The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

bigga514

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby bigga514 » September 22nd, 2010, 11:52 am

just wanna clarify, "Remember America is mostly CDMA. An unlocked GSM phone will not be popluar there, especially since America already has more powerful phones right now."

North America has been moving away from cdma over 2 years now`and even at its peak at best it was 50/50 gsm/cdma. The cdma phone companies upgraded to 3G+ on the same towers for cdma thats why most new phones are 3G+(wcdma,hsdpa,umts) and use sims. IMHO the phones in europe are usually better, come out earlier and with less restrictions.(the better ones atleast {htc4g e.g})

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 22nd, 2010, 8:10 pm

noice!

Is this the Droid 2 World Edition / Droid Pro?

If you look quickly, you might not be able to tell that there's any difference between this thing and the Droid 2 that you can go out and buy today, but this thing is all about subtlety -- after all, the only obvious internal change is that it can be used globally. Droid Life claims that we're looking at the Droid 2 World Edition (or Droid Pro, or whatever the heck it's called), featuring a pearly white back and a lighter chrome bezel up front; current rumors suggest that this might replace the original Droid 2 altogether, but it's anybody's guess until we see some official information. The site is also reporting that the OMAP3630 core seems to be clocked up to 1.2GHz -- the plain ol' Droid 2 settles for a measly 1GHz. All told, this is shaping up to be one of the quickest product revisions in smartphone history, so let's hope Verizon has the decency to put some sort of upgrade program in place for early adopters.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/22/is-t ... droid-pro/

Postby tr1ad » September 22nd, 2010, 8:13 pm

jinkies

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » September 22nd, 2010, 8:15 pm

^^ Nice

Postby RASC » September 23rd, 2010, 12:35 pm

*O U C H*

Samsung Tab reported to go on sale in AUS sometime soon.
Unlocked, unsubsidized price?

$999 in Aussie money...

:o

Even when converted to USD that's (according to today's figures)

$953 USD

Brrrrr :?

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/22/sams ... qus_thread

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 23rd, 2010, 3:31 pm

selling my galaxy s if anyone interested. I want to try out a new windows phone.

Postby RASC » September 23rd, 2010, 3:35 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:selling my galaxy s if anyone interested. I want to try out a new windows phone.

That was quick :?

When are the first batch of W7 phones coming out?

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 23rd, 2010, 8:10 pm

RASC wrote:
N3M3SIS wrote:selling my galaxy s if anyone interested. I want to try out a new windows phone.

That was quick :?

When are the first batch of W7 phones coming out?

october-november

^xcalibur^

Postby ^xcalibur^ » September 24th, 2010, 7:43 am

at what price?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 24th, 2010, 11:04 am

got a 2.2.1 system update this morning...

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 25th, 2010, 12:08 pm

Two days, seven device updates pushed or announced. If that doesn't overload your systems and make you giddier than a schoolgirl, what will?!? From GPS fine-tuning to pulling the training wheels off a figurative muscle car of a phone and letting it's FPS rate run free, we can agree without a doubt that its been a day chock-full of updates. Join us after the jump to check the round up!

Samsung Moment

Samsung USB driver installation guide for Windows 7 [video]
Moment 2.1 changes and findings
Nexus One

Updated to Android 2.2.1
Samsung Fascinate

Bing FAQ's
Non-update GPS fix
Samsung Captivate

How is your GPS after the update?
Current Issues
HTC Evo 4G

The official Evo 4G update thread
Evo update timing a tad too coincidental?
HTC Hero

Maintenance update relaesed
Motorola Droid X

Official Droid X Android 2.2 update thread
Stuck at "M" logo after update
LG Ally

Maintenance update released

http://www.androidcentral.com/updates-updates-updates

Postby tr1ad » September 25th, 2010, 12:12 pm

wolfie yuh is a real geek yunno

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 25th, 2010, 12:13 pm

The IncDoes ROM on the Droid Incredible boots up in seconds.

Postby tr1ad » September 25th, 2010, 12:15 pm

i has got no updates

Postby Razkal » September 25th, 2010, 12:49 pm

hardcore geekage in this thread oui....*dusts off 1100 that i STILL own*

Postby tr1ad » September 26th, 2010, 9:22 am

who has accessories locally

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 26th, 2010, 3:22 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 26th, 2010, 5:44 pm

google really taking over yes.

officially convert from firefox to chrome this weekend too :|

Sony holding Google TV event on October 12

We'd definitely been hearing that Google TV would be hitting sometime in the next month or so, and here we go: Sony's sending out invites for an October 12 event in New York. We already know we'll be getting both Bravia Internet TVs and Blu-ray players with Google TV integration, so we're not banking on any earth-shattering surprises, but you know we'll be there with bells on, IR blasters set to stun.

http://goo.gl/82YS

btw, those new monolithic designed Sony tvs looks hawt!

