Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Gyros, doubles, burgers... Where sells the best?

Postby SR » September 20th, 2010, 6:54 pm

burgers grillman el socoro hands down or home made
doubles ali's 5th ave barataria cleanest surroundings with sink and running water to wash your hands

gyro's honestly the best gyros was from a guy on fred st opposite st mary's in the 80's

no one has come close since as they all have become too commercialised

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2010, 7:08 pm

shawarma and arabian are both owned by Lawrence......

crossdrilled wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:Shawarma pwns all!!!!...

Thought so too till one lunch time I decided to walk down to Tragarite road to Arabian foods. Twice the amount of meat than Shawarma. Only their price is the best and they are pretty good though.

Postby mero » September 20th, 2010, 7:18 pm

where has the best souse? cow skin, chicken foot, pig foot and whatever else is there

Postby RBphoto » September 20th, 2010, 8:45 pm

pugboy wrote:shawarma and arabian are both owned by Lawrence......

crossdrilled wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:Shawarma pwns all!!!!...

Thought so too till one lunch time I decided to walk down to Tragarite road to Arabian foods. Twice the amount of meat than Shawarma. Only their price is the best and they are pretty good though.

Well...the gyro from the one on tragarite road is completely different from super shwarma on maraval.... and more expensive.

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2010, 8:55 pm

its a kinda racket they run
Nick works or used to work for Lawrence also and he has other outlets not carrying the Nick name

in St. James the two east most ones are owned by the same fella

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » September 20th, 2010, 9:42 pm

rollingstock wrote:Seriously anyone of you remember the old man from Woodland that drove the yellow 180b wagon, best doubles ever, heard he died a few years ago.

Doh make fakkin joke nah!!! :( Dat man had a bess doubles fuh real! He used to give yuh ah free doubles when you buy more than 8. Bess sauces too.

All who say UWI and Curepe are clearly still in school and need to get out more. All who say POS...clearly does only lime in north and after yuh drink and lime, anyting does taste good. BTW, a friend who is a microbiologist, did tests on random doubles from vendors and the doubles from UWI turned out to have the highest concentration of bacteria.
Sauce doubles was good, but then you'd realize that the taste was only in the sauce

Food from Central and East (only good for Japs right now) digestible..it "aite". South have some real posers too eh. Debe used to have good stuff, but now it get over bland.

I pass tru real places and right now:
Gyros - Cross Crossing. There's two fellahs with a cart. You askin for the lamb gyro. The sauces are different from the others.
Doubles – Apparently, it WAS the guy with the 180B wagon. Otherwise, I eh meet one that impressed mih yet, but a good doubles is by dat fat guy with the blue tent that does be by Palmiste park on evenings. Ting like cucumber, bandania, coconut. Dunno if he still there.
Burgers - Chatoor's beef bad habit.
Last edited by Zed Sqd on September 20th, 2010, 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » September 20th, 2010, 9:44 pm

Gyros - Arabian Gyros, Tragrete rd. or Laurence of Arabia, Shoppes ah Maraval
Doubles - dont eat that(smells like a dirty baby diaper, thats jus me)
Burgers - Zanzibar and Aranguez

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2010, 9:55 pm

i hear most of doubles sold in north is purchased wholesale
anybody could be a doubles vendor, only have to provide your own pepper sauce

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » September 21st, 2010, 10:32 am

Doubles- Opp medford gas station, always hot on the spot. Nice variety of sauces.
Burgers-TGI Jack Daniel burger definitely YUM YUM!

jusme

Postby jusme » September 21st, 2010, 10:48 am

Somebody give me directions to this so called "bess burger" in aranguez/san juan

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 21st, 2010, 1:03 pm

SR wrote:burgers grillman el socoro hands down or home made
doubles ali's 5th ave barataria cleanest surroundings with sink and running water to wash your hands

gyro's honestly the best gyros was from a guy on fred st opposite st mary's in the 80's

^^I expected better from you SR, really I did !

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » September 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm

jusme wrote:Somebody give me directions to this so called "bess burger" in aranguez/san juan

Its on El Socorro Main road about 5 mins from the highway on your left. You really cant miss it.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » September 21st, 2010, 1:15 pm

Anyways..i like meh sauce doubles eh..nun wrong with dat..to each is own..

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 21st, 2010, 2:03 pm

Would'nt mind having this for dinner 2nite !!

Postby A172 » September 21st, 2010, 6:05 pm

tripplediamond wrote:Doubles- Opp medford gas station, always hot on the spot. Nice variety of sauces.
Burgers-TGI Jack Daniel burger definitely YUM YUM!

