they also saw an industry that promotes wrong doing, making movies glorifying demons, satanic practices and anti-christian content.16 cycles wrote:one person sees a movie...nice special effects...leaves with thoughts of how wrong it is/was to enslave other races....
another sees the same movie and sees pornographic symbolism....
intriguing at one's perception of events...
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I don't know why he just didnt go and see something for smaller minds like Cats & Dogs 2 instead
Have you lost your marbles??? You want that good christian boy to go and see that expression of shamanism... animals talking like people, that's downright demonic...
... the coarse, vulgar, sexual overtones (cats represent the wild female side, dogs represent the virile, oversexed male - everyone KNOWS that)... and they're all NAKED!!!
.. oh wait.. nevermind.
Quite right! You wouldn't want your boy to be overcome and swallowed up by worldly thoughts, now would you?
You would then be forced to ask Megadoc to go and exorcise him...
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bluefete HOW is a Navi an animal or even a DEMON??
sounds just like the white man during the slave trade when they saw the black man as animals.
it is the HEIGHT of ignorance to fear and belittle what you don't understand.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:And how do you know that the 7 days of creation and the age of the earth (which you calculated to be 6000yrs old) is not also symbolism?bluefete wrote:The Jesus you know so well used high symbolism at the time
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Your mind is not even strong enough to realize it's just a movie!bluefete wrote:Its job is to convince us that what is wrong is right and what is right is wrong.
It takes a strong mind to understand that
But in true hypocritical style you will continue to watch movies produced by Hollywood.
Just like megadoc takes medication even though he can heal people through Christ.
d spike wrote:bluefete wrote:Hollywood is the new morality for today.
Its job is to convince us that what is wrong is right and what is right is wrong.
It takes a strong mind to understand that and to see it in the movies put out for human consumption.
St. John Chrysostom said to not look for demons everywhere, but where you find them, step on them.
You are seeing hobgoblins under every stone.
While I agree that quite often the 'silver screen' plays a major role in the growing materialism of today's world, there are times it surprises you and produces something that uplifts... 'Avatar' was one such uplifting movie, with Christian themes such as the inherent beauty and goodness of nature, the importance of doing right, the wondrous thing that is love, the beauty and honour of loyalty, friendship and sacrifice.
The only job Hollywood has, is to make money.
Get a life.
d spike wrote:bluefete wrote:So wasn't this demon possession? He did take over / was placed into the body of another Navi.
No, it wasn't 'demon possession. (Despite the behaviour of many of my ex-in-laws, humans are not demons) Didn't they 'build/create' the alien bodies that the humans operated? You must have had a sorry childhood... seeing monsters and evil things everywhere
Reminds me of a prayer that actually was printed in an old Scottish prayer-book:
From ghoulies and ghosties
and long-leggedy beasties
and things that go 'bump' in the night,
Good Lord deliver us!
There are so many dimensions to this Avatar movie. I stand by my statement.
Yeah... like the one about how enraged and insulted Hindus must be, by the portrayal of blue-skinned people referred to as 'avatars'...
If memory serves, Captain Kirk never got it on with any foreign beast.
(I admire the way you morphed "alien" into "beast"...)
Wait one minute... so, what's the (moral) difference between a green-skinned Orion chick, or Troi's grandmother, and a blue-skinned Na'vi? Come, come Bluefete... I never thought of you as a racist/speciesist...![]()
d spike wrote:16 cycles wrote:one person sees a movie...nice special effects...leaves with thoughts of how wrong it is/was to enslave other races....
Well... one's perception is based on one's life experiences... the quality of photograph you can take depends on whether you take pictures with an expensive digital camera - or a box with a coated glass on one side, a pinhole on the other, and a flash of gunpowder...
One would hardly expect Moses to be conversant about a Mercedes... Peter may have been an excellent sailor/fisherman, but he would have serious difficulty explaining to Andrew about the maintenance of an outboard engine...
Bluefete lives cowering from the imaginary demons that ooze out of the woodwork and swirl about him - exactly what St. John Chrysostom's advice was meant to help avoid. He will see them everywhere - never seeing the real ones.
