Re: *****The OFFICIAL Corruption Thread*****

Postby UML » September 5th, 2010, 12:27 am

Kamla 'horrified' by Scarborough Hospital cost
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kam ... 38049.html

Story Created: Sep 4, 2010 at 11:40 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 4, 2010 at 11:40 PM ECT

The most expensive hospital bed in the world could probably be found at the Scarborough Hospital when it is completed, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said yesterday as she expressed horror that over $700 million has been spent so far for a 100-bed hospital.

"It's like you're walking on gold, it's mind-boggling…I cannot believe it took ten years for us to reach here, for a 100-bed hospital…we have spent $7 million per bed because seven million multiply by 100 beds is $700 million and counting" said Persad-Bissessar.

Persad-Bissessar said though the money was not spent on beds alone, the fact remains that the hospital is a 100-bed hospital to facilitate 100 people.

Persad-Bissessar was speaking to the media during her tour of the Scarborough Hospital at Signal Hill, Tobago, yesterday.

Construction of the long overdue hospital began in 2002 with a price tag of $130 million. Over the past years, the UDeCOTT project has been riddled with controversy and allegations of corruption.

Yesterday was the first time Persad-Bissessar visited the hospital's construction site. She was accompanied by Health Minister Theresa Baptiste Cornelis and other officials.

"It's costing us over $700 million, with an additional cost of over $130 million ... it's a 100-bed hospital. I am horrified and appalled that all this money has already been spent, it's like a black hole, money just keeps going into it and it disappears," said Persad-Bissessar.

"We are going to do everything we can to get this hospital up and running; this was supposed to be completed this month. As we speak and as you can see, it is nowhere near to completion. I don't know where the cost overruns have come from, why they've come but we certainly asked for an audit, a forensic audit to be done with respect to taxpayers' money ... a financial audit as well through the Ministry of Finance," she added.

"My heart aches for the people of Tobago, and I offer sympathy, there were two persons who were involved in a fight last night I'm told and they had to fly them to Trinidad … who knows if the hospital was up and running it would have been a better result and not just for them but for many others in Tobago.

"So we are committed to this project, the inception of this project was really in the UNC days and now that we have come back into Government ... we will have to complete it," she added.

Persad-Bissessar said Government will keep close watch on the money being spent to ensure that not a cent more was wasted.

At the hospital site, Chinese workers were busy at work.

Baptiste-Cornelis said she found it baffling that the People's National Movement government had promised the hospital would be completed in September this year when they only allocated $2 million.

She said the People's Partnership Government had to release $50 million and an additional $2.9 million this week for construction invoices and another $25 million for equipment. She said for this fiscal year alone, the Government released $78 million more.

"It's like a moving target … you don't know the cost until it is completed," said Persad-Bissessar.

Postby UML » September 7th, 2010, 12:02 pm

Corruption at CNMG

questionable spending and contracts

Postby AllTrac » September 7th, 2010, 12:15 pm

pioneer wrote:So say i is ah driver in some ministry, and de minister TELL me to drop de unmarked prado home by he cuz he wha go toco weekend wid he padnas, is that considered corruption?

yes.

Postby UML » September 7th, 2010, 12:29 pm

AG hints of money probe into CNMG
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/AG_ ... 16684.html

Story Created: Sep 6, 2010 at 11:46 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 6, 2010 at 11:46 PM ECT

ATTORNEY GENERAL Anand Ramlogan said yesterday that his office will soon initiate a criminal investigation into allegations of financial impropriety at State-owned Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG).

Ramlogan made the comment yesterday in response to questions on the status of outstanding probes being conducted by his ministry in collaboration with the Anti Corruption and Investigations Bureau (ACIB). According to the AG, who did not wish to say too much regarding the allegations, his office received information that corrupt practices existed at CNMG and will investigate the allegations.

"I have received several complaints about financial irregularities at State-owned CNMG. Although I am concentrating on the various forensic and legal audits that have been announced, this may very well be a matter that would engage my attention," Ramlogan said.

CNMG owns and operates a broadcast media facility comprising radio services on frequencies 100.1FM, 99.1FM and 91.1FM, and television services on terrestrial Channels 9 and 13 and cable Channel 6.

