A mother's pain...really sad story!!!

Postby UML » September 5th, 2010, 12:09 am

A mother’s pain
‘My mistake was having confidence in the health care system’
By Richard Charan richard.charan@trinidadexpress.com
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/A-m ... 06549.html

Story Created: Sep 4, 2010 at 1:51 AM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 4, 2010 at 2:05 AM ECT

Your children are not supposed to die before you. A parent expects to see its offspring grow to maturity. From conception to college, these defenceless little things nurtured into independent adults, to repay the favour, caring for you in the twilight years, seeing you to the grave, then carrying on the name.

It's the cycle of life.

Except that it isn't always so. Mother Nalene Anirudh will tell you.

Last week, the child she loved was taken at the age of 18. Andrew Anirudh was the fourth to die this year, in Trinidad and Tobago, of suspected dengue.

Nalene would have accepted his death as God's will, she said. But it was the work of man, more than anything, she believes, that caused his death, leaving his parents in grief unfathomable.

The Ministry of Health has added Andrew to the statistics. His death is among those being investigated by the South West Regional Health Authority, which has called for a comprehensive review of Anirudh's treatment history, from his admission to primary health care till his death.

All four dengue victims died at the San Fernando General Hospital. The country had, up till month's end, 1,400 confirmed cases of dengue.

Nalene sat down last weekend to write a report. It will do nothing to help her anguish, she said. To close her eyes is to see him writhe in pain on a hospital bed and begging for someone, anyone, to help. But the report, she hopes, will influence other parents to make decisions that may save the lives of their children.

This is Nalene's story:

On Tuesday August 17th, around 8 am, I, Nalene Anirudh, took my son, Andrew Anirudh, to the Couva Health Centre. Andrew had a fever and he was complaining of muscle aches and pain. When I arrived at the health centre, a blood sample was taken and Andrew was tested negative for Dengue virus.

However, his blood platelet count was low. After he was examined and given a bath, I was asked to give him panadol and lots of fluids and to return on Thursday the 19th of August for another blood test.

On Thursday, my sister Omatie took Andrew to the Couva Health Centre. After waiting for almost two hours, she was told that the blood testing machine was malfunctioning. Then my sister took him to a private doctor (Dr Manohar from Couva) who did the blood test. He told us to return in three hours for the results. My sister returned home and gave Andrew panadol and a bottle of water.

After 20 minutes, Andrew got up from the bed and began walking towards the bathroom, when suddenly he fainted. He was unconscious, and the ambulance was called. They arrived within seven minutes.

Then, my sister Omatie went to the Couva Health Centre with Andrew again. He was still unconscious. They arrived just after 11 o'clock am. Andrew remained there for more than two hours without being given any attention. I arrived as soon as I heard my son had fainted and was taken to the Couva Health Centre.

They told me that dengue is not an emergency case. All this while, my son was still unconscious. I finally took it upon myself to call the private doctor who confirmed that Andrew had dengue. I had to go and collect the results, and only when they saw that he was positive for dengue and that his blood count was below 100 did they react with some urgency.

One male doctor saw that I was beginning to get angry with the casual, lackadaisical approach to my son's ailment. He responded by saying, "I can't handle her!" Finally, a female doctor attended to my son after I began having an attitude and letting those taking care of my son know how disappointed I was in their response toward him.

It was the mother in me who was crying for someone to help my son. They saw me as being rude and loud, but I was watching my son lying unconscious, and my gut feeling was that this was critical. Yet, no one saw my son's condition as an emergency.

After 15 minutes of getting medical attention, my son regained consciousness. Then, he was sent to the San Fernando General Hospital where he was shown the same casual attention.

The ambulance arrived around 3pm and he was taken in the emergency area. There, he was placed on a chair and asked to wait with his IV, a urine bag, blood vial samples, and paper work in his hand. He sat there for more than three hours before he was attended to. I was not allowed to stay with him. When he collapsed again, a nurse finally came with a wheelchair, and took him inside. After 20 minutes, a doctor finally saw my son. Finally, the IV was placed on my son. I stood in the room with him.

Again, he was sent to the third floor where he was seen by a doctor. After he was placed on a chair again with his IV, urine bag, and blood sample in his hand, I was told there was no bed available. I pleaded with the doctor to help my son. He said there was no space, but he will make every effort to help my son. He advised me to give him orange juice, and he respectfully listened to me. Although he was sympathetic and understanding, again, Andrew sat on a chair for more than three hours before he was warded.

