Re: TTASA ah hope allyuh proud of yuh members

Postby r3iXmann » February 8th, 2011, 6:59 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:
Mudboy wrote:
calleocho wrote:how many of us have went to a fete got drunk/high/head nice, had a great time and then drove home during early hours of the morning?

don't see the comparison....maybe you tied in the two as they are both illegal?

but anyway on a positive note....a track is being built so when its completed we will see if the street racing is history.

wait, why don't you see the comparison?

when you go to a fete and drink, wait...lemme guess.... 'yuh could handle yuhself' ent? :roll:

mad dexing skills,yo!

m6

Postby m6 » February 8th, 2011, 6:59 am

SR wrote:
m6 wrote:
SR wrote:take a good look at what happens on public roads at night

while there is flowing trafffic

note the car numbers
note the people
and guess what

police eh doin nuttin

But wait nah!!!..... a lil while ago I remember a certain white HB civic (a slow one too) racing on the Diego Martin highway....., was it legal then, or is vex yuh vex because "Panic" didn't film you?? :mrgreen:

clearly you didnt see who was driving

now take your foot out of your mouth

that car was sold more than a year and half ago if you are reffering to the spoon hb civic

as for being slow well you definatly have the wrong car and person

car was never setup for drag racing but circuit

OK agreed, but three things.... (1) I am talking about when you owned the car, not the with the new owner!!!! (Crystal Stream lights.....think you got about 3 car lengths) :lol:

(2) The car was set up for circuit, so why was it DRAG RACING (as you said) on the street???

(3) There is no such thing a FAST Civic?.....what do you call fast???? :roll:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » February 8th, 2011, 7:08 am

tr1ad wrote:how yuh want dem get street cred yo

x2 :mrgreen:

Postby Hook » February 8th, 2011, 7:21 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:
calleocho wrote:how many of us have went to a fete got drunk/high/head nice, had a great time and then drove home during early hours of the morning?

oh sheit .......

L☺L... I love how street racers and the ppl who support them try to justify
- coming to a complete stop/reversing on a highway while other motorists are passing
- doing burnouts on a highway (thus obscuring the vision of people not involved in the race)
- racing around traffic who have nothing to do with the race (and almost colliding with them as seen in this video)
by comparing it to drinking and driving and exceeding the speed limit...suddenly they find religion...

How does it go again? "Let he who is without sin..."

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2011, 8:01 am

*kicks pebble*

rossi

Postby rossi » February 8th, 2011, 8:05 am

Oh no..........so there was ah fight dong about liming with man as opposed to bullin yuh gyul in the late hours of de night.....then we had the comparison of drags to football. Then BADAM! if yuh ever drink and drive it was bess yuh did line up at the cross and rip it tuh FACK up!!!!!!

Real man does boast in here...why can't some of us really get together and buy the land and pave it, make it safe and whatnot, and start charging men to race?
After a couple of years, with racing events even sound events, with the relevant upgrades to the place, you never know it could be wayy better than what the govt woulda give us.

Wait wait....ah talking sheit ent?..Dammit, not again......well at least it was ah passing thought.

Postby SR » February 8th, 2011, 8:21 am

m6 again you have the wrong person

like u have an axe to grind or somthing

maybe you are reffering to the previous owner of the car prior to my purchasing it as he resides in the west

however since my purchasing of it some changes were done to prepare for track use

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 8th, 2011, 8:43 am

How much did it cost back in the day to run a car down wallerfield?

Postby SR » February 8th, 2011, 8:45 am

anywhere from 100 to 250 for street cars depending on the event and the class you were running in

shady23

Postby shady23 » February 8th, 2011, 8:53 am

Mudboy wrote:

don't see the comparison....maybe you tied in the two as they are both illegal?

but anyway on a positive note....a track is being built so when its completed we will see if the street racing is history.

It won't meng. Think about it. In far more developed countries like the US, where there's more than one racing strip, and far more serious police, men does still race on the streets. Check out nyce1s.com on youtube, for example.

Nobody is arguing the fact that it isn't illegal. Track or no track, street racing won't stop.

m6

Postby m6 » February 8th, 2011, 8:55 am

I feel dey will charge a mint for spectator fee to the new track.....and people will pay (myself included).....dis government real slack,yes!!!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 8th, 2011, 8:56 am

SR wrote:anywhere from 100 to 250 for street cars depending on the event and the class you were running in

how long ago was this? 5-7yrs ago?

Feasibility study ftw

Postby SR » February 8th, 2011, 8:58 am

allyuh missing the point of this thread

the owner of the car that is of the centre of attenttion is/was a TTASA official who sat on their "round table"

the same TTASA who professes FIA etc

the same TTASA who does not recognise Sheldon's accomplishments for drag racing
how can an organisation like this want to be in control of motorsports in this country when it has NO CONTROL over its officials who blatanlty break the law

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 8th, 2011, 9:00 am

m6 wrote:I feel dey will charge a mint for spectator fee to the new track.....and people will pay (myself included).....dis government real slack,yes!!!!!

How much do you think you would pay on average to view these events?