The entity replaced the former public National Broadcasting Network (NBN), which closed its doors in January, 2005, after more than 40 years on the air. The current board is one of several State-owned boards that are expected to be replaced by the end of this month.

Ramlogan said some of the alleged irregularities include election spending and coverage and certain "questionable contracts and transactions" that were entered into under the previous regime.

"It's clear that internal checks and balances may need to be reviewed," he said.

When questioned about the current corruption probes, Ramlogan said the investigations were moving full speed ahead and the response from the public, including employees of the various institutions who were coming forward with information, was overwhelming.

"I am very encouraged by the high sense of integrity that has been shown by those who have come forward. The information they provide will be treated and dealt with in the strictest of confidence and they will be given the necessary protection where needed. We have received several documents and statements from persons with knowledge about wrongdoing and several whistles have been blown," Ramlogan said.

He added that the ACIB was also doing extremely well given the constraints they face with outstanding probes. —Akile Simon

Postby eliteauto » September 7th, 2010, 10:33 pm

Anand talking bout all kinda thing but nothing about Steve and Ish..that is corruption

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2010, 7:36 am

trinis have selective short memory, once you fud them with enough they will forget
how many people remember jack admitting tiefing money in 1990 ticket scandal ?

Postby eliteauto » September 12th, 2010, 3:35 pm

lest the selective memory also include selective newspaper articles

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/On_ ... 13769.html

Postby Monk BANzai » September 12th, 2010, 4:41 pm

eliteauto wrote:lest the selective memory also include selective newspaper articles

horse..this AM ah put some Richmond Valley Cocoa to boil when i read that headline yes......pull out meh hammock....cuz i wanted to enjoy that read....

meem care wah no one say.. Karamath like Jack....he WAS A BORSE JED!!!

monkeyman

Postby monkeyman » September 12th, 2010, 4:55 pm

Corruption can't done everybody want for themselves

Postby UML » September 12th, 2010, 4:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:lest the selective memory also include selective newspaper articles

hope the PP remove him from the Ministry

pioneer wrote:HP scandal

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mor ... 80954.html

woahgaad...wasn't i saying this all along?...HP shipment coming from latin america?...cocaine included?

"He went further to say the Government was not dealing with HP in the United States but HP Latin America"

ahmmmmmmm u do know that HP Latin America deals with Trinidad and Tobago right?!! :|

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 12th, 2010, 7:53 pm

On the trail of bid-rigging
Public Utilities Minister defends committee on US$120m desalination project

