3 Things About Islam Everyone Should Know---opinions?

Re: 3 Things About Islam Everyone Should Know---opinions?

Postby janfar » February 15th, 2011, 4:48 pm

Bizzare wrote:
Sinister_Audio wrote:just curious...how many types of 'christians' are there?

and how many types of 'muslims' are there?

Has a lot more types of Muslims than there are Christians.

lol... their are 3 major denominations of Islam...

Sunni
Shia
Sufism

And 5 Minor... bear in mind that Sunni make up the brunt of the religion...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islam

Uhhhh... hold this...

Catholic 1,050,000,000
Orthodox/Eastern Christian 240,000,000
African indigenous sects (AICs) 110,000,000
Pentecostal 105,000,000
Reformed/Presbyterian/Congregational/United 75,000,000
Anglican 73,000,000
Baptist 70,000,000
Methodist 70,000,000
Lutheran 64,000,000
Jehovah's Witnesses 14,800,000
Adventist 12,000,000
Latter Day Saints 12,500,000
Apostolic/New Apostolic 10,000,000
Stone-Campbell ("Restoration Movement") 5,400,000
New Thought (Unity, Christian Science, etc.) 1,500,000
Brethren (incl. Plymouth) 1,500,000
Mennonite 1,250,000
Friends (Quakers)

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 4:48 pm

That list contains only the most popular Yofoot.

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » February 15th, 2011, 5:00 pm

Bizzare wrote:That list contains only the most popular Yofoot.

yes boss, but I was raised a Christian and i am son of a preacher man, I could tell you that a common thing with churches/denominations to to split and form there own when they can't get their way. Look no further than all the local churches that don't belong to a "major" denomination.

No Doubt that list is only the most common, but take a look at the Christian domination list, it is expansive, I do believe it has way more "types" of Christians, than there are Muslims.

For arguments sake, a larger list:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_schools_and_branches
or
http://www.real-islam.org/73_8.htm

Compare to this:
List of Christian Denominations:
http://www.fact-index.com/l/li/list_of_christian_denominations.html

How long it take you to stroll through that?

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 5:06 pm

Not arguing, and I'm also the son of a "preacher man". Christianity is the most popular religion. On the other side of the world, there are many denominations of Islam not known to us. If you do some research you'll see.
Anyway, all this babble becoming boring.

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » February 15th, 2011, 5:17 pm

The video is interesting and very misleading.

So I guess anyone can compile alil youtube video based on 'their' opinions and claim it to represent one of the world's most popular religions?

Nowhere in this video was proper passages and verses cited as evidence to the claims being thrown out...and to Bizarre..u said that the islam practiced by some is maybe 'new age'...sorry dude try again.

One can safely practice islam in a non-islamic society and still be within the confines of the moral and legal values practiced therein.

I can't believe it's 2011 and people still using arguements that the Qu'ran say you MUST kill non muslims etc etc lol..wat rubbish

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 5:22 pm

jadakiss wrote:I can't believe it's 2011 and people still using arguements that the Qu'ran say you MUST kill non muslims etc etc lol..wat rubbish

I can't believe is 2011 and you never heard a Muslim/Muslims say so themselves :?

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 5:26 pm

2:191 And slay them wherever ye find them, and drive them out of the places whence they drove you out, for persecution is worse than slaughter. And fight not with them at the Inviolable Place of Worship until they first attack you there, but if they attack you (there) then slay them. Such is the reward of disbelievers.

5:33 The only reward of those who make war upon Allah and His messenger and strive after corruption in the land will be that they will be killed or crucified, or have their hands and feet on alternate sides cut off, or will be expelled out of the land. Such will be their degradation in the world, and in the Hereafter theirs will be an awful doom.

Blah blah blah...... If I'm taking it out of context ok...if not ok....whatever...enough of this ched 4 me [/gone]

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 15th, 2011, 5:42 pm

paging jadakiss

doc123

Postby doc123 » February 15th, 2011, 6:03 pm

Bizzare wrote:2:191 And slay them wherever ye find them, and drive them out of the places whence they drove you out, for persecution is worse than slaughter. And fight not with them at the Inviolable Place of Worship until they first attack you there, but if they attack you (there) then slay them. Such is the reward of disbelievers.

5:33 The only reward of those who make war upon Allah and His messenger and strive after corruption in the land will be that they will be killed or crucified, or have their hands and feet on alternate sides cut off, or will be expelled out of the land. Such will be their degradation in the world, and in the Hereafter theirs will be an awful doom.

Blah blah blah...... If I'm taking it out of context ok...if not ok....whatever...enough of this ched 4 me [/gone]

2.191 refers to situations like what is happening in Israel\ Palestine in these times where a foreign people i.e The Christian\Jewish alliance unilaterally divide and displace the local Palestinians, slaughter and terrorize those who did not leave and sieze their land and properties...oppresion that continues to this day...any normal human will resist not so? like the said same resistance by the French etc during WW2...all this done because claim that their jewish Religion gives jews claim to the Palestinian land...the same type of religious opinions everyone fighting down now...the christians obey the jews because their religion says that the jews are the "chosen" ones and they mus succumb to the will of the jews.

