R. Mutt wrote:buzz wrote:R. Mutt wrote:
Ya hadda crawl, before you could walk, before you could run. I'm glad to see at least something is being done...as things have been too stagnant for too long in Trinidad.
indeed teh PNM did a fuckload of B/S they lost, badly and with good reason but thats no longer the issue, in no way can wastage by the current administration can be justified by "PNM do it so can we !"
As said before its a great idea just implemented very stupidly...
If you have to do something, do it right. It's this attitude that forever keeps us in the mediocre....
We have the resources, we have the knowledge, we have the financial capability, we lack the attitude to do things right and work hard towards it
Indeed you're right...I don't negate that fact. I too am of the mentality that anything worth doing is worth doing right....and the it remains that Surish, Raj and Harrilal think they should go about it this and that way. But you're missing the big point: something is being done. What the PNM did is in the past and I see it as no justification for ANY political party to be spenthrifty as a result of mistakes made prior. However like health insurance in the US....this has been something the government has long ignored. Just like health insurance in the US....this could have been implemented a different way. BUT, as with health insurance in the United States, the government has at least addressed an issue that's been ignored for too long....it's not to say it's the be all end all...it's a start and given the integration they will see the problems and shortcomings of the system. As such I hope they make improvements in the years coming from that.
I respect the fact that they are being pioneers and trying something. Any person or body that tries to change an existing system comes under fire...people are afraid of failure, but unless you try you don't learn from the mistakes. They have my support for trying...even if it is a complete failure they are attempting to invest in the people, more specifically the future of our county.
give the laptops to university/tertiary level students INSTEAD?...they would certainly make more use of it...
ray_S.T.R.A_man wrote:UNC delivering on their promises. This is more than any previous government could do.
We have rescued our country from the Tyrannical PNM. Our education is now in the Good hand of Dr Tim Goopeesingh. Look at the recent SEA top students
This students have excelled academically and should therefore receive computers. I think that those students below 30% should not get any computers.
These students are our future Doctor, lawyers, and engineers. And future Presidents and Prime Ministers.
Quote:
The specification sheet for the laptops for children initiative, inclusive of Government approved arbitrary capitalisations.
Minimum Technical Specifications Laptop Type 1 (17,300 Units)
Processor Speed (cache) Dual Core 1.66GHz (512MB L2 Cache) or equivalent
Memory 1 GB, DDR SDRAM
Video Card Integrated
Display Size 8”
Audio Type Integrated
Speaker Type
Integrated Hard Drive Size 160GB
Network Speed (Ethernet Connectivity) 10/100 Mbps
(Integrated) Wireless Network Type 802.11g
Key Board Type English
Input Device Touch Pad
Interface Provided 2 x USB 2.0,Video Output, LAN, Audio
Operating System Type Microsoft Windows 7 (English) 32-Bit (with domain-based networking capability)
Power Supply External AC Adaptor (100-240v)
Battery (Battery Life) 6 Hours
Web Camera
Integrated Mouse
Optical Mouse with Scroll and mouse pad
Laptop Tag (Asset tag) Unique Identifier
ENERGY STAR ® ENERGY STAR Version 5.0 compliance
Pre-installed Software
Student / Classroom Productivity & Educational Software
Security software such as Anti-Virus
Optional Pre-installed Software Encyclopedia
Optional Requirements
Optical Drive DVD +/-RW
Carry Handle
Integrated Wireless Bluetooth
Integrated Security Cable Locks
Accessories Carry Case
Note: Maximum weight of the Type 1 Laptop should not exceed 1.3kg, excluding battery.