While he sat on his chair unattended, his urine bag filled. I asked the nurse for help. She said that this was a public place and she could not change it. I asked her to show me what to do so that I can empty it myself. I took my son to the bathroom and attended to him.

Then I felt better, knowing that my son was in a ward, and left the hospital knowing that he would now be given the attention he required.

When I saw my son the next morning, he looked very ill, but was happy to see me. By now, he looked very weak and was having problems taking fluids via his mouth.

Again, I pleaded to stay with my son and feed him. The mother in me, I could not leave my son in this condition. He was helpless, and I was not given permission to stay - hospital protocol!

My son was treated like an adult because he was 18 years old. Still, he cried for me to come and be with him because he could not help himself. On one occasion, my son vomited, and my son called the nurse for help. She acknowledged him and said that she will be there soon. She never came. My son remained with the vomit bag in his hand. A patient opposite from him saw that Andrew needed help and went to his assistance.

My son continued to grow weaker. I was not given any clue about my son's progress.

On Sunday, I saw some blood in the urine. On Monday, I was bathing him and saw blood flowing from his mouth. After using the bathroom, his toilet seat was bloody. I felt that something was very wrong and complained to the nurse. Then, my son was taken to the ICU (Intensive Care Unit) because he was also having difficulty breathing.

In ICU, Andrew finally received much care and attention, but by now the disease had progressed to its final stage.

Before I left, the doctor took my phone number and said that he would call me if his condition worsens. My gut feel is that the doctor already knew the outcome.

On Tuesday morning, I received a phone call around 3am. My husband and I were asked to come right away to the hospital. We were allowed to stay with him until he passed away at 8.09am on Tuesday morning.

My family will never be the same again. Words cannot express the pain of losing my first-born son. I find myself crying every time I think of my son. All I have to comfort me is my faith in Christ and the memories from pictures, videos and family stories.

I am sharing my experience so that other parents can read, be informed and make life saving decisions with regards to their loved ones. If I had known this was how my loving, precious son would be treated in his greatest hour of need, I would have explored other options.

My mistake was having confidence in the health care system.

My questions for the authorities are:

How would you react if your child was shown this kind of care?

What would you do if you lost a loved one when you know that time and attention could have made a difference?

Would you take the chance in entrusting the doctors and nurses at the public hospitals to take care of your loved ones, or would you take them to private nursing homes?

How many doctors and nurses work at the public hospitals and also carry on their own private businesses?

Are their commitments to their jobs the same in both environments?

Doctors, nurses, care givers, to you it’s another day on the job. However, to the families whose loved ones are placed in your care, it’s more than a job – it’s the very essence for which they live and sacrifice.

Please treat every patient who comes to you as if he or she is your very own child or relative. Perhaps, then, you can truly learn how to show genuine care and compassion, and this, in its very self can bring hope and comfort to those who rely on your expertise.

On behalf of my family, I would like to thank everyone who supported us in our time of grief. Your outpouring of love and compassion will always be remembered, appreciated, and treasured.

Thank you ever so much.

Gratefully,

The Anirudh family

EDITOR’S NOTE: On August 20, the SWRHA's Chief Executive Officer, Paula Chester-Cumberbatch said the San Fernando General Hospital had an aggressive plan to deal with, diagnose and treat dengue victims. It included a triage system to deal specifically with dengue patients.

"Suspected dengue patients do not have to wait in line for attention.”

The SWRHA CEO said new and modern equipment had been installed at the Couva and Princes Town Health Care facilities, and that blood results could be accessed within 15 minutes.

"This new arrangement cuts down the travelling time to take the samples to the lab at San Fernando. A special team headed by the doctor in charge of infectious diseases has been assigned to monitor all activities relating to the newly-established dengue clinic."

The hospital also added 15 more beds to the medical wards to cater to the increased demand.

I REALLY DIDNT VOTE FOR THIS!!!

zcarz

Re: A mother's pain...really sad story!!!

Postby zcarz » September 5th, 2010, 12:18 am

Well that is sad, guess Trinidad is Trinidad regardless of who is in power. It's not the equipment, it's how they deal with these situations and they're still not doing what they should.. RIP

Postby sharkman121 » September 5th, 2010, 12:18 am

:( :( :(

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 5th, 2010, 12:32 am

Despicable

Postby UML » September 5th, 2010, 12:34 am

Im sure my "brothers" are proud

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=331770

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 5th, 2010, 12:41 am

wow - dat was a sad read....

jus like the police service - y do some of these ple get into these profession if they dnt really n genuinely want to help? to me, in these kind of services -this is not 'just a job'.