5:33 refers to crimes committed in the land punishable by death and corporal punishment such as rape, murder, unlawfully acquiring people's land and property, corruption and stirring up mischief amongst the general citizens including the non-muslims who sign treaties and agree to live in peace with the muslims in an Islamic country....these same punishment all basic humans call for even some on this forum..i.e death for murder\kidnapping etc.

Too much self-inspired "pastors" who know little about Christianity itself seems to just say all sorts of misinformed and misguided propaganda against Islam just to "get" ranks amongst themselves and to impress their congregations who do not know better.

shady23

Postby shady23 » February 15th, 2011, 6:06 pm

One question, why Sunnis and Shi'ites always have beef so? No pun intended. Always hearing them fighting one another.

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 15th, 2011, 7:42 pm

no one comment on izlam says its ok to beat byuh wife? 4..55 allows husbands to hit there wives

hamel

Postby hamel » February 15th, 2011, 8:25 pm

Ok people hear this whoever came up with this video did a good job of deceiving , one needs to look at the Quran their selves then make judgement , I can tell you all the good and bad of other religions but only your personel opinion would count.

One thing i know for sure is if these videos were being created against another religion for sure the would have said that the devil is working against thier religon.

So bros. in humanity don't be misguided Islam is peace just like all religions.

Postby nemisis » February 15th, 2011, 9:23 pm

This ain't lock yet? Shocking

RMSTTL

Postby RMSTTL » February 15th, 2011, 11:12 pm

the vid makes very valid points. having lived and worked among muslims for the better part of the last 20 years i can testify that what is now termed as "radical islam" has never been called radical until recently, post 9/11. but it has always been a part of islam. the most disturbing thing for me is that otherwise intelegent and forward thinking people will discard they previously held moderate views based on what the islamic preacher tells them. i have seen and experienced how everyday muslims will hold fast to views held by men filled with hatred and their vehement desire to impose islam upon "infidels". the same is true of christanity in early years but the difference is i am alive now and it is islam that is at present telling muslims that i deserve to die because i dont follow islam. for me any religion that trys to force it self upon society or individuals has something fundamentally and ideologically wrong with it. the one thing that seperates man from animals is our ability to choose freely. and i will allow no man to take away that right and subjucate me.

i mean no disrespect to anyone and if you are offended i appologize. just my 2 cents.

Postby K74T » February 15th, 2011, 11:17 pm

the sawine is strong in this thread

0X

Postby M_2NR » February 15th, 2011, 11:45 pm

LOL @ that video and thread. I stopped at 5mins in i admit.

first of all the word is MUSLIM... he even spells it so and then says moslem. Then he using scare tactics... as another post wrote.

I couldnt stop laughing where he started to say moslem and taqiyya... and deceiving ppl.
deds.
thanks for the laugh OP.
Then on top of that... written by a man. Muhammad (SAW) was illiterate. And then he says the Quran contradicts itself... and to take what is written at a later date as fact. ROFL.

if you all really wanna know about Islam... dont just rely on a youtube video. what he says in the beginning of his own video contradicts his own video btw.

There is a "God thread" OP... this kinda stuff falls into there afaik.

Postby MG Man » February 16th, 2011, 12:17 am

I live my life through the teachings of my Lord John Lennon
peace love
LSD
asian chicks

Postby K74T » February 16th, 2011, 12:20 am

and rainbow colored ceiling fans

Postby MG Man » February 16th, 2011, 12:23 am

it's a tough lifestyle tho
Still trying to achieve the level of psychedelic Rolls Royce ownership

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » February 16th, 2011, 8:16 am

metalgear2095 wrote:paging jadakiss

Paging metalgear2095's brain? ....paging..no answer!

Anywhoo..i like how meh boi Bizarre take some of the most popular internet snippets of the Qu'ran and manipulate it jus like the many authors on answeringislam.com, thereligionofpeace.com etc etc

But if we all use our 'intellect' that God has blessed us with the passages quoted should be read in conjunction with the entire verse associated with it.

You see these verses were revealed at a time when Muslims of Madinah were under constant attack from the Makkans. An example would be when the Makkans conducted the public crucifixion of the companion of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), Khubaib bin Adi. These would be classified as ‘terrorist activities’ according to the modern usage of the term. So what does this verse say in this context? “Fight in the cause of God those who fight you”, “unless they (first) fight you there” - the context of this verse applies to those who initiate the attack against Muslims. And even after they attack, the verse makes it clear: “But if they cease, God is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.” And it also makes clear the purpose for what Muslims fight: “fight them on until there is no more tumult or oppression, and there prevail justice and faith in God”.

^^^ i guess the OP didn't read the rest of the verse eh?

So..it is the duty of Muslims to defend humanity from oppression and persecution and to establish justice. Muslims believe that God has placed us here on earth as his deputy or viceroy, and thus, it is our duty to enjoin the good and forbid the evil, to establish peace and justice in the land where we reside.

