need help hittin 4ghz on phenom 2 955

jm3

need help hittin 4ghz on phenom 2 955

Postby jm3 » August 24th, 2010, 10:46 am

hi guys need help from some local ocers i have hit a limit in my oc'ing i cant get the processor (amd phenom 2 955 be c3) over 3.8ghz stable. the problem stems from the ambient air temp as we live in a tropical environment i have my aircon as cold as it can go i am currently using a thermaltake v1 cooler,
does water cooling perform better enough in this country to warrant buying it over high performance air?
my temps are currently 35degs on 10% load and 53 deg after 1hr torture test on prime 95 @3.8ghz 200/19x but the moment i push to go higher it bsod's and i cant see the temps i am using the multiplier to increase the clock rather than the reference so my ram is at stock speed.
any help from some more experienced oc'ers would be very much apreciated
:)

Re: need help hittin 4ghz on phenom 2 955

Postby bushwakka » August 24th, 2010, 11:02 am

yes, the water cooling will reduce your temps, theoretically even a moderate LCS will be better than the best air cooling system because of liquids greater capacity to remove heat from the system

that being said, make sure ur radiator is situated in a position to return the max heat to the environment, this is the reason i prefer a radiator outside of the computer case

another point is that there are other ways to better system performance rather than clock speed on ur processor alone

noobie

Postby noobie » August 24th, 2010, 11:11 am

If it BSOD as soon as you push it higher, how are you sure it isn't a voltage/hardware issue?

It should run a bit then you should start to see the temps rise under load until it crashes.

If it crashes immediately that's not heat.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 24th, 2010, 11:50 am

i dont see a hardware problem its running on a msi 790fx gd70 the voltage is at 1.45v peopel have achieved 4ghz on 1.45 i can go higher but that will definately push the temp im not doing this for overall system performance because tbh i have no use for a quad at 4ghz its just for personal achievement purposes i just want to see if i can do it :)

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 24th, 2010, 2:48 pm

jm3 wrote:i dont see a hardware problem its running on a msi 790fx gd70 the voltage is at 1.45v peopel have achieved 4ghz on 1.45 i can go higher but that will definately push the temp im not doing this for overall system performance because tbh i have no use for a quad at 4ghz its just for personal achievement purposes i just want to see if i can do it :)

Different revision processors can achieve diff levels of overclocks. Different mainboards also affect the level of overclock you can achieve.

You may have to push the voltage towards 1.5V or a little over to get that 4ghz an d increase the northbridge chipset voltage by 0.1-0.3V. Watercooling may help as well but since you have a/c a better type air cooler may be able to keep the temps low enough for the cpu to be stable. Try cooling the northbridge chipset as well if you're using the FSB to overclock instead of the multiplier.

You can try these articles for reference:

http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/revi ... 55_15.html

http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews ... _955/3.htm

And well these guys achieved the 4GHz mark already:

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm? ... 393&page=4

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 24th, 2010, 3:33 pm

the last article is exactly what i have been doing i went as high as i could on the multiplier and got 200/19 which yielded the 3.8ghz@ 1.45v but then when i go 19.5 and up it instantly bsods so tonight ill up the voltage again and try a higher reference i know the ram handled 220 just fine before that would yield 4.1ghz ill post up a cpu- screenie if i do it.
hcca your correct on the revision there is a big difference in oc ability between the c2 and c3 revision of the 955 the c2 aparently wasnt able to go very high at all in comparison.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 24th, 2010, 11:09 pm

upped the vcore to 1.5v upped the ref to 216 increased nb to 1.15v.
im going to torture test it now but its stable enough atm to do the screenie upload it to facebook then write this post so if it holds for 20mins ill go for 4.1 then 4.2 and so on current temp at 10% load is 42deg.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 24th, 2010, 11:25 pm

alright it failed the torture it rose to 61 deg in 2 mins lol and went into thermal shutdown so now i know that if i can cool it more it will hold 4ghz thanks for your help guys particularly hcca. ill repost on here once i get a new cooler looking at the corsair h50 or a coolermaster v10. anybody used both of these?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 25th, 2010, 7:38 am

The corsair h50 is a boss cooler, i highly recommend it for entry level liquid cooling. Plus you can use two 120mm fans on it as well.

Kept my Intel Xeon E3110 3Ghz oc to 4.3ghz 30 degrees cooler than the Coolermaster Hyper 212 HSF i had on it. Load temps were at maximum 70 degrees celsius with the corsair and over 100 degrees with the Coolermaster.

The V10 is a big bulky thing, wouldn't recommend it really because of the size.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 25th, 2010, 8:27 am

HCCA wrote:The corsair h50 is a boss cooler, i highly recommend it for entry level liquid cooling. Plus you can use two 120mm fans on it as well.

