Ol’time Kaiso

Yofoot

Ol’time Kaiso

Postby Yofoot » November 16th, 2010, 3:39 pm

While searching on Youtube I came across some oldies that really took me back.
Yes, these songs are a little before my time, but I do at least remember being really small and hearing them being played REGULARLY on radio.

Now when I hear these songs it is always with a little sadness because I realize that we might never produce music of this caliber again.
Songs that have a story, with actually music composition and timing. When we listen to Lord Kitchener and Lord Nelson, you can actually envision how fantastic these songs will sound on the steelpan. It’s no wonder that bands are now allowed to play songs from the past at Panorama.

Here are a few that brought a smile to me today:

Congo man:
We all know what he singing about, no one came close to the Mighty Sparrow with lyrical innuendo (and this is actually one of his tamer ones lyrically)

Suger Bum Bum
This composition of this not only fantastic, but timeless.

Meh lover
Hey, how about we just sing a song about not stressing out and just having a good time.

Some might say this is just a next post about how today’s artist aren’t as good and so on, but I ask this: those three songs listed, are there any music from the past few years that will live on as a classic as those? And why is that?
I often wonder if it’s because technology makes it so easy to sample a beat and create a track that you hardly have to try anymore. Or is it a reflection of our society, where we don’t put any focus on history and appreciating our rich heritage, we wait until we move out of Trinidad, to then appreciate it, my self included. I don’t know, but at least we could always look to the past at these classics.

Post your favorite ol’time kaiso, let’s remember and pay tribute to the masters.

Cid

Re: Ol’time Kaiso

Postby Cid » November 16th, 2010, 4:16 pm

Wicked Ched ............

hole dat for now

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » November 16th, 2010, 4:16 pm

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » November 16th, 2010, 4:21 pm

Postby rollingstock » November 16th, 2010, 4:58 pm

:lol: I was playing these songs this morning in traffic i teh galant, a few persons looked at me in disgust and rolled up their windows.
I must have been playing it a little too loud :(

Mih fav

Postby Bizzare » November 16th, 2010, 5:13 pm

steups.....

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » November 16th, 2010, 5:58 pm

[quote="rollingstock"]:lol: I was playing these songs this morning in traffic i teh galant, a few persons looked at me in disgust and rolled up their windows.
I must have been playing it a little too loud :(

While I don't know the real reason those folks acted in disgust, this is what i am talking about, not appreciating our own thing.
I hope they know that song is rooted in historic fact about when the America army moved out of Trinidad and left alot of local women who used be "supported" by the yankee dollar.
It might just be a old tune, but is more of a history lesson.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_and_Dinah
and
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rum_and_Coca-Cola

Postby rollingstock » November 16th, 2010, 7:56 pm

^ Think it had more to do with turning and seeing a lil black coolE boy playing that music, at that volume, they may have thought i was mad. :lol:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » November 16th, 2010, 10:30 pm

chuneeeee

Cid

Postby Cid » November 17th, 2010, 8:54 am

wicked chunes......keep it coming fellaz

kevcam

Postby kevcam » November 17th, 2010, 9:39 am

I can't go and find all them vids on youtube nah but a nice list here....

http://www.phazeblog.com/va-kbis-presents-massiv-flo-sound-crew-groove-master-2010/

R A C K S

01 Alison Hinds – Intro 0:16
02 Krosfyah – Wet Me 1:46
03 Baron – Good Buddy 2:13
04 Atlantik – All Aboard 2:22
05 Krosfyah – Pump Me Up 2:27
06 Byron Lee – Ouch 2:32
07 Rootsman – Rack Me Rack Me 3:18
08 Second Imij – Golo 2:48
09 Duke – Thunder 2:27
10 Lorrd Kitchener – Sugar Bum Bum 1:54
11 Merchant – Rock It 2:39
12 Baron – Doh Rock It So 3:43
13 Baron – Somebody 2:54
14 Mighty Sparrow – Curry Tabanca 3:04
15 Arrow – Give Me Soca 2:50
16 Arrow – Tiney Winey 3:05
17 Black Stalin – Black Man Feeling To Party 2:56
18 Plain Clothes – Ah Feeling To Rock Tonight 2:11
19 Arrow – Hot Hot Hot 3:50
20 Arrow – Groove Master 2:54
21 Baron – Feeling It 2:45
22 Merchant – Um Ba Yo 2:35
23 Ras Isley – Spring Garden 2:29
24 Arrow – Long Time 2:43
25 Arrow – O La Soca 2:48
26 Drupatee – Mr Bissessar 2:35
27 Crazy – Nani Wine 2:12
28 Mighty Sparrow – Doh Back Back 2:42
29 Mighty Gabby – Doctor Cassandra 3:01
30 United Sisters – Whoa Donkey 3:44
31 VA – Mixxx4u 0:14

VA – KBIS Presents Massiv Flo Sound Crew-Groove Master

TOTAL TiME 79:57

My favorite: 18. Plain Clothes – Ah Feeling To Rock Tonight :D

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » November 17th, 2010, 11:08 am

rollingstock wrote:^ Think it had more to do with turning and seeing a lil black coolE boy playing that music, at that volume, they may have thought i was mad. :lol:

Here is a Vid with the the Mighty Shadow and his process for coming up with the "Bassman", its always great to see these masters talk about there art.
What makes this song so important is I think the lyrics captures on a real grassroots level an artist's obsession with his craft.

great stuff!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 17th, 2010, 11:26 am

nice thread

now this is some local music i cud actually tolerate & it better than any sh1t dub coming from jamaica these days .....