Postby Hook » February 8th, 2011, 9:00 am

rossi wrote:Oh no..........so there was ah fight dong about liming with man as opposed to bullin yuh gyul in the late hours of de night.....then we had the comparison of drags to football. Then BADAM! if yuh ever drink and drive it was bess yuh did line up at the cross and rip it tuh FACK up!!!!!!

Real man does boast in here...why can't some of us really get together and buy the land and pave it, make it safe and whatnot, and start charging men to race?
After a couple of years, with racing events even sound events, with the relevant upgrades to the place, you never know it could be wayy better than what the govt woulda give us.

Wait wait....ah talking sheit ent?..Dammit, not again......well at least it was ah passing thought.

nobody said anything about bullin', but if thas what u do in d night, then power to you...I'm certain it's a lot better than rolling outta yuh bed to go pat a man on the ass for being able to make it to the next flyover faster than you

I saw some comments on the TV6 UReport street racing vid and one defender was talking about 1/4mile highway racing...so there REALLY IS a finish line then? What are the times like?

ANYWAYS...really, your suggestion would make sense to a rational-thinking person. BUT this is Trinidad and street racers think somebody OWES them a track and that the providers of said track will maintain it at no cost to the people using it.
Charge men to race?!?!?!? WTF?!
NAH DAN! DEM CUD BETTA SPEN DAT ON NAWSS AND RACE GAS AND RUN ON D HIGHWAY FUH FREE!!!

Mg Man was quite correct in that, while there was a drag strip, street racers were still tearing up d cross, d foreshore, and Valpark and Pierre Rd. and Reform and [insert more street racing locations here] so the street racers themselves have made their whole "but we eh have no track so we go race on d road" argument moot. Talk about shooting yourself in the foot.

Plain and simple, it's about the thrill of doing something they know is wrong and dangerous.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 8th, 2011, 9:10 am

Hook, how much do you think it would take to develop a simple race track?

Bare minimum, a small step above wallers?

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2011, 9:13 am

when pa used to wuk on sheldon escort was $10 to go wallers

kurpal
i think a 2 mil go cover it

Postby SR » February 8th, 2011, 9:14 am

actually hook
its more about freeness

the same idiots who spend a mint to modify thier cars complain about the cost to race on a track

take note of how many of these same idiots whoe invest into engine mods etc but still run foreign used tyres on thier cars on the street

specatotor fees at a basic track in the US are around $10us
spectator fees locally use to be around $40tt

and people complained

it takes money to develop the sport
no government recognises motor racing as a sport
in my view if it doh involve a ball it eh gettin no funding

but we have known that for years
so a new private track is being developed

you really thing yuh gettin to race for free and spectate for free

the same idiots who line the shoulders to watch illegal street racing
aks how many of them gonna pay to watch it.......i guarantee 99% will say they not paying
including almost eveyone posting in this thread supporting it

Postby SR » February 8th, 2011, 9:19 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Hook, how much do you think it would take to develop a simple race track?

study was done about 8 years ago

land was available and construction equipment was being supplied for free

development cost with proper facilities including safety etc

for a basic facility that provided parking for patrons

5mil
with a further 5 required for future devlopment

private investor who owned the land and thier own contruction company

it was deemed not profitable as trinidadians DO NOT like to pay to race but look for freeness

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 8th, 2011, 9:38 am

SR wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Hook, how much do you think it would take to develop a simple race track?

5mil

it was deemed not profitable as trinidadians DO NOT like to pay to race but look for freeness

At average,

Lets say $250 a car by 20 cars = $5000

$20 per person averaging = $4000

24 events a year X $9000 = $216,000/year

Returns($216k)/Start up cost ($5mill)= Just over 23years to recoup start up costs.

Will have a talk to daddy and see if there is any land in the family somewhere central.

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2011, 9:42 am

^^ dais why i price it so low.. yuh potentially might have access to land and the raw materials

hence a lower capital

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 8th, 2011, 9:53 am

It seems like a nice venture to set-up a "basic" track with the right sponsorship.

I see some of the international guys talking about insurance, do I need that in Trinidad or I throw up a disclaimer sign?

Postby Damien » February 8th, 2011, 10:23 am

Mad cow geh orn dey rematch soon?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 8th, 2011, 10:24 am

tr1ad wrote:the world's best mechanics?

have you dealt with many others from around the world?

he is probably one ah dem who say David Vizard is ah shithong who only know how tuh write books

Bai...mango tree tuning FTW eh....ketch yuhselfs.

Postby A172 » February 8th, 2011, 11:41 am

Damien wrote:Mad cow geh orn dey rematch soon?

*supposed* to be dis week :o

B-TORF

Postby B-TORF » February 8th, 2011, 12:35 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
SR wrote:

5mil

At average,

Lets say $250 a car by 20 cars = $5000

$20 per person averaging = $4000

24 events a year X $9000 = $216,000/year

Returns($216k)/Start up cost ($5mill)= Just over 23years to recoup start up costs.

Will have a talk to daddy and see if there is any land in the family somewhere central.

Thank God you don't do feasibility studies bruh, because you arithmetic is way off.

