The Religion Discussion

Silvermike

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Hawking's a Madman - Pg.

Postby Silvermike » October 28th, 2010, 5:42 pm

oh gosh... i was trying to keep this peaceful man....

QG

Postby QG » October 28th, 2010, 5:50 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why would a perfect bible make it permissible to kill your slave though?

could it be that revision is needed in the bible as time progresses or do you agree that it is more important to keep the way of the bible rather than keeping the modern morality we know today i.e. that slavery is a terrible act against humanity.

I'd like to get megadoc1, toyo, sparky and bluefete's input on this as well

I wish I had the correct answer to your question, but I don't. But I can say this...slavery days are over, we live in a more civilized nation where there is law/acts that ensures equality among us all.
Plus there are so many different versions of the Bible out there :( . I know the slavery thing sounds cruel in the scripture, but there is nothing I can do about it.

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 28th, 2010, 5:54 pm

The Hundred Year Starship: The Nasa mission that will take astronauts to Mars and leave them there forever ????

Ok Firstly Thats not a real Planned mission Its for Hypothetical Consideration. Here is why it wont happen anytime soon

FACT 1. Nasa Denys any such mission plans, the only planed human habitable experimental mission is to build a space port on the moon. Its not scheduled yet cause of 3 major issues..

1.) Nasa needs to construct easier transportable material that will shield building from radiation being generated by solar flares from the sun

2.) No definitive way of actually producing oxygen, there is a project in the works that involve grinding moon rock, and extracting oxygen from them.

3.) A way to produce water, the currently implemented water recycling system still losses water during the recycling process so in a real world situation 1 gallon can only last a month.. There is a project in the making however to use oxygen and hydrogen to produce the water.

And even more the hydrogen engine isnt fully operational and will not be so for another 10 years.. Even with that it will take a manned flight a year or more to reach mars. During this time the crew will suffer space trauma. In other words when they get there they will die shortly cause their muscles will no longer work properly and their minds from the stress will be insane..

In 1989 The united states government made it illegal for any agency to subdue anyone to suicide missions (defined as a task which the assigned must return home before a 10 year period will elapse.)

PS.
It aint Happening Any Time Soon and The government Will not approve it. The next planed mission to mars is in 2030
Last edited by dark_lord_tnt on October 28th, 2010, 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » October 28th, 2010, 5:59 pm

^^ nuff respec, QG!!
Last edited by sMASH on October 28th, 2010, 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

QG

Postby QG » October 28th, 2010, 6:00 pm

dark_lord_tnt wrote:
bluefete wrote:I have not been around for a while (work and many other things now get in the way) but I read these and had to post them.

If scientists simply followed what the Bible says, they would not look so dotish having to change their theories ever so often.

So gentlemen, some of you really believe this human / ape dynasty dotishness????

Out of Asia? Ancient ancestor of modern man walked Sahara 39million years ago

By David Derbyshire
Last updated at 9:00 PM on 27th October 2010

The human family tree may have to be redrawn after scientists found evidence that the ancient ancestors of humans, apes and monkeys evolved in Asia – rather than Africa – tens of millions of years ago.

The astonishing claim follows the discovery of four species of early primate in the Sahara desert, dating back 39million years.

The creatures, or anthropoid primates, are unlike anything yet found in Africa from the same time period or before, suggesting that they evolved elsewhere.

ImageAfrotarsius (top left) Karanesia (top right) Biretia (bottom left) and Talahpithecus (bottom Right) were early pre-cursors to humans

Scientists say there is overwhelming fossil evidence that mankind evolved from ape-like creatures in Africa, two to three million years ago. The last common ancestor of humans and chimpanzees lived five to seven million years ago, while we split off from the gorilla branch of the family tree around 10million years ago.

Many researchers believe that the common ancestors of all apes, monkeys and humans also evolved in Africa. But the new finding challenges that view.

More...

* Humans were in China '60,000 years earlier than previously thought'

Dr Christopher Beard, of Carnegie Museum of Natural History and an author of a paper in today’s Nature journal, said: ‘If our ideas are correct, this early colonization of Africa by anthropoids was a truly pivotal event – one of the key points in our evolutionary history.’

At the time, Africa was an island continent. When these anthropoids appeared – after possibly crossing the sea clinging to trees or mats of vegetation – there was nothing on that island that could compete with them, he said. ‘It led to a period of flourishing evolutionary divergence among anthropoids, and one of those lineages resulted in humans.

ImageThe ascent of man: Human evolution, from apelike beings of 20million years ago to modern man

‘If our early anthropoid ancestors had not succeeded in migrating from Asia to Africa, we simply wouldn’t exist.’

Although the researchers found only fossilised teeth at the Dur At-Talah escarpment – part of the unspoilt, remote Sahara in central Libya – they have a rough idea of their size and shape. The four creatures were small, weighing 4oz to 16oz, and resembled monkeys or lemurs.

Three of the creatures came from distinct families, or ‘clades’, of primates – showing that they had been evolving from a common ancestor for a long time.

The researchers say there is no evidence of similar primates from Africa before 39million years ago.

So either there is a ‘striking gap’ in the fossil record of North Africa – despite more than 100 years of fossil hunting expeditions in the region – or the early primates came from elsewhere, said Dr Beard.

‘This sudden appearance of such diversity suggests that these anthropoids probably colonised Africa from somewhere else,’ he said. ‘Without earlier fossil evidence in Africa, we’re currently looking to Asia as the place where these animals first evolved.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/ ... z13dO8YPIQ" target="_blank" target="_blank" target="_blank

What utter rubbish. "Overwhelming fossil evidence" my big foot. But they cannot even find the so-called "missing link".

Oh how Satan has so deceived men into believing what God did not do.

Satans greatest deed was convincing mankind the bible was real!!

All science is , is best guess, they make their best guess with what evidence is at hand, God dint just snap his fingers and made things happen. IS it that hard to believe that maybe god created through evolution ??

Fact 1 ,, Statan did go digging up the earth planting dinosaur bones and that of other creatures, According to the Bible Adam Lived 6000 years ago,, So in that opinion the Earth is 6000 years old. thats BS..

fact 2 ,, according to christian philosophy the earth was the center of the universe and everything revolved around it..
Galileo, often called "the Father of Modern Science," was the first astronomer to claim actual evidence that the earth was not the center of the universe, but revolved around the sun. For this, Galileo came under intense criticism and persecution from the Church. Pope Urban VIII personally gave the order in 1633 that Galileo, then an old man of 70, should be threatened with torture if he did not renounce the heresy that the earth revolved around the sun. Under repeated threats of torture,

Campanella was tortured seven times by the Inquisition for a number of heresies, one of which was writing Defense of Galileo.

Fact 3 ,, Isaac Newton kept his true religious beliefs secret, for fear of persecution, until literally his dying day. He privately rejected his native Anglican Church at about age 30, convinced that its teachings about Christ's divinity and the existence of a Trinity were a fraud. He instead accepted Arianism, a 4th century Christian heresy. Only on his deathbed did he reveal his true beliefs by rejecting the Anglican sacrament. (2) Many Christians opposed his scientific findings as well, for everyone had previously believed that God actively and frequently intervened in the ordinary events of the universe. Christians charged that he "took from God that direct action on his works so constantly ascribed to him in Scripture and transferred it to material mechanism," and that he "substituted gravitation for Providence."

