‘Drag racer’ fined $10,000, banned for 3 years

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 28th, 2010, 6:29 am

DRAG racing took a dramatic turn at the weekend when a youth, heating his tyres at the start of a race, ended up “drag racing” the police.

Yesterday, Rakesh Ramgobin, 20, was ordered to pay approximately $10,000 in fines by San Fernando magistrate Rajendra Rambachan, who made a stern pronouncement that he was one driver who should stay off the roads for the next three years.

Ramgobin, of Dyers Village, Hardbargain, Williamsville, raced off when police officers pulled in front of his vehicle. He led them in a “drag race” through the streets of San Fernando, onto Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway, then into Gasparillo where he was apprehended.

Ramgobin, 20, pleaded guilty to Rambachan on charges of driving without insurance and driving in a dangerous manner. It was at about 3 am on Saturday, police court prosecutor Sgt Dane Sorzano told the court, that police officers pulled up behind a Lancer motorcar — PAK 7243 at the traffic lights at the Cipero Street intersection.

The stretch of road is used for drag racing during weekends and public holidays, where scores of people gather amidst burger carts and doubles vendors.

Apparently, unaware the police jeep was behind him, Ramgobin began to heat his tyres by revving the engine and keeping his foot on the brakes pedal. The back wheels spun out of control, Sorzano said, sending plumes of smoke into the air, and clouding the policemen’ vision. The police officers pulled in front Ramgobin’s Lancer, the prosecutor told Rambachan. They came out of the vehicle and waved to him to stop.

The magistrate heard that Ramgobin drove off in a rush. He was pursued through Cipero Street where he overtook cars dangerously. In hot pursuit with blazing siren and blue lights, Ramgobin refused to stop on the policemen’s orders.

The chase continued towards Golconda, then onto the highway.

Sorzano said the policemen called upon Sorzano through their vehicle’s loud speaker system to stop, but he again refused. He drove onto the Gasparillo flyover. It was at that point, the prosecutor said, the police officers issued an All Points Bulletin. Ramgobin was intercepted in front of the Gasparillo Police Station. Attorney Ainsley Lucky pleaded for Rambachan not to impose a custodial sentence and asked that his Class III permit not be taken away. Rambachan replied: “He is one driver who will not be driving any type of vehicle.” The attorney admitted that his client was at the time heating up his tyres to engage in a drag race on the highway.

For driving dangerously, Rambachan ordered him to pay $7,000. He disqualified him for three years from having a permit. He was slapped with a $2,000 fine for not having insurance and $750, for not complying with the lawful instructions of a police officer.

Ramgobin paid $7,000 forthwith, and was allowed two months to pay the rest.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,128223.html

yes we know there is a difference between "drag racing" and "street racing" but i applaud the officers, charges and fines laid.....Hope this continues and take a lot of these reckless drivers off the streets....

mitsuboi

Re: ‘Drag racer’ fined $10,000, banned for 3 years

Postby mitsuboi » September 28th, 2010, 6:34 am

it good for he mc.........although i always say i wuda try runnin from d police too .....hahhahaha

Postby cinco » September 28th, 2010, 6:35 am

well done he look for that

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 28th, 2010, 6:40 am

Is he even old enough to be driving? Dude looks like he's still in high school

Postby Rainman » September 28th, 2010, 6:46 am

Thaz a clarks he have or dey orrr fadda?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » September 28th, 2010, 6:49 am

that 1raj looked liked like he was jacked up on punchoen to run from the police and his box lancer must have had and sr ....the police caught him :|

Postby crazybalhead » September 28th, 2010, 6:50 am

It good, dotish MC.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 28th, 2010, 7:30 am

He want to drag race and he can't even out run the police hahahaha

jjcp

Postby jjcp » September 28th, 2010, 7:34 am

for a min i thought was SBJ yes

jusme

Postby jusme » September 28th, 2010, 7:37 am

police catching sr now??? :shock: :shock:
*scraps conversion plans.... ga15 ftw*

mpower

Postby mpower » September 28th, 2010, 7:37 am

lucky he ain't kill anyone,
way yuh get dat ole clarks dey daddy!!!!!!!

southside crew

Postby southside crew » September 28th, 2010, 7:39 am

hope the sport minister sees this..

Postby crazybalhead » September 28th, 2010, 7:42 am

southside crew wrote:hope the sport minister sees this..

What does this have to do with the sport minister??

All that guy was doing was breaking the law and being an ass hole. Nothing to do with sports whatsoever.