And so he will succeed to spend his finite existence never really able to appreciate or truly enjoy it, keeping it sealed in secure little bottle, safe from the evil forces that plague his imagination - and colour his perception.
I had written before about the tools used by the Evil One, one of them being the seeing of evil everywhere. This is a prime example. The devil has a pretty good idea of how this existence will end, and he will attempt to ruin it for as many as possible - like the little bully who wasn't invited to the party, he formulates a plan to smash the cake, wet the presents, and make everyone as miserable as possible.
One way to do this is to take the joy out of existence... the Puritans showed us that this is actually quite easily done, especially with the help of religion! Enter Bluefete, whose self-imposed blinkers will never let him see the beauty of displayed love or loyalty, simply because he might glimpse nudity, hear a coarse utterance, or (God forbid) see two imaginary creatures express love for each other.
d spike wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I don't know why he just didnt go and see something for smaller minds like Cats & Dogs 2 instead
Have you lost your marbles??? You want that good christian boy to go and see that expression of shamanism... animals talking like people, that's downright demonic...
... the coarse, vulgar, sexual overtones (cats represent the wild female side, dogs represent the virile, oversexed male - everyone KNOWS that)... and they're all NAKED!!!![]()
.. oh wait.. nevermind.
Quite right! You wouldn't want your boy to be overcome and swallowed up by worldly thoughts, now would you?
You would then be forced to ask Megadoc to go and exorcise him...(Was this a show for ... gasp ...CHILDREN??)![]()
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:they also saw an industry that promotes wrong doing, making movies glorifying demons, satanic practices and anti-christian content.16 cycles wrote:one person sees a movie...nice special effects...leaves with thoughts of how wrong it is/was to enslave other races....
I don't know why he just didnt go and see something for smaller minds like Cats & Dogs 2 instead.. oh wait.. nevermind.
Hey bluefete, megadoc1's group is very powerful; you should contact them so that they can eradicate all of Hollywood and the satanic content they produce. I am sure his group can do this easily.
Clearly it hasn't been helping you!bluefete wrote:We need to pray for discernment
How do you know that 1day = 1000years is not also symbolic? 1000 years really meaning " a very long time"?bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:And how do you know that the 7 days of creation and the age of the earth (which you calculated to be 6000yrs old) is not also symbolism?bluefete wrote:The Jesus you know so well used high symbolism at the time
Because we are told that with God (for us humans) 1 day = 1,000 years.
Jesus himself sometimes spoke directly and sometimes in parables. When he spoke in parables, he sometimes gave the meaning. Not always, though.
Why do you go to cinema at all if hollywood has a satanic agenda? Are you a hypocrite?bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Your mind is not even strong enough to realize it's just a movie!bluefete wrote:Its job is to convince us that what is wrong is right and what is right is wrong.
But in true hypocritical style you will continue to watch movies produced by Hollywood.
Just like megadoc takes medication even though he can heal people through Christ.
~Sighs~: How else can I understand the Hollywood agenda. By guess? Remember I stated that if I had known what Avatar was about I would not have gone to see it.
How is this different from Benny Hinn, Joel Osteen or any other non-denominational TV evangelist in America or similar group in T&T?bluefete wrote:Agreed. But Hollywood's job is to also inculcate the themes of American Imperialism, Culturalism, Superiority, and so on. While making ton loads of money, of course.
Do you know any other green humans?bluefete wrote:The green skinned Orion chick was still a human. The Na'vis were a combination of human and beasts. (Do you think they evolved those long tails and ears?![]()
)
you are confusing discernment with myopia and conspiracy theory.bluefete wrote:Actually, I had a very HAPPY childhood. I did not see monsters/beasts in everything. It was only when I came into adulthood that I was given the spirit of discernment to understand what I was seeing and hearing.
a human is not a demon. Frankenstein was a collection of other peoples' body parts to make a new person. Try harder.bluefete wrote:So they built a body that the humans operated and then put a human in it to spiritually transfer to another dimension. Sounds like either Frankenstein or demon possession to me. Take your pick.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Clearly it hasn't been helping you!bluefete wrote:We need to pray for discernment![]()
How do you know that 1day = 1000years is not also symbolic? 1000 years really meaning " a very long time"? 1,000 years is a very long time. You got that right.bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:And how do you know that the 7 days of creation and the age of the earth (which you calculated to be 6000yrs old) is not also symbolism? 1 day = 1,000 yearsbluefete wrote:The Jesus you know so well used high symbolism at the time
Because we are told that with God (for us humans) 1 day = 1,000 years.
