Anyone attending Anchorage Pop Rock Awards?

haydn28

Re: Anyone attending Anchorage Pop Rock Awards?

Postby haydn28 » August 11th, 2010, 5:20 pm

goalpost wrote:Never went to one of these. Not exactly a fan of a bunch of greasy smelly indians dressed in black headbanging their long oily ass hair. At least daz how those pics on facebook make it out to be...

clearly u are talking about samman tree events

back in the day it never had that crowd in anchorage

twas bess :drinking:

brickman

Postby brickman » August 11th, 2010, 5:44 pm

Too much 'p*ssy rock' playing these days,seeing men headbanging to nickleback and sh!t yes.Rock men these days more emo than twilight.Was planning to go with the old school MRU crew but men have wife & child now,driving mini van,reading bible.Even the MRU gone soft,can't touch the George Paul days,god rest his soul.

mazda_star

Postby mazda_star » August 11th, 2010, 6:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:blackrose FTW

mazda_star

Postby mazda_star » August 11th, 2010, 6:26 pm

best rock song from trinidad

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 11th, 2010, 6:36 pm

brickman wrote:Too much 'p*ssy rock' playing these days,seeing men headbanging to nickleback and sh!t yes.Rock men these days more emo than twilight.Was planning to go with the old school MRU crew but men have wife & child now,driving mini van,reading bible.Even the MRU gone soft,can't touch the George Paul days,god rest his soul.

x100

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 11th, 2010, 6:40 pm

mazda_star wrote:best rock song from trinidad

never heard this one before, pretty good

Postby Sky » August 11th, 2010, 7:25 pm

OVERDOSE AND SPIRAL EVE FTMFW!!!
So clean and hard at the same time. So hard the wooden circle in Race Rock and ppl fall een.

*blames Hook*

chineerat

Postby chineerat » August 12th, 2010, 2:42 am

some rules of the APMA 2010

Bands are required to have no less than Three (3) members
No Computer generated music or actual computer (e.g. laptops, pc’s, Ipods etc.) to be used as part of performance
Sampling is Prohibited
All music must be played live by band members
Musicians are allowed to play with ONLY ONE BAND

All bands are required to perform Seven (7) songs
The songs for your selection as follows:
• Song of your Choice – 1 Song (original or cover)
• A-List - One Artiste (Three of that artiste’s songs)
• B-List - Three songs of your choice from the list

The songs chosen from the A-List will be your tribute act. Points will be given to
the closest presentation/performance of the tribute.

THE SONG OF YOUR CHOICE IS YOUR SONG CHECK SONG AND IT WILL NOT BE
JUDGED. HOWEVER IT MUST ALSO BE THE FIRST SONG TO BE PLAYED BY THE BAND

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 12th, 2010, 4:26 am

SR wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:blackrose FTW

hmmm

dais he pet name at home........not the band :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Hook » August 12th, 2010, 7:42 am

SR wrote:so in other words hook

yuh goin then

:lol: actually no....have 3 performances with 2 bands on Saturday starting from in d morning, so Sunday is to relax...at home

Sky wrote:OVERDOSE AND SPIRAL EVE FTMFW!!!
So clean and hard at the same time. So hard the wooden circle in Race Rock and ppl fall een.

*blames Hook*

:oops: yeah tha show was hard :lol:

Postby goalpost » August 12th, 2010, 7:45 am

haydn28 wrote:
goalpost wrote:Never went to one of these. Not exactly a fan of a bunch of greasy smelly indians dressed in black headbanging their long oily ass hair. At least daz how those pics on facebook make it out to be...

oh gosh :sick: :sick: I clean forget bout d Samaan Tree events..

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 12th, 2010, 7:46 am

^^stinkest rock events .....ever , :lol:

Postby buzz » August 12th, 2010, 8:12 am

haydn28 wrote:

but YOU would fit right in THAT crowd :lol:

chineerat wrote:some rules of the APMA 2010

Bands are required to have no less than Three (3) members
No Computer generated music or actual computer (e.g. laptops, pc’s, Ipods etc.) to be used as part of performance
Sampling is Prohibited
All music must be played live by band members
Musicians are allowed to play with ONLY ONE BAND

The songs chosen from the A-List will be your tribute act. Points will be given to

well thats just gay...