You don't just throw arbitrary figures into calculations. You gather information, and make calculated projections.

A privately run track in Trinidad and Tobago is a great investment oppurtunity.

Even for a 5 million start-up figure, you will see substantial returns on investment.

The figures would actually read:

Average attendance per Wallerfield event =/> 500
Average competitor enrollment per Wallerfield event =/> 50

Frequency would have been calculated from data over the last 5 years of Wallerfield's existence and corroborated with the few events that occured at Camden more recently. This gives consistency in numbers over multiple time periods, and at multiple venues, with the subject remaining constant - Auto Motor Sports (Drag Racing).

So now that you have frequency figures, you just plug in economics.

Projected cost for attendance (2011) - $50TT
Projected cost for competitor entrance (2011) - $250TT

And now your arithmetic revised:

Per meet:

50 x $250 = $12,500TT Competitor enrollment
500 x $50 = $25,000TT Spectator entrance

Total: $37,500TT

Bear in mind, operating costs have not been deducted.

But then there are sponsorship deals that can offset some expenses. So just going on raw calculations, easily you yeild nothing less than $35,000TT per event.

So 2 events per month for a calender year : $35000 x 2 x 12 = $840 000TT per annum minimum.

Using your bess equation : $5,000,000TT / $800,000TT per annum = 5.952 years maximum.

That is a great investment.

Yes there are operational costs associated with the venture, hence the conservative trimming of figures involed. But you get the jist.

But the facking problem with us "islanders", is that we love to buss up we mouth on many topics with personal opinions, but very few put actions to words that are uttered.

And please don't bring politics into this crap. Because most of the successful motorsport facilities in the world are privately run and funded. Politicians just fack a good thing up.

So none of the previous administrations or present for that matter owe allyuh anything.

If yuh love de sport so much as I always keep hearing, INSTEAD OF ENDANGERING INNOCENT CIVILIANS LIVES ON THE PUBLIC ROADS, get together and come up with a plan. Because the thing with waiting for handouts is, you never get it when you need it.

I am never involved in bandwagonistic rants because, as they say, "he who is without sin, cast the 1st stone", but I will say this:

Almost everyone, yes everyone, who is an autosport enthusiast has been involved in some sort of street racing at one point or the other. Whether it is an arranged meeting, or the adhoc nut pulls up alonside you, and you decide to give ah "lil pull" to see how yuh car wukkin. So don't be bashing "street racers", we all are at some point.

BUT COME NAH MAN, RACING DEM HIGH-POWERED MACHINES ON THE HIGHWAY??? Dat I will blast you for!!

The highway already in itself poses the inherent risk of vehicles travelling at high rates of speed. Then you add to that by arranging races during the continuous flow of commuters?? And by continuous I mean, there are people on the road, or else you guys would not have to be parking on the slipway or shoulder, waiting for a lull or break in the flow. What de arse happen to Pierre Road??

If yuh so want to race yuh car, at least show the maturity in thinking as adults and avid enthusiasts, to minimize the risk posed to the general population by taking it to a remote location nah!!

Not de f-ing highway!!

Food for thought.

P.S. SR - Madcow is an f-ing nut years now. As a supposed roundtable member of TTASA, he is an embarassment to the organisation. You are supposed to lead by example. If yuh want to be a street racer, doh run fuh no damn Organisational body. JUST STAY GANGSTA yo!!

He is a fraud and a joke.

Sinister - Even though I like the work that you are doing (getting really good at it yute), you should also know better. Chris, you have been on the scene long enough and have enough influence in the 'circles' to advise some of these guys on how they can 'get yuh runs' without increasing the risk posed to John Public.

If while racing, the 2 vehicles have a mishap in the remoteness of wherever allyuh choose? Small ting. Yuh knew the risks involved prior to getting behind the wheel.

But when you involve the general public without their knowing or consent- that is a$$ne$$.

Also, Chris, has the thought ever crossed any those guys minds, that your excellent footage can be used in prosecuting same?? Once you post on a public domain, it can and in most cases will be used by the authorities to build pretty air-tight cases against those same individuals who love 'being in front of da camera'.

Ok, small boys - buss up allyuh mouth now!!

Truth be told.

Postby X2 » February 8th, 2011, 12:36 pm

MG Man wrote:same as sayin if they shut down villa you can't vex when women get rape...........or if we had no gun range, then u can't blame us for shooting targets in the Savannah

Rape is a crime of violence... Villa is for men who need to pay for ting...where is the correlation ?

Postby crazybalhead » February 8th, 2011, 12:38 pm

CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP!!!!!

Postby crazybalhead » February 8th, 2011, 12:39 pm

X2 wrote:
MG Man wrote:same as sayin if they shut down villa you can't vex when women get rape...........or if we had no gun range, then u can't blame us for shooting targets in the Savannah

Rape is a crime of violence... Villa is for men who need to pay for ting...where is the correlation ?

MG Man mussbe duz bull VIOLENTLY. :shock:

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2011, 12:42 pm

X2 wrote:

it was an illustration of how stupid the argument of 'we eh ha no track so we hadda brek de law an drag in de road' argument is