By Camini Marajh Investigative Desk
Story Created: Sep 12, 2010 at 12:39 AM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 12, 2010 at 12:39 AM ECT
In his attempt to retain an industry consultant to assist the State's bid process on the planned US$120 million desalination project, former permanent secretary and now Minister of Public Utilities in the new coalition government Emmanuel George, in 1998, wrote to a fictitious company, fronting as an affiliate of the United Nations, in the payroll of contractor Hafeez Karamath, a Sunday Express investigation has found.
Dr Joseph Ben-Dak, the man George identified as chairman of the New York, USA- based shell corporation, International Industrial Development Foundation (IIDF), was an old friend and business associate of the deceased contractor and the alleged mastermind of an elaborate bid-rigging scheme that stretched from 1996 through 1999 when the contract was awarded to a joint-venture company of Karamath and his US partner, Ionics Inc.
It is not immediately clear how George came to dispatch formal communication to a non-existent entity at the height of the bidding process on the lucrative pay-only-for-water-you-take deal or why he accepted a response from another Ben-Dak business that was on paper only and signed by a different individual, named Mac Shaibe, another old friend of Ben-Dak.
George has refused several requests for an interview, and up to late yesterday, failed to respond to a list of detailed questions about the controversial contract issued to Desalcott in 1999, including questions related to his role as the top public administrator in charge of the procurement process.
In a telephone interview with the Sunday Express on September 1, George defended the work of the nine-member bid evaluation committee, insisting the entire process was "open and transparent". And despite a torrent of criminal charges of fraud and bid-rigging brought against the state-hired consultant Daniel Hoffman, Ben-Dak, Karamath and a Karamath-owned company, the former top public servant insists: "As far as we were concerned in the ministry, there was no corruption in the desalination project, and I maintain that even now."
Did the police get it wrong then?
And what of the evidence uncovered by the police, of bribes deposited into various overseas bank accounts and the flow of phone, fax and e-mail communication between bidder Hafeez Karamath and the State's expert consultants, prior to and during the bid preparation process?
According to Minister George: "We operated the whole thing completely above board. I don't know what they were doing." Did he know Ben-Dak and Hoffman were in the payroll of Mr Karamath? "No. How could I know that? I didn't know that at all."
Could he identify the point person or agency that recommended Ben-Dak? "I tend to remember we had asked the World Bank or the United Nations or somebody at one of those agencies," he said. Which agency exactly? "I don't remember," he said, saying it was a long time ago and his memory was hazy on those details.
Did he know Ben-Dak was fired by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) on April 1, 1997? "No, I didn't know that," he said. Pressed on how he came to write to Ben-Dak on August 25, 1998 after Ben-Dak's ouster from the UNDP, and the name of the individual or agency that supplied the Ben-Dak reference, the minister maintained it was "one of the United Nations' agencies".
Told it was unlikely the UN would recommend someone it had previously fired for using the UN's name and resources for his own personal benefit, George said: Well, that is how we were sourcing help, and that is how the help came."
Help from whom exactly? "I don't recall," he said. Asked again how he came to write Ben-Dak's ghost company IIDF that lists Ben-Dak's old home address, 20 Villa Street, Fleetwood, New York, as its business place and has a similar-sounding name to a real UN agency—United Nations International Industrial Development Organisation—the Minister said: "Well you are telling me something that I cannot remember, you know."
Documents obtained by the Sunday Express (see photo at top right) show the then permanent secretary, on August 25, 1998, wrote to Ben-Dak as the chairman of IIDF, an alleged "United Nations affiliate" on "Minister of Public Utilities" stationery. The George letter, the first official correspondence to Ben-Dak on record, seeks assistance in the short-listing of interested bidders on the desalination project, the judging of presentations and final selection, and negotiations with the selected bidder.
The George letter points to a previous communication with Ben-Dak. The letter begins: "As you are aware, the Ministry of Public Utilities, (MPU) together with its agency, the Water and Sewerage Authority (Wasa), has been pursuing a strategy for the provision of a sustainable supply of potable water for both domestic and industrial consumers by the year 2000."
Page two of the initial George communiqué notes: "Following our recent discussions, we understand that your Foundation has acquired tremendous international experience in negotiating similar arrangements with the private sector for technological solutions in the water industry.
"As a result, we would appreciate if you could also consider recommending an adviser (preferably with a legal background) for the negotiation stage of the procurement process to assist WASA in designing an appropriate Water Purchase Agreement between the Authority and the successful proposer."
The then permanent secretary ends his letter to Ben-Dak on this note: "Finally, we wish to thank you for the effort and interest you have previously shown and would appreciate the continued cooperation and assistance of the Foundation to the Government and people of Trinidad and Tobago."
Ben-Dak's pal, Mac Shaibe, responds to the official George request, which was written on the minister's letterhead stationery. But the Shaibe response, dated September 3, 1998, is on the letterhead of a different entity, a company called ReGenesis Foundation for United Nations Programming in Science and Technology. And like Ben-Dak's other shell corporations, this one is also disguised to look like a UN entity. In reality, it is a company on paper only and lists the personal phone and fax numbers and home address of Ben-Dak's former business partner, Gary Sazer, at 79 Redbrook Road, Kings Point, New York.