Fact 4 ,, William Buckland, Charles Lyell, Louis Agassiz, and Adam Sedgewick were all 19th century Christian geologists who originally set out to prove the story of creation and Noah's Flood. But despite their best attempts to reconcile their discoveries with the Bible, their findings kept pointing in the other direction: namely, the earth was several billion years old, not 6,000. One by one, they recanted their belief in the literal interpretation of Genesis and accepted the findings of modern geology. For their intellectual honesty, they came under terrific attack from the Church, which hurled epithets like "infidel," "impugner of the sacred record," and "assailant of the volume of God." Their geology was condemned as "a dark art," "dangerous and disreputable," "a forbidden province," "infernal artillery" and "an awful evasion of the testimony of revelation."

Fact 5 ,, Charles Darwin knew that his revolutionary theories on natural selection would invite the full fury of the Christian world. He therefore delayed publishing his theory for over 20 years, agonizing over the decision of whether or not to publish. His hand was forced in 1858, when he learned that the naturalist Alfred Wallace was about to publish the same theory. His fears proved true -- the reaction from the Church was shock, disappointment and anger. The world-wide attacks on his character, theories and personal life are common knowledge now, but he was saved from physical harm for two reasons. First, nearly the entire scientific community was quick to see the soundness of his theories, and rallied immediately to his defense. Second, the age of the Inquisition and other torture-based persecutions had finally passed.

So if we did listen to the Bible ,,

1.) you wont have electricity (it was declared as the work of the devil by christians)
2.) We sould still think the earth was flat ("If the earth was round as an orange any idiot would know the people on the other side will fall off)

3.) No modern medcine, Just like all of Mother Teresa Hospitals you would lay on the cold damp floor and suffer until u die..

4.) Chances are you would be a slave

etc.. well you get the point.. Science is what teaches us and whats there , The bible has been right so far of almost nothing.. Even God said that there is nothing smaller than a mustard seed .. Apparently he didn't know what he created cause there are seeds a lot smaller..

Again people bring up satan with the classical concept of the Devil. I suggest you research the origin of this. Its not right to blame someone for something they are not responsible for..

You say Satan made us feel that the bible is real...what say you about the Quran??
Both the Bible and Quran speaks about Adam when he was first created from dust, are you now saying that the holy books are wrong?

If man really did came from Apes as what you are saying, then God lied to us all?!
Because God said that he made man in his own image!
Evolution is a change! If man really did evolve from monkey, tell me why there are monkeys still existing on earth???? :) :) 8-)

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 28th, 2010, 6:04 pm

d spike wrote:Wow. The Cut n' paster pastor strikes again!
No comment on what is being said, no follow-up... just pelt n' leave... :(
I miss those conversations when you would actually get a... reply. I know it was just defensive stuff, and irrational at times... but at least it was a sign that he realised you were capable of two-way communication...
Now, it's even more like a bilboard for his successful fishing trips on the internet... and I try to shake the feeling of being shown a lack of respect... :? :x :evil:

As far as populating Mars is concerned, I notice there is no mention of food. In my opinion, only until the Martian settlers can provide their own food, would such a plan be viable...
If those boys will have to walk with their complete food supplies to sustain them until the next "drop", I wouldn't want to go. However, I have no qualms about nominating Bluefete, megadoc and Toyo to represent mankind, and take that brave step up out there... They will certainly not be without sufficient reading material, as one bible will suffice for them - they have no care or need for any other sort of written matter, for to waste that god-given gift of decifering written characters on mere entertainment borders on being sinful... and only one bible, for if there is a typo/misprint in one of multiple copies, a holy war might break out and a major portion of the settlers might be exiled/slaughtered.
These three would be mankind's best bet on starting a settlement on Mars. Think of the weight, fuel and space that would be saved by using megadoc's faith healing - there would be no need for medicines or medical apparatus. In fact, he probably wouldn't need spare oxygen tanks, either.
These three gentlemen would also be able to perform an in-depth study of curing the evil of homosexuality via faith, with the inclusion of a pretty, blond engineer named Leslie, whose preferences would dismay poor megadoc.
If any of them fall prey to sin out there, then there is the possibility of further study of how to deal with temptation when it has to share the same quarters as you for quite some time.
What do you guys think? :lol:

dark_lord_tnt wrote:
genesis history of origin :

"At Moses' time (apparently around 1300 BC), there were actually not yet even any organized written languages yet! (Actual written languages would develop around 100 to 300 years later. Only symbol systems such as Egyptian hieroglyphics yet existed, and they were not languages at all. Worse, they were not capable of expressing sophisticated concepts such as the Sabbath. It would likely take hundreds of picture symbols to express the single sentence, Honor the Sabbath. ) It would be hard to imagine Moses taking the time to carve thousands of picture symbols into blocks of stone, along the lines of the hieroglyphics that existed at that time.

Christianity has matured to the point where it accepts that the first five books were not written by Moses. However, the fundamentalist sects still cling to this claim, as it is the only way their literalist beliefs can be best endorsed.
I have stated before that it is most likely that these books were written around the time of the Exile, Genesis most certainly so.

However, your argument presented above, is based on the lack of the capability of writing at the time. While it is a very credible and moot point, how do you balance this opinion of yours with an earlier point stated by you, shown below?
dark_lord_tnt wrote:And even take Jousha ,, who refused one of Arons command from moses because he replied "Its not written so in the book of Jasher) which he held dear above moses..

Do you have an explanation for how a book could exist in a time when writing one was impractical to the point of impossible?

It attributed to the fact that the "TEXT" was an oral tradition while I did quote driectly from the bible, The words "written" was translated as such , The actual translation reads
(It is not so according to the words of Jasher) , So in actuality similar to the text being written at a later date because the original was oral tradition so to was the book of Jasher

dark_lord_tnt wrote:So, for very practical reasons, it seems almost certain that (a) Moses was certainly the "author" of the First Five Books of the Bible, but that (b) he did not actually write them down."

Yes, "authorship" is "ascribed" to Moses, simply due to the argument that if it wasn't for him, the books would not have been written. :? But he certainly didn't write them.

Biblical scholars have shown that Genesis is really four narrations, some being side by side. One of them (The Yahwist, I believe) shows the narration that the Orthodox helped evolve. This one is clearly seen in Genesis 2, and also explains the more detailed variant of Noah's story.
The question has always been, why did the Hebrews allow this obvious contrast to continue existing? One generally accepted view is that in the days when writing was limited to sacred scripture (in fact, writing in itself was practically considered sacred) then in the minds of those who compiled the stories, all the writings were sacred, so together they were told. Another explanation (and the most likely one) is that even earlier to this, in the oral tradition, all the stories that were told often enough were considered true - megadoc can easily explain this phenomenon of "we all say so, so it must be true" - so when the time came to enscribe the scripture, compilation was the order of the day. I personally believe that the love Jews have for arguing is what prompted them to enscribe all the narrations together, to ensure the existence of argument-starting material in times ahead. :lol:

Thank you that was a very good read. I'll post more on my thoughts later after i respond to some unsaleable Comments in the above post..

