The Religion Discussion

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Hawking's a Madman - Pg.

Postby bluefete » September 13th, 2010, 11:14 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Lets look at perceived truths.

Analysis of the bible and the advent of Christianity throw two dates forward.
Christianity is 2010 years old.
The earth is 6000-ish years old (from the bible, no?)

How can you explain evidence that there are religions older than Christianity as well as older than the biblical documented age of the earth?

How do you explain Christianity's plagiarism of early texts (that predated the bible) from another religion?

Take a gander here:
http://debunkingchristianity.blogspot.c ... f-god.html

Interesting reading. Did Krishna ever make the blind see or deaf hear or raise people from the dead during his time on earth?

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2010, 11:17 am

more importantly, was he a wandering hippie

Postby bluefete » September 13th, 2010, 11:18 am

Stupid idiot. If he was so brave why did he go into hiding? I am sure it is not the Christian response he is afraid of.

Jesus taught us to love our enemies and pray for them who despise you.

Australian lawyer fans the flames by 'smoking' the Koran and the Bible on YouTube

By Richard Shears
Last updated at 12:48 PM on 13th September 2010

An Australian lawyer has inflamed the row over a U.S. pastor's plan to burn the Koran by allegedly smoking holy books and posting the videos on YouTube.

Brisbane-based lawyer Alex Stewart, a self-professed atheist, is seen smoking what appear to be marijuana joints made up of pages from the Koran and the Bible.

A US pastor's plan to burn the Koran caused outrage among Muslims around the world and led to deadly riots in Afghanistan before he backed down.

ImageAtheist: Australian lawyer Alex Stewart, 29, from Brisbane has sparked outrage among religious groups

But the controversy has flared up again with Stewart, who works for the Queensland University of Technology, lighting up his religious 'joints' under the YouTube title: Bible or Koran - Which Burns Best?

He gave the Bible a seven out of 10 for its burning qualities, and said it was better than the Koran which left him feeling sick.

Stewart says burning religious books is no big deal and that people need to 'get over it'.

But since his video attracted approbation from around the world, Stewart - who appeared in the video wearing a T-shirt emblazoned with the words 'I'm an atheist, Thank God' - has gone into hiding.

The president of the Australian Federation of Islamic Councils, Ikebal Patel, said: 'I think it's highly offensive that he has done this to two of the holiest books in the world.

'It does not in any way add value to trying to promote world peace and the consideration of different views, especially when there are heightened tensions around the anniversary of September 11 and the Eid el Fitr (end of Ramadan) celebrations.'

Sheik Muhammad Wahid, president of the Islamic Association of Australia, said Mr Stewart's motives were deeply hurtful to Muslims.

'We condemn the video and our feelings have been hurt by this man's actions,' he said.

Concerned that there might be reprisals, Mr Wahid urged his 'fellow Muslims' to abide by the laws of Australia and not take any action which broke the law'.

He even suggested that Stewart might not have been 'of sound mind at the time'. Stewart told Queensland's Courier Mail newspaper before he fled from his Brisbane home that the video was a joke and he does not do drugs.

He insisted that the green substance he showed in a plastic bag before rolling it up in the torn-out pages was actually grass clippings.(This is too funny).

'Basic freedoms - such as freedom of speech - should not be threatened simply because someone might be offended,' he told the paper.

Australians writing to newspaper comment pages had mixed reactions, some regarding Mr Stewart's actions as lighthearted, while others expressed concern that Western troops would be placed in added danger in Iraq and Afghanistan.

'I'm saddened by the fact that this stunt of Alex will cost us many more deaths...can we hold him responsible for killing our countrymen,' asked one writer.

The video has been removed from YouTube.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z0zQHoJdqR

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2010, 11:30 am

bluefete wrote:

Christianity is 2010 years old.

How can you explain evidence that there are religions older than Christianity as well as older than the biblical documented age of the earth?

How do you explain Christianity's plagiarism of early texts (that predated the bible) from another religion?

Take a gander here:
http://debunkingchristianity.blogspot.c ... f-god.html

Interesting reading. Did Krishna ever make the blind see or deaf hear or raise people from the dead during his time on earth?

You are missing the point.
If there are so much similarities between the texts, how are we to determine what is the truth (in either one). Extra padding, perhaps?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2010, 12:27 pm

Christianity is 2010 years old.ok yes
could be

well Jesus came down at about 2000 years ago for the sake of mankind and he required that we follow him in order to have eternal life(probably because what was there before wasnt working out for man?), since then people who follow Jesus are called Christians and then some make a religion out of it .....but Jesus came to save us from the very religions that preceded Christianity

How do you explain Christianity's plagiarism of early texts (that predated the bible) from another religion? what early text ?