The Shaibe letter states in part: "The ReGenesis Foundation for UN Programming in Science and Technology has received your request for the three stages of evaluation and substantive inputs for your proposed desalination project. Your outlook of the project requirement for comprehensive planning, including all impacted areas and the need/response items, deserve the best that our team can bring to the project. Daniel Hoffman has accepted the evaluation assignment for the immediate first stage. His CV is attached.
"We may be able to use his services or other team members for the next stage. I should hasten to add the cost of his services will be borne by us. However, each day Mr Hoffman attends to this phase of the project, all housing, hospitality and airport transfer to Port of Spain and logistical support is the responsibility of the Ministry," said Shaibe.
Asked why he proceeded to communicate with Shaibe (see photo at right) when he had written to Ben-Dak and whether he thought it odd a different entity with a different named individual had responded to his August 25 request for assistance, the Public Utilities Minister said: "You are telling me that I wrote to one company and a different company responded?"
Told that is what our information showed, George said: "Ms Marajh, watch me…all I am saying is that we were operating this thing completely above board. Whatever those guys were doing, we didn't know at all. If that is what has been found out and they were not operating completely above board…well … you know, there was nothing we could have done about it if we didn't know about it."
Sunday Express: "So you were completely in the dark?"
George: "Yes."
"But Minister George, you brought Mr Ben-Dak and Mr Hoffman into the process? You wrote to one entity and another responded. It is a pretty big anomaly. It didn't raise any red flags for you?"
"Well I can't recall. I am saying this to you all the time… I don't know if you are taking notes, but I am saying to you that we did all of this in full confidence that it was proper. If it turns out that these guys were acting less than properly…well what can I do?"
"Given what we know now, do you think that you and your ministry took sufficient measures to safeguard the bid process from manipulation?"
"All of the people who were working with me were of impeccable integrity and were acting properly, and I will repeat that publicly because that is what I knew at the time."
"But with all respect, Minister, this was the subject of a police investigation; search warrants were executed, homes and offices were searched. People were arrested on charges of corruption. You yourself were questioned by members of the Anti-Corruption Investigation Bureau and Mr (Bob) Lindquist."
"Yeah. I remember talking to Mr Lindquist and to the police, and I repeat, there was nothing in the process that was questionable in my view."
"And you writing in an official capacity to a non-existent company doesn't qualify as questionable?"
"Ms Marajh, I told you I don't recall those details. These things are dated, eh. You are talking about years and years ago. Memories go. To be fair, I can't recall those specific details."
The minister also had no recall of why he failed to complete and submit a score sheet in the bid evaluation process. "You are asking me things that I can't recall. Specific details I can't recall, unless I am shown a paper trail. I would have to see that
Charge sheet
Four years after the desalination plant was finally commissioned, the police, in June 2006, issued arrest warrants for two Israeli nationals, Dr Joseph Ben-Dak and Daniel Hoffman, contractor Hafeez Karamath and a Karamath-owned company, Hafeez Karamath Engineering Services Ltd (HKESL). The charge sheet accuses the four parties specifically of conspiracy to defraud and bid-rigging on the water-supply contract. The charges: 1. Falsely pretending the said process was open, honest and competitive 2. The manipulation of the desalination bid evaluation committee so the grant of the water supply contract to the said Desalcott was pre-determined. Current status of criminal proceedings: 1. Hafeez Karamath—The charges against Hafeez Karamath died with his death on November 2, 2009. 2. Daniel Hoffman—There is no extradition treaty between Trinidad and Tobago and Israel. However, if he should travel outside of Israel, there is a good chance he could be picked up by Interpol and brought to Trinidad to stand trial. 3. Dr Joseph Ben-Dak—He has challenged the extradition request in the US courts. Local authorities lost the first round of its extradition case to bring the New York-based resident to Trinidad to face trial. A New York judge found the Trinidad application, which failed to include any exhibits, did not meet the "probable cause" test. Local authorities are in the process of making a fresh application to the US State Department. 4. HKESL—The charge against HKESL is now before Magistrate Mark Wellington. document to remember why. Ms Marajh, this was 1998. We are now in 2010. How could I remember? This was a long time ago." "So nothing about the bid process stands out in your mind?" "No." "And you continue to hold the view that the taxpayers of Trinidad got the best deal for their money with the Karamath/Ionics joint venture?" "If the bid was awarded to him, then that is the reason it was awarded to him." "Minister George, do you recall how Mark Austin entered the process?" "Who? Mark Austin? I don't even remember the name." "He was the man, consultant number one, who provided advice on the design criteria for the bid process." "I don't recall the name at all." "You don't recall the Austin Report?" "No. I don't recall." "He was retained by Ben-Dak in late 1997 and did an early short-listing of interested parties at the time." "You are telling me things I don't know. You have information in front of you." "Would it help if I e-mail you some questions?" "No. I told you, I don't recall a lot of the details." "But, Minister George, you are now back in the Ministry of Public Utilities. You are the minister. Surely, you can pull the relevant documents related to the desalination project and see if it helps you to remember?" "Well, it might. I don't know, but I am not minded to do it because I have said what I have to say on this. All of the people who were working in the ministry were working in good faith. I am certain Mr Lindquist knows that. I am certain the police know that. They know that all the people in our ministry were of good integrity, and we were dealing with them (consultants) in good faith." Documents in the possession of the Sunday Express suggest it may well have been blind faith.
