The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

trinitachi

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby trinitachi » December 10th, 2010, 3:36 am

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=835308

The X10 2.1 AOSP rom build is now in beta stages. Check the benchmark tests. I am still not using this new beta as it still has camera and video playback issues, im just raising X10 Android awareness. Try at your own risk.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 11th, 2010, 12:39 pm

so i see bmobile start selling Samsung Galaxy S phones now and the Galaxy Tab as well :|

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 11th, 2010, 3:52 pm

Android Market update streamlines content, nukes tabs, dismantles 24-hour return policy to appease devs

Updates have been coming fast and furious to Google's Android Market for a couple weeks now, but this is the biggest shift yet -- that rusty tab-based interface is out, replaced with a rotating carousel of downloadable content, and a single scrolling pane of info for each and every app. What's more, it seems that Mountain View has heard the cries of game companies in particular, as it's got a couple of very special changes largely targeted at them -- the size cap on individual apps has been upped to 50MB, and Android Market's famous 24-hour return policy is no more. You'll still have 15 minutes to decide whether you want a piece of software or prefer a refund, perhaps long enough to give it a basic test, but there's no longer enough time to finish a game in one sitting before slyly giving it a pass. There's also a number of behind-the-scenes changes that should help make sure you only see apps your device can actually run, based on screen size, pixel density and OpenGL support. Google's pushing the update to every Android 1.6-and-above device over the next couple of weeks, so you can expect your app purchasing world to turn upside-down in time for Christmas cheer.

Update: There are also two new categories being added: widgets and live wallpapers.

http://goo.gl/1xC2D

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 11th, 2010, 4:17 pm

anybody got a Galaxy S running 2.2 yet?

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » December 13th, 2010, 7:52 am

mitch wrote:so i see bmobile start selling Samsung Galaxy S phones now and the Galaxy Tab as well :|

But is that a good price from bmobile?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 13th, 2010, 8:25 am

a powerseller has/had the Galaxy S i9000 for $3400 and that's unlocked.

it still amazes me that in the states u can get these top of the line phones on a 2 year contract sometimes free, for $1 or less than $100, and we still paying thousands of dollars for phones on contracts :?

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » December 13th, 2010, 8:48 am

mitch wrote:a powerseller has/had the Galaxy S i9000 for $3400 and that's unlocked.

it still amazes me that in the states u can get these top of the line phones on a 2 year contract sometimes free, for $1 or less than $100, and we still paying thousands of dollars for phones on contracts :?

Last week Friday, Bestbuy was giving the 3gs for free with a 2 year contract.
Dig out eye here in Trinidad.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 13th, 2010, 5:47 pm

mitch wrote:a powerseller has/had the Galaxy S i9000 for $3400 and that's unlocked.

The i9000s from bmobile are not carrier locked. neither are the X10s.

but they still diggin out we eye wit price :(

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 13th, 2010, 9:33 pm

Do any of you have any idea when and if 3g or even 2g is gonna be available from b-slowbile? Im jes wondering cause, we have the latest phones available with the latest technology and no reliable data connection..i cyar stand dem blackberry bytches pulling style on me with dey EDGE bs.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » December 14th, 2010, 7:39 am

so true!!!! dey want yuh walkin round with 2 and 3 phones.... one with data sim, one postpaid and one digi...... steups..

Postby tr1ad » December 14th, 2010, 3:49 pm

My edge works fine

Postby Greypatch » December 14th, 2010, 4:00 pm

3g coming soon hold strain

achillies

Postby achillies » December 14th, 2010, 5:41 pm

Greypatch wrote:3g coming soon hold strain

if this is so, imma have to hold off on buying a phone untill i know which bands they will use, or can u tell me greypatch?

i'm using a 32A Magic right now

achillies

Postby achillies » December 14th, 2010, 5:55 pm

The facebook app was jus updated, now u can supposedly chat from the facebook app

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 14th, 2010, 7:09 pm

Postby tr1ad » December 14th, 2010, 7:43 pm

i still waiting on getting that update to 2.3

Postby DFC » December 14th, 2010, 8:17 pm

hey guys, so the word is that i will get the froyo update for my - My touch Slide, and it will be sent OTA.

but, how will i get it?

Will it show up in Android market as an update to install?

In applanet i'm seeing updates but some of it not working on my phone.

Anyways..the new facebook app is cooler now since it got CHAT !!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 14th, 2010, 8:46 pm

achillies wrote:The facebook app was jus updated, now u can supposedly chat from the facebook app

well finally! :|

too bad i already use trillian as my messenger app. bess app!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 14th, 2010, 8:48 pm

tr1ad wrote:i still waiting on getting that update to 2.3

not out yet. Nexus S launching this thurs. with it, hopefully that means Nexus 1 getting it soon after...

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 15th, 2010, 4:05 am

trinitachi wrote:http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=835308

The X10 2.1 AOSP rom build is now in beta stages. Check the benchmark tests. I am still not using this new beta as it still has camera and video playback issues, im just raising X10 Android awareness. Try at your own risk.

The X10 2.1 AOSP rom build is now FINAL and reported to be very stable!!!!!!!!!! Will install tonight and give you fellas my review asap. Reposted link below.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 16th, 2010, 12:31 am

trinitachi wrote:

The X10 2.1 AOSP rom build is now FINAL and reported to be very stable!!!!!!!!!! Will install tonight and give you fellas my review asap. Reposted link below.