Take a gander here:
http://debunkingchristianity.blogspot.com/2009/09/lord-krishna-human-manifestation-of-god.html
Last edited by megadoc1 on September 13th, 2010, 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2010, 12:47 pm

Look at the link, relevant extracts have been highlighted.

Feel free to read the Gita.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2010, 12:52 pm

megadoc1 wrote:

could be

well Jesus came down at about 2000 years ago for the sake of mankind and he required that we follow him in order to have eternal life(probably because what was there before wasnt working out for man?), since then people who follow Jesus are called Christians and then some make a religion out of it .....but Jesus came to save us from the very religions that preceded Christianity

How do you explain Christianity's plagiarism of early texts (that predated the bible) from another religion? what early text ?

Take a gander here:
http://debunkingchristianity.blogspot.com/2009/09/lord-krishna-human-manifestation-of-god.html

That is your assumption.
What was the religion then practiced in that part of the world before Jesus?

Postby 16 cycles » September 13th, 2010, 12:56 pm

bluefete wrote:Interesting reading. Did Krishna ever make the blind see or deaf hear or raise people from the dead during his time on earth?

why compare? is the strength of faith or belief a direct result of miracles - is this the basis we use to prove the existence of god?

http://lovekrishna.com/miracles-of-lord-krishna.php

^ on googling - seems a whole family was brought back from the dead...

so what now? jump in some idiotic argument cause more ppl were raised from the dead - that said religion is greater than another who only raised one?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2010, 1:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

could be

Take a gander here:

That is your assumption.
how is it ? if Jesus came to save man,he have to be saving him from something ent? something that nothing/no one else before could ever do right?
certainly not Christianity :lol: how do you believe the "Christianity's plagiarism of early texts (that predated the bible) from another religion" but not know the religions that predate it?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2010, 1:20 pm

16 cycles wrote:
bluefete wrote:Interesting reading. Did Krishna ever make the blind see or deaf hear or raise people from the dead during his time on earth?

why compare? is the strength of faith or belief a direct result of miracles - is this the basis we use to prove the existence of god?

http://lovekrishna.com/miracles-of-lord-krishna.php

^ on googling - seems a whole family was brought back from the dead...

so what now? jump in some idiotic argument cause more ppl were raised from the dead - that said religion is greater than another who only raised one?

steupes, Jesus didn't do this so he get beat back by far :(

Govardhan Dharan (Lifting Mt. Govardhan) Lord Krishna lifted a mountain named Govardhan (around 26 miles in perimeter) and held it up on Hiis one little finger for 7 days conituously. He did so to save the people from continuous rains. Thousands of people took shelter under the mountain and witnessed this miracle of Lord Krishna. Infact this gave Lord Krishna the name "Giridhari" (one who lifts the Govardhan).

nah he (jesus) simply commanded the weather and it obeyed :roll:

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2010, 1:57 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

could be

Take a gander here:

That is your assumption.
how is it ? if Jesus came to save man,he have to be saving him from something ent? something that nothing/no one else before could ever do right?
certainly not Christianity :lol: how do you believe the "Christianity's plagiarism of early texts (that predated the bible) from another religion" but not know the religions that predate it?

I am asking you. Are you contradicting your own religion? Did your God ignore his own people before he sent his own son to pay for our sins?
Since the earth is only 6000 years old, what/who was man's salvation before Jesus?

What about the evidence that suggests the Gita is older than the Bible and the stories are curiously similar? This is NOT a religion bashing post eh, I am not saying one is better than the other.

The proof is in the pudding.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2010, 2:12 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

could be

Take a gander here:

That is your assumption.

I am asking you. Are you contradicting your own religion?I dont have one ,thats is what Jesus saves us from also Did your God ignore his own people before he sent his own son to pay for our sins? no ,sometimes then yes
Since the earth is only 6000 years old, what/who was man's salvation before Jesus?
none before none after

What about the evidence that suggests the Gita is older than the Bible and the stories are curiously similar? it don't bother me because I saw for myself that the object of that faith is not truly the living God and he bows to Jesus
This is NOT a religion bashing post eh, I am not saying one is better than the other.
get to know the real one and see for yourself

The proof is in the pudding. very true you wanna see?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Your arguments are weak. Trying to inject some logic in a faith based thread is pointless.