Timeline to a rigged bid
June 1996—Documents seized in a police raid at Hafeez Karamath's San Juan office point to a confidentiality agreement struck between old friends and business associates Karamath and Israeli national Dr Joseph Ben-Dak during the latter's visit to Trinidad. September 4, 1996—Israeli Mark Austin, a senior adviser to the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Global Technology & Business Group, in a faxed message to Karamath, asked him to put in a good word for the Ben-Dak-headed UNDP unit to the Barama Corporation in Guyana. Ben-Dak was the then principal adviser, science and technology, UNDP Global Technology & Business Group. April 1, 1997—Ben-Dak is terminated as principal adviser science and technology, UNDP Global Technology & Business Group, after five years for misuse of his UN credentials. Late 1997—UNDP consultant Austin is dispatched to Port of Spain by Ben-Dak, who is no longer associated with the UNDP agency, to aid development efforts to address the water shortage problem on the island. He makes the first of four visits to Trinidad in late 1997 and meets with the technical adviser, Ministry of Public Utilities, Khansham Kanhai, Water and Sewerage Authority (Wasa) officials and later that same day, with Hafeez Karamath, who tells him: "There is plenty of money to be made as a result of this project." Late 1997 to early 1998—Karamath and Hubert Bhagwansingh express interest in building the facility January 1998—Karamath, who had substantial loan facilities with Republic Bank, urged Fincor manager Cheryl Greaves to engage Austin as a consultant and offers to "undertake to meet all financial requirements in this transaction." The bank did engage Austin but refused Karamath's offer. Travel records seized by the police show Karamath also paid travel and hotel expenses for Austin and a companion to travel to Trinidad in January and again, in June of 1998. A police analysis of phone records show Karamath was in regular contact with both Ben-Dak and Austin before and after Austin submitted his report, which favoured Karamath. January 1998—Austin submits report to the Ministry of Public Utilities (MPU). It sets out the preliminary evaluation criteria and a recommendation for the construction of a desalination facility. He concludes: "The use of evaluation criteria and a weighting system rationalised the proposal selection process and confirmed conclusions drawn from a studied examination of the private sector inputs." He determined Karamath had the best proposal for moving forward and indicated the MPU should begin negotiations with Karamath towards an MOU. Early 1998—following receipt of the Austin report, then public utilities minister Ganga Singh and Kanhai went on trips to Antigua and Arizona, USA, to have a first-hand look at operating desalination plants. Two weeks after Ben-Dak sends the Austin report to Port of Spain, he tells his fellow Israeli WASA had rejected his analysis since he didn't have a PhD, nor was he an expert in water desalination. Austin told investigators he received no payment for his work on the evaluation process, and his involvement with the water-desalination project ended when he submitted his report. Interestingly, a note to Cabinet reports reliance on the assistance of Mark Austin from the UN. No reference is made to Dr Ben-Dak. March 1998—Karamath proposed an "exclusive teaming arrangement" to WASA, in which his company would enter into agreements with various necessary parties and would also lease ten acres of unimproved land within the Pt Lisas Industrial estate to build a desalination plant. March 26, 1998—apparently, following up on the Karamath proposal, Cabinet approves an action plan in pursuit of building a desalination facility at Pt Lisas on a build, own and operate (BOO) basis. June 1998—Karamath begins the hunt for a partner. Enters into a MOU agreement with US engineering firm Ionics Inc. Ionics officials told investigators he talked as if the contract was a done deal. July 1998—the MPU invites proposals from private firms July 28, 1998—MPU issues formal invitation to pre-qualify for the BOO desalination project. Issues a deadline of August 21, 1998 for completion and submission of pre-qualification documents. August 18, 1998—Ben-Dak travels with his wife and daughter to Trinidad. Stays at the Hilton Trinidad as guests of Hafeez Karamath. August 25, 1998—Then permanent secretary Emmanuel George writes to Ben-Dak, in his capacity as chairman of a fake company, International Industrial Development Foundation, United Nations affiliate, seeking help to secure an industry expert. September 1, 1998—Handwritten fax note from Ben-Dak to Karamath, advising contact had been made with Hoffman and agreement reached for a US$1,000-a-day, plus expenses, four-day trip to Trinidad "for review of prep". September 3, 1998—Karamath, in a faxed response to Ben-Dak, agrees to cover transportation costs of US$3,000, the US$1,000 a day and other miscellaneous costs for the Hoffman visit. The Karamath fax contained a draft letter addressed to PS George, indicating Hoffman's company, ReGenesis, had received and accepted George's request for his input in evaluating bids on the proposed desalination project. Karamath ends the fax with this instruction to Ben-Dak: "Please Re-do and send to me for final approval. Call me! HK." (See photo at top left) Later that same day (Sept 3), the contents of the Karamath draft finds its way on a ReGenesis letterhead to the permanent secretary's office. The letter was signed by Mac Shaibe as chairman of the board and contained a footnote on Hoffman's planned visit to Trinidad on September 7 to 11, 1998. September 4, 1998—Karamath tells Ben-Dak the letter (see photo at bottom left) sent to PS George was "perfect", but there was a slight change to the schedule. The MPU requires Hoffman to be in Trinidad from September 14 18.