Postby sMASH » October 28th, 2010, 6:32 pm

so, are u saying the devil is not real? the concept may have been modified over time, but there would be an origin somewhere. the messages in the bible would have originated somewhere and sometime as well. the actions of the people may stem from misinterpretation of the messages they follow, so don't judge the religion by the actions of the people; examine the source of the religion. the bible is at a disadvantage here because the words in it can not be really confidently as accurate to the original as some others, as there have been various modifications over time.

u are saying that everything that happens is only scientifically based. i say no, some things may not be. but even, because we cannot explain it, doesn't necessarily mean it is totally paranormal.

science shows us evolution. very reasonable, logical, believable; and in the words of gregory house- it fits.
two of the major religions, wait three, have words which say that man has been divinely created.
the scientific genealogy of man have been placed in the mechanism of evolution. but hear this, not all of the pieces have been found to make man fit the evolutionary process. there are still some major gaps, but still enough info to reasonably assume that man evolved.
i on the fence with that. because coming from the side of creationism, i don't see enough to say 100 % evolution. unfortunate thing is, because of the random process of fossil establishment, the exact lineage may never be able to be discovered.
the thing is, islam leaves enough room for evolution of every thing else, in my opinion. but it apparently distinguishes man's origin as being divine. but i say apparently because may be those words are figurative. i am not a scholar, but i should investigate it a little more. some how i get the impression that it may have signaled a major turning point in development, either physically, logically, sentience wise, or sumting. but me eh putting meh head on the block for dat.....yet.

so creationist believe creation, evolutionist believe evolution, i on the fence, but leaning towards a divinely inspired evolution; generally random, specifically designed.

and science, just like religion, as people get more understanding and information, they may rethink what they knew before, and develop. some scientists are just as egotistical and suborn, unwavering like any religious zealot.

oh yeah, islam says that god is in no form that man can comprehend, thus we cannot be created in his image.

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 28th, 2010, 7:21 pm

toyo682 wrote:“If a man sells his daughter as a servant, she is not to go free as male servants do. 8If she does not please the master who has selected her for himself, he must let her be redeemed. He has no right to sell her to foreigners, because he has broken faith with her. 9If he selects her for his son, he must grant her the rights of a daughter. 10If he marries another woman, he must not deprive the first one of her food, clothing and marital rights. 11If he does not provide her with these three things, she is to go free, without any payment of money. Ex 21:7-11 (NIV)

So I’ll begin with this passage that many seem to think allows sex slavery.
Now in verse 7 the Bible says clearly, “ If a man sells his daughter as a servant” some translations render it as being a slave. The Hebrew word here אָמָה (ʾā∙mā(h)) has several renderings, in its 55 occurrences; it translates as “handmaid” 22 times, “maidservant” 19 times, “maid” eight times, “bondwoman” four times, and “bondmaids” twice. 1 maid-servant, female slave, maid, handmaid, concubine. 1A of humility (fig.). This term was applied both to those who were literal slaves and to those who figuratively call themselves by this term as an expression of humility and submission.

Jeremiah 2:14 (A.V.), but not there found in the original. In Revelation 18:13 the word "slaves" is the rendering of a Greek word meaning "bodies." The Hebrew and Greek words for slave are usually rendered simply "servant," "bondman," or "bondservant." Slavery as it existed under the Mosaic law has no modern parallel. That law did not originate but only regulated the already existing custom of slavery (Exodus 21:20,21,26,27; Leviticus 25:44-46; Joshua 9:6-27). And just for your knowledge , see those two funny looking things under ( אָמָה) this changes the meaning of the word. In the case of my passage quote its ( אַהּמּ) taken from the original untranslated (thora) Meaning Slave of the Body or Sex Slave

Female slaves were not treated as other slaves but rather they were to be treated differently. Often in biblical times female slaves were concubines or secondary wives (Gen. 16:3; 22:24; 30:3, 9; 36:12; Jud. 8:31; 9:18). Some Hebrew fathers thought it more advantageous for their daughters to become concubines of well-to-do neighbors than to become the wives of men in their own social class. If a daughter who became a servant was not pleasing to her master she was to be redeemed by a near kinsman (Lev. 25:47-54) but never sold to foreigners (Ex. 21:8); she could also redeem herself.

What is your point ??? God Still condoned it. Is that the moral values you should have ?? Sell me your daughter and your wife, show me how christian you are.. She cannot redeem her self but hope for the negligence of her husband. And I guess you mised the part of the bible that states "If an unmarried woman fornicates she is to be stoned to death ???" and also your crap about foreigners "David to be King David was soled to Foreigners as a Slave by his brothers" stop speaking B.S. in your attempt of Justification.

Within the context of this particular passage it is clear that it is not speaking about slavery in the sense that many believe. The context seems to lend itself more to an arranged marriage. This is clear by part b of verse 7, that states that she is not to go free as male servants/salves do. The law concerning slaves states that a male slave must be freed on the 7th year, however this was not so with females, why? The Bible ascribes to women the weaker role, in fact it calls them the weaker vessel. The women should have a covering, the man is both her physical and spiritual covering. In this sense she moves from one covering (her father) to her (Master/Husband, which I will show). This is why she is not to go free as a male servant/slave, if she does, she will be left without a covering.

That interpretation is utter nonsense , I wont even bother to respond read the above for why..

Now we need to understand that in patriarchal society the husband was considered the master of the wife. Thus in this passage it when it refers the master it is actually talking about a husband in a sense (we will see this further in the passage). Now the passage goes on to say that if she does not please her master he must allow her to be redeemed. In fact in this passage He is forbidden from selling her to a foreigner, why? Because he has broken faith with her v.8. How does one break faith with a slave? It is clear as we move on that once again what is being described here is a type of martial relationship.

"There is now way is it written in that book you hold so dearly its suggested for that period alone, And she wouldn't be brought by a foreigner in any case cause she was defiled",

Now verse 9 goes on to say that if he selects her for his son, and not himself, he is to grant her the rights of a daughter. It is quite obvious here that the Bible is not speaking of selecting her to be a slave as we think, but as an arranged wife for his son. Then the Bible goes on in verse 10-11 to show how the man is to treat her. It then goes on to says “if he marries another“, further proof that it is speaking about an arranged type of marriage. So if he takes a wife besides this one he is still obligated to treat her well, providing clothes, food and martial rights. In contrast to choosing her for his son, obligating him to grant her the rights of a daughter, if he takes her for himself, he has to grant her the rights of a wife.

Concubines are well respected , and what is actually meant by chosen for his son, is that in those day and in other cultures as well men were though about sex from a very young age, she was selected as a concubine for his son.. often referred to as harlots or Harlems..

Now if the husband fails to provide for her in this way, then she was to be granted freedom, without payment. In other word were as mentioned before where her redemption could be bought by a kinsman, she would now be free to return to her family with no payment required.

"again your point shows god justified this,, is this family or human or moral values that you would teach your kids ???

Now with that said, this is not the case of slavery as many are making it out to be. Rather it is a form of arrange marriage. The kind that has been exhibited it our society not to long ago, in the time of our grandparents. If anything this passage is allowing arranged marriage. But I guess many will find evil where there is none because that is a far a their nose will allow them to see.

Stop trying to put words in gods mouth.. You again try to justify immorality and make it sound like somethings its not, you explination is simply wrong.

I assure you these arguments may work for people who are unaware on the actual writings, the actual text and the translation of it least they lack knowledge in that. It wont work by someone who speaks the language or actually has experience in its translation.
Last edited by dark_lord_tnt on October 28th, 2010, 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 28th, 2010, 7:35 pm

sMASH wrote:so, are u saying the devil is not real? the concept may have been modified over time, but there would be an origin somewhere. the messages in the bible would have originated somewhere and sometime as well. the actions of the people may stem from misinterpretation of the messages they follow, so don't judge the religion by the actions of the people; examine the source of the religion. the bible is at a disadvantage here because the words in it can not be really confidently as accurate to the original as some others, as there have been various modifications over time.

u are saying that everything that happens is only scientifically based. i say no, some things may not be. but even, because we cannot explain it, doesn't necessarily mean it is totally paranormal.

science shows us evolution. very reasonable, logical, believable; and in the words of gregory house- it fits.
two of the major religions, wait three, have words which say that man has been divinely created.
the scientific genealogy of man have been placed in the mechanism of evolution. but hear this, not all of the pieces have been found to make man fit the evolutionary process. there are still some major gaps, but still enough info to reasonably assume that man evolved.
i on the fence with that. because coming from the side of creationism, i don't see enough to say 100 % evolution. unfortunate thing is, because of the random process of fossil establishment, the exact lineage may never be able to be discovered.
the thing is, islam leaves enough room for evolution of every thing else, in my opinion. but it apparently distinguishes man's origin as being divine. but i say apparently because may be those words are figurative. i am not a scholar, but i should investigate it a little more. some how i get the impression that it may have signaled a major turning point in development, either physically, logically, sentience wise, or sumting. but me eh putting meh head on the block for dat.....yet.

so creationist believe creation, evolutionist believe evolution, i on the fence, but leaning towards a divinely inspired evolution; generally random, specifically designed.

and science, just like religion, as people get more understanding and information, they may rethink what they knew before, and develop. some scientists are just as egotistical and suborn, unwavering like any religious zealot.

oh yeah, islam says that god is in no form that man can comprehend, thus we cannot be created in his image.