Jesus himself sometimes spoke directly and sometimes in parables. When he spoke in parables, he sometimes gave the meaning. Not always, though.
How do you know what to take literal and what to take figuratively? As I remember there isn't a little asterisk next to text that should be taken literal. What you are given understanding about, you talk about. The rest you leave alone.Why do you go to cinema at all if hollywood has a satanic agenda? Are you a hypocrite? What is it you have with the word "hypocrites?"bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Your mind is not even strong enough to realize it's just a movie!bluefete wrote:Its job is to convince us that what is wrong is right and what is right is wrong.
~Sighs~: How else can I understand the Hollywood agenda. By guess? Remember I stated that if I had known what Avatar was about I would not have gone to see it.How is this different from Benny Hinn, Joel Osteen or any other non-denominational TV evangelist in America or similar group in T&T? No different. They are all about making tons of money.bluefete wrote:Agreed. But Hollywood's job is to also inculcate the themes of American Imperialism, Culturalism, Superiority, and so on. While making ton loads of money, of course.Do you know any other green humans?bluefete wrote:The green skinned Orion chick was still a human. The Na'vis were a combination of human and beasts. (Do you think they evolved those long tails and ears?![]()
)
She was meant to be an alien in the movie! A human painted green is different from a Na'vi with a tail!!you are confusing discernment with myopia and conspiracy theory. Disagree with you there.bluefete wrote:Actually, I had a very HAPPY childhood. I did not see monsters/beasts in everything. It was only when I came into adulthood that I was given the spirit of discernment to understand what I was seeing and hearing.a human is not a demon. Frankenstein was a collection of other peoples' body parts to make a new person. Try harder.bluefete wrote:So they built a body that the humans operated and then put a human in it to spiritually transfer to another dimension. Sounds like either Frankenstein or demon possession to me. Take your pick.
yes so then why do you calculate it as exactly 1000 years and then say the earth is 6000 years old. Are you saying something and meaning something else?bluefete wrote:1,000 years is a very long time. You got that right.
There is single word to describe that thought, its called "IGNORANCE". If scientists just left things alone just because they didnt understand it then we'd still be riding donkeys and camels as our main mode of transport and we wouldn't have the advanced medicine and technology we have now.bluefete wrote:What you are given understanding about, you talk about. The rest you leave alone.
Well its a single word that means "Saying something and meaning/doing something else" go figure.bluefete wrote:What is it you have with the word "hypocrites?"
I take it your "non-denominational group" "doh deal up in dat"?bluefete wrote:No different. They are all about making tons of money.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:How is this different from Benny Hinn, Joel Osteen or any other non-denominational TV evangelist in America or similar group in T&T?
WHAT???!!!! Both are characters in a movie! Both are portrayed by a human actor with makeup on!. Are you on drugs?bluefete wrote:A human painted green is different from a Na'vi with a tail!!
Sorry, I never tried them in my life.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ King Kong is a satanic movie now? LOL
Errmmm - Wasn't that show about a gorilla/ape "simian thingie" who fell in love with a woman and all the assorted "niceties" that went with it?yes so then why do you calculate it as exactly 1000 years and then say the earth is 6000 years old. Are you saying something and meaning something else? I never said the earth was 6,000 years old. God rested on the 7th.day. The earth is about 10,000 years old, today. God's word, not mine. Why is it so difficult for you to belive that there could have been a rapid development of the earth? Yeah, I know, it does not gel with the scientific facts.bluefete wrote:1,000 years is a very long time. You got that right.There is single word to describe that thought, its called "IGNORANCE". If scientists just left things alone just because they didnt understand it then we'd still be riding donkeys and camels as our main mode of transport and we wouldn't have the advanced medicine and technology we have now.bluefete wrote:What you are given understanding about, you talk about. The rest you leave alone.
