Techie Stuff: Simultaneous Image Deployment to Multiple PCs

TK!

Techie Stuff: Simultaneous Image Deployment to Multiple PCs

Postby TK! » September 14th, 2010, 12:38 am

Objective:
To use a single master image of a windows installation and deploy same [simultaneously] to multiple computers without the need for using a boot floppy, CD or USB key.

Tools:
Symantec Ghost Solution Suite 2.5 and 3COM Boot Services (PXE Boot).

How-to:
Follow the steps on Symantec's website: http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/on-technology.nsf/docid/2000103113200725?Open&seg=ent

Discussion:
There are two reasons for me posting a "guide" which is really a link to a guide.
1. To post tips not included in that article.
2. It's not easy to find.
(eg. spend 2 hrs searching web trying to fix something. found a solution that was HERE. written by me a year ago!)

Ok... so onto the discussion:
Their guide is pretty good but doesnt give u best practices. If u've done this before, feel free to add to this post.

- use multicast. eneable on cisco switches IGMP). jus google it.
- enable NIC on client PC and allow it to use PXE boot
- enable NIC on server and allow PXE boot with image support (if it's a dell)
- proxying of DHCP causes clients to take a lil while longer to get an IP

- decide on your approach early:
--(a) you want to be safe (or you want to leave your PXE server running 24/7):
--setup your pc to boot from HDD. Manually pull up boot menu to select network boot. set pxe file to boot from HDD by default. this way u dont accidentally run ghost on pc!
--(b) you want to be lazy or dont care if an innocent PC gets wiped:
--setup pc to boot from NIC. set pxe file to boot straight to ghost session. dont even include a timeout nor "local" (boot from HDD) option.

-you may as well go tru the hassle of creating the domain admin ghost account and creating a post installation task to automatically name your PCs and join a domain.

-to investigate:
(a) post installation tasks to add antivirus
(b) should i use sysprep
(c) automatic windows activation

benefits:
- time to ghost one PC = 25mins (10GB);
- time to ghost 20 PCs = 25mins (10GB each = 200GB total)
ie - u save real time. take de rest of d day off and go beach. :-)

TK!

Re: Techie Stuff: Simultaneous Image Deployment to Multiple

Postby TK! » September 14th, 2010, 12:41 am

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2010, 1:14 am

what speed network you're running this on?
and can your sysprep server output that much data concurrently (25 connections)?

Postby r3iXmann » September 14th, 2010, 5:58 am

no altiris,no care :|

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » September 14th, 2010, 8:21 am

there is a software called fog i was working on. It work well but had some issues

Postby cinco » September 14th, 2010, 8:39 am

i never trust any software solution for this
you always end up spending more time troubleshooting than if you just did it manually

hire tobagonians they work well and quickly

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 14th, 2010, 8:59 am

cinco wrote:i never trust any software solution for this
you always end up spending more time troubleshooting than if you just did it manually

hire tobagonians they work well and quickly

It will work great for computer labs only, with identical hardware.
For staff I prefer to rebuild from scratch, works out better in the long run.

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2010, 9:13 am

nareshseep wrote:It will work great for computer labs only, with identical hardware.
An image can be created with drivers for different platforms.
It must be for a known platform however.

we found USB drives were the fastest method of installing compared to going over gigalan, with redundant RIS, for the reasons i mentioned earlier.

xauss

Postby xauss » September 14th, 2010, 10:58 am

FOG....look it up...eet works!

TK!

Postby TK! » September 14th, 2010, 2:38 pm

nareshseep wrote:It will work great for computer labs only, with identical hardware.

we found USB drives were the fastest method of installing compared to going over gigalan, with redundant RIS, for the reasons i mentioned earlier.

trues.. performance is degraded if you use unicast. it's all about how the packets are sent over the switch. with multicaast, u dont have that problem. as i said... all PCs took about the same time as just one.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 14th, 2010, 2:41 pm

interesting would look into it. Currently I use hirens on a 16 gig flash drive and it works great for a base image.

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » September 14th, 2010, 3:03 pm

Is this method compatable with Windows 7 installations?

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2010, 3:32 pm

streetsleeper2 wrote:Is this method compatable with Windows 7 installations?

works with any windows install.

Postby r3iXmann » September 14th, 2010, 6:33 pm

i HATE ris..out of all the deployment solutions i've ever used,i've found altiris to be the fastest/best

i'll name my firstborn after it :|

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2010, 6:54 pm

r3iXmann wrote:i HATE ris..out of all the deployment solutions i've ever used,i've found altiris to be the fastest/best

Alti......RIS............ :| fix up.
wonder what it developed from, or is considered part of.

Postby r3iXmann » September 14th, 2010, 8:54 pm

r3iXmann wrote:i HATE ris..out of all the deployment solutions i've ever used,i've found altiris to be the fastest/best

Alti......RIS............ :| fix up.
wonder what it developed from, or is considered part of.

i assumed you meant microsoft ris 2eh

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2010, 9:02 pm

fair enough.

i foolishly dub any Remote Installation Service (RIS), not just cogs in M$ own's branding wheel.

TK!

Postby TK! » September 14th, 2010, 10:50 pm

FUUUUUUU .... M$

i trying two days now to activate win7 tru d ISA server...
will fix tomorrow. prob need to open a port. the activation uses a port like 14xxx.

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » September 15th, 2010, 12:43 am

I played with 2 types of deployment systems one is deployment studio on macs and the other is landesk for the pc's. Landesk uses a hardware independent image that locates the drivers based on the model in the bios. Also it works on the wan. Sometimes we put the image on a local site to speed up the process but it generally takes about 30 mins to 2 hrs for about 10 gigs.

Postby wagonrunner » September 15th, 2010, 10:10 am

during rollouts, it made no sense letting all those machines attempt to pull the 15Gb over an already burdened WAN link.
we always grabbed one to the local site, but in the end, USB won.

TK!

Postby TK! » September 15th, 2010, 10:36 am

EvoDraZ wrote:Landesk uses a hardware independent image that locates the drivers based on the model in the bios.

sounds promising. i've been looking for the holy grail of imaging for a while. which landesk product?

pycho

Postby pycho » September 15th, 2010, 4:03 pm

WDS /w server08 R2works fine