Minimum Technical Specifications Laptop Type 2 (3000 Units)
Processor Speed (cache) Dual Core 1.66GHz (2MB L2Cache) or equivalent
Memory 2 GB,
DDR SDRAM
Video Card Integrated
Display Size 8”
Audio Type Integrated Speaker Type
Integrated Hard Drive Size 250GB
Network Speed (Ethernet Connectivity) 10/100 Mbps
Wireless Network Type 802.11g
Key Board Type English
Input Device Touch Pad Interface
Provided 3 x USB 2.0, Video Output, LAN, Audio Operating
System Type Microsoft Windows 7 (English) 32-Bit (with domain-based networking capability)
Power Supply External AC Adaptor (100-240v)
Battery (Battery Life) 6 Hours
Web Camera Integrated
Mouse Optical Mouse with Scroll and mouse pad
Optical Drive Built-in DVD +/-RW
Laptop Tag (Asset tag)Unique Identifier
ENERGY STAR ® ENERGY STAR Version 5.0 compliance
Pre-Installed Software Student / Classroom Productivity & Educational Software Security software such as Anti-Virus Optional Pre-Installed Software Encyclopedia Optional Requirements Carry Handle Integrated Wireless Bluetooth Integrated Security Cable Locks Accessories Carry Case
Note: Maximum weight of the Type 2 Laptop should not exceed 2.5 kg, excluding battery.
xaira wrote:man i doh see what all dis fuss is, i is hardcore PNM and i sayin the govt should do this for years, yes computers and the internet have many negatives, but the positives out way the negatives by far, yes computer repair shops will witness a boom, yes some of them will misuse it or not gain any real benefit because of misuse, but we must think of those children who have no computer home, but they have the potential and the drive for greatness and dont study facebook 24/7
also you cya bowl out the bottom 30% because many who are not academically inclined can develop hobbies which can pay off and provide them with some form of income in he long run, so all those who against this project, its only 83 million, i wunda even be against it if it was 100million because thats like .3% of the govts anual revenue, its nothing substantial which can do wonders for development, wudnt mind if they came with govt sponsored 128k and all
Strauss wrote:Anything running WINDOWS is a waste of time.
HP, DELL, Compaq.. doesn't matter.
Arguing which PeeCee should have been chosen is like competing in the special olympics.
pioneer wrote:Tell me which part of the CXC syllabus demands for subjects to be thought with computers?...besides GCE computer science...n seeing we don't use GCE anymore..
RASC wrote:I would really like to see how the apologists make up stories for their support in this.
The gov't has NO vision. It just does things, to appease the public. Mainly the lower/poor ppl, while the MAJORITY middle class is left with the tab.
yuh realize it went down the drain, because the pp CHOSE to not pursue it?drop ho wrote:steupsss nobody talkin bout the fackin 565 million$$$$ went down the drain for ah fackin feasibilty study for fackin rapid rail??
buh have ah 6 page+ thread bout warranty and support for laptop.....
carry on...
drop ho wrote:steupsss nobody talkin bout the fackin 565 million$$$$ went down the drain for ah fackin feasibilty study for fackin rapid rail??
carry on...
kamla wrote:Think.............., of the children (doh study anything else)
wagonrunner wrote:kamla wrote:Think.............., of the children
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:drop ho wrote:steupsss nobody talkin bout the fackin 565 million$$$$ went down the drain for ah fackin feasibilty study for fackin rapid rail??
carry on...
hang on....that was PP decision eh....not a PNM one....PP chsoe not to persue it....pick up yuh pampers and head back out the door...
drop ho wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:drop ho wrote:steupsss nobody talkin bout the fackin 565 million$$$$ went down the drain for ah fackin feasibilty study for fackin rapid rail??
carry on...
hang on....that was PP decision eh....not a PNM one....PP chsoe not to persue it....pick up yuh pampers and head back out the door...
ahhmmm duhhhh...
but i guess because 565M was already spent we should of just gone ahead and spend another 30M per kilometer eh? Which was just for the infrastructure mind you.
Another brainfart from imbert.....
Rather than look at Mexico city with the Bus rapid transport system and look into that instead it was decided to go with the much more expensive rapid rail i guess higher the price tag higher the cut...![]()
The commuting public would have seen benefits in amuch shorter space of time too..
But noooo six page no seven page thread bout support about laptop....
Rover is pursue eh...