Kept my Intel Xeon E3110 3Ghz oc to 4.3ghz 30 degrees cooler than the Coolermaster Hyper 212 HSF i had on it. Load temps were at maximum 70 degrees celsius with the corsair and over 100 degrees with the Coolermaster.

The V10 is a big bulky thing, wouldn't recommend it really because of the size.

I agree on the V10, big rubbish ... the H50 in push/pull mode is good, but Corsair, has upped the game with an H70 now: http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Hydro-Per ... 991&sr=8-1

I myself run a Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B ... Which is excellent for the $$, but a pain in the arse to install ...

Don't disregard cooling on air, this Noctua is one of the best: http://www.amazon.com/Noctua-Heatpipe-B ... 059&sr=1-1

If your case can accommodate it.

Also your case itself will contribute to just how much you can push the envelope, my next purchase (unless something better comes along): http://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Alumi ... 187&sr=1-1

Amazing cooling with that case.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 9:00 am

well i have been paid today so i think my shopping list will be a corsair h50 and i feel to get a coolermaster haf 922 case. although i dont really feel like paying trinidad prices on them lol think ill get them from miami next week

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 9:11 am

HCCA wrote:Load temps were at maximum 70 degrees celsius with the corsair and over 100 degrees with the Coolermaster.

i have been reading about the true max safe temps for awhile but have been afraid to test it i have always played by the rule that 60 is the maximum without damaging it and the higher you go the more risk of damage,
but i have been reading recently that the modern processors can handle much higher temps if i could safely run it in the 60's i think it would hold the oc fine, however i dont want to burn the board and processor in pursuit of 200mhz lol

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 25th, 2010, 9:41 am

jm3 wrote:
HCCA wrote:Load temps were at maximum 70 degrees celsius with the corsair and over 100 degrees with the Coolermaster.

i have been reading about the true max safe temps for awhile but have been afraid to test it i have always played by the rule that 60 is the maximum without damaging it and the higher you go the more risk of damage,
but i have been reading recently that the modern processors can handle much higher temps if i could safely run it in the 60's i think it would hold the oc fine, however i dont want to burn the board and processor in pursuit of 200mhz lol

Actually i oc that cpu just for benching purposes. Normally if the cpu falls short of 3ghz stock when i get them i just oc them a little to that mark as i consider that the minimum clock for my systems. Highest i got the cpu to was 4.5ghz stable under a Corsair Nautilus 500 external lcs (discontinued now). trying to get my Q9650 up to 4.5ghz but so far i made it t o 4.35ghz stable under the Thermaltake Kandalf Liquid cooling case. 8-)

The Coolermaster haf 922 is $700 in PRW, best deal i find locally as Circuit Zone has them for $1000 so. The Silverstone case Mr. Go Slow mentioned is also a decent case if u plan on using air coolers, i have the RV-02 myself which i bought for high heat video cards.

Don't really oc AMD cpus cuz they don't oc too well without large amounts of voltage. Intel cpus usually give 1GHz over stock clock speed with a tiny increase in cpu voltage.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 9:48 am

i just had a read up on my cpu max temps which turns out is actually 68deg my thermal safety was still set at 61 from my old athlon maybe just maybe that might give me the room i need although tbh i would like to see it in the 50's at 4ghz or once i get a h50 in the 40's lol

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 9:58 am

where is prw? $700 for that case is pretty nice especially as that would be difficult to bring in my suitcase lol

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 10:04 am

that h70 looks like the sheit i like the side ports for the pump

Postby bushwakka » August 25th, 2010, 4:16 pm

before u make a decision on the LCS setup ur going with, check this site http://www.frostytech.com/

for reviews on the best cooling products

btw, sry for hijacking ur ched, but anyone know where to get a tube of arctic silver thermal paste locally?

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 6:41 pm

i do theres a place in maraval i cant remember the name of the store its in a white building on the upper floor its arctic silver 5 he has the small tubes and the larger ones its not cheap though thats where i get mine but dont tell to many people cuz im sure people are eating thermal compound or something, its so hard to find it in stock lol. a few times in the past i actually bought some cheap heatsinks to get the included thermal paste.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 25th, 2010, 6:49 pm

bushwakka wrote:before u make a decision on the LCS setup ur going with, check this site http://www.frostytech.com/

for reviews on the best cooling products

btw, sry for hijacking ur ched, but anyone know where to get a tube of arctic silver thermal paste locally?

www.rhdtechnologies.com

He's a powerseller on the forums too.

