Dookeran: New $12.50 minimum wage from January

Postby janfar » December 9th, 2010, 4:35 am

The Government's proposed minimum wage of $12.50 an hour will take effect from January 1, 2011, Minister of Finance Winston Dookeran has announced.

The National Union of Domestic Employees (NUDE) :lol: yesterday welcomed the announcement.

Responding to points made during the debate on the Financial Bill (No 2) 2010 in the Senate, at the Red House, Port of Spain, on Tuesday night, Dookeran said the omission of the minimum wage in the bill was because it was covered by the Minimum Wages Orders under the Minimum Wages Act.

The omission of the minimum wages in the financial bill was raised earlier in the debate by Independent Senator Helen Drayton and People's National Movement (PNM) Senator Terrence Deyalsingh.

According to Dookeran, the proposed minimum wages order was published in the Gazette and in the newspapers on November 4 for public comment.

"The final order will bring the minimum wage of $12.50 and will take effect from January 1, 2011," he said.
Commenting on the $12.50 per hour minimum wage, NUDE general secretary Ida Le Blanc said "domestic and low-income workers are welcoming the minimum wage."

"You would be shocked to know there are domestics, shop and catering assistants who work for less than the proposed minimum wage," Le Blanc said.

She added, "My grouse is not with the proposed minimum wage. My grouse is with employers refusing to pay their employees overtime and double pay for holidays."

"Employers are stealing workers' time, overtime and holidays," she said.

She said, "The issue right now is about terms and conditions for certain categories of workers, such as domestics and cleaners in the informal sector who are being called under different names, such as cleaners who are being called custodians."

Re: Dookeran: New $12.50 minimum wage from January

Postby janfar » December 9th, 2010, 4:48 am

Ah wonder if Dooks get a urge when confronted by NUDE ppl???

civic minded

Postby civic minded » December 9th, 2010, 6:50 am

every time minimum wage goes up - cost of living increases ... everything will be set to increase...geezzz

Postby Damien » December 9th, 2010, 6:58 am

Nice!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » December 9th, 2010, 7:18 am

Increase in minimum wage = increase in goods and services.
Stupid ppl will continue to be stupid.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 9th, 2010, 7:52 am

civic minded wrote:every time minimum wage goes up - cost of living increases ... everything will be set to increase...geezzz

YUP!

but the dotish masses fail to realise that concept- i guess that stems from a living a day to day mentality and once yuh have money theres no need to wuk!, all courtesy of the former government!

Postby teems1 » December 9th, 2010, 8:07 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
civic minded wrote:every time minimum wage goes up - cost of living increases ... everything will be set to increase...geezzz

YUP!

but the dotish masses fail to realise that concept- i guess that stems from a living a day to day mentality and once yuh have money theres no need to wuk!, all courtesy of the former government!

but iz PP in power now...

PNM is opposition so stop harping on what they did wrong all those years and try to realize the PP starting to do the same sheit...

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 9th, 2010, 8:13 am

NUDE...BWUAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Postby Damien » December 9th, 2010, 8:15 am

They should leave them to work for $7 per hour then???

You all should try living on minimum wage

Postby Sky » December 9th, 2010, 8:15 am

Wohgaaaddd, now ah could buy meh B11!!!!! WITH A/C TOO!!!

^^^ Man that's all evostick does now.
The PP chupedness and he put a twist on it to somehow put the heat on the PNM.

Hear what evo, about 7 months ago, the country put the heat on PNM. They weren't just beaten. They were defeated, they get chrome!! You didn't see that licks?That because the majority of the country was fedup of their sh!t. Now stop toting on what the pnm did.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 9th, 2010, 10:33 am

small business owners/employers will probably have to cut back on staff hours to accomodate this increase, since sales have slipped for most businesses in the past year.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 9th, 2010, 10:46 am

doubles goin an reach 5 dollars now

Postby foss » December 9th, 2010, 10:47 am

pimptacular wrote:doubles goin an reach 5 dollars now

if that happen yuh go see riot !!! :x

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 9th, 2010, 11:57 am

foss wrote:
pimptacular wrote:doubles goin an reach 5 dollars now

if that happen yuh go see riot !!! :x

hush yuh arse and buy roti instead!