If you strongly believe that we should not go digging for answers then you should not use any of the technology and medicine that the digging for answers, questioning and scientific research had delivered. You should stay away from cars, planes, medicine, electricity etc. Unless you are saying something and doing something else? Explain this to me: - "And the graves were opened: and many bodies of the saints which slept arose, And came out of the graves after his resurrection, and went into the holy city, and appeared unto many." Matthew 27:52-53
Or this: -"They answered him, Jesus of Nazareth. Jesus saith unto them, I am he. And Judas also. which betrayed Him stood with them.
As soon then as he had said unto them, I am he, they went backward and fell to them ground." Mark 18:5-6
What you discuss about scientists, I have repeated often in this thread. They are fullfilling biblical prophecy given in Daniel - "Knowledge shall be increased."Well its a single word that means "Saying something and meaning/doing something else" go figure. I think I have been very straightforward on this thread. If you can't figure it out well ...bluefete wrote:What is it you have with the word "hypocrites?"
I take it your "non-denominational group" "doh deal up in dat"? I do not belong to any group.bluefete wrote:No different. They are all about making tons of money.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:How is this different from Benny Hinn, Joel Osteen or any other non-denominational TV evangelist in America or similar group in T&T?WHAT???!!!! Both are characters in a movie! Both are portrayed by a human actor with makeup on!. Are you on drugs?bluefete wrote:A human painted green is different from a Na'vi with a tail!!
bluefete wrote:Sorry, I never tried them in my life.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:WHAT???!!!! Both are characters in a movie! Both are portrayed by a human actor with makeup on!. Are you on drugs?bluefete wrote:A human painted green is different from a Na'vi with a tail!!
Racist, I certainly am not!!! Let's get that clear.
Yes a MOVIE about a giant ape who fell in love with a woman. How is that Satanic?bluefete wrote:Errmmm - Wasn't that show about a gorilla/ape "simian thingie" who fell in love with a woman and all the assorted "niceties" that went with it?Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ King Kong is a satanic movie now? LOL
Lets see, it's hard to believe because it does not gel with the scientific factsbluefete wrote:I never said the earth was 6,000 years old. God rested on the 7th.day. The earth is about 10,000 years old, today. God's word, not mine. Why is it so difficult for you to belive that there could have been a rapid development of the earth? Yeah, I know, it does not gel with the scientific facts.
Ah so scientists are fulfilling biblical prophecy by increasing their knowledge when they discover and find more proof of evolution and the earth is billions of years old?bluefete wrote:Explain this to me: - "And the graves were opened: and many bodies of the saints which slept arose, And came out of the graves after his resurrection, and went into the holy city, and appeared unto many." Matthew 27:52-53
Or this: -"They answered him, Jesus of Nazareth. Jesus saith unto them, I am he. And Judas also. which betrayed Him stood with them.
As soon then as he had said unto them, I am he, they went backward and fell to them ground." Mark 18:5-6
What you discuss about scientists, I have repeated often in this thread. They are fullfilling biblical prophecy given in Daniel - "Knowledge shall be increased."
Perhaps in your mind. Why support Hollywood if they are so satanic? Why use technology when it's the same scientists who support the theory of evolution who develop that technology?bluefete wrote:I think I have been very straightforward on this thread. If you can't figure it out well ...Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Well its a single word that means "Saying something and meaning/doing something else" go figure.bluefete wrote:What is it you have with the word "hypocrites?"![]()
I take it your "non-denominational group" "doh deal up in dat"? I do not belong to any group.[/quote]You admit that you stand apart in your beliefs then?bluefete wrote:No different. They are all about making tons of money.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:How is this different from Benny Hinn, Joel Osteen or any other non-denominational TV evangelist in America or similar group in T&T?
The second question was rhetorical. Answer the first one, how are they different when they are both just actors playing aliens?bluefete wrote:Sorry, I never tried them in my life.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:WHAT???!!!! Both are characters in a movie! Both are portrayed by a human actor with makeup on!. Are you on drugs?bluefete wrote:A human painted green is different from a Na'vi with a tail!!