:sick: :sick: :sick:

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » September 21st, 2010, 7:18 pm

trinitachi wrote:
jusme wrote:Somebody give me directions to this so called "bess burger" in aranguez/san juan

Its on El Socorro Main road about 5 mins from the highway on your left. You really cant miss it.

it have a name.. i see more than one place .. doh wanna buy from the wrong one

Postby gastly369 » September 21st, 2010, 7:36 pm

Doubles is a common street food in Trinidad and Tobago. It is a sandwich made with two flat fried breads, called "bara" (hence the name "doubles"), filled with curried chick peas or garbanzo beans

^^^^ :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: "3 fry bread and garbanzo beans with slight peppa plz" :roll:

History
The origins of this food began in Trinidad by the Deen family, Emamoul Deen (a.k.a. Mamudeen) and his wife Rasulan in 1936 in Fairfield Princes Town. The name 'doubles' originated in 1937. When Mamudeen started the business the products he sold were Fried Channa and soon after added Curried Channa with chutney. He then introduced a single Bara with the curried channa. His customers would ask him to "double-up" on the Bara hence the name "doubles" evolved and Deen's Doubles became the pioneering brand.

Mamudeen's two brothers-in-law, Asgar Ali and Choate Ali were later invited to help in the Deen's operation in 1937 when the need to expand the business became obvious.

The Ali brothers launched their own Ali's Doubles brand in 1938. Asgar Ali chose San Fernando for his sales district and Naparima College in particular as his historical starting point. Choate Ali remained in Princes Town while Mamudeen expanded to San Juan and Port of Spain.

One of Mamudeen's son, Shamaloo Deen later sold Deen's Doubles in his restaurant "Deen's Diner" on Marion Street, St. Boniface, Winnipeg, Manitoba on the Canadian Prairies where most of the channa used now in Trinidad is grown.

It is plausible to assume that Doubles evolved from the Indian Dish Chole bhature, Chole (Chana masala) which is cooked spicy chick peas and the Bhature (Poori) being a fried puffy bread, a dish commonly eaten in north India. It is however presented with one Bhature which is used to scoop up the Chole and not sold as a sandwich as Doubles are sold.

Vendors sell doubles out of a box. Mamudeen, the pioneer of Doubles was the first to build a wooden box, painted yellow, to fit his freight bicycle from which he sold Deen's Doubles. When automobiles replaced the freight bicycles the box remained to preserve the original sales image for Doubles. A few vendors fry their Baras on the spot, usually in a makeshift kitchen in the back of a pickup truck, but this is not a common practice since the business is usually well connected and fresh supplies of Doubles are delivered to the vendor with a simple cellphone call.

jusme

Postby jusme » September 21st, 2010, 7:41 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:
trinitachi wrote:

it have a name.. i see more than one place .. doh wanna buy from the wrong one

For real... Is it 5 mins in traffic or not? Because i drove for 4:13mins but i reach the bus route :| :|

Postby cinco » September 21st, 2010, 7:43 pm

left hand side white tent just before you see pennysavers on the right
its obliquely opposite
and it aint all that anymore
Last edited by cinco on September 21st, 2010, 7:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 21st, 2010, 7:44 pm

Review of Pank's doubles in UWI?

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » September 21st, 2010, 8:42 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Review of Pank's doubles in UWI?

:sick: :sick: :sick: :sick:

Postby Rooki3 » September 21st, 2010, 9:30 pm

pioneer wrote:Image

boy you is one fool inno :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » September 21st, 2010, 9:34 pm

da doubles man doh have ah umbrella self?

and briefcase too? bwdmc

Postby Rooki3 » September 21st, 2010, 9:35 pm

where the white skyline???? R32 to be precise!!!

Postby SR » September 21st, 2010, 9:54 pm

or the owner

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » September 23rd, 2010, 12:52 pm

they open a gyros place in UWI...right by SAC.... surprised it taste decent...kinda small tho....

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2010, 2:15 pm

zedsqd wrote:Doubles – but a good doubles is by dat fat guy with the blue tent that does be by Palmiste park on evenings. Ting like cucumber, bandania, coconut. Dunno if he still there.

He is rather good. By the St. Madlene factory entrance, on mornings, there is a good doubbles vendor.... I like my coconut chutney...3 dollars too. The one by freeport flyover is hit and miss quality. Some days good, some days all the taste is pepper.

Postby SR » September 23rd, 2010, 2:39 pm

Chemical wrote:

huh???

for $20 i have yet to find another burger that can match it

i dont buy from "burger carts" that dont have running water or sell next to a drain or dusty roads

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » September 23rd, 2010, 3:00 pm

SR wrote:
Chemical wrote:

huh???

i dont buy from "burger carts" that dont have running water or sell next to a drain or dusty roads

well said

and grillman foods ftw btw

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » September 23rd, 2010, 3:16 pm

These are the same guys from valpark who moved to el socoro ? If is the same guys they rel bess !

SR wrote:
Chemical wrote:

huh???