Alot of the arguements presented by these tuners are weak. Its a healthy debate but not the quality of info presented is low.

jadakiss wrote:I can't believe it's 2011 and people still using arguements that the Qu'ran say you MUST kill non muslims etc etc lol..wat rubbish

Bizarre wrote:I can't believe is 2011 and you never heard a Muslim/Muslims say so themselves :?

^^ Ok so you did a statisical analysis of the opinions of thousands of mainstream muslims and conclude this?

Alot of Muslims r misguided, jus like members of other religions...they hear things in isolation or jus let their emotions dictate their moral code..and being muslim, it suddenly becomes an ideology contained in Islam...and that is false.

Read the book, don't take what a man says for the gospel. Christians should know this all too well.

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » February 16th, 2011, 9:12 am

yea fellars this is the kind of tings that cause war.this is trinidad the only place where a masjid,temple an church can b side by side an everyone live happy.sweet trinidad

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » February 16th, 2011, 9:16 am

yea fellars this is the kind of tings that cause war.this is trinidad the only place where a masjid,temple an church can b side by side an everyone live happy.sweet trinidad

Postby K74T » February 16th, 2011, 9:21 am

allyuh ent fed up quarrel over these things? geez....

Postby TRAE » February 16th, 2011, 9:24 am

i think that all christian sects should be individually classes because there are different views of the bible and i truly think that every christian should read the bible and take whatever they get out of it and live accordingly,

there's a movie called Stoning of Soriya, anyone saw it?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » February 16th, 2011, 9:29 am

islam has a bad rap worlwide already and it would be like this for some time to come and muslims know this.the rest of the world however is moving forward (chinese, indians, russians(soon to regain its superpower title), brazilians (a global power) etc) while the middle east beyotches and moans. times have changed so its either they get with the program OR be dismally thrown to the wayside off the modern road to the future

Postby RBphoto » February 16th, 2011, 9:38 am

Youtube is a friggin encyclopedia now?

There are people that subscribe to that, there are muslims that are moderate, and there are some who are rum jinking, pork eating fornicators who don't give a hoot.... just like with every other religion. The wacos and religious extremist are the loudest, that does not mean that everyone subscribes to their radical views.

TK!

Postby TK! » February 16th, 2011, 10:07 am

the video has a lot of factual info but the 5% of false info is used to paint a really negative picture of tha quran and muslims.

the quran is a revealed book. it wasnt written by any man. the order of the chapters, does not reflect the chronological order of the Quranic verses as implied in the video.

tho timeless, the quran has a lot of historical references. so it would be foolish to quote one line without looking at the context in which it is used.

similarly, one can quote from the bible:
"All who would not seek the LORD, the God of Israel, were to be put to death, whether small or great, man or woman." -(From the NIV Bible, 2 Chronicles 15:13)"

But you really need to read and understand what event is taking place for God to say such a thing. In the quran, it's usually against oppressors or aggressors that such language is used.

it's really simple. the quran is small and can be read in a day or two. read it yourself and ask a knowledgeable muslim to explain parts you dont understand.

Postby AllTrac » February 16th, 2011, 10:11 am

how do i become a muslim? after seeing this vid I would like to become one, I would like to give up my brahmin lifestyle and live the life of a muslim.

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » February 16th, 2011, 10:22 am

doc_tek wrote:islam has a bad rap worlwide already and it would be like this for some time to come and muslims know this.the rest of the world however is moving forward (chinese, indians, russians(soon to regain its superpower title), brazilians (a global power) etc) while the middle east beyotches and moans. times have changed so its either they get with the program OR be dismally thrown to the wayside off the modern road to the future

So what's the correlation between the mordern road and islam? are you suggesting that Islam is retrograde and needs to adjust its ideology to that of the 'superpowers' in order to be taken seriously?

Are you saying that oppressed people's in the middle east who"beyotchs and moans" need to just give in to the infrigement from the US and zionist forces? Last time i checked, only wore torn middle eastern countries were speaking out..not the typical arab , qatari persons who living large. Are these oppressed people(s) not justified to 'beyotch(s) and moan(s)' against the genocide committed by other nations to them?

Boy, if you delve into islam and its commentary u'd see that islam advocates the intellectual refinement of its worshippers thru science and technology. Alot of scientific, mathematical,medicinal, astro-physical references are contained within the passages.

Does this not invalidate your point..? Yes

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » February 16th, 2011, 10:24 am

TK wrote:the video has a lot of factual info but the 5% of false info is used to paint a really negative picture of tha quran and muslims.

the quran is a revealed book. it wasnt written by any man. the order of the chapters, does not reflect the chronological order of the Quranic verses as implied in the video.

tho timeless, the quran has a lot of historical references. so it would be foolish to quote one line without looking at the context in which it is used.

similarly, one can quote from the bible:
"All who would not seek the LORD, the God of Israel, were to be put to death, whether small or great, man or woman." -(From the NIV Bible, 2 Chronicles 15:13)"

But you really need to read and understand what event is taking place for God to say such a thing. In the quran, it's usually against oppressors or aggressors that such language is used.

it's really simple. the quran is small and can be read in a day or two. read it yourself and ask a knowledgeable muslim to explain parts you dont understand.

^^ Simple and effective point.Well said.