I am not saying anything "BAD " here but you simply lack the required knowledge for me to explain what I mean by such, clearly you have taken the point out of context or I may have not explained it properly. I'll return to the concept of Satan at a future post but not now since I cannot explain it without you having knowledge of my source documents nor the understanding that was removed by time. I am not saying your dumb or anything I am saying that for you to understand what I'm saying there are cretin things you need to be aware of which your most likely not. Because you forgot all together how the statement was structured and a name you missed all together. Without you having the concept of that name first it will be pointless to discuss the concept of Satan, Read a future Post I'll address to d Spike..

But why is It hard to believe that God didnt create science in order to create ??

As for Islam I have a lot to say on that but not now. All I'll say for now is that Islam originated on the roots of Christianity, The concept of god evolved from "God is omnipresent, All knowing and Ever lasting", While the bible states that God test me to see whats in their hearts, and If he knew everything didnt he know that eve would give adam the forbidden fruit ? and Why did god repent after flooding the world ?? Who did He repent too ? Christianity Gives God A masculine, Physical Form (always referred to as HE) While Islam recognizes this and Says God Cannot Have a Physical Form, Saying God Is physical will give him physical attributes and Physicality if left to flaws , God Should be flawless , And Also Islam Refers to God As ALLAH not a he. I am Not A Muslim..

Another religion I'll like to touch on is Hinduism,, but in a future post.
Last edited by dark_lord_tnt on October 28th, 2010, 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 28th, 2010, 7:43 pm

@QG for information and a laugh,, and especially to bluefete and the evolution debunking people that keep saying "man come from monkeys ?"

I strongly REFER TO THE GOD PORTRAYED IN THE CURRENT BIBLE....

ITS NOT THE FIRST TIME GOD OF THE CHRISTIAN BIBLE LIED,, HE LIED TO MOSES, HE LIED TO MEN, HE APPARENTLY LIES A LOT AND ITS ALL THERE IN THAT BOOK YOU BELIEVE SO MUCH IN AND WISH TO JUSTIFY, But I have noticed you haven't read it and understood it.

If he can lie to Moses on mount Sinai who the hell is you for him not to lie to you ??

I strongly REFER TO THE GOD PORTRAYED IN THE CURRENT BIBLE.... yes please take offense the truth hurts.. I would have showed you how God Lied but that you already know.. If not then you dont know your bible well..

BTW IGNORANT ONE,, Man did not evolve from monkeys. you should read before posting such a thing,, the two originated from the same source then took different evolutionary path.. and I quote

Human evolution, or anthropogenesis, is the origin and evolution of Homo sapiens as a distinct species from other hominids, great apes and placental mammals. The study of human evolution encompasses many scientific disciplines, including physical anthropology, primatology, archaeology, linguistics and genetics.[1]

The term "human" in the context of human evolution refers to the genus Homo, but studies of human evolution usually include other hominids, such as the Australopithecines, from which the genus Homo had diverged by about 2.3 to 2.4 million years ago in Africa.[2][3] Scientists have estimated that humans branched off from their common ancestor with chimpanzees about 5–7 million years ago. Several species and subspecies of Homo evolved and are now extinct. These include Homo erectus, which inhabited Asia, and Homo sapiens neanderthalensis, which inhabited Europe. Archaic Homo sapiens evolved between 400,000 and 250,000 years ago.

The dominant view among scientists concerning the origin of anatomically modern humans is the "Out of Africa" or recent African origin hypothesis,[4][5][6][7] which argues that Homo sapiens arose in Africa and migrated out of the continent around 50,000 to 100,000 years ago, replacing populations of Homo erectus in Asia and Homo neanderthalensis in Europe. Scientists supporting the alternative multiregional hypothesis argue that Homo sapiens evolved as geographically separate but interbreeding populations stemming from a worldwide migration of Homo erectus out of Africa nearly 2.5 million years ago.

distinct species from other hominids !!!!!!! humanoids include, apes and monkeys.. (doesnt mean mean came from monkeys) its a different species..

Postby MG Man » October 28th, 2010, 9:09 pm

dark_lord_tnt wrote: All I'll say for now is that Islam originated on the roots of Christianity,

people still in denial over this

Postby sMASH » October 28th, 2010, 9:22 pm

:popcorn:

d spike

Postby d spike » October 28th, 2010, 11:45 pm

dark_lord_tnt wrote: All I'll say for now is that Islam originated on the roots of Christianity,

people still in denial over this

You mean
Muslims still in denial over this

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 29th, 2010, 12:07 am

And these are the names of the holy angels who watch. Uriel, one of the holy angels, who is
3 over the world and over Tartarus. Raphael, one of the holy angels, who is over the spirits of men.
4,5 Raguel, one of the holy angels who takes vengeance on the world of the luminaries. Michael, one
6 of the holy angels, to wit, he that is set over the best part of mankind and over chaos. Saraqael,
7 one of the holy angels, who is set over the spirits, who sin in the spirit. Gabriel, one of the holy
8 angels, who is over Paradise and the serpents and the Cherubim. Remiel, one of the holy angels, whom God set over those who rise.

Then Raphael answered, one of the holy angels who was with me, and said unto me: 'These hollow places have been created for this very purpose, that the spirits of the souls of the dead should
4 assemble therein, yea that all the souls of the children of men should assemble here. And these places have been made to receive them till the day of their judgement and till their appointed period [till the period appointed], till the great judgement (comes) upon them.' I saw (the spirit of) a dead man making suit,
5 and his voice went forth to heaven and made suit. And I asked Raphael the angel who was
6 with me, and I said unto him: 'This spirit which maketh suit, whose is it, whose voice goeth forth and maketh suit to heaven ?'
7 And he answered me saying: 'This is the spirit which went forth from Abel, whom his brother Cain slew, and he makes his suit against him till his seed is destroyed from the face of the earth, and his seed is annihilated from amongst the seed of men.'
8 The I asked regarding it, and regarding all the hollow places: 'Why is one separated from the other?'
9 And he answered me and said unto me: 'These three have been made that the spirits of the dead might be separated. And such a division has been make (for) the spirits of the righteous, in which there is the bright spring of
10 water. And such has been made for sinners when they die and are buried in the earth and judgement has not been executed on them in their
11 lifetime. Here their spirits shall be set apart in this great pain till the great day of judgement and punishment and torment of those who curse for ever and retribution for their spirits. There
12 He shall bind them for ever. And such a division has been made for the spirits of those who make their suit, who make disclosures concerning their destruction, when they were slain in the days
13 of the sinners. Such has been made for the spirits of men who were not righteous but sinners, who were complete in transgression, and of the transgressors they shall be companions: but their spirits shall not be slain in the day of judgement nor shall they be raised from thence.'
14 The I blessed the Lord of glory and said: 'Blessed be my Lord, the Lord of righteousness, who ruleth for ever.'

