nismoid

Re: Maxi Shutdown

Postby nismoid » January 5th, 2011, 10:30 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
nismoid wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:I agree that 99% of maxi taxis drive like muffler bearings eh, and I still eh see the 1% that drive normal/good
but they are a necessity in Trinidad right now.

so nismo, all your friends/family members/nieces/nephews/grand children

everyone does get pick up and drop or drive where they going?
or u jus eh give a firetruck bout dem either

you some kinda kant or sometin?

thats your best answer?
you say u eh give a firetruck bout d maxis, but do you care about relatives and friends who have to use their services?

I didn't want to say this eh, but yuh call meh a kant and hurt meh feelings :(

Why this bitterness you have sounding like if yuh see a maxi man coming out a guest house with yuh wife/daughter/ ?

wow and thats the best you could come up with?
at least i gave an alternative what can you offer,, i mean real plan not replicas eh

Postby eliteauto » January 5th, 2011, 10:33 am

nismoid wrote:
eliteauto wrote:*shrug* I'm not arguing, I believe what I posted is correct, if I'm wrong my apologies

fact is if you so angry about it close your business, leave your job and go work taxi and pay no taxes either or.......... tell your accountant or payroll person to pay no taxes on your behalf and see what happens, if per chance you're hauled before the courts tell the Magistrate "Maxi men doh pay none"

I am angry about it because the people who pay taxes do not enjoy the benefits afforded to them for example,
driving down the the foreshore on an evening, there are numerous maxis using the shoulder as a lane, taxes are paid so the police would ensure that everyone waits in line but theres no police there so the maxis (and ph drivers) would get to their destination sooner than the tax paying citizens.

I agree with you there and you're right to be angry, however we cannot blame these drivers in a vacuum (not condoning them in any way), there are many contributing factors to lawlessness such as the lack of enforcement, an inherent lack of discipline as a people etc

Btw if you think about taxable income in T&T and then factor in the total lack of fiscal accountability inherent in taxi/maxi services you'd see that they are tax exempt by default ( not law eh) because what yardstick would be used to measure their income?

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2011, 10:35 am

nismoid wrote: i mean real plan not replicas eh

oh...the hurt....
btw you still want the fake casio to buy?
I`ll get you the discount you wanted.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 5th, 2011, 10:37 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

oh...the hurt....

yup i payin with replica money though :lol:

Postby TRAE » January 5th, 2011, 10:38 am

when they had to pay $1 to use city gate they cuss and kick against it, raise their fares all kinda thing, now they drop the $1 charge and they say they not dropping back fares cause that wouldnt make sense... greed is a sour thing

Postby S_2NR » January 5th, 2011, 10:41 am

nismoid wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:
nismoid wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:I agree that 99% of maxi taxis drive like muffler bearings eh, and I still eh see the 1% that drive normal/good

thats your best answer?
you say u eh give a firetruck bout d maxis, but do you care about relatives and friends who have to use their services?

Why this bitterness you have sounding like if yuh see a maxi man coming out a guest house with yuh wife/daughter/ ?

at least i gave an alternative what can you offer,, i mean real plan not replicas eh

nismoid i not fightin u down or anythin..but..
it dont make sense fightin up in trinidad about low standards and all d BS cuz after all is said n done..most trinis very tolerant n enjoyin this banana republic..

so instead of bringin up ur blood pressure..jus enjoy it...
otherwise...if u hav no ties..migrate..

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 5th, 2011, 10:43 am

eliteauto wrote:
nismoid wrote:
eliteauto wrote:*shrug* I'm not arguing, I believe what I posted is correct, if I'm wrong my apologies

fact is if you so angry about it close your business, leave your job and go work taxi and pay no taxes either or.......... tell your accountant or payroll person to pay no taxes on your behalf and see what happens, if per chance you're hauled before the courts tell the Magistrate "Maxi men doh pay none"

I am angry about it because the people who pay taxes do not enjoy the benefits afforded to them for example,
driving down the the foreshore on an evening, there are numerous maxis using the shoulder as a lane, taxes are paid so the police would ensure that everyone waits in line but theres no police there so the maxis (and ph drivers) would get to their destination sooner than the tax paying citizens.

