WALK - In memory of Accident at Mosquito Creek 15th Aug 2009

audioholicz.co

WALK - In memory of Accident at Mosquito Creek 15th Aug 2009

Postby audioholicz.co » August 13th, 2010, 7:37 pm

In memory of Accident at Mosquito Creek Saturday 15th August 2009 Collision which took the lives of FIVE

Time - Sunday at 12:00pm - 2:30pm
Location - Temple -> By Community Center in Oropouche - Call for Directions

WALK - To be held on Sunday at 12PM

Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs - The Honourable Ms. Stacy Roopnarine & Members of the Trinidad and Tobago National Cricket Team are expected.

This is in memory of the accident which occurred last year at this same date at the mosquito creek in south involving a Truck and a Maxi, the truck which collided with the maxi which took the lives of FIVE people.

This walk is in support of finding help for the family if the victims, most if them has never gotten any kind of counselling or help and still is in hurt and grief.

Please come out and support us in this initiative

For more information PM me and I will arrange what you need to know and a contact.

Thank you very much :)

Mosquito Creek crash claims two more lives
RADHICA SOOKRAJ
Published: 17 Aug 2009

The death toll in Saturday’s vehicular crash at Mosquito Creek climbed higher yesterday, as two more victims succumbed to their injuries at San Fernando General Hospital. Five people have now died as a result of the accident. Rajkumar Deonarine, 15, a student of Siparia East Secondary School, died around 9.30 pm on Saturday, in the arms of his mother Tricia Deonarine. Half an hour later, Rishi Ramlochan, 22, died on Ward 8 of the hospital.
His mother Geeta Gangapersad said Ramlochan suffered broken legs, massive chest and head injuries and two punctured lungs. Sobbing quietly at her St John’s Road, South Oropouche, home, Deonarine said Rajkumar was her only son: “I want justice for this…My child died innocently.” Up to late yesterday, three of the victims—Roger Ramkissoon, 14, Videsh Ramsaran, 18, and van driver Balram Heeralal, 46, were warded in critical condition at the Intensive Care Unit of the hospital.
Another victim, four-year-old Darsan Maharaj, was transferred to Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex in Mt Hope, where he was said to be in a stable condition. Maharaj’s father Mahindra Maharaj, 41, of Titu Hill, Oropouche, was warded in serious condition at Ward 8. Relatives said he suffered a broken neck. Three of the victims—Ian Singh, 41, Shivanand Singh, 16, and Darson Goolcharan, 36, of Ralph Narine Trace, South Oropouche—were discharged from the hospital.
During an interview yesterday, Goolcharan said he was lucky to be alive. He said he was sitting in the left front passenger seat when tragedy struck.
Goolcharan denied that the van was parked at the roadside when the truck slammed into it. He recalled: “We were driving on the road but I didn’t see the truck. We were playing music and singing. Everybody was happy and the next moment, I was on the ground and bodies were all over me.” Another survivor Ian Singh held on to his son’s hands as he recalled the tragedy.
Singh said he took his two sons—Shivanand and Sachin—on the excursion to the Queen’s Park Oval because they all loved cricket. He said he saw the truck swerve off the lane and come in front of the maxi. “Nobody gave him a bad drive…He just swing off and hit us,” he said. “When the crash occurred, the back of the van flew open and my son and a few others fell out into the sea.” He said his son Sachin was in the water and within a minute he was pulled out. However, he died on the spot.
With his head bent, Singh said Sachin wanted to become a fireman. “He used to love to see the trucks…He always used to say that,” he wept. Meanwhile, relatives of Videsh Ramsaran prayed at home that he would pull through. Wiping her swolen eyes, his mother Asha Ramsaran said, “I will keep faith and pray that he lives.” She said minutes after the crash, she found out about it and called her son. “He told me that he was in the accident and that he was in the ambulance,” Asha cried.
Last edited by audioholicz.co on August 13th, 2010, 7:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: WALK - In memory of Accident at Mosquito Creek 15th Aug

Postby Cjruckus » August 13th, 2010, 7:38 pm

Do we get to do it drunk?

you know... to fully get the experience of Drunk Driving

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 14th, 2010, 1:14 am

^^^try it and see...but please don't try to crash and die for that experience eh....

audioholicz.co

Postby audioholicz.co » August 14th, 2010, 1:29 am

It's an initiative to help the families of the victims

audioholicz.co

Postby audioholicz.co » August 14th, 2010, 1:30 am

pioneer wrote:dey havin ah music truck and tassa?

it's one yr after a tragic accident for these people, re-think that question..

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 14th, 2010, 8:51 am

^^some people here are just looking to rile other users up.

On topic...just tassa, pioneer. 1st year after all...

syncrod

Postby syncrod » August 15th, 2010, 8:19 am

hmmm, been one year already

Premera

Postby Premera » August 15th, 2010, 8:28 am

Cjruckus wrote:Do we get to do it drunk?

^^^^^ had it been someone close to you, i am sure your response above would have been somewhat different ? Unless you are really that illiterate ?

Postby goalpost » August 15th, 2010, 9:05 am

^^^ illiterate and racist...nothing new...

anyways can't believe a yr passed already...

apple

Postby apple » August 15th, 2010, 5:40 pm

CADD??

Postby Cjruckus » August 15th, 2010, 7:19 pm

Premera wrote:

^^^^^ had it been someone close to you, i am sure your response above would have been somewhat different ? Unless you are really that illiterate ?

Ive lost family in car accidents.
And I still dont support drinking and driving or Fast Racing on the highway.

So call me illiterate cause an inexperienced driver wasn't alert on the road and killed some kids.

Premera

Postby Premera » August 16th, 2010, 6:55 am

Cjruckus wrote:
Premera wrote:

So call me illiterate cause an inexperienced driver wasn't alert on the road and killed some kids.

^^^^^ pal, your first post and last one are completely opposite in their meanings......no offence is meant

Postby cinco » August 16th, 2010, 7:22 am

Premera wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:
Premera wrote:

^^^^^ pal, your first post and last one are completely opposite in their meanings......no offence is meant

doh hurt yuh head boy he supports slow racing on the highway
one less almera/b15 is always a good thing

Injun

Postby Injun » August 17th, 2010, 4:00 pm

Can't believe it's been a year already.

I would suggest that we need to be careful and smart about how we remember these incidents and the people that were lost: imo, the little shrine-like setup at the side of the road for one of the children who passed, while always clean and in pristine condition, is something of a road hazard as well as people not familiar with the area may be distracted by its presence.

I also noticed a signboard go up (Citizens Against Dangerous Driving?) recently... position is weird though, it's parallel to the roadway so it requires you to look sideways (or close to it) to see it... Is it even legal to erect these things along a public roadway?