RIP n condolences to the family

brickman

Postby brickman » September 5th, 2010, 12:55 am

That bullsh!t going on in sando for years now with all cries & deaths swept under the rug.Was hoping this health minister wouldve looked into it but she is just a usless,crazy,dotish kant!!!Going sando hospital is like a death sentence now,rip to another promising life gone.Hope kamla would really do a cabinet reshuffle cause some of these idiots making the pnm shine.

Postby 3stagevtec » September 5th, 2010, 1:08 am

That was a painful and frustrating ordeal! I feel so sad for the family..

Postby DFC » September 5th, 2010, 1:36 am

I has a sads now :(

brickman

Postby brickman » September 5th, 2010, 3:02 am

Buh ah tort u loved the pnm?How dare you call them thieves,the rasc machine will punish you for the blasphemy! Why where you all silent why narace was skinning n grinning on tv while people where dying last year?

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » September 5th, 2010, 3:12 am

sad story of reality :(

brickman

Postby brickman » September 5th, 2010, 3:28 am

pioneer wrote:I was silent?
I stand for justice, accountability and equity.

Really captain nobility???Why didn't you get an award on independance day?If Sat got one so do you friend!

Postby DFC » September 5th, 2010, 5:17 am

Jai pioneer.
The saviour of tuner / weekend egg layer.

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2010, 9:10 am

Unfortunately, that's normal care in the hospital

Look my experience here, copied and pasted from the other dengue thread.

after my blood CONFIRM i had dengue, I had to wait near 24 hours sitting on a chair in the emergency room in mt hope, no tablets(except what I had brought myself) no doctors (not counting my brother friends who specifically come to check on just me and roll out)

doctor sunday night wanted to give me an olfen injection for the pain before my blood tests came back.

good thing i refused it.

it was a horrible experience though, I spend from 4pm sunday evening to 3pm monday evening on a chair in the emergency room waiting to be warded cuz mt hope had no beds.for that almost 24 hours, i got no tablets except what i had.

I only eventually got warded, and got my bloodwork somewhat quickly because of friends in the hospital

monday evening around 3 i get temporarily warded in the observation ward thanks to a friend

@ 3, they wanted to know why i didnt have an IV access as yet, and a nurse decide she gonna put it in

she miss the vein, and they had to put something to test if the iv was in the vein, i never feel so much pain in my life, i bawl and cry and cuss out of natural reaction, nurse get vex, tell me she hadda do the next hand and she coming back, i spend like 5 mins in immense pain jus waitin for her 2 come back and pull out the iv in my right hand

she do the next hand, same thing, i end up pulling away my hand and ripping out the iv from the pain, nurse said she fedup and she hope i survive without an iv access, and she just leave me there with the glove tied around my wrist still that they use to make your veins show up, patient next to me asked his wife to remove the glove cuz i couldnt do it, i didnt even realize it was cutting off my blood flow

I call my brother and tell him wuh going on, and he send a doctor to put in a iv access for me, i watch them put it in normal normal and didnt even feel a pinch, but from the on the same nurse was pretty angry and when shifts change, she tell the other nurses that i`s real trouble and how i rip out the iv that the doctor put in and that i afraid of needles, all kinda sheit

around 9-10 that night i get transferred to the hibiscus ward and from then it was more or less good

still had to get friends to do my bloodwork quickly though, because the guy next to me, who at a point had the same blood platelet of 22 ,he was sheiting blood,peeing blood,vomiting blood, coughing blood, nose bleeding etc, on the 27th, they couldnt find blood tests they took from him on the 25th, all kinda bs

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 5th, 2010, 10:10 am

I actually visited a relative at POS general......

Right next to his bed on the wall .....there were blood stains splattered all over.......!!!!!

Looked as though it was there for yearss.....

Man i cant understand why we paying HS monthly....

kal el

Postby kal el » September 5th, 2010, 10:32 am

i know this case personally also the patient involved. The parents lied when they said they were taking the guy to private doctors etc when this problem was officially starting, in fact they said just because he was big(strapped) they just figured it was a common cold etc. Then when they started to see red bumps on his hands, they decided to take action....and from there was all down hill....IMO the parents are to blame for his condition and no matter what tears they shed the guilt will remain with them. The should've reacted sooner.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 5th, 2010, 11:31 am

UML wrote:Im sure my "brothers" are proud

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=331770

can i ask what the $3 million ched has to do with this one?