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2010, 11:37 am

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » November 17th, 2010, 11:39 am

hummm i cud learn sum here :oops:

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2010, 11:40 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2010, 11:42 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2010, 11:43 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2010, 11:44 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2010, 11:45 am

The man is a MASTER lyricist.
Modern artistes cannot compare, LOL

Postby DFC » November 17th, 2010, 11:47 am

i dedicate this song to--

this beautiful woman.

minipresident

Postby minipresident » November 17th, 2010, 11:57 am

When it comes to nasty man Sparrow, this is my personal favourite:

"Ah Wouldn't Lie To You Baby!" :lol: :wink: :lol:

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » November 17th, 2010, 12:01 pm

kevcam wrote:I can't go and find all them vids on youtube nah but a nice list here....

http://www.phazeblog.com/va-kbis-presents-massiv-flo-sound-crew-groove-master-2010/

R A C K S

you sure this is not mighty trini

kevcam

Postby kevcam » November 17th, 2010, 12:33 pm

rdeonarine wrote:
kevcam wrote:I can't go and find all them vids on youtube nah but a nice list here....

R A C K S

you sure this is not mighty trini

Yeah is Trini, that is what d man have on d site so that is a typo...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 17th, 2010, 12:47 pm

:drinking:

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » November 17th, 2010, 1:03 pm

This is considered the first "soca" song by the great Lord Shorty (Ras Shorty I)

During the 70's he experimented with blending calypso with local Indian music (chutney) and came up with Soca.

As you cab hear, it is VERY different from today's "soca", I actually feel what we hear today should be called something else. Lord Shorty actually become disenchanted with the direction of soca, claiming it was being used for the wrong reasons.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lord_Shorty

Cid

Postby Cid » November 17th, 2010, 1:10 pm

allyu juss listen to the real vibes nah ........,

they cya touch we wid de calypso music

rio in de dance

first-time callers should begin by reading “Calypso on Trial” which gives an overview of how the song was composed by Lord Invader in Trinidad in 1943, brought to the United States by comedian Morey Amsterdam, became the #1 most popular song in the country in 1945, and then was fought over in court in two high-stakes copyright infringement lawsuits, “Khan vs. Feist” and “Baron vs. Feist”, which were finally settled in 1950.

full story :

http://www.rumandcocacolareader.com/Rum ... /main.html

this is what they did:

Postby hydroep » November 17th, 2010, 1:21 pm

Nice thread...

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » November 17th, 2010, 1:25 pm

http://www.rumandcocacolareader.com/Rum ... /main.html

Very excellent info Cid! A must read! Click on the link and READ!

Very interesting that the lawyers had to prove calypso was not primitive and should be protected by copyright. Also interesting is how Mr. Khan made a good impression with his cloths and accent.

Fantastic snapshot of the time-period.

"Khan vs. Feist" came first. It was heard in U.S. District Court in New York City between December 9th and December 13th, 1946. The presiding judge was named Mortimer Byers. As in most copyright cases there was no jury; it would take a legal expert like Judge Byers to unravel all the technicalities.

Emil Ellis began by calling his client, Mohamed Khan, to the witness stand. As Mr. Khan reached the stand the judge may have found himself sitting up a little straighter in his chair. The man approaching him was no rustic islander with sand between his toes, but a debonair businessman who had promoted circus acts, vaudeville shows, and prize fights on three continents. Mohamed Khan was probably the best dressed man in the courtroom (he wore double-breasted suits even in Trinidad) and, if points are given for a British accent, the best spoken.

In laying out the story about the composition of the song and publication of the booklet, the plaintiff was careful to correct any possible impression in the judge's mind that calypso was too primitive and parochial an art form to be afforded the protection of copyright laws. For instance Khan went to great lengths to point out that a calypso "tent" was actually a legitimate concert hall, operating under a license, and charging admission. Here Khan describes the sort of people who patronized his establishment:

"The attendance at my tent comprised all classes, the

majority of which is the cream of society . . . Mrs.

Anthony Eden, I had the honor to usher her to her seat;

George Raft, the noted Hollywood star, I had the pleasure of

escorting him to a seat in my Calypso tent. Sir Noel Coward,

famous writer, visited my Calypso tent. Humphrey Bogart,

famous Hollywood star, visited my tent." [23]

Postby rollingstock » November 17th, 2010, 2:26 pm

Another one of my favs :lol: