HDD recovery

Postby Sky » July 26th, 2010, 11:10 am

Hey tech heads. I wanted to know if there was any place locally that recovers data from hard drives.

I know someone with a Seagate Free Agent HD enclosure. It's 1.5 TB, though, they only have about 80GB of data.

When we turn it on, we get a buzz every 5 seconds or so, and the activity light blinks.
The enclusure shows up in windows, as a known device, but no actual Drivein the Computer folder. After a few minutes the buzzing stops and the light gets bold.

I tried the drive in a pc and it doesnt see it, still getting the buzz.

I decided to open it up over the weekend to see if there's a jam at the head, but nothing. the platters don't even spin. So I suspect it's the motor that drives them

It's a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11

I googled the problem and seems that this case happens a lot.

The owner is willing to pay for the data, it's VERY important to them. Maybe there's a place that could replace the motor, or put the platters in another seagate.
Any help would be appreciated.

Re: HDD recovery

Postby Sky » July 26th, 2010, 11:43 am

Also, it can be the bearing for the platters. The buzz could be the motor trying to turn them, but no dice. Because I also tried to turn them manually and got nada.

Postby buzz » July 26th, 2010, 11:55 am

how i reach in dis ?

Postby Sky » July 26th, 2010, 2:20 pm

buzz wrote:how i reach in dis ?

Well get out the HD.
You said you knew someone. Remembered yet?

When we turn it on, we get a buzz every 5 seconds or so

allyuh sure is ah HDD or piece ah weed?

1Sky

Every 5 seconds? For a man who spend so much time in UWI, I find you know very little about weed. Troll somewhere else.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 27th, 2010, 3:17 am

Once you've opened the case and exposed the platters to normal air, many places won't take the drive as you've probably introduced more particulates into the drive than there were before. I suggest just emailing a few drive recovery places in the states with a clean room and try not to faint at the price they call.

Postby Sky » July 27th, 2010, 7:24 am

Yea I know the prices. heard someone say 2800 usd.
Anyone else knows a place?

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » July 27th, 2010, 8:23 am

http://www.drivesavers.com - read really good stuff about them

Seagate has their own data recovery company

I think this company in Barbados does it as well:

http://www.cbltech.com.bb/
CBL Data Recovery Technologies Inc
Data Recovery
24-25 Goodland Pk Ch Ch