Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

ryan99tt

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby ryan99tt » November 17th, 2010, 1:52 pm

hey peeps back from my 2 week vacation....lol

Postby foss » November 17th, 2010, 1:55 pm

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 17th, 2010, 2:22 pm

hey man, most of the time the rays i had ate live food such as hilaries but i had them in an aqaurium an they use to corner the hilaries and eat them...

keith

Postby keith » November 17th, 2010, 7:16 pm

@JM,UML & ryan99tt how much did u pay for the stingray?what size was it when u guys bought it?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 17th, 2010, 9:05 pm

i paid $200 for it and i was about 1ft...

keith

Postby keith » November 17th, 2010, 9:12 pm

ryan99tt wrote:i paid $200 for it and i was about 1ft...

that's a big one for that price.12" disc.what type was it & how big did it grow?do u know anyone selling the smaller rays like the red-blotched river stingray?thnx

Postby sharkman121 » November 17th, 2010, 11:01 pm

ryan99tt wrote:hey peeps back from my 2 week vacation....lol

hai man.... we missed u :oops:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 18th, 2010, 8:04 am

sharkman121, i was here but i cud of jus read everything...LOL

it was a common freshwater ray, didnt grow much bigger than that....i dont think i know of anyone that sells any other type...best bet is chais...

Postby UML » November 18th, 2010, 8:35 am

ryan99tt wrote:hey man, most of the time the rays i had ate live food such as hilaries but i had them in an aqaurium an they use to corner the hilaries and eat them...

das why I asking if black ghosts can live with stingrays.....i eh want tuh get ah stingray and he eat meh blackghost cause then i will have tuh eat him!!! :|

keith i paid like $250 for a 6"-9" one

if u find a place selling...please let me know

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » November 18th, 2010, 8:45 am

Anyone have experience with clown loaches? what type of conditions are best for them etc i bought 6 of them over the weekend and every time i pass by there tank i cant stop laughing there are very inquisitive fish

keith

Postby keith » November 18th, 2010, 10:14 am

UML wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:hey man, most of the time the rays i had ate live food such as hilaries but i had them in an aqaurium an they use to corner the hilaries and eat them...

das why I asking if black ghosts can live with stingrays.....i eh want tuh get ah stingray and he eat meh blackghost cause then i will have tuh eat him!!! :|

i will & if u find any ray or fw exotics,pls inform me.

keith

Postby keith » November 18th, 2010, 2:12 pm

UML wrote:

i just bought a "hysterix" stingray 5.5" dia disc.he has another which is around 4" dia.i will pm the ph # later.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 18th, 2010, 2:33 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone have experience with clown loaches? what type of conditions are best for them etc i bought 6 of them over the weekend and every time i pass by there tank i cant stop laughing there are very inquisitive fish

Clean water, lots of hiding places and a balanced diet.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 18th, 2010, 4:09 pm

keith, pics? location? price?

JM

Postby JM » November 18th, 2010, 4:42 pm

UML wrote:try this

my last stingray loved it....prawns love it too!!

i will go off in search of this!!

keith i wana see some pix!!!

Postby UML » November 18th, 2010, 4:51 pm

tetas might jumbie the stingray for it too

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 18th, 2010, 5:39 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone have experience with clown loaches? what type of conditions are best for them etc i bought 6 of them over the weekend and every time i pass by there tank i cant stop laughing there are very inquisitive fish

Clean water, lots of hiding places and a balanced diet.

^yepp. They seem to also like lots of water movement. Also be mindful of the size tank you're keeping them in. They like lots of room, and although they grow slowly...they get big. But they're by far one of the most entertaining FW fish to observe. :lol:

keith

Postby keith » November 18th, 2010, 5:55 pm

ryan99tt wrote:keith, pics? location? price?

pm sent.

keith

Postby keith » November 18th, 2010, 6:03 pm

it was worth buying the stingray.it tried to corner the 2" crayfish but fortunately the crayfish escaped by climbing up the driftwood.the other fish are wary of him.always on the move & digs up gravel(small & smooth) & hid underneath.always has a "dare you" kind of look.love it.will try to post some pics later.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » November 21st, 2010, 10:09 am

Fellas,
I am a member of one of the reef forums online and there is a section where you can apply to add your local reef club. How many of you would be interested in this?
This could facilitate better communication for buy, selling trading etc. We don't have to have meetings or anything like that, just arrange to meet to trade etc. Let me know, if i get enough positive responses I'll go through with it.

Postby sharkman121 » November 21st, 2010, 2:02 pm

^ sounds good, am with reef central.. who're u with?

Postby foss » November 21st, 2010, 2:38 pm

:D

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » November 21st, 2010, 4:31 pm

sharkman121 wrote:^ sounds good, am with reef central.. who're u with?

3reef.com, much smaller forum, but a lot of very knowledgeable ppl there. Once i get a couple more ppl i will go through with it.

Looking good foss. Getting any problems with those smaller fish nipping your goldfish's fins?

Postby foss » November 21st, 2010, 4:35 pm

quite a few of them have nipped fins.. not only the goldfish.

havent found the guilty party.. but others suggested it may be the hilaries.

What I was wondering, is if the nipped tails grow back.

Postby sharkman121 » November 21st, 2010, 5:11 pm

Noicee foss... awaits the day when u turn to the salty side :|

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » November 21st, 2010, 5:15 pm

I agree, hilaries almost always do that. The fins will regrow as long as the nipping stops.

Postby foss » November 21st, 2010, 7:17 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Noicee foss... awaits the day when u turn to the salty side :|

:oops:

I won't lie.. I real enjoy the tank as it is now :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 21st, 2010, 8:37 pm

foss wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Noicee foss... awaits the day when u turn to the salty side :|

:oops:

I won't lie.. I real enjoy the tank as it is now :mrgreen:

come over to the dark side my son

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 22nd, 2010, 12:17 am

lookin really nice foss...

Postby foss » November 22nd, 2010, 8:24 am

thanks peeps! :D