1 And from thence I went to the south to the ends of the earth, and saw there three open portals
2 of the heaven: and thence there come dew, rain, and wind. And from thence I went to the east to the ends of the heaven, and saw here the three eastern portals of heaven open and small portals
3 above them. Through each of these small portals pass the stars of heaven and run their course to the west on the path which is shown to them. And as often as I saw I blessed always the Lord of Glory, and I continued to bless the Lord of Glory who has wrought great and glorious wonders, to show the greatness of His work to the angels and to spirits and to men, that they might praise His work and all His creation: that they might see the work of His might and praise the great work of His hands and bless Him for ever.

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » October 29th, 2010, 1:24 am

dark_lord_tnt wrote:
toyo682 wrote:“If a man sells his daughter as a servant, she is not to go free as male servants do. 8If she does not please the master who has selected her for himself, he must let her be redeemed. He has no right to sell her to foreigners, because he has broken faith with her. 9If he selects her for his son, he must grant her the rights of a daughter. 10If he marries another woman, he must not deprive the first one of her food, clothing and marital rights. 11If he does not provide her with these three things, she is to go free, without any payment of money. Ex 21:7-11 (NIV)

So I’ll begin with this passage that many seem to think allows sex slavery.
Now in verse 7 the Bible says clearly, “ If a man sells his daughter as a servant” some translations render it as being a slave. The Hebrew word here אָמָה (ʾā∙mā(h)) has several renderings, in its 55 occurrences; it translates as “handmaid” 22 times, “maidservant” 19 times, “maid” eight times, “bondwoman” four times, and “bondmaids” twice. 1 maid-servant, female slave, maid, handmaid, concubine. 1A of humility (fig.). This term was applied both to those who were literal slaves and to those who figuratively call themselves by this term as an expression of humility and submission.

Jeremiah 2:14 (A.V.), but not there found in the original. In Revelation 18:13 the word "slaves" is the rendering of a Greek word meaning "bodies." The Hebrew and Greek words for slave are usually rendered simply "servant," "bondman," or "bondservant." Slavery as it existed under the Mosaic law has no modern parallel. That law did not originate but only regulated the already existing custom of slavery You don't say...well we learn something new everyday day don't we..(Exodus 21:20,21,26,27; Leviticus 25:44-46; Joshua 9:6-27). And just for your knowledge , see those two funny looking things under ( אָמָה) this changes the meaning of the word. In the case of my passage quote its ( אַהּמּ) taken from the original untranslated (thora) Meaning Slave of the Body or Sex Slave

Female slaves were not treated as other slaves but rather they were to be treated differently. Often in biblical times female slaves were concubines or secondary wives (Gen. 16:3; 22:24; 30:3, 9; 36:12; Jud. 8:31; 9:18). Some Hebrew fathers thought it more advantageous for their daughters to become concubines of well-to-do neighbors than to become the wives of men in their own social class. If a daughter who became a servant was not pleasing to her master she was to be redeemed by a near kinsman (Lev. 25:47-54) but never sold to foreigners (Ex. 21:8); she could also redeem herself.

What is your point ??? God Still condoned it. Is that the moral values you should have ?? Sell me your daughter and your wife, show me how christian you are.. She cannot redeem her self but hope for the negligence of her husband. And I guess you mised the part of the bible that states "If an unmarried woman fornicates she is to be stoned to death ???" and also your crap about foreigners "David to be King David was soled to Foreigners as a Slave by his brothers" stop speaking B.S. in your attempt of Justification. When and where was David sold as a slave by his brothers? If by chance you were referring to Joseph, this transaction took place before the mosaic law was implemented.

Within the context of this particular passage it is clear that it is not speaking about slavery in the sense that many believe. The context seems to lend itself more to an arranged marriage. This is clear by part b of verse 7, that states that she is not to go free as male servants/salves do. The law concerning slaves states that a male slave must be freed on the 7th year, however this was not so with females, why? The Bible ascribes to women the weaker role, in fact it calls them the weaker vessel. The women should have a covering, the man is both her physical and spiritual covering. In this sense she moves from one covering (her father) to her (Master/Husband, which I will show). This is why she is not to go free as a male servant/slave, if she does, she will be left without a covering.

That interpretation is utter nonsense , I wont even bother to respond read the above for why..what you wrote above does not make sense, so please feel free to reply.

Now we need to understand that in patriarchal society the husband was considered the master of the wife. Thus in this passage it when it refers the master it is actually talking about a husband in a sense (we will see this further in the passage). Now the passage goes on to say that if she does not please her master he must allow her to be redeemed. In fact in this passage He is forbidden from selling her to a foreigner, why? Because he has broken faith with her v.8. How does one break faith with a slave? It is clear as we move on that once again what is being described here is a type of martial relationship.

"There is now way is it written in that book you hold so dearly its suggested for that period alone,can you make this make some sense please, not that I am trying to correct your English but I am trying to understand your rants. And she wouldn't be brought by a foreigner in any case cause she was defiled",

Now verse 9 goes on to say that if he selects her for his son, and not himself, he is to grant her the rights of a daughter. It is quite obvious here that the Bible is not speaking of selecting her to be a slave as we think, but as an arranged wife for his son. Then the Bible goes on in verse 10-11 to show how the man is to treat her. It then goes on to says “if he marries another“, further proof that it is speaking about an arranged type of marriage. So if he takes a wife besides this one he is still obligated to treat her well, providing clothes, food and martial rights. In contrast to choosing her for his son, obligating him to grant her the rights of a daughter, if he takes her for himself, he has to grant her the rights of a wife.

Concubines are well respected , and what is actually meant by chosen for his son, is that in those day and in other cultures as well men were though about sex from a very young age, she was selected as a concubine for his son.. often referred to as harlots or Harlems.. [color=#FF8000]So this harlots as you call her, why was she supposed to be granted the rights of a daughter?
[/color]
Now if the husband fails to provide for her in this way, then she was to be granted freedom, without payment. In other words, were as mentioned before where her redemption could be bought by a kinsman, she would now be free to return to her family with no payment required.

"again your point shows god justified this,, is this family or human or moral values that you would teach your kids ???What is this that God has justified, sex slavery, your interpretation does not lend itself to the context. What you are saying is that God approve of sex slaves and in the same breath tried to give them rights.

Now with that said, this is not the case of slavery as many are making it out to be. Rather it is a form of arrange marriage. The kind that has been exhibited it our society not to long ago, in the time of our grandparents. If anything this passage is allowing arranged marriage. But I guess many will find evil where there is none because that is a far a their nose will allow them to see.

Stop trying to put words in gods mouth.. You again try to justify immorality and make it sound like somethings its not, you explination is simply wrong.Why because it disagrees with yours. What words have I put in God's mouth? I would not be as foolish as you to do so...

I assure you these arguments may work for people who are unaware on the actual writings, the actual text and the translation of it least they lack knowledge in that. It wont work by someone who speaks the language or actually has experience in its translation.

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 29th, 2010, 1:41 am

Yes I meant Joseph I apologize..

The word used suggested sex Slave,,

You teach your kinds that women are sub servant ???

האנשים שלו שמשתמשים בפירושים לא מתאימים של התנ"ך
להצדיק חלקים הם לא אוהב אתה לא יכול להפוך מה ש לא חשוב כמה אתה מנסה
זה ברור מה שנאמר אולי בכמה עריכות שזה יערך יותר לעניו הצרכים שלך אבל הכתבים המקוריים שימרו ואיבטחו יכולים מעולם לא להיות משונים.

translation..