Postby UML » September 12th, 2010, 7:55 pm

ahmmm........u repost inside a thread?!!...........thank god d PNM no more!! :roll:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 12th, 2010, 7:58 pm

UML wrote:ahmmm........u repost inside a thread?!!...........thank god d PNM no more!! :roll:

Well for those who don't want to click on the link genius :roll: :roll:

Postby Monk BANzai » September 12th, 2010, 8:00 pm

UML wrote:

woahgaad...wasn't i saying this all along?...HP shipment coming from latin america?...cocaine included?

"He went further to say the Government was not dealing with HP in the United States but HP Latin America"

ahmmmmmmm u do know that HP Latin America deals with Trinidad and Tobago right?!! :|

ahhmmmm you do know that theres a $20 million TT annual cost that comes out of the taxpayers money for those laptops right?

as in.....every year for the life of the SLA (Service Level Agreement) HP Latin America collects $20Million TT of our money for really doing......nothing?

Postby UML » September 12th, 2010, 8:01 pm

ohhhhhh wow clicking is so difficult.....after all it is a website :|

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 12th, 2010, 8:04 pm

UML wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

backpedal ftl :oops: :oops: :oops:

Postby UML » September 12th, 2010, 8:39 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
UML wrote:

ahhmmmm you do know that theres a $20 million TT annual cost that comes out of the taxpayers money for those laptops right?

as in.....every year for the life of the SLA (Service Level Agreement) HP Latin America collects $20Million TT of our money for really doing......nothing?

well if u can get it free please bring it to the attention of the respective authority

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

u even more dottish than i thought!!

das not a backpedal.....das highlighting your stupidity

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2010, 8:52 pm

are ish/steve still relaxing in the infirmary ?

Postby Monk BANzai » September 12th, 2010, 9:07 pm

pugboy wrote:are ish/steve still relaxing in the infirmary ?

buh how yuh mean!!!

Postby UML » September 12th, 2010, 9:22 pm

nice avoidance tactic :mrgreen:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 12th, 2010, 9:43 pm

UML wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
UML wrote:

well if u can get it free please bring it to the attention of the respective authority

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

u even more dottish than i thought!!

das not a backpedal.....das highlighting your stupidity

sorry I not going to indulge you in idle banter, I have better things to do that argue with a failed phone dealer, you should pm duane to bring hutrini back

Postby UML » September 12th, 2010, 9:50 pm

another black blonde moment :lol: :lol: :lol:

so wat u doing right now genius?!! :mrgreen:

Postby eliteauto » September 12th, 2010, 10:52 pm

who is the current CEO of WASA? Is WASA not planning 2 more desalination plants?....more jobs/favors/money for the boys?

Postby UML » September 23rd, 2010, 1:22 pm

FEEDING FRENZY
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/FEE ... 91339.html
AG slams PNM 'brothers in law'
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Story Created: Sep 22, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 22, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

TEN people, linked by the chain of friendship or family to the PNM, raked in $84 million in legal fees during the years of the Patrick Manning administration, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan disclosed to the Senate yesterday.