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 12th, 2010, 8:16 am

^^ no pally ,, doh put cooking oil in my hair

Postby goalpost » August 12th, 2010, 8:18 am

chineerat wrote:some rules of the APMA 2010

what list?

so wait nah, no original songs? well that's sheit

Postby goalpost » August 12th, 2010, 8:20 am

chineerat u a promoter or in a band?

Postby Hook » August 12th, 2010, 11:14 am

haydn28 wrote:^^ no pally ,, doh put cooking oil in my hair

u does put ah comb in yuh hair self? :lol:

Postby SR » August 12th, 2010, 11:57 am

i miss the original competition
those were the days of anchorage

but as stated before rory and co need to get with the times

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2010, 12:04 pm

you never saw the true talent in T&T at Anchorage, IMO
the focus on covers kept many talented bands away. Unfortunately the masses cannot party to unfamiliar songs, so Anchorage Awards would not score with a bunch of local bands playing originals, which is sad. The best bands I have ever seen were at small shows where bands are free to play what they want.....even those early days were disappointing to me............

Postby buzz » August 12th, 2010, 1:07 pm

^ ditto

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 12th, 2010, 3:14 pm

Hook wrote:
haydn28 wrote:^^ no pally ,, doh put cooking oil in my hair

u does put ah comb in yuh hair self? :lol:

rasta man doh comb the locks :rainbowafro:

Postby AllTrac » August 12th, 2010, 3:20 pm

1hb have grenggreng

chineerat

Postby chineerat » August 12th, 2010, 4:16 pm

goalpost wrote:chineerat u a promoter or in a band?

I am in one of the bands in the Finals (Fullmoon). I am trying to anticipate what the crowd turnout would be like.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » August 17th, 2010, 9:31 pm

so who won?

Postby goalpost » August 17th, 2010, 9:37 pm

Some band called 5miles to midnight...

the OP band placed 5th..so..umm, congrats.

Postby cinco » August 17th, 2010, 11:04 pm

5miles to midnight have that vid on tv all the time intersting

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 18th, 2010, 1:29 am

chineerat

Postby chineerat » August 18th, 2010, 3:36 am

REVIEW:

The band SHADES OF GREY filled the air with their sweet and sultry voices sending the crowd (well at least the female portion) WILD!!!!!!

Then up next came 5 MILES TO MIDNIGHT who in all my years have not seen such a passionate performance from a band so young and fresh. they tore up the stage with their Aerosmith Tribute!!! Ah mean that guitarist had your hair standing up straight...fuss he had talent!!!

up next was The band REQUIEM!!! A south band that we need to see more of up North!!! there vocals were awesome!!! want to feel like yuh rocking that was sensation with REQUIEM!!!!!

FULL MOON blew away the crowd!!! the female vocalists appealed to the crowd in more ways than one!!! they were the "cute" band!!!

OVERDRIVE!!! WOOOOWWWWWEEEE!!! there name alone says what they were!!! they ended the competition in total OVERDRIVE!!! 4 Female vocalist with Strong, soulful voices that made you want to get up and dance!!! a male vocalist that made TOTO come alive with the rendition of "Africa"!! A band to look out for people!!

So ladies and gentlemen what you all have been waiting for the results of the 2010 Anchorage Pop Music Awards:

5th Place -FULL MOON
4th Place - REQUIEM
3rd Place - SHADES OF GREY
2nd Place - OVERDRIVE
1st Place - 5 MILES TO MIDNIGHT

Postby MG Man » August 18th, 2010, 9:27 am

I felt there was unnecessary abuse of the Swift in that vid

Postby Trini Hookah » August 18th, 2010, 9:33 am

Adam driving ah Swift now :|