Postby Damien » September 28th, 2010, 7:50 am

i could bet ah million dollars it was ah box lansah

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 28th, 2010, 7:51 am

police cetchin sr now normal normal yes..

southside crew

Postby southside crew » September 28th, 2010, 7:51 am

he may SEE the need for the *promised* track... or not sure if it was a political promise... however i agree with you bout him being stupid..

but come on there are alot of youths doing this illegal crap and when police see you with a * sports car* they wanna harass you...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 28th, 2010, 7:53 am

boom bang bang

Postby cinco » September 28th, 2010, 7:54 am

it besssssssssssssssssssss

Postby crazybalhead » September 28th, 2010, 7:55 am

Lemme tell you something eh southside, even if there were a track open right now, today, those fellas would still do that sheit. I was brokes, but used to scrape and pay my lil $100 to race in wallerfield, but these fellas don't want a track, they feel they are Vin Diesel and Paul Walker and could outrun the police if they get catch. And these cars usuall have poor poor safety standards as well, so they wouldn't even let them on the track if they had one.

ALso, NO INSURANCE, yuh ehard that part??? You think he would race on a track???

Seriously???

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 28th, 2010, 8:04 am

Xcellent time to raise the legal driving age to 21

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 28th, 2010, 8:04 am

southside crew wrote:he may SEE the need for the *promised* track... or not sure if it was a political promise... however i agree with you bout him being stupid..

but come on there are alot of youths doing this illegal crap and when police see you with a * sports car* they wanna harass you...

the track would be delivered but there are some legal issues with etec and attaining the facility.....

Postby cinco » September 28th, 2010, 8:05 am

d man have 4 wheel disks he car safe wam to u
the judge shoulda charge him for not wearing clothes that fits

southside crew

Postby southside crew » September 28th, 2010, 8:05 am

I said i agree with him being stupid.. but the police harassment thanks to these guys.. it's really stupid.. and maybe if we had a track I am sure a good bit of cars would be built safer and Maybe properly... I never said all..

but It would sure be the right thing to teach them / us the correct way.. that's all I am trying to say...

Postby cinco » September 28th, 2010, 8:08 am

southside crew wrote:I said i agree with him being stupid.. but the police harassment thanks to these guys.. it's really stupid.. and maybe if we had a track I am sure a good bit of cars would be built safer and Maybe properly... I never said all..

but It would sure be the right thing to teach them / us the correct way.. that's all I am trying to say...

police harassment occurs because of this shite the police didnt choose to harass fellas with "souped up" cars all of a sudden it is because of the illegal racing and general jackassery that they engage in that causes the police to act this way
track or not, esaar box lancer or stock 1.4 box lancer it dont matter stoopid drivin is stoopid drivin

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 28th, 2010, 8:10 am

^^^ we all agree that there is no facility to race blah blah blah but then it come back to the point back when wallerfield was lost...its not for the government to provide a track and the motorsport body should have acquired a home for their sport. TTKA, CARS and the other various bodies rent facilities to carry about their sport and by extension make necessary investments for their sport. What did TTASA do with the monies they obtained from spectator fees and race fees?

Honestly my opinion and it has been the same since back in the day, more corporate organisations should get together and put down a track and not depend on the government....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » September 28th, 2010, 8:15 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:What did TTASA do with the monies they obtained from spectator fees and race fees?

What about the FIA license? 150$ because you have to have it to race, use it once then they never asked for it again... where d money went? Who's pocket?

Bunch of scamp's!

Oh and on topic. What a jack arse this guy was... should ah gone for a joy ride in the back of the police car. :roll:

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 28th, 2010, 8:17 am

Didn't he know?... that you can't outrun a radio....

mpower

Postby mpower » September 28th, 2010, 8:20 am

imagine if it was like this in trinidad, after all that riding just to get caught at home. huh.
<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/oVnWSzHJ6Ks?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/oVnWSzHJ6Ks?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

mpower

Postby mpower » September 28th, 2010, 8:21 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oVnWSzHJ6Ks

like i embeddin wrong or wah, help plz.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » September 28th, 2010, 8:24 am

Damien wrote:i could bet ah million dollars it was ah box lansah

Lancer motorcar — PAK 7243

The back wheels spun

He drove onto the Gasparillo flyover. It was at that point, the prosecutor said, the police officers issued an All Points Bulletin. Ramgobin was intercepted in front of the Gasparillo Police Station

what a dumbass! :roll: , instead of cracking down the highway where he could have out run the police he head home :lol: