Is FUJI a good mountain bike?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 2nd, 2011, 1:16 pm

Guys I need some advice here.

I bought a Mountain Bike called Cumana from Mikes Bikes.

Came with those Lion V Brake and the cheapest Shimano gear system etc.

Now the brakes giving problem even with WD40 it still sticks. Gears never align up properly

I have the bike for a year now. But I don't know if to carry this by Bike Inn and let them fix it or sell it and buy one of the FUJI bikes they have.

I heard the FUJI bikes is aluminum frames. The one i have is super heavy.

I think the Fuji bikes they got is $1800?

I have started riding in recent times for the exercise really. I like to ride long distances.

UFAS

Re: Is FUJI a good mountain bike?

Postby UFAS » January 2nd, 2011, 2:13 pm

^^^ :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: 2nd bike reallll bad eh cheap either

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2011, 2:19 pm

you dont need a new bike

you need a good mechanic who knows how to adjust derailleurs and brakes

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » January 2nd, 2011, 2:26 pm

pugboy wrote:you dont need a new bike

you need a good mechanic who knows how to adjust derailleurs and brakes

+1

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2011, 3:24 pm

give me the $1800 and I will do the tuning for you
you can also go to www.parktool.com and learn yourself

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 2nd, 2011, 3:25 pm

i may remember how to do it it's been some years lol theres two little screws on the derailleur that you adjust to bring it in an out one of the screws adjust at the top of its movement so the biggest gear at the back and the other does it at the bottom of its movement. hope that helps it's been many years since i built a mountain bike since i bought my first car actually lol.
sports and games in westmall have some nice cannondales in there,
they are last seasons bikes but there meant to be pretty good the f5 and f6 they have, one of them had rock shox suspension.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 2nd, 2011, 3:32 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 2nd, 2011, 4:16 pm

sweet thanks I have decided to keep the bike and follow the instructions on how to adjust the Derailleur

I am checking out some websites here how to maintain the bike myself. I guess thats all I really needed.

thanks again guys!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 2nd, 2011, 6:43 pm

is there a way to replace the pedal gear adjustor located on the handlebars themselves? it's the adjustor that is broken so can I get like say a lever type instead ? the broken one is the type similar to the accelerator control movement of motorcycles....forgive my ignorance of the necessary bicycle jargon

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2011, 6:58 pm

most likely, they are all simply cable adjusters,
however on any bike, the gear changing mechanism is usually the most expensive part
followed by the rear derailleur

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 2nd, 2011, 7:43 pm

the one where you twist the grip on your handlebars are called grip shift theres many options for changing them out all it does is change cable tension i always prefered under-shifters. hmm wander if openeing a bike repair shop in trinidad would be profitable lol seachr for shimano lx they are midrange parts and good quality.

here check these http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Shimano-M580-Deor ... 415485e884

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 2nd, 2011, 7:54 pm

that's what I'm thinking, it's just to change the pedal gear system from high to low....so any other unit could be used and adjusted accordingly so as to switch the 2 pedal ratios....

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » January 2nd, 2011, 10:43 pm

Like that Subaru bike. Transferring power from the wheel that slips to the wheel that grips.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 2nd, 2011, 11:06 pm

ah that's what they are called...grip shifters...thanks jm3

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 2nd, 2011, 11:47 pm

so is fuji a good mountain bike ?

rampy

Postby rampy » January 3rd, 2011, 12:32 am

own a Fuji Odessa 2.0 about 2 1/2 years now with no problems. Service every 6 months by
Bike Inn. Bike is very light in weight. Would recommend it. My 12 yrs old son also uses it.

Postby S_2NR » January 3rd, 2011, 12:45 am

Postby turbosingh » January 3rd, 2011, 12:38 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:so is fuji a good mountain bike ?

Yeah they make good bikes just like Trek,Canandale,Diamonback an Giant :D

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 3rd, 2011, 1:12 pm

LOL Trek and Cannandale is like super expensive.

If Fuji bikes are just as good then thats great indeed. Cause a good Fuji bike can be had for like $2300 I believe.

Postby pugboy » January 3rd, 2011, 3:23 pm

some of them fellas you see training on the highway using bikes over $40k

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 3rd, 2011, 11:29 pm

^^^ :shock:

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 22nd, 2011, 3:39 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:LOL Trek and Cannandale is like super expensive.

If Fuji bikes are just as good then thats great indeed. Cause a good Fuji bike can be had for like $2300 I believe.

Checking out the nevada 4.0 for $2300, the 3.0 is $2500. Is the 3.0 worth the little extra, bike will be used mainly on road with minor off road riding.

gencon

Postby gencon » May 22nd, 2011, 3:57 pm

bought a 2007 fuji tahoe comp for $4600 in 2007, sold it about a year later, I regretted that. sold it with upgraded front derailleur and computer, it was a nice bike. :x :cry: :cry:

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 22nd, 2011, 4:29 pm

this is what i had when i was younger

i am currently considering buying a new bike to get my fitness back after too many years of junk food and 0 exercise lol i want to buy one of these http://www.scott-sports.com/us_en/product/10029/55551/217957

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 22nd, 2011, 8:10 pm

the the OP.....FUJI is good, but not the best.......
TREK, Cannondale, jamis, yeti, Giant, Marin, Specialized, rocky mountain........those are the brands where a decent beginner bike could cost u over $5000....but most come with lifetime warranties on the aluminium frame......plus if you maintain it.....the bike WILL last you a lifetime.
however, a cheap bike can feel like a million if its setup and tuned properly.......nothing sucks more on a bike than bad brakes and poor shifting..........but if the bike came with the parts......there is a good chance they can be tuned to impress you..........

Vega there are different types of shifters.....it depends on the derailleurs, some brands carry different "pull:distance moved" ratios.........so the shifter needs to match the derailleur.
http://www.jensonusa.com/store/sub/2446 ... ional.aspx

i bought one of the cannondales from sports and games back in 2008...got it for 20% off in the christmas sale i think......
those bikes are 2008 models, buts its a shame the prices now, don't reflect that.....

besides that, they are good bikes.....they stand up to the the abuse, and mine has over 2500km on it, maybe more........i'm changing the chain in a few days its stretched more than 2% in a bit more than 2 years...should have changed it earlier...........may change the rear sprockets as well.......
i have 2 sets of tires, one set of maxxis for daily road and run around use and a set of michelin for off road.......changed the saddle, pedals and handlebar grips to ones that suit me better.......
i've invested in the necessary tools, accessories and lubricants to keep it going....i prob have more money in those than in the actual bike itself........

next bike would be an all mountain full suspension...... more than likely a rocky mountain.

as for the 2wd bike posted above, christini also do a similar version on motorcycles.......but their tech IMO is backward and costs too much........
there are much better ways to put pedalling power to the ground.....and thats with good tires and an even better suspension setup.

Postby AllTrac » May 22nd, 2011, 8:17 pm

wow
last time i rode a bicycle it was a chopper

Postby Damien » May 22nd, 2011, 8:51 pm

i hadda ah bmx with bend back saddle pole and thing dawg rell fires

shady23

Postby shady23 » May 22nd, 2011, 9:47 pm

Damien wrote:i hadda ah bmx with bend back saddle pole and thing dawg rell fires

Ent. Had one of them too. Used to rell gee dem coming down a hill by me, until I flip over and land on my chin and slide straight down d road.

Fires stop after that :|