Its people that use improper interpretations of the bible,
To justify parts they do not like, you cannot change what is no matter how much you try.
It is clear what was being said. Maybe in a few revisions it will be edited more to meek your needs. But the original writings preserved and secured can never be changed.

QG

Postby QG » October 29th, 2010, 5:10 pm

dark_lord_tnt, well thanks for clearing it up dude!

I am not against science, but there are certain things that i cannot see possible from it :lol: .
And there are things that people cannot see possible in Christianity, or any other form of religious practice...I respect that!

Everyone has his/her own beliefs!

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » October 29th, 2010, 7:40 pm

dark_lord_tnt wrote:Yes I meant Joseph I apologize..

The word used suggested sex Slave,,So whose sex slave was Joseph?

You teach your kinds that women are sub servant ???that was the culture then, are you trying to translate using 21st century norms? Are you saying it was wrong then because it is wrong now? It seems that you are not even familiar with the progression in scripture. We'll get to that later have no fear.

זה ברור מה שנאמר אולי בכמה עריכות שזה יערך יותר לעניו הצרכים שלך אבל הכתבים המקוריים שימרו ואיבטחו יכולים מעולם לא להיות משונים.
Is this supposed to prove something or prove you can copy and paste Hebrew?

translation..

Its people that use improper interpretations of the bible,once you know...
To justify parts they do not like, you cannot change what is no matter how much you try.There are many points in the passage you missed, first off it says in v.8 if her master is not is not please...for he has broken faith with her. The question one has to ask is how does a master break faith with a slave? Then it says if chosen for the son she is to be granted the rights of a daughter. So are you saying that a sex slave and not a wife is to be granted this right. Further more it says if she is chosen for the master, she is to be treated as a wife, and not a rag. It is right there. You sir are trying to ignore this because you are only looking to discredit the Bible. Once we get over this hurdle I will deal with the rest of the passage you have posted, many of which you have taken out of context. Even your translation of the word sex slave as you say is not consistent with what is taking place in the passage.
It is clear what as being said.If only it was clearly understood... Maybe in a few revisions it will be edited more to meek your needs. But the original writings preserved and secured can never be changed.No way!!!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2010, 9:19 pm

QG wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why would a perfect bible make it permissible to kill your slave though?

could it be that revision is needed in the bible as time progresses or do you agree that it is more important to keep the way of the bible rather than keeping the modern morality we know today i.e. that slavery is a terrible act against humanity.

I wish I had the correct answer to your question, but I don't. But I can say this...slavery days are over, we live in a more civilized nation where there is law/acts that ensures equality among us all.
Plus there are so many different versions of the Bible out there :( . I know the slavery thing sounds cruel in the scripture, but there is nothing I can do about it.
but God gave instructions and guidelines on owning slaves; for man to decide that an act that God himself gave direct guidance for, suddenly was no longer "socially acceptable", is in essence defiance against God's word, isn't it? Supposing man also decided in a couple decades it was socially unacceptable to worship Jesus? Where do we draw the line for what to hold fast to in the bible and what to let go based on the whim and fancy of man? Who says where to draw the line?

QG wrote:If man really did came from Apes as what you are saying, then God lied to us all?!
Evolution is a change! If man really did evolve from monkey, tell me why there are monkeys still existing on earth???? :) :) 8-)
because different species evolve in different ways. Not all apes evolved into gorillas either.

there is a TON of real evidence pointing to the evolution of humans from apes, but there is little, if any, real evidence of the first man being created as an adult from dirt and woman being created from one of his ribs, except the mention of it in Abrahamic holy books which were written thousands of years before we knew how to do proper scientific research into the origin of species.

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 29th, 2010, 9:39 pm

toyo682 wrote:
dark_lord_tnt wrote:Yes I meant Joseph I apologize..

The word used suggested sex Slave,,So whose sex slave was Joseph?

You teach your kinds that women are sub servant ???that was the culture then, are you trying to translate using 21st century norms? Are you saying it was wrong then because it is wrong now? It seems that you are not even familiar with the progression in scripture. We'll get to that later have no fear.

Is this supposed to prove something or prove you can copy and paste Hebrew?

translation..

Its people that use improper interpretations of the bible,once you know...
To justify parts they do not like, you cannot change what is no matter how much you try.There are many points in the passage you missed, first off it says in v.8 if her master is not is not please...for he has broken faith with her. The question one has to ask is how does a master break faith with a slave? Then it says if chosen for the son she is to be granted the rights of a daughter. So are you saying that a sex slave and not a wife is to be granted this right. Further more it says if she is chosen for the master, she is to be treated as a wife, and not a rag. It is right there. You sir are trying to ignore this because you are only looking to discredit the Bible. Once we get over this hurdle I will deal with the rest of the passage you have posted, many of which you have taken out of context. Even your translation of the word sex slave as you say is not consistent with what is taking place in the passage.
It is clear what as being said.If only it was clearly understood... Maybe in a few revisions it will be edited more to meek your needs. But the original writings preserved and secured can never be changed.No way!!!!!

Firstly the word used to suggest joseph was a slave is עבד
the entire line reads ויוסף הוחלף על ידי האחים כ/כפי שעבד
And Joseph was traded by his kins as a slave.

And for your information here is the original passage in hebrew
אם איש מוכר את הילדה שלו כ/כפי שעבד, היא לא יכולה להיות קובעת חינם כ/כפי שמשרתים זכר עושים. אם האומן שלה לא משומח איתה, היא יכולה להיות מגורשת או ענשה כ/כפי שהוא חושב מתאים לשהיא התכונה שלו. היא לא יכולה להיות נמכרת פעם שהיא ליכלכה. אם הוא בוחר אותה ללימודי הילד שלו, היא לא יכולה להופיע החובות של משרת. אם הוא מתחתן הוא לא יכול יותר להיות איתה, היא חייבת להיות את אקסהילאד לשהיא יכולה לקלקל את הבית.

from the quran
و رجل يبيع ابنته باعتباره عبدا قالت انها لا تستطيع أن تحدد الخدمة الرجال. وقالت سيدة إذا ليست راضية وقالت إنها يمكن أن يعيش في المنفى أو معاقبتهم حسبما يراه على انها ملكه. وقالت انها لا يمكن بيعها مرة أخرى وقالت يتنجسوا. واذا كان يختار لها ابنه وتعاليمه, وقالت انها لا تقوم بواجباتها على الخادم. إذا تزوج انه لم يعد بالإمكان معها فانها يجب نها لا يمكن بيعها وباستطاعتها أن يفسد على المنزل. وقالت انها لا تملك العقارات, ولا يمكن أن يكون مجانا كما يفعل من إسرائيل.

If a man sells his daughter as a slave, she cannot be set free as male servants do. If her master is not pleased with her she can be exiled or punished as he sees fit for she is his property. She cannot be sold once she defiled. If he selects her for his son's teachings, she cannot perform the duties of a servant. If he marries he can no longer be with her she must be exhiled for she can spoil the house. She cannot own property and cannot be of the congrenation of Isreal.

Thats your unrevised edition.. 靠你

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm

あなた低性能の があなたの自己を台なしにしに行くことが自由であるように感じてください

QG

Postby QG » October 29th, 2010, 11:56 pm

QG wrote:

but God gave instructions and guidelines on owning slaves; for man to decide that an act that God himself gave direct guidance for, suddenly was no longer "socially acceptable", is in essence defiance against God's word, isn't it? Supposing man also decided in a couple decades it was socially unacceptable to worship Jesus? Where do we draw the line for what to hold fast to in the bible and what to let go based on the whim and fancy of man? Who says where to draw the line?