OK.. so i finally got around to installing the new custom rom. My opinion, its very good, attractive and clean looking. Its stable and all my apps function well. However, if you depend on camera and youtubing, this update is not for you. They have to rewrite the camera and video processing firmware and they're not gonna do it in a hurry.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 16th, 2010, 12:31 am

trinitachi wrote:

OK.. so i finally got around to installing the new custom rom. My opinion, its very good, attractive and clean looking. Its stable and all my apps function well. However, if you depend on camera and youtubing, this update is not for you. They have to rewrite the camera and video processing drivers and they're not gonna do it in a hurry.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 16th, 2010, 2:43 am

LG Optimus 2X: The First Dual-Core Smartphone

LG pulled the covers off their Android-powered Optimus 2X smartphone, revealing the first handset to pack a Tegra 2 chipset—featuring a 1 GHz dual-core processor—under its hood.

The added processing power apparently allows the Optimus 2X to playback 1080p video with no lag on its 4-inch, 800x480 screen, and can supply visuals to larger displays thanks to HDMI mirroring. And you can even use the HDMI connection to play Android games on a larger screen, still using the phone as a controller. Toss in 8 gigabytes of internal storage, along with front and rear cams (8 megapixels and 1.3 megapixels, respectively), and you have yourself a seemingly solid handset.

The Optimus 2X, slated for a 2011 release in Asia and Europe, will ship with Android 2.2 (Froyo), but of course, a 2.3 (Gingerbread) update will follow. There's been no announcement about a U.S. release yet. Specs below:

Key specifications:
1Ghz Dual-core Processor (NVIDIA Tegra 2)
4-inch WVGA screen
8GB memory (up to 32GB via microSD)
1,500 mAh battery
8 megapixel rear camera and 1.3 megapixel front camera
HDMI mirroring
1080p MPEG-4/H.264 playback and recording

http://goo.gl/UMPlH

Postby tr1ad » December 16th, 2010, 7:44 am

now that LG could make me get rid of the Nexus

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » December 16th, 2010, 2:22 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:

The i9000s from bmobile are not carrier locked. neither are the X10s.

but they still diggin out we eye wit price :(

Actually the prices that bmobile are selling the galaxy s phones are reasonable :shock: . Those are the same prices that they're sold for as unlocked phones online by Amazon and other online retailers. The thing is unlocked Android phones are expensive. Best prices are when they're on contract. Of course we're behind the times locally, but since some of us can afford to change phones regularly bmobile and them will see no reason to sell their phones in a manner similar to US phone carriers at this time.

It's good to see the base prices are comparable though. Question is if a reasonable data plan is available for any of these phones/ tablet or if we'll have to use the Wifi alone to access the net.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 16th, 2010, 5:05 pm

^actually yeh its bmobile's price on the i9000 that made me buy that locally instead of buying a HTC desire online.....i just wish samsung could stop sticking with official froyo update. :(

GAK Electrical

Postby GAK Electrical » December 16th, 2010, 11:12 pm

Anyone know where I can get a T mobile G1 repaired ? It is currently bricked and needs to be JTAGed and re flashed.

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » December 17th, 2010, 1:46 am

achillies wrote:
Greypatch wrote:3g coming soon hold strain

if this is so, imma have to hold off on buying a phone untill i know which bands they will use, or can u tell me greypatch?

i'm using a 32A Magic right now

I think we may be able to tell by looking at the 3G band specs of the handsets currently being sold by bmobile like the Galaxy S and Xperia X10..... It would be bad business practice to sell handsets that later cannot be supported by your 3G network.

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2010, 3:51 pm

Guys I was just thinking. Maybe this fragmentation was a bit too much.
There are just way too many versions out there, with OEM manufacturers slapping on layer upon layer of extra crap that you just don't need.

Making it harder and harder to upgrade efficiently to the latest official ROM's.

I'm starting to look at the locked down models of iOS and WP7 and reallising, this really is the way to go. You lock down requirements by manufacturers, and when you push out updates it goes to all phones at ONCE...so all users get the same great experience. Android phones frustrate me, as they have the hardware but the software is just so open and free...some apps dont work, some apps are bogus spyware/malware scams. Having to shut down applications all the time is freaking annoying.

I'm just looking at the WP7 model man, they copied Apple and it makes alot of sense. It's so much more stream lined and clean. Very ordily...Android just seems, all over the place. I feel it may go the way of Symbian if this continues. Symbian got to the point where it was on so many different types of devices it would take eons for an update or patch to be released...in house developers had to make sure the update worked for each physical device and each individual processor capability. That's way too time consuming.

Apple and WP7 have the edge here, when they wanna update-they just update...BOOM...everyone at the same time. Just makes more sense. :? Views?

http://www.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/andr ... -real/8499

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/10 ... ssues.html

http://gizmodo.com/5558101/androids-acn ... ogle-phone

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » December 17th, 2010, 4:26 pm

RASC wrote:Guys I was just thinking. Maybe this fragmentation was a bit too much.
There are just way too many versions out there, with OEM manufacturers slapping on layer upon layer of extra crap that you just don't need.

Making it harder and harder to upgrade efficiently to the latest official ROM's.
Apple and WP7 have the edge here, when they wanna update-they just update...BOOM...everyone at the same time. Just makes more sense. :? Views?

I'm also starting to look at WP7 phones. Apple? No, they deliberately omit basic features from their products just to make you spend more money. They've also become the "man" in my opinion with all the restrictions they've.

I haven't decided as yet but when I see the uncertainty surrounding the availability of almost every Android update to existing phones I wonder how quckly they (the phone) will become obsolete. That and so many new phones don't come out with the newest O/S version. I do love the apps available for android though. Android's openess will also allow me to get certain apps that Microsoft most probably wouldn't allow.

I'll keep an eye on both WP7 and Android developments. One thing though it's a bit exciting to see how phones are rapidly evolving. Given their functionality it makes me wonder if there is really a need for tablets.