote:
RASC wrote:
achillies wrote:
RASC wrote:

Go to Google and do a search for "the top selling mobile OS" then come back in here and lets see who is Laughing Out Loud

Now I am waiting on your response

Duh it's Android... :? Everyone knows this. Why is this being discussed? How is it connected to anything which I speak of?

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2011, 8:19 pm

Eugene Kaspersky, the computer security expert behind the software that bears his name, thinks that Android could end up completely dominating the mobile platform market. And by dominate, he means upwards of 80-percent of the landscape. Speaking at Barcelona earlier this week, Kaspersky indicated that players like RIM and Apple could be fighting for the remaining 20% should things not change.

“I believe that if Apple, BlackBerry, Microsoft ... don't change their strategy very soon we will soon have the same mobile operating system landscape as we have with computers.”

We're all for Android taking the biggest piece of the pie, but we never thought it would reach this level. Do any of you guys think Kaspersky is on on the money or are you expecting a pretty even split among the players?

5 Responses to “Eugene Kaspersky Says Android Could Dominate with 80% Market Share” Leave a reply ›

Nathan February 17, 2011

i think it may get to 60-70% but not much more than that. apple and rim have too large of a user base to take it all.

and microsoft, well, when windows 8 ARM comes out they'll grab a lot of the tablet space back, and with nokia and WP7 they'll grab some there, but still no true contender for android.
Reply ›
acupunc February 17, 2011

One of the main things Kaspersky is overlooking is Windows 8.

Dell leaked a road-map and Win8 may be here Jan 2012, earlier than the Jan 2013 generally expected.

Win8 from everything I've read is being designed to run on phones, tablets, and desktops with unique UI for each.

If Android isn't allowed to grow it's ecosystem to the desktop because Google is obstinate about Chrome OS & the cloud and keep holding Android back from being a full OS that can span phone to desktop, and if this continues and Win8 is released users will see, just like they did with netbooks, an opportunity to have a "unified ecosystem" amongst all their devices and software. This would have a huge impact on the mobile OS market.
Reply ›
Jeremy February 17, 2011

Not sure what some people are smoking, but last i checked microsoft has an extremely poor track record with OS releases... Unless you are implying that everyone loved windows ME, Vista, or 7. Even XP was They have an even more dismal record with mobile OS... That being said windows 8 would have to be just sheerly the most awe inspiring amazing OS that was ever brought to be for MS to really have a chance... WP7 will only exist due to Nokia jumping in to the race... Nokia's stocks have already plummetted the past few days since the announcement... Such doesnt spark consumer confidence... If google plays their cards right, they have a good chance at being the next OS king much like MS was with desktop OSes...
Reply ›
Sorin February 17, 2011

Once that all (most) applications will be web/HTML5 apps, the operating system won't matter that much. I'm sure both Apple, RIM and Microsoft will be more than happy to run Android web apps on their platforms. The only advantage Android has at this point is that web apps are not there yet so the operating system is still relevant.
Reply ›
ari-free February 17, 2011

Yes, all those tip calculators can be done in html5 but all of the good apps, the really interesting apps, will use native code. That's why NDK and renderscript are so important.

And the problem for Windows8 is that they can port the OS to ARM, none of the Windows games will work. This app might work but not that and maybe this app will run but will be flaky. Not a good experience.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2011, 8:24 pm

Like Andrew mentioned in his report about Eric Schmidt’s MWC keynote, Google’s next version of Android will combine Gingerbread and Honeycomb, so there will not be separate versions for phones and tablets. I think that’s good news, and now a few more details have emerged about which Honeycomb features we’re going to see on our phones.

I’m sure you’ve noticed this already, but all Android versions are named after pastries and desserts and the names are in alphabetical order starting from “a” as in Android: Cupcake, Donut, Eclair, Froyo, Gingerbread and Honeycomb. For a long time we’ve heard about the next version of Android being called Ice Cream, and it’s more or less confirmed now. Phone Scoop has spoken to Google’s Android Engineering Director Dave Burke, and he provided a few details about which Honeycomb features our phones are going to get:

The contextual “action bar” at the top of screen will be used on phones as well.
The system bar at the bottom of the screen might not make it to our handsets (probably a good thing).
Phones will get the “hologram” design of Honeycomb, so it remains to be seen if Ice Cream on handsets even will resemble Gingerbread.
Honeycomb’s new multitasking task switcher that shows a snapshot of each running app, kind of like the cards in webOS, will be a feature on phones as well.

I personally feel that the best news here is that Ice Cream powered phones are going to get the new visual task switcher – I think it will be a great improvement over the current one. That’s all we know for now. How do you feel about Ice Cream being an OS for both phones and tablets?