I agree with you there and you're right to be angry, however we cannot blame these drivers in a vacuum (not condoning them in any way), there are many contributing factors to lawlessness such as the lack of enforcement, an inherent lack of discipline as a people etc

Btw if you think about taxable income in T&T and then factor in the total lack of fiscal accountability inherent in taxi/maxi services you'd see that they are tax exempt by default ( not law eh) because what yardstick would be used to measure their income?

so you see? they are operating outside of the law with respect to the taxation system.
and no they are not exempt, you cannot state they are tax-exempt, only one person in trinidad and tobago is tax exempted.
the onus is not on the BIR to ask you to pay your taxes, there is a legal obligation by every employed person to pay their taxes either thru their employer or by themselves as an individual.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 5th, 2011, 10:45 am

redman10 wrote:
nismoid wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:
nismoid wrote:

thats your best answer?

nismoid i not fightin u down or anythin..but..
it dont make sense fightin up in trinidad about low standards and all d BS cuz after all is said n done..most trinis very tolerant n enjoyin this banana republic..

so instead of bringin up ur blood pressure..jus enjoy it...
otherwise...if u hav no ties..migrate..

yuh so right

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » January 5th, 2011, 10:48 am

:popcorn:

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2011, 10:49 am

nismoid wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

oh...the hurt....

yup i payin with replica money though :lol:

only accepting linx :|
cash eh safe to accept these days

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » January 5th, 2011, 11:07 am

so what about the PH cars (the reason for the strike), what taxes do they pay?

Postby pete » January 5th, 2011, 11:17 am

They really need a LOT more buses. I hope they start buying buses like crazy for the next few years and implement proper scheduling at least along the PBR and slowly expand to other areas.

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2011, 11:28 am

The 80s are gone. The goverment should provide more buses or free the maxi rights to benifit the tax paying public. No group of people should hold the public to ransom for their greedy needs.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » January 5th, 2011, 11:30 am

that sounds like a good idea...

minipresident

Postby minipresident » January 5th, 2011, 12:05 pm

Jah boy,... some real stupid ass uninformed and bitter rich boys in here :?

The fact is that the last government encouraged maxi men to upgrade their fleet, hence all those shiny new Mitsubishi Rosa's you see rolling on the pbr. they were promise exemptions on the vat and taxes as taxi men enjoy but this promise up to this day never come to pass.

Maxi men pay more for everything! Why, because dem is maxi man,... them ha real money :? :evil:

Imagine 19k for a 32 engine and tranny in bamboo and a bushi will run at bout 30-32k why, cuz maxi man ha money.

12k and 21k to upholster a small and big bus respectfully, why? cuz maxi man have money.

15-22 gran for a body job why?

Diamond motors started selling these buses for around $350,000. all a sudden maxi man buying them so Shaft in yuh azz is now $588,000.

then you buy a rights and actually turn it into a maxi with bells, band, bribes at licence office etc.

then insurance!

all who flapping they mouth cuz they could talk...

insurance on one of these buses is between $48,000 and $58,000 a year.

one of these buses on the road before you even add the interest you paying on your loan is $850,000.00

each bus out there is wee over a mill.

and yet maxi men doh get tax and doh contribute to the economy?

Postby SR » January 5th, 2011, 12:36 pm

i dont see your point
other citizens buisnesses pay tax

have the similar investments in small buisinesses
similar maintainance costs

engines wont need replacing as often if owners take care of the vehicle same for exterior

problem is
one man owns a few and "rents" them out daily for a man to hustle a days work

lets talk about dat nah

Humes

Postby Humes » January 5th, 2011, 12:40 pm

minipresident wrote:Jah boy,... some real stupid ass uninformed and bitter rich boys in here :?

That actually describes a lot of this entire forum. Not all, but quite a bit.

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2011, 12:42 pm

minipresident wrote:Jah boy,... some real stupid ass uninformed and bitter rich boys in here :?

The fact is that the last government encouraged maxi men to upgrade their fleet, hence all those shiny new Mitsubishi Rosa's you see rolling on the pbr. they were promise exemptions on the vat and taxes as taxi men enjoy but this promise up to this day never come to pass.

Maxi men pay more for everything! Why, because dem is maxi man,... them ha real money :? :evil:

Imagine 19k for a 32 engine and tranny in bamboo and a bushi will run at bout 30-32k why, cuz maxi man ha money.