You tell me, since you are a great "discerner". Spock's mother had sex with a green blooded Vulcan alien. Star Trek has had episodes with evolution already. is this satanic too?bluefete wrote:[b][color=#4000FF]But what is the message they are sending? We must be able to discern and see beyond.
d spike wrote:Hey, Mr. Straightforward Answers-yer-questions, Don't change the topic yet!!!Leave the walking fish and bush alone and deal with this.bluefete wrote:Sorry, I never tried them in my life.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:WHAT???!!!! Both are characters in a movie! Both are portrayed by a human actor with makeup on!. Are you on drugs?bluefete wrote:A human painted green is different from a Na'vi with a tail!!
Isn't it just like you to only focus on the one question that has NOTHING to do with the issue at hand. Your using drugs? Good grief... I don't think anyone is interested in hearing your confessions.
"Painted green" eh? What sort of BS answer was that? The difference was based on budget and technology! Both characters represented bipedal aliens. That sort of preference for similar life-forms over dissimilar life-forms is referred to by Terry Prachett as a form of racism he terms "speciesism" (in good humour, of course - you humourless bung.)Racist, I certainly am not!!! Let's get that clear.
Then why the implied claim that the similar-looking alien was "human", while the less similar one was not? Obviously, in comparing the two ALIEN creatures, you preferred one over the other based on appearance... that could be argued as 'prejudiced', my boy...![]()
The bottom line is that it's a STORY, a work of FICTION. What it depicts, what it teaches, is far more important than what it is. Just because someone is different, doesn't mean they are LESS IMPORTANT. All life is important.
Critiquing a story isn't done the same way as a factual or argumentative article. One doesn't start tearing it apart and then criticizing each piece. You have to look and see what the author was trying to say, then decide whether he said it clearly enough.
If you look too closely at a mirror, all you see is glass.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ LOL I missed that one.
I know some fundamentalist christian groups were boycotting Narnia movies.Opinion is good! But there is opinion and then there is pulling out articles and quotes and repeating the concept in a religious thread, changing the 167 page topic title and claiming the movie is satanic all the while shouting "SEE! I TOLD YOU SO" in a prophetic tone.QG wrote:I don't think he is judging duane, he is pointing out his views as to how he sees the movie.
I understand the point he is making.
QG I am glad that you are still sane, level headed and self thinking like most of the good christians I know.
sMASH wrote:^^ and teenage mutant ninja turtles?
Glad to hear!QG wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ LOL I missed that one.
I know some fundamentalist christian groups were boycotting Narnia movies.Opinion is good! But there is opinion and then there is pulling out articles and quotes and repeating the concept in a religious thread, changing the 167 page topic title and claiming the movie is satanic all the while shouting "SEE! I TOLD YOU SO" in a prophetic tone.QG wrote:I don't think he is judging duane, he is pointing out his views as to how he sees the movie.
QG I am glad that you are still sane, level headed and self thinking like most of the good christians I know.
Thanks dude, I just do what I need to do.
Take for instance, Pastor Cuffie does post his article at times on Newsday to share his views on what he likes and dislikes together with scripts from the bible.
Because he is a Pastor, does that mean that every Christian plus myself must agree with him???
Let me answer it one time...NO!!![]()
I separate myself from those Christians who think their ways are ALWAYS right and does not take heed into other people's views.
As a Christian, I do what I must for the Lord, but at the same time there are ways in handling situations. I don't believe in FORCING my beliefs into someone who is not of my faith, plus I like to stay open minded at all times.
QG wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ LOL I missed that one.
Take for instance, Pastor Cuffie does post his article at times on Newsday to share his views on what he likes and dislikes together with scripts from the bible.
Because he is a Pastor, does that mean that every Christian plus myself must agree with him???
I separate myself from those Christians who think their ways are ALWAYS right and does not take heed into other people's views.
As a Christian, I do what I must for the Lord, but at the same time there are ways in handling situations. I don't believe in FORCING my beliefs into someone who is not of my faith, plus I like to stay open minded at all times.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Glad to hear!QG wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ LOL I missed that one.
It is important for all of humanity to stay open minded. When scientists discovered the earth was not the center of the universe I am sure it rocked alot of religious beliefs and they have since "changed their thinking" around this fact. Of course there are the conspirators who feel the scientists are lying.