Postby 16 cycles » September 13th, 2010, 2:38 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
Govardhan Dharan (Lifting Mt. Govardhan) Lord Krishna lifted a mountain named Govardhan (around 26 miles in perimeter) and held it up on Hiis one little finger for 7 days conituously. He did so to save the people from continuous rains. Thousands of people took shelter under the mountain and witnessed this miracle of Lord Krishna. Infact this gave Lord Krishna the name "Giridhari" (one who lifts the Govardhan).

same site

Making Sun rise and fall at His will.

When the war of Mahabharta was on, Arjuna pledged to kill one of the warriors on the Kaurava side on a particular day of war. To make Arjuna's pledge fail,the Kaurava warrior hid himself. So, even upto the evening of that that Arjuna could not kill him. So, Krishna made the sun to set for a moment. When the sun did set, he came out saying that war for the day is over. And arjuna could not full fill his pledge. Seeing this Krishna made the sun to rise again. When sun rose, Arjuna killed the Kaurava warrior. ...

again - as i said....pointless to argue....

safe to say that one of the powers of God is to have control over the universe - regardless of religion (what name we may call god) - if one believes in god

i was asking before...

who or what is the holy spirit?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 13th, 2010, 3:43 pm

Truth : God is real

Truth : Religion is man made

Truth : There have been prophets

http://www.biographyonline.net/spiritua ... ality.html

http://atheism.about.com/od/religionnon ... uality.htm
Religion can be anything that the person practicing it desires. Spirituality, on the other hand, is defined by God. Since religion is man defined, Religion is a manifestation of the flesh. But Spirituality, as defined by God, is a manifestation of His nature.

/thread

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2010, 3:49 pm

Truth : God is real
you sure about that one there sheep?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2010, 3:50 pm

16 cycles wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

same site

When the war of Mahabharta was on, Arjuna pledged to kill one of the warriors on the Kaurava side on a particular day of war. To make Arjuna's pledge fail,the Kaurava warrior hid himself. So, even upto the evening of that that Arjuna could not kill him. So, Krishna made the sun to set for a moment. When the sun did set, he came out saying that war for the day is over. And arjuna could not full fill his pledge. Seeing this Krishna made the sun to rise again. When sun rose, Arjuna killed the Kaurava warrior. ...

well men did these things
Joshua ,a prophet, a man stopped the sun in the old testament
elijah ,a man, a prophet, stopped the rain for years in the old testament
Jesus, the God/man commanded the weather and it obeyed
so if that god ripped out piece of the earth to block rain then man> that god ?

safe to say that one of the powers of God is to have control over the universe - regardless of religion (what name we may call god) - if one believes in god
it is easier to say God is the creator

i was asking before...

who or what is the holy spirit?He is God ,the true and living God

VexXx Dogg wrote:Your arguments are weak. thank you and I didnt even try Trying to inject some logic in a faith based thread is pointless.because most of the times the person injecting the logic never wants to subject themselves to the very logic they attempt to inject

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 13th, 2010, 4:42 pm

MG Man wrote:Truth : God is real
you sure about that one there sheep?

God=Energy

Energy cannot be created or destroyed, just merely transformed from one form to another.

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2010, 4:46 pm

so u saying u pray to energy?
does energy have a consciousness?
Is energy self aware?
And by extension, as I am part energy, am I part god?
how does this work?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 13th, 2010, 5:57 pm

MG Man wrote:so u saying u pray to energy?
yes we all do, I prefer the term meditation

does energy have a consciousness?
Nope if it was true then ghost would have been playing a lot of trick on us.
When you die, that's it.

Is energy self aware?
It does not have consciousnes so it cannot be self aware

And by extension, as I am part energy, am I part god?
Yes, have you not felt the energy in communal worship be it a mosque, temple, church?

how does this work?

http://www.unhinderedliving.com/energyGod.html

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2010, 8:42 pm

this is somewhat intresting.......

Postby Sky » September 13th, 2010, 8:52 pm

Where Duane?

He give up?

Allyuh still fighting for the right to condemn others?