QG wrote:If man really did came from Apes as what you are saying, then God lied to us all?!
because different species evolve in different ways. Not all apes evolved into gorillas either.

there is a TON of real evidence pointing to the evolution of humans from apes, but there is little, if any, real evidence of the first man being created as an adult from dirt and woman being created from one of his ribs, except the mention of it in Abrahamic holy books which were written thousands of years before we knew how to do proper scientific research into the origin of species.

I think that's where the New Testament comes in Duane 3NE 2NR. New Testament is when Jesus came to earth and the old Testament is before the coming of Christ!
We now follow the new since Jesus has now set a new path for us (thus breaking the old ten commandments) and creating a new commandment.

And just to highlight a simple commandment from Jesus...."John 13:34 A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another."

And I agree with your statements made above that I have highlighted!

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » October 30th, 2010, 4:39 am

dark_lord_tnt wrote:
Firstly the word used to suggest joseph was a slave is עבד
the entire line reads ויוסף הוחלף על ידי האחים כ/כפי שעבד
And Joseph was traded by his kins as a slave.
I never question whether Joseph was a slave, I asked whose sex slave was he? what does it have to do with Ex 21?
And for your information here is the original passage in hebrewwhich passage is this in Hebrew, because you seem to be all over the place. And seem to be using a different Hebrew than the rest of the world.
אם איש מוכר את הילדה שלו כ/כפי שעבד, היא לא יכולה להיות קובעת חינם כ/כפי שמשרתים זכר עושים. אם האומן שלה לא משומח איתה, היא יכולה להיות מגורשת או ענשה כ/כפי שהוא חושב מתאים לשהיא התכונה שלו. היא לא יכולה להיות נמכרת פעם שהיא ליכלכה. אם הוא בוחר אותה ללימודי הילד שלו, היא לא יכולה להופיע החובות של משרת. אם הוא מתחתן הוא לא יכול יותר להיות איתה, היא חייבת להיות את אקסהילאד לשהיא יכולה לקלקל את הבית.

from the quran
و رجل يبيع ابنته باعتباره عبدا قالت انها لا تستطيع أن تحدد الخدمة الرجال. وقالت سيدة إذا ليست راضية وقالت إنها يمكن أن يعيش في المنفى أو معاقبتهم حسبما يراه على انها ملكه. وقالت انها لا يمكن بيعها مرة أخرى وقالت يتنجسوا. واذا كان يختار لها ابنه وتعاليمه, وقالت انها لا تقوم بواجباتها على الخادم. إذا تزوج انه لم يعد بالإمكان معها فانها يجب نها لا يمكن بيعها وباستطاعتها أن يفسد على المنزل. وقالت انها لا تملك العقارات, ولا يمكن أن يكون مجانا كما يفعل من إسرائيل.

If a man sells his daughter as a slave, she cannot be set free as male servants do. If her master is not pleased with her she can be exiled or punished as he sees fit for she is his property. She cannot be sold once she defiled. If he selects her for his son's teachings, she cannot perform the duties of a servant. If he marries he can no longer be with her she must be exhiled for she can spoil the house. She cannot own property and cannot be of the congrenation of Isreal.

Thats your unrevised edition.. I do not have such an edition, care to share where I may find one? 靠你

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2010, 8:40 am

QG wrote:I think that's where the New Testament comes in Duane 3NE 2NR. New Testament is when Jesus came to earth and the old Testament is before the coming of Christ!
We now follow the new since Jesus has now set a new path for us (thus breaking the old ten commandments) and creating a new commandment.

And just to highlight a simple commandment from Jesus...."John 13:34 A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another."

thanks QG

but why include the old stuff if there are new rules and the old ones don't apply?

d spike

Postby d spike » October 30th, 2010, 9:13 am

QG wrote:I think that's where the New Testament comes in Duane 3NE 2NR. New Testament is when Jesus came to earth and the old Testament is before the coming of Christ!

thanks QG

but why include the old stuff if there are new rules and the old ones don't apply?

Quite right. A perfect example of a simple error creating a wrong concept.
QG, Christians don't think that Jesus broke or removed the ten commandments...
He refined it, showing us the UNDERLYING meaning, which is love of each other.
We are expected to follow the ten commandments, but we must go further... to obey them, not in blind obedience to the Law (a la Judge Dredd :lol: ) but because WE CARE FOR OUR FELLOW MAN... so you don't lust after a woman "because it's wrong", but because she is someone's sister... you don't steal "because it's wrong", but because you wouldn't want someone else to do that to you...

QG wrote:I wish I had the correct answer to your question, but I don't. But I can say this...slavery days are over, we live in a more civilized nation where there is law/acts that ensures equality among us all.

toyo682 wrote:
dark_lord_tnt wrote:Maybe in a few revisions it will be edited more to meek your needs. But the original writings preserved and secured can never be changed.No way!!!!!

Hopefully, one day, people will be mature enough to do two things properly at the same time:
1.recognize that many parts of the Old Testament were written by men to show how loved by God they thought they were (and thus their actions were justified) and these writings were accepted because of their "historical value" (and value as "justification machinery" :lol: ) ... and these books will be accepted as such;
2.appreciate and apply the positive values that are existent in these and other scriptures - for THIS is the reason why they are (or should be) held in such high esteem.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 30th, 2010, 10:06 am

d spike wrote:Christians don't think that Jesus broke or removed the ten commandments...
He refined it, showing us the UNDERLYING meaning, which is love of each other.
We are expected to follow the ten commandments, but we must go further... to obey them, not in blind obedience to the Law (a la Judge Dredd :lol: ) but because WE CARE FOR OUR FELLOW MAN... so you don't lust after a woman "because it's wrong", but because she is someone's sister... you don't steal "because it's wrong", but because you wouldn't want someone else to do that to you...

Faith evolves, it grows and develops...
When a child is taught to obey, he does so because, "if you don't do it, that's wrong... you will be punished... you are supposed to do the right thing"...
At an older stage of development, the young person does/believes the right thing, but out of an overzealous adolescent urge to put things right, or to be on the "Right Team" ("Fix the world!") - not that this in itself is wrong, but this is born out of an ancient survival instinct that has nothing to do with morality :lol: - and when asked why, all they can fall back on is the earlier "cause that's wrong!" or "God loves us, an' I don't want to disappoint him..." The danger at this point is that because it is based on extremes, it is very easy to disillusion/unbalance the individual, who, most likely is unable to deal with upsets as yet, and will discard everything in frustration... While this is an extremely important stage, it is but a stage... and unfortunately, too many folks think this is the final stage... and stay there, never developing further... never maturing...
Further along the path, we find the person now obeying rules because they bring a sense of order to life. This person believes in harmony, but probably won't use that word, as is sounds like something he would have said when he was at the last stage. "Without rules, all hell would break loose," is a favourite saying of this gentleman.
At the end, is yet another stage, the one few attain. This is where you obey the rules because of what they MEAN, not what they say. The underlying truth that gave rise to the rules/beliefs is understood and followed...

The thing with climbing a mountain is that no matter how high you climb, you always know whether you have further to go - you can look ahead and up to see the peak.
This journey we are on... somehow it's like climbing up, yet facing backwards... we can only see what we have passed, and cannot tell what lies ahead. It is easy for someone to think that he has reached the summit - all he has to do, is stop climbing.

dark_lord_tnt

Postby dark_lord_tnt » October 30th, 2010, 10:20 am

Hopefully, one day, people will be mature enough to do two things properly at the same time:
1.recognize that many parts of the Old Testament were written by men to show how loved by God they thought they were (and thus their actions were justified) and these writings were accepted because of their "historical value" (and value as "justification machinery" :lol: ) ... and these books will be accepted as such;
2.appreciate and apply the positive values that are existent in these and other scriptures - for THIS is the reason why they are (or should be) held in such high esteem.

Quite Correct

As for Genesis and the double creation ..

After the first account of creation in genesis we see a second account. Scholars (biblical) say that this was a necessary by the author to give a greater explanation of what happened. But this does not explain why animals were created before trees and then trees before animals or why the earth was created before the sun and the sun before the earth or even more obscure why on one account night and day was created before the sun ???
Deeper study of this revealed in the tora scrolls genesis was written by 2 different authors. The first account the literary tools used were quite different from the second as well as to how much detail was there as well. That was until different scrolls were discovered and cretin passages in the bible were found to correspond an example of one such is Isaiah 34:14.. The different version have them differently, From my journal I'l List a few.

New American Standard Bible
The desert creatures will meet with the wolves, The hairy goat also will cry to its kind; Yes, the night monster will settle there And will find herself a resting place.

King James Bible
The wild beasts of the desert shall also meet with the wild beasts of the island, and the satyr shall cry to his fellow; the screech owl also shall rest there, and find for herself a place of rest

Douay-Rheims Bible (one of the best bibles ever,, original Catholic un-revised translation)
And demons and monsters shall meet, and the hairy ones shall cry out one to another, there hath the lamia lain down, and found rest for herself.
(this translation is a literal translation not sugar coated should get your self this)

Darby Bible Translation
And there shall the beasts of the desert meet with the jackals, and the wild goat shall cry to his fellow; the lilith also shall settle there, and find for herself a place of rest.

World English Bible
The wild animals of the desert will meet with the wolves, and the wild goat will cry to his fellow. Yes, the night creature shall settle there, and shall find herself a place of rest.

The Sumerians, who dwelled in what is now Iraq had accounts of Lilitu, who again is described as highly malevolent and as a seducer of men while they would sleep. She is thought to be the dual side of King Gilgamesh's father Lillu, who is said to have been a tempter of women. Again, there are references of harm to children. There is also reference to Lilith as a concubine of the Sumerian god Ishtar. In these accounts, Lilith was no more submissive than she was in the Hebrew writings. Again, she finds herself fleeing from oppression, doomed to bring the demise of children.
Lilith as a Demon Certainly the Hebrew and Sumerian legends indicate Lilith was a negative being.

then we discovered a lot of scrolls ranging from Creation, Garden Of God, Gilgamesh and the Huluppu-Tree, Dead Sea Scrolls found at Qumran.etc., But the first and oldest Is The song For A Sage, the book that reveals and whats used for exorcism ( a catholic right). This is also one of the oldest scrolls ever found and dates around the time of Genesis. Her we find a different account this is just a summary.

And God saw all that was created was good but needed governance. He created Man and as a companion Woman. The Man he called Adam And The woman he called lilith. and two them he gave dominion over all men and women , over all creatures of the earth. And for 1000 years they lived in the garden that the lord had placed them. Adam grew with greed in his heart and he became angry. He dominiated lilith who had to remind him that the lord had created them with equality. Adam wanted lilith to be subservient to him. Lilith went unto a mountain and their she cursed God for having created a deceitful man, creating a begin thats unjust and full of greed She pronounced Gods Name (unmentioned name) and she immediately became like god. And she flew away. God saw what had happened and he appeared to Adam, He saw the deceit and the greed of man and God saw the evil contained in man. He said unto Adam The Woman Your mate was your equal you were not subservient unto her or her to you. You want A subservient slave. God put Adam to sleep and took a bone from his chest and flesh of his body and fashioned another woman. When Adam arose he saw her and called her eve. And God Said to them Leave my Garden Go Into the World of Man and Toil And Die and give birth and Soothe your sins. And Adam asked and what Of Lilith. And God replied The Woman Is not a woman any more she has pronounced my name and gained great power. For this I shall destroy 1000 of her children everyday and she shall live forever As the Demon She has become. And Adam and eve left the Garden and God Caused the River Of Lions and That of Lamb to close and removed the garden from the earth. Lilith was in the world of man, seducing them, eating the children and wreaking havoc. After there it pics up with Cain and Able but gave more details etc..

Now why was this removed ?? Easy ,, in the christian and Jewish Faith Women are not equals but are subservient to man ,, If They learnt this was not so they would loose power and Control, Further more woman cannot be portrayed as having any power , that's why Lilith was replaced with a fallen arc angel. How Can a woman be the devil ? So now you have the word Satan Lucifer (lusferious der numerianouite) which was used to replace Lilith and because of their concept. This Concept is further used lower and in more books you can ever imagine. It was even one of the rules used when selecting books for the canon.. 'Woman can be shown to have no power" So there you also have the concept of Satan being thorn apart as well..

The Devil is actually Lilith by early believers, later this was hidden and replaced with a serpent in the form of the devil as Lucifer. But he also will need a creation status so you have gods fallen angel. But as one lie leads to another the account of the flood must also be changed. So instead the children of Lilith mixing among man in the form of giants and creating havoc, you get the children of fallen angels in the form of giants. Its important to note the translation of the word giant does not in-fact mean a Giant but it means Someone Of Great Power)..

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 30th, 2010, 10:17 pm

was going through this video and was looking at the comments. Lo and behold the comments from a certain person by the name "MegaDwell". Dspike, Duane and others if you have some time to go through a few, does it remind you of anyone?
Start at around pg3 in the comments check pg17ect. at "MegaDwell" comments. I know it is aside from the topics being discussed. But just had to laugh a bit
Coincidence........I wonder?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTsb-woP3jI&feature=fvw

QG

Postby QG » October 30th, 2010, 10:52 pm

thanks QG

It is vital that the old Testament be published as it gives us an idea who God is and what works he did or can perform. The old Testament can still be applied as it's a way to guide us to the right path to God.

I hope I am not confusing you or anyone. Although the New Testament is the new path that Christians must follow, the Old Testament can still be used as a guide.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 31st, 2010, 6:22 am

dark_lord_tnt wrote:After the first account of creation in genesis we see a second account. Scholars (biblical) say that this was a necessary by the author to give a greater explanation of what happened.

I think by "Scholars (biblical)" you are referring to fundamentalist bible students... as these are the only people who accept this point of view. When I use a similar term, it usually refers to those who are accepted as experts in their field by the orthodox/conservative Christian churches in the world today. (I realise a misconception that took place earlier was due to my fault in using the term "Orthodox" - I was not referring to the Eastern Orthodox, or any of the other Eastern or Uniate Churches, but I was using it to refer to the accepted Christian churches that were in existence for more than just the last couple hundred years or so - not some sect started by some guy who either thought he understood the bible better, or envied the stuffing of collection baskets... )
By reading some of the earlier posts, it is easy to see how a little education, coupled with the access to different translations, can convince someone that he is worthy of being considered a scholar. One person even claimed a degree in theology, and then proceeded to disprove this statement with almost every post! Authority does not come with publication, or the adulation of a few noisy sects.

dark_lord_tnt wrote: Deeper study of this revealed in the tora scrolls genesis was written by 2 different authors.

Biblical scholars (my meaning), including Catholics, have explained that there are four narrations (your term would be "authors") that were used to compile Genesis.

While your study of those often ignored texts is quite refreshing, I will just voice my opinion at this point. You seem to give such texts the same weight as fundamentalists do the biblical texts. I am personally not concerned whether which one really should be considered scripture, or which one was not chosen because who didn't care for what... my point is, we have a far better idea now about what we should be concerning ourselves with - with regards to where we want to go... and literal belief in any ancient scripture of unknown source, be it genesis or jasher, is fraught with problems.

Cheers