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2010, 12:03 pm

Oh well there goes the price of garden hose

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » December 9th, 2010, 12:45 pm

Damien wrote:They should leave them to work for $7 per hour then???

You all should try living on minimum wage

Who feels it knows it!

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » December 9th, 2010, 3:41 pm

firetruck man dooks, u all say that prices need to be reduce but my raiseing the MW all prices going to raise, too me i feeling that we need another new party in trinidad

Postby TRAE » December 9th, 2010, 3:46 pm

so if this rises does the overall wage raise or just for the people making mininum wage

Postby Sky » December 9th, 2010, 3:58 pm

Heh, the party in power is making a move that favours the lower classes at everyone else's expense...sounds familiar he he.

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2010, 4:20 pm

The number is one thing
But the rest of the act makes it hard to comply with
The enforcement of double and triple time is a major issue
The hidden increases commensurate with the increase are also significant.
The truth is that anybody that is working for less than min wage is either un employable or unwilling to WORK at another job.

Ive already been forced to begin UNWILLINGLY implement automation and plan to let go staff, reduce hours to enforce a 40 hr week and look to reduce my roster of employees.

We as employers are being asked to subsidize a political promise without ANY INCREASE IN PRODUCTIVITY.

This is a stupid move -

Later

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 9th, 2010, 5:40 pm

so dis kant ( dooks) raise the min wage to 12.50 thats a 25% increase. thats gonna translate very soon to a 25% increase in inflation watch and see.
Fakin PP doin nothing to stimulate the near backward economy but yet increasing the inflation rate by 25%.
STAGFLATION here we come.
Kamla only posin for pictures and eating she own foot salad.WTF goin on I gettin ready to change my vote

Postby toyolink » December 9th, 2010, 5:55 pm

I can't remember the last time if ever i paid any worker $100 for an 8 hour day.It just unrealistic to expect good output if people are kept hungry.The cost of my products are more severely affected by rate of exchange,freight and the cost of money.The viability of my business is very importantly determined by the capacity of the client to buy.

Postby wagonrunner » December 9th, 2010, 6:00 pm

nismoid wrote:so dis kant ( dooks) raise the min wage to 12.50 thats a 25% increase. thats gonna translate very soon to a 25% increase in inflation watch and see.
Fakin PP doin nothing to stimulate the near backward economy but yet increasing the inflation rate by 25%.
Kamla only posin for pictures and eating she own foot salad.WTF goin on I gettin ready to change my vote

Rasc, reset nismoid p/w please. and dont fake identities again.

Postby S_2NR » December 9th, 2010, 6:02 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Increase in minimum wage = increase in goods and services.
Stupid ppl will continue to be stupid.

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2010, 6:07 pm

Here is the killer
I run a gas station-so for me to avoid the Minimum wages act I have to raise my Attendants from 14 to 18.75 -My wage bill is now 40% of my GROSS margin.
So the math eh looking nice at all.
OF COURSE the clerks and supervisors want a raise too.

Later

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 9th, 2010, 7:47 pm

nismoid wrote:so dis kant ( dooks) raise the min wage to 12.50 thats a 25% increase. thats gonna translate very soon to a 25% increase in inflation watch and see.

Rasc, reset nismoid p/w please. and dont fake identities again.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 9th, 2010, 8:07 pm

:shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: :faint: :faint: :faint: :faint: :faint:

who hack dis man account

Postby ronsin1 » December 10th, 2010, 6:42 am

yay I getting an increase to $12.50 per hour

Postby RASC » December 10th, 2010, 9:41 am

PP doing the SAME nonsense as Manning

Well we all saw where that landed the PNM--->LIXXXXXX!

This gov't really had NO plan once upon gaining power. They really just wanted to get in at any cost necessary and "wha ever happen, happen oui...at least Manning gorn". Changing gov't in the middle of an economic downturn is hectic and actually counter productive.

Especially when the new party at hand, has no new innovative ideas or methods on kick starting the economy. The PP is their own worse enemy.

Postby RASC » December 10th, 2010, 9:44 am

Moti said to give them at least a YEAR to turn things around before you start complaining.