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 26th, 2010, 10:39 pm

^xcalibur^ wrote:

at what price?

$4100

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 27th, 2010, 11:38 am

Google Cake Doodle Marks 12th Birthday: A Look Back

Monday is Google's twelfth birthday and the search giant is celebrating once again with a new Google Doodle on its homepage. This year's doodle is a painting by American artist Wayne Thiebaud and features a simple birthday cake with Google's logo and one candle. Thiebaud, born in 1920, is well known for painting images of cakes, ice cream, candy and toys.

It's not clear how the company decides when to celebrate its birthday as Google.com was registered on September 15, 1997 and Google wasn't incorporated until September 4, 1998. The company has also celebrated its birthday on September 7 instead of September 27 on at least two occasions. Regardless, it's been at least twelve years since Google became an indispensable way to help us navigate the Web. So in celebration of Google's birthday, here's a look back at Google's annual birthday doodles...

http://goo.gl/DGrX

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 27th, 2010, 1:22 pm

Verizon Droid 2 R2-D2 Edition lands September 30 for $249

Just how badly do you want Star Wars branding on your Droid 2, eh? You'd better want it bad, because Verizon has just announced that it'll be charging $249 for the privilege of owning an R2-D2 Limited Edition -- with a $100 mail-in rebate on contract, which means that you'll actually be paying $350 up front. Then again, for that dinero you get not just the funky-looking phone but a Star Wars-themed dock and a box custom-designed to look like carbonite (Harrison Ford not included, we presume). You'll also get a variety of custom live wallpapers, sounds, photos, widgets, and a "binoculars app," which we imagine is some sort of digital zoom tool. Conspicuously missing is any sort of indication that this features the rumored 1.2GHz processor from the also-rumored Droid 2 World Edition, so the wait for that news continues. CTIA next week, perhaps.

On a related note, other Verizon customers with Android 2.1 (and higher) devices will be able to access a special Empire Strikes Back app and related content for a one-time charge of $2.99, which will include a trivia app to test your muster as a George Lucas fangirl or fanboy. Meanwhile, look for the phone to go live on this Thursday, September 30. Follow the break for the full press release and a couple more pics!

http://goo.gl/GQLs

Postby tr1ad » September 27th, 2010, 1:46 pm

skeet skeet skeet

so back to original question

who has accessories locally

Postby stev » September 27th, 2010, 2:01 pm

nobody!!!...i ketch my a$$ to find a case for the first droid. i end up ordering it online...:( i looked all over...

Postby tr1ad » September 27th, 2010, 4:48 pm

yea well i will do that
when i went to certain places and asked they were like eh? wuh phone is da

i got me an update a few minutes ago via edge

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 28th, 2010, 7:56 am

I got my device.

It's really refreshing to have an open system.

I'm still poking around and getting accustomed to everything.

It came with jp2 Froyo factory unlocked :shock:

61019_10150267194870182_559680181_15093051_5458284_n.jpg

60945_10150267197025182_559680181_15093074_766405_n.jpg

Postby tr1ad » September 28th, 2010, 8:37 am

ah liking it

so wuh yuh do with yuh iPhone Wolfie

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 28th, 2010, 8:46 am

I still have it :twisted:

Although i'm using the Galaxy S 8-)

I'll give the gps, still camera and video camera some tests today.

tr1ad wrote:ah liking it

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 28th, 2010, 9:13 am

Wolfie wrote:I still have it :twisted:

Although i'm using the Galaxy S 8-)

I'll give the gps, still camera and video camera some tests today.

tr1ad wrote:ah liking it

just letting you know that firmware was flashed on it by someone who used the phone already and is most likely buggy. There is no official samsung 2.2 out as yet.

Postby tr1ad » September 28th, 2010, 9:16 am

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 28th, 2010, 9:26 am

tr1ad wrote:http://theunlockr.com/2010/05/22/how-to ... one-users/

?????

nah don't follow that. They have Froyo files from May 24th? lol that makes no sense.

Right now jp2 and jp3 are leaked internal beta firmwares for froyo and are by no means anything official. They are still buggy. I suggest you wait it out until samsung rolls out their official OTA froyo.