Wish I could see some of you by the gates yes.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2010, 8:52 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

same site

well men did these things
Joshua ,a prophet, a man stopped the sun in the old testament
elijah ,a man, a prophet, stopped the rain for years in the old testament
Jesus, the God/man commanded the weather and it obeyed
so if that god ripped out piece of the earth to block rain then man> that god ?

it is easier to say God is the creator

i was asking before...

who or what is the holy spirit?He is God ,the true and living God

VexXx Dogg wrote:Your arguments are weak. thank you and I didnt even try Trying to inject some logic in a faith based thread is pointless.because most of the times the person injecting the logic never wants to subject themselves to the very logic they attempt to inject

so why avoid answering a direct question?
If there is evidence that you are living a lie, would you continue to bury your head in the sand and pretend all is well? Is that faith?If Jesus himself approached you TODAY under a different name and appearance, will you accept this as the truth? The same followers will be the first to cry foul and crucify him again.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 13th, 2010, 9:22 pm

after death ppl say "you" go to heaven.........hold on, i'm dead and 6 feet below, and as most people will tell you, if u dig up a grave decades or centuries later, the remains of my body will still be there......so what part of me goes to heaven/hell?

is this where you tell me i have a soul? the soul is an object created from the ability of the human mind to imagine..........show me the proof i have a soul, and then i may believe in some of this that you believe...........

kironde

Postby kironde » September 13th, 2010, 10:01 pm

"He who trusts in his own heart is a fool...." Proverbs 28:26

"For the wisdom of this world is foolishness with God. For it is written, 'He catches the wise in their own craftiness'; and again, 'The Lord knows the thoughts of the wise, that they are futile.'" 1 Corinthians 3:19-20

"...the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned." 1 Corinthians 2:14-15

"The fool has said in his heart, 'There is no God.' Psalm 53:1

"Fools mock at sin, but among the upright there is favor." Proverbs 14:9

"A fool has no delight in understanding, but in expressing his own heart." Proverbs 18:2

"For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse, because, although they knew God, they did not glorify Him as God, nor were thankful, but became futile in their thoughts, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Professing to be wise, they became fools..." Romans 1:20-22

Is not me, the bible say so.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » September 13th, 2010, 10:11 pm

^^^ like you was sleeping for the last 150 pages...

7 quotes from a Googled bible site does not make your post a valid one as it contributes nothing to the question at hand

fear not..... megaquack gonna claim you as a soldier in his Obeah army

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 13th, 2010, 10:15 pm

there is no need to quote the bible, most ppl who do not believe in God have been there and know what it says...........and as a result they choose not believe........mostly because its origins cannot be proven.......and partly because some of its "teachings" do not really make sense...........

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2010, 10:50 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:so why avoid answering a direct question?are you serious?
If there is evidence that you are living a lie, would you continue to bury your head in the sand and pretend all is well? you have this evidence? what about my evidence of those lies would you take a look at them? Is that faith?If Jesus himself approached you TODAY under a different name and appearance, will you accept this as the truth? he won't because it will contradict his very word ,something he exalts above Himself The same followers will be the first to cry foul and crucify him again.Jesus followers are those who know him you are getting it mixed up with the ones who studied him, this line also speaks of how much you don't understand why Jesus laid his life down

sparky

Postby sparky » September 13th, 2010, 10:57 pm

When we die, we go to sleep awaiting judgment, those who rise in the first resurrection will go to heaven but those who rise in the second resurrection will go to hell with satan and his angels. The breath of life does not belong to us when we die it goes back to God.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2010, 11:05 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:after death ppl say "you" go to heaven.........hold on, i'm dead and 6 feet below, and as most people will tell you, if u dig up a grave decades or centuries later, the remains of my body will still be there......so what part of me goes to heaven/hell?

is this where you tell me i have a soul? the soul is an object created from the ability of the human mind to imagine..........show me the proof i have a soul, and then i may believe in some of this that you believe...........
hmmmmm people say things like these but then they always seems to back down............. how willing are you to find out?

cacasplat3 wrote:there is no need to quote the bible, most ppl who do not believe in God have been there and know what it says...........and as a result they choose not believe........mostly because its origins cannot be proven.......and partly because some of its "teachings" do not really make sense...........
you are quite correct that bible may have seemed to never make much sense as long as you don't have the teacher..but that doesn't mean it shouldn't be quoted ,when Jesus spoke most of the times he said "he who have an ear let him hear"

illumin@ti wrote:^^^ like you was sleeping for the last 150 pages...

7 quotes from a Googled bible site does not make your post a valid one as it contributes nothing to the question at hand

fear not..... megaquack gonna claim you as a soldier in his Obeah army

ohhh poor baby you still toting?