Postby wagonrunner » September 5th, 2010, 11:37 am

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » September 5th, 2010, 2:38 pm

You know what the real sad thing is about these members of parliament who we chose to put into government, they came from the same backgrounds like you and me, the average joe and jane, no access to many basic utilities, you would think that as they reach into power, they would try to change the country for betterment. I guess the only thing they were interested in was to get out of the hell-hole they came from and never look back.

Rich and switch?

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » September 5th, 2010, 3:04 pm

jumpkickjoe wrote:You know what the real sad thing is about these members of parliament who we chose to put into government, they came from the same backgrounds like you and me, the average joe and jane, no access to many basic utilities, you would think that as they reach into power, they would try to change the country for betterment. I guess the only thing they were interested in was to get out of the hell-hole they came from and never look back.

Rich and switch?

LOL wut?

They are NOT the average joe

They jus wanted to get into office, have some power and now full pocket of themselves and their families

Well not all the politicians i meant, just the elder heads like panday and manning who had power for decades collectively but chose at times to put resources into some really questionable projects. they weren't born with silver spoons. they came from the times of walking to and from school for miles, bad roads no running water, lack of access to proper health care, etc..... you would think that they would care more their country and seeing that they went through some of the same experiences that ppl currently going through. But as you and i pointed out. they just cared for themselves. Guess that's human nature...............

Postby Damien » September 5th, 2010, 3:54 pm

This real sad yes

Postby goalpost » September 5th, 2010, 7:16 pm

this was sad to read nah....even if the parents didn't react as soon as possible..no man or woman should witness their child die.

Postby cinco » September 6th, 2010, 7:25 am

this is the state of our country people blame the government for the state of the healthcare system but clearly from reading experiences it is the hospital staff to blame there is no excuse for not seein a patient within 3hrs.

Postby SR » September 6th, 2010, 8:12 am

allyuh really have no idea as to how bad things are in public healthcare

especially with most of the staff/nurses etc working in it
typical attitude no sense of urgency
funny thing is a lot of the older doctors have that same doh care attitude while a lot of the new interns do sho interest and dedication
but with lack of support from the nurses etc there isnt much they can do as if you complain the nurses then have an attitude towards you especially as you are younger than them

this is first hand experience at pos general
from staff that show up after 8 for a clinic that starts at 7am
files can never be found because sombody didnt file them back
hoggish attitude towards patients
most shouldnt even be in health care as they have the same attitude as if they working cepep

people in charge need to sit in disguise for a day in different wards/clinics and observe for themselves
as usually when people know they are around its all roses

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » September 6th, 2010, 12:02 pm

SR wrote:people in charge need to sit in disguise for a day in different wards/clinics and observe for themselves
as usually when people know they are around its all roses

great idea!

but dey might fraid dey pickup some disease in d air and then hadda go westshore to be treated :|

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 6th, 2010, 12:05 pm

if you know how dengue works, and you look at the account of the boys death, it is clear there was some procrastination involved initially.....between Tuesday you take your son to the HC for the first time, and then on Thursday his blood count is less than 100, its clear that the "nah! you eh have dengue" mentality took place and they waited until it got progressively worse to seek medical attention......that said, i see some truth to the statement below....

kal el wrote:i know this case personally also the patient involved. The parents lied when they said they were taking the guy to private doctors etc when this problem was officially starting, in fact they said just because he was big(strapped) they just figured it was a common cold etc. Then when they started to see red bumps on his hands, they decided to take action....and from there was all down hill....IMO the parents are to blame for his condition and no matter what tears they shed the guilt will remain with them. The should've reacted sooner.

it is sad that the guy died, and i'm sorry for their loss.........the health care system is in a sad state, i too was on the receiving end of it when i had dengue last year.........they tried 9 times to draw blood from both my arms, and on one occasion when blood would not fill the syringe, the guy pushed back in the little blood in the syringe back into my arm....together will the the vacuum that had formed in the syringe..........some of those ppl have no clue what they doing, none!
i sought private medical treatment, and over a period of about 10 days it costed me about $800.................

on a side note.......do public medical staff operate as do they because they aren't paid as they should, and hence discontent with their jobs?

Postby AllTrac » September 6th, 2010, 12:13 pm

always good to take out a decent medical insurance.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 6th, 2010, 12:20 pm

^^^^^agreed........

Postby UML » September 6th, 2010, 4:07 pm

they say dengue is not an emergency case.....but i wud think unconsciousness would be?!!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 6th, 2010, 10:57 pm

St clair or Westshore FTW