Bought like 6 large tubes of Arctic Silver Alumina last year from him, well worth the money since i do a lot of upgrading and cpu replacements. Don't really care for the AS 5 variety as the Alumina fares just as good in my overclocking experiments. :D

@ jm3, check out this cooler here: http://www.coolitsystems.com/index.php/en/eco-c240.html

If you do buy the HAF 922 case you can easily install it onto the top of the case and even use the quad fan configuration for it. :wink:

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 7:24 pm

ye thats the place rhd,
on the way as if you were going maracas from pos but please dont tell anybody else lol

i was looking at the coolit systems on youtube today i wasnt very impressed by the one i saw it was running 84deg on a +1.1ghz oc http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHyuSZ-Ydfg

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 25th, 2010, 8:43 pm

My question is why you want to go to 4ghz?If it's for gaming that makes no sense at all.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 10:02 pm

who said its for gaming?
i just happen to enjoy tinkering i have no reason to run 4ghz but i just enjoy trying to do it,
same reason as people tuning there cars to be more powerful than they came from the factory.
From the sheer amount of products dedicated to overclocking and forums filled with people that overclock,
i can't be the only one that enjoys doing it.
Why do people do LNG suicide runs on there processor just to see the max clock?
i know your probably gonna say why waste money on doing that,
but tbh this is a tuners website and most people on here including me do the same thing to there cars.
You really think you would be able to build a gaming rig without people that thought what if?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 25th, 2010, 10:17 pm

Hmmm back in the days when i had my Asus mainboard and my AMD 955 with my V8 cooler i got it to 4Ghzs with easy, i was running 1.47V on the CPU and i had some good 1066Mhzs rams that i keep below 1066 so my ram wont overheat.
If you need help in Overclocking vist my website forums.

http://www.firstchoicett.com/index.php? ... Itemid=180

I would advice you to get a better CPU cooler or you might damage the chip.

this video was my AND rig its a little dark.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBMjNiYWFEQ
After this AMD system i have upgraded to i7 chips because they can easily be overclocked and they give me about 100% better performance overall.

This is my current Rig.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzPSaPaN2dw
i7 980X @4.8Ghzs can get it to 5Ghzs but i will be upgrading my Water block soon .

Hit me a PM if you want to find out more or post on my website.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 10:27 pm

im already on your forums lol,
i check your site regularly,
ive been waiting for you to lower the prices on some ati cards but it never changes,
ive also been waiting to see if you got in a 1090t or 1055t yet to see if its worth buying from you or getting one in miami.
if i could go back in time i would have saved all the money i spent on upgrading the pc so many times and built a 980x system,
seems everytime i buy something new something better comes out i bought the 955 2 weeks before the 6 cores came out i checked the amd site when i bought the 955 and there was nothing there then when i checked again to get amd overdrive and stuff the 6 cores were there lol. i work by you anyway at the heliport i might drop by tomorrow any chance of a good price on a haf 922 case?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 25th, 2010, 10:37 pm

jm3 wrote:im already on your forums lol,
i check your site regularly,
ive been waiting for you to lower the prices on some ati cards but it never changes,
ive also been waiting to see if you got in a 1090t or 1055t yet to see if its worth buying from you or getting one in miami.
if i could go back in time i would have saved all the money i spent on upgrading the pc so many times and built a 980x system,
seems everytime i buy something new something better comes out i bought the 955 2 weeks before the 6 cores came out i checked the amd site when i bought the 955 and there was nothing there then when i checked again to get amd overdrive and stuff the 6 cores were there lol. i work by you anyway at the heliport i might drop by tomorrow any chance of a good price on a haf 922 case?
let me know which one of the ATI cards you are interested in the pricelist will be updated weekend as my container is in the port and will be clearing from tomorrow.

the HAF cases are
922----------------800
932----------------1200
HAF X---------------1800

limited stocks.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 25th, 2010, 10:39 pm

that 800 looking pretty good ill check yuh tomorrow and see.

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 26th, 2010, 1:22 pm

jm3 wrote:who said its for gaming?
i just happen to enjoy tinkering i have no reason to run 4ghz but i just enjoy trying to do it,
same reason as people tuning there cars to be more powerful than they came from the factory.
From the sheer amount of products dedicated to overclocking and forums filled with people that overclock,
i can't be the only one that enjoys doing it.
Why do people do LNG suicide runs on there processor just to see the max clock?
i know your probably gonna say why waste money on doing that,
but tbh this is a tuners website and most people on here including me do the same thing to there cars.
You really think you would be able to build a gaming rig without people that thought what if?

I hear you i just wanted to know why that's all

If you into oc'ing >.> here is where the trinis oc'ing is done