European vs Japanese..which and why??

scotty_buttons

European vs Japanese..which and why??

Postby scotty_buttons » October 16th, 2010, 10:16 am

OK guys, my dad interested in getting a new midsize to fullsize sedan..
The main thing he concerned about is..that it most likely gonna be his last car since he gonna retire soon so maintenance costs would be a huge factor in his decision..
Right now, he's however, bent on the toyota camry (2010)..fully loaded 2.4 is 387k
Since he already has great experience with toyota and basically..it's a toyota so maintenance shouldnt be that hard, parts..etc.

However, I managed to get him to check out the teanna, sonata and accord whenever he gets time..
But I have a feeling he still gonna be wanting the camry :(

I advised him on at least test driving the A4..but..Generally he doesnt want any European cars per se cuz maintenance costs are high, etc etc.

Was wondering if u guys can give me some suggestions as to how can I convince him or change him mindset about European cars? or are the maintenance costs really that high?

And also, which SEDAN (no vans or SUVs) would be best for money and maintenance costs..range around 400K

Thanks in advance for all the help again guys!

(PS - yea yea i know is his money and let him get what he wants..but for the price he paying for that camry, he can get something better..especially considering the fact a newer model camry gonna be out late next year!)

Re: European vs Japanese..which and why??

Postby AllTrac » October 16th, 2010, 10:18 am

listen to yuh father, he know what he talking about, the camry is the closest you would ever come to a maintenance free car.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 16th, 2010, 10:22 am

^^^ agreed..but isnt there ANOTHER option that isnt that bad maintenance wise?..another EUROPEAN option?

and the features u getting with the camry rell..bland..

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » October 16th, 2010, 10:33 am

AllTrac wrote:listen to yuh father, he know what he talking about, the camry is the closest you would ever come to a maintenance free car.

This!

scotty_buttons wrote:OK guys, my dad interested in getting a new midsize to fullsize sedan..
The main thing he concerned about is..that it most likely gonna be his last car since he gonna retire soon so maintenance costs would be a huge factor in his decision..
Right now, he's however, bent on the toyota camry (2010)..fully loaded 2.4 is 387k
Since he already has great experience with toyota and basically..it's a toyota so maintenance shouldnt be that hard, parts..etc.

However, I managed to get him to check out the teanna, sonata and accord whenever he gets time..
But I have a feeling he still gonna be wanting the camry :(

I advised him on at least test driving the A4..but..Generally he doesnt want any European cars per se cuz maintenance costs are high, etc etc.

Was wondering if u guys can give me some suggestions as to how can I convince him or change him mindset about European cars? or are the maintenance costs really that high?

And also, which SEDAN (no vans or SUVs) would be best for money and maintenance costs..range around 400K

Thanks in advance for all the help again guys!

(PS - yea yea i know is his money and let him get what he wants..but for the price he paying for that camry, he can get something better..especially considering the fact a newer model camry gonna be out late next year!)

and That!

It seems you more bent on getting something you like, the camry is an excellent choice and meets his requirements and most importantly he likes it. Why you trying to change his mind??

I think you being unfair let the man buy the car he wants, it is a reliable car and he likes it. It will be hard to find a EURO car which will match the maintenance costs and reliability of the Camry.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 16th, 2010, 10:46 am

I don't particularly dislike the Camry..I just thought a Euro car would be better and maintenance nowadays arent as bad as they were with them before?
He came asking for my opinion so I guess what I prefer matters and I just wanted advice on the Euro cars or any other cars for that matter. Was looking for something with a more recent model preferably too..this model camry has been out since 2006!
But out of all the japanese cars, I would take the camry/accord..each has it's ups and downs..accord model more recent, more features..camry, less maintenance, bigger engine, it's toyota.
Ive been hearing great things about the new A4 so just wanted opinions on it and any other car for that matter since the only car he had to check was the camry really, he left the rest for me to eliminate and the various other models and come up with a list of the top 3 and pros and cons of each.
But so far, guessing Camry is the best bet!

