Toshiba's no-glasses 3D TV

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2010, 12:13 am

Only a matter of time, didnt think it would be this soon to mass market though!
this will make all those recently purchased 3D TV's obsolete and cumbersome

trinitachi

Re: Toshiba's no-glasses 3D TV

Postby trinitachi » October 5th, 2010, 12:18 am

hmmm..the price tag will be monstrous!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2010, 12:29 am

^ the prices stated were no different from similarly sized 3DTVs in 2009

also when you consider the price for the 3D packages and the cost of a simgle pair of 3D shutter glasses to work with the TV's - it seems like these will be better value!

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 5th, 2010, 6:25 am

pioneer wrote:That's nice Duane but there's a thread for this

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=281327

oh no, you just duaned....duane.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 5th, 2010, 8:13 am

YES YES, BUT WILL THIS WORK WITH BETAMAX??!

Postby RASC » October 5th, 2010, 8:14 am

Finally a 3D set worth buying...

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 5th, 2010, 9:49 am

crazychinee wrote:
pioneer wrote:That's nice Duane but there's a thread for this

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=281327

oh no, you just duaned....duane.

Last edited by KURMAman on October 7th, 2010, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » October 7th, 2010, 1:00 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:YES YES, BUT WILL THIS WORK WITH BETAMAX??!

Postby noshownogo » October 7th, 2010, 1:34 pm

I have to slightly disagree with the fact that it will make glasses obsolete. I think depth perception will still rule with glasses versus this Toshiba pioneered technology for now at least.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 7th, 2010, 2:07 pm

^ have you seen the Nintendo 3DS?

they have basically taken the glass off your face and placed it infront of the screen

the thing with the 3DS though is there is is really only one viewing angle to get the 3D effect. With the Toshiba there will be a wider range for the viewing angle

Postby crazybalhead » October 7th, 2010, 2:13 pm

Jeez, but yuh have to be in one of 9 precise locations. My neck hurting just thinking about it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 7th, 2010, 2:20 pm

^ it will get better

I think this is more promising than buying a 3D ready TV and then having to fork out US$100+ for each pair of glasses

that would be US$900+ in glasses alone just to do what the no-glasses TV offers now!

Postby Cjruckus » October 7th, 2010, 6:19 pm

Nintendo is doing this with the 3Ds.

Postby MG Man » October 7th, 2010, 6:37 pm

buh dem 3D TV in de vid din look 3D when i watch de vid