"Amongst those 10, a former Government minister's husband, brother, brother-in-law," Ramlogan said. "Sister-in-law too," added Senate leader Subhas Panday.

UDeCOTT, the AG disclosed, spent $110 million in legal fees and $72 million (or 65 per cent) went to one law firm. To add insult to injury, he said UDeCOTT spent $28 million in legal fees to defend former UDeCOTT chairman Calder Hart before the Uff Commission of Enquiry.

"After all the squandermania, the waste and corruption at UDeCOTT, they spent $28 million to defend that man. And they want me to stop these corruption probes," Ramlogan said.

In a powerful response to allegations made by Opposition Leader Keith Rowley that he had hired his legal "friends" to investigate corruption, Ramlogan said during the "feeding frenzy" local attorneys were paid over $158 million by the Ministry of the Attorney General. He said a total of $624 million in legal fees were paid by the State during 2002-2010.

"Monkey doh watch he own tail," the AG quipped.

"When I looked at the Uff Commission of Enquiry... I said 'Oh my God'... when people ask what criteria was used (by me), how you hired these people (on the A-team to investigate corruption) ... I wonder where was that voice when you were in government and they were doing this. The chain of friendship that was built and well natured by the Manning administration in relation to the retention of counsel and legal firms, really reduced itself to a feeding frenzy on the nation's coffers."

The Ministry of Health, he noted, paid $22.5 million in legal fees just on the Scarborough Hospital project. That money could have helped complete the hospital for the people of Tobago, he said.

"Could you imagine a minister's husband, a minister's brother-in-law, minister's brother, law firms with distinct identifiable political connections given the personalities that served as partners in those firms, distinct political connections and direct access to the government? They were the choice firms to get the most lucrative work," Ramlogan thundered.

He noted that while Pennelope Beckles was not a "favoured daughter", "I can tell you, Senator Fitzgerald Hinds and Senator Faris Al-Rawi are among them".

"They too benefitted. One was on the panel of FCB getting work. When you go to mortgage your house, to buy anything, you have to pay for the lawyer's signature," he said.

"Poor lawyers who come from poor families, like myself, like Mr Panday, when you graduate from law school and you top the law faculty, there is no space for people like you and me in this country. You have to have connections; you have to have parents who frequent the cocktail circuit; you have to have a father who could play golf; and most importantly you must have a connection with the ruling party of the day," he said.

"One set of law chambers in PoS repeatedly got all the briefs. One senior counsel and two junior counsels were repeatedly retained. They became overnight experts in criminal law, extradition, dog bite man, man bite dog, whatever you had, any kind of case.

"Law lecturers—whether from the Mona campus, St Augustine ... suddenly got juicy briefs from the State. They managed to juggle a full-time lectureship while being in the court every day. What can I say?"

He added, "You see when they wish to cast aspersions on us and talk about friends and family, let me set the record clear: the Government and the Attorney General is not related in any way to any of the persons on those corruption probes. Let them take that. These are the facts!"

Ramlogan said the total legal fees paid by his ministry during the period 2001-2010 amounted to $213 million. That, he said, did not include the state enterprise sector.

"It is almost as though litigation is artificially created, manufactured and generated to sustain certain individuals, and senior longstanding members of the inner bar are bypassed in favour of a chosen few. They have no qualms in hiring their friends and family, they kept it hush-hush," he said, recalling that when a question was asked in the Parliament about the quantum of fees to a certain attorney, the PNM said it would be an invasion of privacy.

Ramlogan said at the National Energy Corporation, out of 23 pending cases, 17 went to one law firm in San Fernando.

"And that one firm ... has a senior member of the former government on his partnership board," he said. Added Panday: "No wonder he used to treat us so in the House."

"National Quarries ... they chose the firm of Alexander Jeremie and Company. Could you imagine that, that firm is briefed to prepare draft legislation for the National Lotteries Control Board? Could you imagine ... that the Ministry of Health shows that in 2010, Alexander Jeremie and Company is retained and paid handsomely for advice on consultation on the Tobacco Bill," Ramlogan stated.

