Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby foss » November 15th, 2010, 10:36 am

^ will check on it.. but what is the point in doing this?

I find the fish in the tank very active.. almost like they hyper. Is that normal?

Postby sharkman121 » November 15th, 2010, 11:10 am

I used Seachem Prime to cycle my tank. Look it up online faws.

JM

Postby JM » November 15th, 2010, 1:29 pm

So all my kois died randomly..all at once...
its a small outdoor pond...with
1 billion guppies, mollies - none of which seem affected
1 iridescent shark - unaffected
2 comets - unaffected
1 goldfish - unaffected..
10 angels - 2 of which died
1 chinese algae eater - which died
2 Blue Dolphin cichlids - the bigger 1 died
8 butterfly koi - all died

any thoughts? the koi were about 8 inches long..just the body..
the shark is the same size, comets a little smaller, algae eater about the same length..
strangely the bigger fish died except the shark...
it happened over the course of 1 night...i was thinking perhaps the area was sprayed for mosquitoes and they died!? but then why the shark and the comets live?! even the goldfish..

Oh and i need advice on stingray keeping...anyone have experience?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 15th, 2010, 1:41 pm

JM you should test the water quality for ammonia and PH.
Also Chlorine.
It could be a lack of oxygen as well.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » November 15th, 2010, 3:00 pm

I think probably lack of oxygen or ammonia build up, which would damage gills. The bigger fish would be affected first bc they need more oxygen.
you need to have sufficient surface agitation to avoid this. did you ever notice your fish swimming at the top gulping air?

JM

Postby JM » November 15th, 2010, 5:24 pm

I had the setup about 3 years now..which is when i first got the koi, first thing i thought was oxygen, but the pump was still running and water flows off a small height into the pond...so i dont think it was oxygen, esp since the iridescent didnt die..and he's as big as the koi..the bodies of the fish didnt seem to have any physical damage, and the gills looked pretty normal..tho i only saw pictures since i wasnt there..

JM

Postby JM » November 15th, 2010, 5:27 pm

Oh reason i didnt think ammonia build up is cuz i have a decent amount of water hyacinths..dont they do alot of the ammonia conversion? unless it was too much nitrates..tho thats not something ive ever faced before..pond was maintained as usual until this...after i did a bunch of water changes by %...

keith

Postby keith » November 15th, 2010, 9:06 pm

JM wrote:So all my kois died randomly..all at once...
its a small outdoor pond...with
1 billion guppies, mollies - none of which seem affected
1 iridescent shark - unaffected
2 comets - unaffected
1 goldfish - unaffected..
10 angels - 2 of which died
1 chinese algae eater - which died
2 Blue Dolphin cichlids - the bigger 1 died
8 butterfly koi - all died

any thoughts? the koi were about 8 inches long..just the body..
the shark is the same size, comets a little smaller, algae eater about the same length..
strangely the bigger fish died except the shark...
it happened over the course of 1 night...i was thinking perhaps the area was sprayed for mosquitoes and they died!? but then why the shark and the comets live?! even the goldfish..

Oh and i need advice on stingray keeping...anyone have experience?

Sorry abt ur fish JM.btw do u know anyone selling stingray?thnx.

Postby foss » November 15th, 2010, 10:09 pm

JM, sorry to hear meng.

keith, Pet Shop Boys on Mucurapo St. San F'do had a couple months back, you can check them.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » November 15th, 2010, 10:21 pm

JM, that's weird. i hope you figure it out. Sorry about your fish, that really sucks.

keith

Postby keith » November 15th, 2010, 10:58 pm

foss wrote:JM, sorry to hear meng.

keith, Pet Shop Boys on Mucurapo St. San F'do had a couple months back, you can check them.

i chkd.they don't have it.thnx.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » November 16th, 2010, 1:48 pm

a pic of JM's fishes that died
not all were pulled out at this point

Postby foss » November 16th, 2010, 5:25 pm

Notice a few of the fish in the tank have tails that are looking shredded at the tips.
even the gold fish who are the more dominant fish in the tank. Maybe about 6-8 at most have the damage on the tips of their tails

and one of the hilaries have a bad fin (might be related?)

what you think is the problem?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 16th, 2010, 8:33 pm

damn....nice blue dolphin there... :( :(

keith

Postby keith » November 16th, 2010, 9:45 pm

foss wrote:Notice a few of the fish in the tank have tails that are looking shredded at the tips.
even the gold fish who are the more dominant fish in the tank. Maybe about 6-8 at most have the damage on the tips of their tails

and one of the hilaries have a bad fin (might be related?)

what you think is the problem?

i think some of your fishes have been nipping fins.i have a double sword hilaire which goes on a fin nipping spree & then stops bothering dem.give dem adequate hiding places & keep dem well fed..don't keep barbs.even angelfish & danios also nip fins.

Postby UML » November 16th, 2010, 10:00 pm

are blackghost knife fish compatible with stingrays???