Thanks for info so far tho
Last edited by scotty_buttons on October 16th, 2010, 10:48 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 16th, 2010, 10:46 am

een befo' MG

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » October 16th, 2010, 10:55 am

scotty_buttons wrote:I don't particularly dislike the Camry..I just thought a Euro car would be better and maintenance nowadays arent as bad as they were with them before?
He came asking for my opinion so I guess what I prefer matters and I just wanted advice on the Euro cars or any other cars for that matter. Was looking for something with a more recent model preferably too..this model camry has been out since 2006!
But out of all the japanese cars, I would take the camry/accord..each has it's ups and downs..accord model more recent, more features..camry, less maintenance, bigger engine, it's toyota.
Ive been hearing great things about the new A4 so just wanted opinions on it and any other car for that matter since the only car he had to check was the camry really, he left the rest for me to eliminate and the various other models and come up with a list of the top 3 and pros and cons of each.
But so far, guessing Camry is the best bet!

Thanks for info so far tho

Cool

Don't get me wrong the euro cars are really nice and with regards to the long haul it is about maintaining the vehicle. A euro can last just as long as any other car once it is maintained correctly but to meet the requirements of your dad it will be hard to pick something above the camry.

Also factor in how much he will be traveling, most people who retire usually dont move about as much and the children left to do most of the run abouts :lol: .. the camry is a nice "my car park up so use yours son" :lol:

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » October 16th, 2010, 10:59 am

like ah man want daddy to buy d audi so he could bling in it wen pops gone

Postby A172 » October 16th, 2010, 11:18 am

DevilZ wrote:like ah man want daddy to buy d audi so he could bling in it wen pops gone

/thread

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 16th, 2010, 12:00 pm

The Camry is such a bland appliance. There are millions of teens in the USA driving these Camry's and right here in sweet T&T a close to retired guy is considering one, its unfair that after working 35+ years one would settle for a Camry but that is the reality of the situation. Toyota targets aged gentlemen to drive them hence they are very reliable and fuel efficient and plus it has alot of creature comfort features. Otherwise its just another blown up Corolla.

Safety wise you cannot beat Euro vehicles even though they are losing their edge over the Americans and Asians where this is concerned but for that $387k and being close to retirement in this day and age I would purchase a more involving sedan that not only is it cheaper but more fuel efficient, easier to park and still have left over cash to facilitate other retirement needs.

Such cars to be considered are:

Honda Accord EX 2.0, Nissan Teanna 200JK, Mazda 6 2.0, Hyundai Sonata 2.0 and Volkswagen Passat 1.8T. IMHO, the Mazda, Hyundai and VW are more fun and exciting, even the Honda.
With all the bad roads and flooding we have, why not consider the RAV4, CRV, Xtrail, Grand Vitara, Tucson, Sportage, Tiguan or Forester? If he likes Diesel and loves to carry out his Grand Kids then the Everest, Captiva, Fortuner, Sorento and Santa Fe are better choices and they are diesel!!

Lastly, I see nothing wrong with owning a Corolla, Civic, Bluebird Sylphy, Lancer, 3, SX4, Elantra, Cerato, Focus, Octavia and Jetta. These cars are all reliable, good in gas, surprisingly spacious and a lot of fun especially the Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Kia, Ford and VW.

Heck, I see upper class people buying Yaris, Fit, City, i30, Rio and Swift but maybe a little too small.
Depends on your budget but in this day and age don't spend a bad cent but on the flip-side, when you worked very hard in life and there seems to be 0 financial institutions out there encouraging you to invest your hard earned money with these 2% interest rates then sooner or later you gotta die so do plenty and go off with a smile. So buy the Camry, fix the house and go on a trip.

Postby SUPAstarr » October 16th, 2010, 12:01 pm

A172 wrote:
DevilZ wrote:like ah man want daddy to buy d audi so he could bling in it wen pops gone

/thread

/thread

Postby bushwakka » October 16th, 2010, 12:03 pm

european cars tend to be loaded with lots of cool features; i'm not really convinced that they are more reliable than japanese cars tho, also the parts are more expensive

japanese cars are pretty bland and uninteresting......parts are cheap

compare a subaru forrester or a Rav4 to a VW Tiguan.....and you will see what im talking abt

luke skywalker

Postby luke skywalker » October 16th, 2010, 12:14 pm

Love JDM but last car? Dude after 35+ years of toil go all out and buy a Mercedes - Benz. Who doesn't want to own a benz? It's your last car after all. Nice C-class IMHO.

TK!

Postby TK! » October 16th, 2010, 12:27 pm

Japs all d way.

Euro if is a company car.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » October 16th, 2010, 12:29 pm

Audi Much better looking car.. but not for that Age group of ppl... i guess ur dad aint lookin to drop Panties..

the Camry falls in the retirees class ppl 8-)

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » October 16th, 2010, 12:46 pm

Postby foss » October 16th, 2010, 12:50 pm

Dragsta wrote:Image

that backshot WIN !!! 0X

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 16th, 2010, 1:02 pm

thanks alot guys..two things i forgot to mention tho..which might be important..which acesinghit brought to my attention
1) it IS a company car..and the company would be maintaining it for the first 4yrs, including gas.
2) He already has a 2007 Rav4, and a 2005 Mazda van..so daz diesel and vans taken care of already :lol:

He's 55; im 24 so yea, automatically the Audi would appeal to me more :lol: but the rav4 most likely would be handed down to me..hopefully.. (anybody interested in a B14 by year end? :D)

and Dragsta, the camry looking pretty good with them kits eh..except they doh usually have those in stock and i highly doubt he gonna pay an extra 20gran for that kit.

the C class benz are 450+ now? which is pretty ridiculous IMHO..otherwise i woulda direct him to one of those as well..
audi ftw, passat too bleh..unless it's the CC and that's a 4 door coupe-sedan thing with 4 seats..(2 in front, 2 separate seats in the back, if im not mistaken)..which he wouldn't like. He really likes the new model volvo s60 though but that model not here yet and i dont think he fancies BMW per se..

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 16th, 2010, 1:11 pm

Went into southern sales, asked bout the 6..and there's only one..very boring mazda. one meaning that there arent any other models to choose from! the interior is very unimpressive. the only thing that the mazda 6 has going for i find is the exterior looks and the price.
Dunno much bout the accord tho..
He said he'll check the teana (250XV?) sometime..hopefully ill get time this week to test drive one, an accord, sonata and an A4 at least!
the new sonata i admit looks pretty good..but the prior hyundai (and kia) image kinda stuck with him..and then i guess he consider those 'cheap' full size sedans..which is true (price wise at least)..but the features that come with the fully loaded model is very tempting for him n both me..(305k with better sound system, panoramic roof, 18inch wheels, smaller engine yet comparable power to the camry's 2.4; on paper at least) just to name a few) if someone owns a 2011 sonata, can they give feedback as to reliability, performance and service from N&M?

As a matter of fact, if anyone owns any of these vehicles, can you all give feedback please?

Thanks!
Last edited by scotty_buttons on October 16th, 2010, 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby foss » October 16th, 2010, 1:14 pm

OP, yuh have sisters?
I wouldn't mind marrying in tuh yuh family.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 16th, 2010, 1:16 pm

foss wrote:that backshot WIN !!! 0X

that's what she said :|

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 16th, 2010, 1:17 pm

^^^ :? seriously man?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 16th, 2010, 8:49 pm

It comes down to the Japanese brands ... (maintenance is one thing and then depreciation is another). I personally like the Accord but your old man likes the Camry. It is a more mature ride.

Go for the Camry, and when you are ready for the body call Browne 6844883.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 16th, 2010, 11:52 pm

browne?
ok, so does putting on a body kit outside from Toyota, void the warranty?
I'll give him a call..thanks man

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2010, 12:55 am

all this long story and we all know old man coming home in a gold camry
and it stayin that way for as long as he owns it
doh hut yuh head go and work and buy yuh own forkin audi and go broke in maintenance

Postby bushwakka » October 17th, 2010, 1:10 am

from ur responses, it seems u more interested in the exterior looks of the car.....cuz a Passat is not bleehhh inside

right now i wud say the A4 is the best of both looks inside and luxury......coupled wit price
hands down!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 17th, 2010, 1:11 am

When something goes wrong in a euro... it's not a simple fix IMHO... the money you spend on service a lone is gonna be crazy. Japanese car will take more beating... will get parts FASTER and will have a bigger network of people that can repair them/ supply parts.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 17th, 2010, 7:58 am

MISHI wrote:When something goes wrong in a euro... it's not a simple fix IMHO... the money you spend on service a lone is gonna be crazy. Japanese car will take more beating... will get parts FASTER and will have a bigger network of people that can repair them/ supply parts.

x2, when my e-class fuel pump went down it took 2months and a box of panodol before I had found someone capable of the job.

When the mazda b2500 went down doh, bamboo ftw

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 17th, 2010, 4:08 pm

The A4 is nice but the thing is, not even Southern Sales can deal problems when they arise.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 17th, 2010, 4:31 pm

E-Class he say dehh??

well hayyy there kurpy :wink: