Dog Issues

Dog Issues

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 12:56 pm

sup fellaz, i have a Rottweiler and shes about a year old however i have a problem with her, sometimes after she "goes off" she eats back up her feaces. Anyone ever had this problem? How can i stop her from doing this?

Re: Dog Issues

Postby DFC » September 4th, 2010, 1:07 pm

rub she nose in it.
also after she done crap....spray it with pinesol.

she eats it back cuz she like the smell.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 1:21 pm

:?: :?: :?: :?:
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on September 4th, 2010, 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » September 4th, 2010, 1:43 pm

Tap him on his nose, just a slight touch with your index finger (with a stern voice just say "no"). I currently have a mix breed pup and he was about to do that and after two or three times he learn to walk away.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Will try that, ive been putting stuff if her food to turn her away from it but she still eats it

Postby foss » September 4th, 2010, 1:55 pm

nothing like a lil fiber in yuh diet!!

netsket

Postby netsket » September 4th, 2010, 2:26 pm

eat it and show she ur reaction :mrgreen:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 2:39 pm

I carried her for a worm out like 2 weeks ago

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 2:56 pm

Wayz, i does give her an enitre bowl of food and she have a Bucket of water

so what to do? give her more food?

turbotommy

Postby turbotommy » September 4th, 2010, 2:56 pm

Leave the dog alone na man... atleast u will have less sh*t to wash down afterwards.... ;)

Postby shogun » September 4th, 2010, 3:48 pm

turbotommy wrote:Leave the dog alone na man... atleast u will have less sh*t to wash down afterwards.... ;)

Ah! ..is there any way to teach your dog to eat sh! ... nevermind. :|

spanish

Postby spanish » September 4th, 2010, 4:29 pm

Sometimes this habit could be a sign of a vitamin/mineral deficiency in the dog's diet. It's very similar to the human condition called pica, where persons crave strange non-food items like chalk, clay and dirt.

I think you should really check the vet.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 4th, 2010, 4:35 pm

they will grow out of it - i had a dog that did that, i does keep a heap of sand in the yard - when she goes off - i dump some sand over it and she don't interfere with it,

Postby Trini Hookah » September 4th, 2010, 4:40 pm

pee on de dog

Postby shogun » September 4th, 2010, 4:44 pm

spanish wrote:Sometimes this habit could be a sign of a vitamin/mineral deficiency in the dog's diet. It's very similar to the human condition called pica, where persons crave strange non-food items like chalk, clay and dirt.

He said he feeds the dog pretty well, so if it's pica, it's behavioral. A trip to the vet is needed either way though.

spanish

Postby spanish » September 4th, 2010, 4:50 pm

shogun wrote:
spanish wrote:Sometimes this habit could be a sign of a vitamin/mineral deficiency in the dog's diet. It's very similar to the human condition called pica, where persons crave strange non-food items like chalk, clay and dirt.

He said he feeds the dog pretty well, so if it's pica, it's behavioral. A trip to the vet is needed either way though.

Didn't mean to imply that he wasn't feeding the dog "well". In some cases, individual dogs have special dietary needs that the owner might not be aware of. For example, the dog might thrive on one kind of dog chow and not another. Maybe the dog food just needs a little adjustment of sorts.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 5:07 pm

sht are the dietary needs of a rottweiler

Postby Gladiator » September 4th, 2010, 5:13 pm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 5:46 pm

She gets Dog chow (Lamb) and rice, i put vitamins in it also and a powder for coprophagia

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » September 4th, 2010, 5:56 pm

You need to carry her to the vet again, maybe they could recommend something. Most pups tend to kick that habbit when they three or four months old or less...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 6:06 pm

Thanks, i was thinking about putting in some fibre, is this good or bad?

Postby Redman » September 4th, 2010, 6:52 pm

gracen wrote:Will try that, ive been putting stuff if her food to turn her away from it but she still eats it

Um if she eating her sheit you think you have something to turn her off??

Take her to the vet.

Later

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 7:44 pm

Okay :D

Postby Damien » September 4th, 2010, 8:29 pm

d phoq pothong doh do that

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2010, 8:46 pm

DFC wrote:rub she nose in it.
also after she done crap....spray it with pinesol.

she eats it back cuz she like the smell.

dude this is so WRONG
that is the dumbest thing people do
rubbing your dog's nose in poo will only increase the risk of an infection.............not to mention it's cruel

Postby bushwakka » September 4th, 2010, 10:33 pm

u google this? cesar milan (dog whisperer) may hav a fix for this.....its not uncommon, i've heard of it before

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 10:41 pm

ill register for his forum

Invisible

Postby Invisible » September 4th, 2010, 10:47 pm

As a Rott owner it is most likely a vitamin / mineral deficiency. Mine started eating dried grass, plastic, stones etc. Started him on some vits and all that stopped....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2010, 10:59 pm

i put vitamins in her food, what kind of vitamins did you use?

Invisible

Postby Invisible » September 4th, 2010, 11:03 pm

cot it from my vet....It's a blend of molasses and other stuff. Could find out the name tomorrow.