JM

Postby JM » November 16th, 2010, 10:22 pm

THanks for the condolences ppl!
if i had to guess city counsel spraying for mosquitoes was the culprit...
the blue dolphin really was growing up nice...the other one smaller...

the sting ray was bought in grand bazaar...but i think it had 1 lft when it was bought...
but if the man tells u he getting more...dont sit around and wait..he probably not...

The shredded fins if i had to guess is the hilaire is the cause! those guys kinda bothersome to larger fish with large fins...keith had it right...tho i never heard of that fish using hiding places...

I dont see why the ghostfish and sting ray wont be compatible...
Ghostfish will eat anything that can fit in they're mouth...and stingray's dont really seem to care about anyone else, they just like to showboat a bit...they dont share the same style of hiding places either so they wont meet up really...it actually sounds like a good idea for a tank with....unusual fish....discus could make a good addition to that....but then again..makes the tank EVEN more expensive...

keith

Postby keith » November 16th, 2010, 10:51 pm

JM wrote:THanks for the condolences ppl!
if i had to guess city counsel spraying for mosquitoes was the culprit...
the blue dolphin really was growing up nice...the other one smaller...

the sting ray was bought in grand bazaar...but i think it had 1 lft when it was bought...
but if the man tells u he getting more...dont sit around and wait..he probably not...

The shredded fins if i had to guess is the hilaire is the cause! those guys kinda bothersome to larger fish with large fins...keith had it right...tho i never heard of that fish using hiding places...

I dont see why the ghostfish and sting ray wont be compatible...
Ghostfish will eat anything that can fit in they're mouth...and stingray's dont really seem to care about anyone else, they just like to showboat a bit...they dont share the same style of hiding places either so they wont meet up really...it actually sounds like a good idea for a tank with....unusual fish....discus could make a good addition to that....but then again..makes the tank EVEN more expensive...

@JM :lol: i meant the harassed fishes can find some cover if there were places to hide.not the hilaire.they don't hide.

keith

Postby keith » November 16th, 2010, 10:57 pm

@UML & JM what kind of stingrays do you have?what species & what are you feeding them?if you come across anyone selling the smallest ones like the red blotched river stingrays pls let me know. thnx.

Postby UML » November 16th, 2010, 11:01 pm

i looking for a stingray myself......JM u selling urs?

b_14_b said a while back he was importing some....but i eh hear bout it again

let us know nah b_14_b

Postby DFC » November 16th, 2010, 11:17 pm

FISH IS SHEIT.

Allyuh get ah life and get ah Dog, get ah Gyul.
Fish is for Pansies.

bleh.

this thread full of nancyboys.

Postby UML » November 16th, 2010, 11:22 pm

DFC wrote:FISH IS SHEIT.

Fish is for Pansies.

bleh.

......coming from someone with a nude cartoon :|

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 17th, 2010, 12:24 am

Fish is for Pansies.

bleh.

Your father should have worn a condom.

JM

Postby JM » November 17th, 2010, 2:08 am

AGENT RORO wrote:

Fish is for Pansies.

bleh.

Your father should have worn a condom.

LOL

I havent quite figured out what kinda stingray i have...
ive been googling and it looks like a young Smooth_back_river_stingray
but the tail seems to be too short..i will get some pix and post them soon..
but i not selling tho...i NOWWW get the thing..i feedin him shrimp but he doesnt seem actively interested in it yet..

anyone know if these things prefer feeding in day or night?!

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 17th, 2010, 2:22 am

^so he hasnt eaten since u got him?

JM

Postby JM » November 17th, 2010, 2:28 am

Well she's not in an aquarium...its a pond kinda thing....
with plants..etc..so i havent actually seen him go after the shrimp...but i usually cut it up real small and throw all over..ive seen him dive@shrimp...but it might have been the guppies nibbling at the shrimp he was after...but he swims around alot at night...he seems to like the pond lights..

Postby UML » November 17th, 2010, 8:50 am

try this

my last stingray loved it....prawns love it too!!

Postby foss » November 17th, 2010, 11:32 am

keith wrote:i think some of your fishes have been nipping fins.i have a double sword hilaire which goes on a fin nipping spree & then stops bothering dem.give dem adequate hiding places & keep dem well fed..don't keep barbs.even angelfish & danios also nip fins.

well all the different breeds tend to keep to themselves, nobody harasses anyone.
maybe at night is when it goes down.
the hilaries don't chase anyone either.. sigh.. all the tails bite up :( well almost all

keith

Postby keith » November 17th, 2010, 11:40 am

foss wrote:
keith wrote:i think some of your fishes have been nipping fins.i have a double sword hilaire which goes on a fin nipping spree & then stops bothering dem.give dem adequate hiding places & keep dem well fed..don't keep barbs.even angelfish & danios also nip fins.

well all the different breeds tend to keep to themselves, nobody harasses anyone.
maybe at night is when it goes down.
the hilaries don't chase anyone either.. sigh.. all the tails bite up :( well almost all

hope the aquarium isn't crowded as some might be territorial.

Postby foss » November 17th, 2010, 11:50 am

its a big 4ft tank with plants and rocks.. more than enough room I think for all