The Strength of the Human Spirit, Congrats Shamla Maharaj

Postby Greypatch » October 29th, 2010, 9:30 am

And to her Mother Chandra Maharaj

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,129927.html" target="_blank" target="_blank

SHAMLA'S TRIUMPH

By DARCEL CHOY Friday, October 29 2010

A GIRL born with Cerebral Palsy overcame her disability, went through the school system and yesterday graduated at the University of the West Indies (UWI) with a Bachelors of Science in Agri Business and Management.

Speaking after the graduation ceremony at the university’s Sports and Physical Education Centre (SPEC), Shamla Maharaj, 24, said she felt good about her achievements and looked forward to completing her Masters, studies for which she has already commenced.

Asked what she wanted to do after achieving her Masters degree, Shamla who was surrounded by close friends excitedly said: “I want to definitely work and after, I get job experience. Then I want to do my PhD hopefully, but (this) depends on how hard the Masters is.”

Her proud mother Chandra Maharaj expressed her excitement and delight at her daughter’s achievement.

She said it was not difficult for her daughter to function at the university as she (Chandra) lived with her at the St Augustine campus, at Milner Hall. “I stayed on campus with her for the three years she did her degree because there are things she could not do for herself,” Maharaj said.

Maharaj said she was thankful to the university as they understood her daughter’s needs.

“We got full support from the university, they helped us out anyway they could and we are so thankful to them,” Maharaj said.

Shamla said the rest of her family are very supportive and happy with her achievements. “My dad and two younger brothers are very happy for me and they just want me to be successful,” she said.

The young student who is from Barrackpore attended the Princess Elizabeth Special School before moving on to Barrackpore Secondary Comprehensive School from 2000-2007, where she excelled in several subjects before going on to do her A’ levels.

Shamla said after “A” Levels, she wanted to attend a college to study marketing but applied to UWI because all her friends were doing the same. “My friends were applying but I did not expect to get through. I was surprised when I found out I was in the first batch of students that got through,” Shamla said.

She noted it was never her intention to study Agri Business and Management, but those were subjects given to her as she applied late. Shamla said she never knew what Agri Business had to offer but as the classes went on, she started to enjoy it.

“The components that came with the course was what I enjoyed the most including Economics, Mathematics, Marketing and Management,” she said. Shamla said during her three years at university, her family covered the cost for the first two years while a scholarship she received from the Ministry of Public Administration paid for the final year of study and also got her a motorised wheelchair to make it easier for her to get around.

She said her lecturers were very understanding of her disability as they made certain accommodations for her. “Sometimes during class, the lecturer when going through slides would keep it longer on the screen for me to be able to write everything as I would have written slower than the other students,” Shamla said.

Shamla said she does not live on campus anymore and has moved back home, she is now dropped off to school by her mother which she said gets tiring at times. “It is a long journey but the good thing is classes are in the evening but I do hope to get another scholarship so I could move back on campus,” she said.

She said after completing her studies she hopes to work in an agri business firm. She shared advice to those who may have a disability like her and want to pursue their own dreams. “Don’t consider yourself different, you are just like anyone else, just keep focussed on what you want and don’t keep back yourself in any way,” she said.

Back2Studio

Re: The Strength of the Human Spirit, Congrats Shamla Mahara

Postby Back2Studio » October 29th, 2010, 9:37 am

Postby hydroep » October 29th, 2010, 9:38 am

Marvelous achievement.

Congrats to the young lady :!:

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 29th, 2010, 9:40 am

Congrats and best wishes to the young lady.

Postby bushwakka » October 29th, 2010, 9:46 am

makes me feel so stoopide

apple

Postby apple » October 29th, 2010, 10:26 am

geh on!!

*hides tears*

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » October 29th, 2010, 10:29 am

Meanwhile, lazy ass fellas want to sell drugs, rob and kill people!

Postby DFC » October 29th, 2010, 11:15 am

Meanwhile Some tuners still in Uwi after 10 years.

I get booted outta uwi after two years,lol

Congrats Shamla, You're an inspiration.

livinloud12

Postby livinloud12 » October 29th, 2010, 11:48 am

Congrats Shamla on a job well done. She has shown true dedication, perseverance and determination. I personally knew her while attending Barrackpore Secondary Comprehensive. Her mom has also demonstrated true commitment by supporting her everyday for her entire life thus far. It was a very difficult and stressful job to do. In the end hard work really pays off. 0X

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » October 29th, 2010, 12:08 pm

awesomeness encapsulated. Have a goal - achieve it..then move on to the next goal.

Postby AllTrac » October 29th, 2010, 12:14 pm

well done, she looking good to.

Postby wagonrunner » October 29th, 2010, 12:18 pm

AllTrac wrote:well done, she looking good to.

yuh dun know.

phototakouter and editor need to be shot with sheit for taking, and allowing this pic.

Postby AllTrac » October 29th, 2010, 12:20 pm

she is ah Maharaj to.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 29th, 2010, 1:10 pm

Good stuff there. And so many able-bodied people can't do jack with themselves....

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » October 29th, 2010, 1:12 pm

congrats to her!

Alexy

Postby Alexy » October 29th, 2010, 1:23 pm

Congrats girl.
Nothing is impossible :)

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 29th, 2010, 2:37 pm

AllTrac wrote:she is ah Maharaj to.

Thats the biggest disability she had to overcome.

Postby UML » October 30th, 2010, 1:47 am

Pios :|

Humes

Postby Humes » October 30th, 2010, 2:19 am

AllTrac wrote:well done, she looking good to.

yuh dun know.

phototakouter and editor need to be shot with sheit for taking, and allowing this pic.

Why, because you find it amusing or awkward? Or think others will?

That's more than likely a common expression on the woman's face. Anyone who's interacted with someone with CP would have seen it many times. Part of being mature is getting over things like that and letting the person be themself.

Postby wagonrunner » October 30th, 2010, 9:21 am

:lol: let some of that steam out from under your collar.
of the two pics in this thread, which one would you prefer for your CP associate?

i think the candid shot seems amateurish, and unprofessional. thankfully, i have some expertise in both those areas. :lol:

shady23

Postby shady23 » October 30th, 2010, 9:39 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:
AllTrac wrote:she is ah Maharaj to.

Thats the biggest disability she had to overcome.