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2011, 8:30 pm

Kinda Disappointed that Motorola is the one that came up with this phone

Postby RASC » February 17th, 2011, 8:33 pm

Its a good idea to merge the two. Not only would it not confuse end user n00bs but Im sure itd make a devs day so much easier!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 17th, 2011, 9:01 pm

RASC wrote:I cannot wait til WP7 comes to T&T...
I wanna see Mitch face when he sees the sexiness that is WP7 :lol:

i've seen all the videos and while WP7 is a MAJOR overhaul from the mess that was Windows Mobile, as someone rightfully said already, it's all 'glitz & glamour"

but it isnt for everyone. as far as i see the only thing WP7 has going for it is the fancy UI and the quality of games available on it.

and trust me, u'll never convince an Android user to switch to WP7. there's no comparison.

have u seen the Honeycomb videos? Android updates are just getting slicker and the UI is improving all the time. cant wait for the next phone update that combines the Gingerbread and Honeycomb look and features.

i'm interested in seeing Apple's next step because their UI looks completely outdated compared to Android and WP7 especially with the iPad which is basically a giant iPhone.

btw did u just say that the iPhone 1 - 4 had no lag? r u serious? :|
the only iPhone with no lag is the iPhone 4 and maybe the 3GS to a lesser extent. my 1st gen iPhone and 3G lagged and crashed all the damn time!

i've since switch to Android and never looked back. and jus like WP7, it isnt for everyone.
(it's for a hell of a lot more ppl than WP7 though :lol: )

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 17th, 2011, 10:41 pm

So Obama is meeting with Schmidt, Jobs and Zuckerberg. anybody missing?

bahhhahahahahhahahaha :lol: :lol: :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » February 19th, 2011, 7:33 am

Houston, the Motorola Atrix 4G has Been Rooted

Before it could even officially hit the streets, the Motorola Atrix 4G has been rooted thanks to a handful of members between our AndroidForums and XDA. See it above running Titanium Backup.

There are still some hurdles to jump such as that dreaded Motorola bootloader, but the head start is encouraging. We’re well on our way to busting the handset wide open, it’s just a matter of time until custom ROMs are supported. The folks working on the root still remain skeptical on the possibility, but I’m betting that will be done in two weeks. Any takers?

achillies

Postby achillies » February 19th, 2011, 11:41 pm

Android Market URLs Hinting at Things to Come (Books, Music, and Movies)
It appears that Google has reserved a few domains and redirects for some upcoming Android Market features. We've previously heard about future support for books and music, so it doesn't surprise us to learn that https://market.android.com/books/ and https://market.android.com/music/ would redirect to the Android Market home page. Likewise, https://market.android.com/apps/ also yields the same result. Playing around with other possibilities, we were somewhat curious when we found https://market.android.com/movies/ working as well.

We're not sure if there are others, nor how soon we might see a switch flipped for these, but we'll be watching now. It's worth pointing out that not every word does this. Try filling in the last spot with your favorites (beer, games, clothes) and you get a different result.

We'd love to know more about the movies section, assuming it's part of a bigger plan. Will it be tied to YouTube (Leanback) or part of something involving the major production companies? Anyone out there already know and care to share?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 19th, 2011, 11:52 pm

just got 2.3 on my desire hd. working really smooth and nice, i like it.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 20th, 2011, 12:11 am

^OTA update?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 20th, 2011, 12:37 am

no, cm7, kinda got impatient

ziggi_d

Postby ziggi_d » February 21st, 2011, 6:49 pm

honda hoe wrote:
blud7 wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
blud7 wrote:hi people. Just wanted to share my mms settings that work for me. I have an HTC Desire which = HTC Incredible (more or less, this one is GSM) and a Motorola Milestone (which = Motorola Droid)

Name: mms
APN: mms
MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app" target="_blank
MMS Proxy: 192.168.210.104
Port: 8080
Authentication Type: None
APN Type: mms

Leave everything else the way it is and pay particular attention to the last two entries.

Tried those settings already

Does not work on my nexus

Hmm, well the HTC Desire is almost identical to your Nexus.
And like I said, check the last two settings.
Authentication can also be 'not set' so make sure you actually set it to 'none'

These settings do work for me.

Salt boy :(

I am having the same problem on my HTC Aria....Ne1 figured out how to solve this problem as yet?

achillies

Postby achillies » February 22nd, 2011, 5:48 pm

The Cricket World Cup is under way, bringing together 14 of the best cricket-playing nations in the world in an international competition. Keeping track of the many one-day test matches may be a little tough, so stay up on all the latest news with Cricket World Cup 2011.

From now until April 2011, Cricket World Cup 2011 will be a source for people looking to stay abreast of what’s happening in the ICC Cricket World Cup. The app shows fixtures to track match schedules and a points table to see which teams are leading in the tournament. CWC 2011 also has links to news articles and a page showing select tweets mentioning the World Cup, but that feature is rather limited and not that valuable.

What is worth noting is that CWC provides live coverage of test matches. Scores, news, and commentary are available during matches, and notifications are supported. CWC can be set to appear in the notifications menu after scores or wickets. Someone who can’t watch the action can still know what happens as the West Indies and South Africa face off.

Cricket World Cup 2011 requires Android 2.0 in order to work. An ad-supported is available for free in the Android Market, or users can upgrade to a premium version that is ad-free.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 22nd, 2011, 6:00 pm

HTC Outs Source Code for Desire Z, Desire HD, myTouch 4G and Aria

Source code, get your source code here. HTC has dropped quite a few new sources upon their online developer center covering a handful of handsets released in the latter half of 2010 (and two featuring the updated version of HTC Sense). Fresh for your perusal are the source codes of the HTC Desire Z Desire HD, Aria, and T-Mobile-branded myTouch 4G. For those working in custom ROMs or the hacking community, this should offer plenty of new material to riff off of.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 22nd, 2011, 6:09 pm

^^NOICE!!!

Postby tr1ad » February 22nd, 2011, 6:37 pm

which HTC is that in the pic?

i like how that one looks

2NR Smurf