"Madam Vice President, the office of the Chief Parliamentary Counsel and Solicitor General housed in the Ministry of the Attorney General routinely provides that kind of advice. But the NLCB and other state agencies retained the very law firm from which my predecessor came. I do not fault him. I know what the salary is like. I sympathise with him. I am happy that he got through. It is just that I am worried about people like Senator Beckles and other people in the legal profession."

The total legal fees paid to foreign attorneys during the ten-year period of the Manning administration amounted to $213 million, he said.

Saying that he did not think it would be proper for him to call the names of the multi-millionaires that the PNM created, Ramlogan said: "This group of familiar names appears almost as if by note. They continue to magically appear time and again whatever the nature, complexity or subject matter. It is almost as though the rest of the legal profession suffered from some unidentified collective intellectual deficiency that they alone knew about," he said.

On the CLICO issue, the AG said Government intended to bring an amendment to the Central Bank Act to vest responsibility for all non-criminal litigation arising out of this financial emergency in the office of the Attorney General.

Commenting afterwards, Hinds said he only got no more than $200,000 in briefs from the State. He said the AG's comments were scandalous and he had misled the House. Al-Wari meanwhile said he never got any work from the State.

HANG YUH HEADS IN SHAME PNMites!!!!!!

Postby RASC » September 23rd, 2010, 1:38 pm

...Steve and Ish, what's the latest on these two stooges ppl?

Postby UML » October 8th, 2010, 7:43 am

TT Smart Cards

600 ppl removed for undeserving allocation

Postby UML » October 8th, 2010, 9:01 pm

$21 million for a transportation study that was NEVER done :shock:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 9th, 2010, 7:19 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_47 ... 16654.html

$47m AWARD IN ONE DAY
Airports Authority signs off on lighting contract to Central firm

By Carolyn Kissoon South Bureau
Story Created: Oct 8, 2010 at 11:46 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 8, 2010 at 11:46 PM ECT
A contract valued at $47 million was approved by the Airports Authority (AA) on September 21, a day after a Central company won a bid to upgrade the lights at Piarco International Airport.
The details of the contract are contained in a letter of acceptance, dated September 21, sent by AA to the company.
The letter was first disclosed on the Breaking Barriers television show of broadcaster Inshan Ishmael, a supporter of the People's Partnership who raised questions about the award.
A former board member of AA has also described the contract award as "impossible". He said AA regulations allowed the board to award contracts to a maximum of $500,000 and only in "absolute emergencies".
AA is one of the State companies which has been operating without a board of directors since the May 24 general election. Members of the former board, which was chaired by John Eckstein, resigned on June 30.
Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner is the line minister in charge of AA and had been made aware of the contract details.
The $47,785,762.92 (plus $7.1 million VAT) proposal was made by Harry Persad and Sons Ltd, a company located at Mohepath Trace, St Helena Village, Piarco.
The letter, signed off by AA's corporate secretary/legal adviser Hayden Newton, stated: "We refer to your price proposal for the upgrade of the approach lighting system and the airfield lighting infrastructure at the Piarco International Airport, dated September 20, 2010, and advise that your proposal is acceptable to us."
The letter was copied to AA acting general manager Louis Frederick and deputy general manager Varma Joadsingh, who has responsibility for Estate Planning and Business Development.
Several attempts to contact Warner for comment on the issue during the day yesterday were unsuccessful. Speaking through one of his communications specialists late last night, however, Warner said he was in a Cabinet meeting at the Red House in Port of Spain. The meeting was called immediately following yesterday's session of Parliament to discuss State board appointments and went late into the night.
Contacted yesterday, an official at Harry Persad and Sons Ltd said he was unable to confirm the contract was awarded.
"I am unable to answer questions on that issue. Mr (Harry) Persad is the most suitable person, but he is unavailable."
Former Chaguanas mayor Natasha Navas, who now holds the position of human resources manager at the Airports Authority, could not be reached last evening.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 9th, 2010, 7:32 pm

Just heard that the AG has decided to extradite Ish Galbaransingh and Steve Ferguson.

Postby UML » October 10th, 2010, 11:18 am

UML wrote:TT Smart Cards

600 ppl removed for undeserving allocation

has been increased to 1027 unqualified smart card holders