12k and 21k to upholster a small and big bus respectfully, why? cuz maxi man have money.

15-22 gran for a body job why?

Diamond motors started selling these buses for around $350,000. all a sudden maxi man buying them so Shaft in yuh azz is now $588,000.

then you buy a rights and actually turn it into a maxi with bells, band, bribes at licence office etc.

then insurance!

all who flapping they mouth cuz they could talk...

insurance on one of these buses is between $48,000 and $58,000 a year.

one of these buses on the road before you even add the interest you paying on your loan is $850,000.00

each bus out there is wee over a mill.

and yet maxi men doh get tax and doh contribute to the economy?

So a few benifit from this.

But tell us how much they make in day? and what is the size of their fleet?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 5th, 2011, 12:44 pm

minipresident broke it down , yes these are the costs but maybe it is not the idea of he have money rather than the feelings of the said public you turn to make double money with short drops to Curepe, and this is one instance .

My neighbor had two very popular Maxis in the hey day of loud moving clubs , while those costs may have been different to what you expressed here , it was a profitable business because what every could be done within the neighborhood was done at that time we were just gals to help in the knowledge that we could almost guarantee that we would not be left in pos after school .

However even that the bad drive and cause traffic , they provide a great service to the public , but really to move people into to and from Point Fortin San Fernando , Chaguanas ,Arima , Arouca , Tupapuna , Curepe San Juan , Brarataria , Carenage and Diego, a more efficient system is seriously required

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2011, 12:48 pm

I smell that the Cult PNM is behind this, becuase these very same Maxi men did not complain about the PNM rapid rail project.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 5th, 2011, 2:55 pm

nismoid wrote:the ptsc brings or has tremendous monetary returns to the economy,UNLIKE the precious maxis.

This is BS.No public transport system in the world makes money other than Singapore and IIRC Hong Kong.Where you get this piece of info from dawg?
AFAIK PTSC is a drain on the economy and will almost always be that way BUT it is a "necessary evil."

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 5th, 2011, 3:14 pm

1 employee called today couldn't get transport from tunapuna -->curepe-->chaguanas

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2011, 3:39 pm

but SR, what wrong if one man own a few and renting them out?

what's the problem with that?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 5th, 2011, 3:43 pm

zoom rader wrote:I smell that the Cult PNM is behind this, becuase these very same Maxi men did not complain about the PNM rapid rail project.

you and nismoid heads so far up Kamla's and Jack's arses it eh funny.

Postby sharkman121 » January 5th, 2011, 4:40 pm

maxi men takin advantage of the public again right now in time of despair as usual.....

bus route line orfff wid rel ppl and maxi men only runnin curepe short drop, have to pay twice as much to go arima :?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 5th, 2011, 4:42 pm

sharkman121 wrote:maxi men takin advantage of the public again right now in time of despair as usual.....

bus route line orfff wid rel ppl and maxi men only runnin curepe short drop, have to pay twice as much to go arima :?

Jack not on the PBR still with buses :?:

allan

Postby allan » January 5th, 2011, 4:53 pm

nismoid wrote:I say do away with all maxi taxis,
the are a burden, they do not pay taxes (PAYE), they do not pay VAT although they make more than $200k annually, whatever they make the country do not get any benefits from it, thats why they are a burden.
They are like parasites, only leeching without any returns.
They drive reckless most if not all the time.
They cause most of the traffic jams with their careless stopping and pulling into moving traffic
I could go on and on
Oh and yeah I dont give a $hit about them, I have never needed their services and highly doubt i will ever

idiot we do pay taxes for your info

allan

Postby allan » January 5th, 2011, 4:56 pm

SR wrote:i dont see your point
other citizens buisnesses pay tax

have the similar investments in small buisinesses
similar maintainance costs

engines wont need replacing as often if owners take care of the vehicle same for exterior

problem is
one man owns a few and "rents" them out daily for a man to hustle a days work

lets talk about dat nah

next idiot we do 5000 kms in 3 weeks tell me how long will an engine last about 4 years

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » January 5th, 2011, 4:57 pm

they start back working, just saw a couple hundred on the main road,,,filled

brickman

Postby brickman » January 5th, 2011, 5:25 pm

:evilbat: They did say that the next strike will be unannounced so beware!! :evilbat: