Australian man living inside giant Jabulani ball

kevcam

Australian man living inside giant Jabulani ball

Postby kevcam » June 25th, 2010, 8:54 am

http://g.sports.yahoo.com/soccer/world-cup/blog/dirty-tackle/post/Australian-man-living-inside-giant-Jabulani-ball?urn=sow,251020

In a scenario that would have Fabio Capello and just about every player at this year's World Cup preferring to tear their hair out with a garden hoe, an Australian man has been and will be living inside a massive version of the hated Adidas Jabulani World Cup ball for the entirety of the tournament. The horror!

Adam Santarossa was selected by Adidas to spend the month-long tournament inside of the gigantic (six meters in diameter) Jabulani watching the matches, tweeting, writing blogs and playing video games. Oh, and he's getting paid a handsome sum to do it. Tough life. The AFP explains:

"Other people have work commitments and family commitments. My only problem is getting my blog done on time," he told AFP. "It's an easy life I'm living. I'm sure people will be quite jealous."

Santarossa has a cleaner, free laundry, a PlayStation 3 and a laptop, and will get 3,000 dollars ($2,600 U.S.) for his trouble, along with the contents of the ball and three bags full of sports gear.

He is allowed to have friends round to the ball, on Melbourne's dockside, for Australia's games and even had a visit from a minor celebrity, singer Dannii Minogue's partner Kris Smith.

So I guess Adam will be living in depression-driven isolation now that Australia has been knocked out of the tournament with 18 days to go. But no matter, he's got clean underwear, a PS3 and a visit from the D-list boyfriend of a C-list celebrity to keep him pushing on!

"I had a bit of trouble at the start -- it's a bit difficult having people peer in through the windows 24/7," he said.

I guess it's not all fun and games when you are a human zoo animal.

"But it's a pretty easy life. I'm going to be seeing if they can extend my lease."

This just goes to show that many World Cup participants' worst hallucinogen-induced nightmare can be your average Australian Joe's fantasy life. Ah, the wonders of the World Cup ...

Re: Australian man living inside giant Jabulani ball

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 25th, 2010, 8:58 am

Hell, i'd do it.
thats a helluva loot.

Postby Greypatch » June 25th, 2010, 9:55 am

he is an idiot

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 25th, 2010, 10:01 am

Good money for doing nothing I guess, but I think the whole idea is retarded.

Jus' sayin :? :?

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » June 25th, 2010, 10:13 am

lucky bastard

Postby MG Man » June 25th, 2010, 10:18 am

^Pretty^ wrote:lucky bastard

I not sure abuot that. Money aside, how much fun can it possibly to see your fave team win a match all by yourself? Who yo gonna cheer with?????

Postby eliteauto » June 25th, 2010, 10:22 am

I not sure abuot that. Money aside, how much fun can it possibly to see your fave team win a match all by yourself? Who yo gonna cheer with?????

Friends are overrated, Fortress Of Solitude FTW

Postby AllTrac » June 25th, 2010, 10:28 am

i would do it just for the clean underwear

Postby MG Man » June 25th, 2010, 10:29 am

eliteauto wrote:

you used to build one out of couch cushions and a bed sheet when u were a kid, ent

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 25th, 2010, 10:40 am

its like being thrown into a time warp where you're 16 again for a month.

Anton

Postby Anton » June 25th, 2010, 10:55 am

eliteauto wrote:

you used to build one out of couch cushions and a bed sheet when u were a kid, ent

Everyone didn't do that?
I used a hammock for part of my fortress. :oops:

Postby MG Man » June 25th, 2010, 11:39 am

lol broomstick to raise de 'tent' roof ftw

Postby bushwakka » June 25th, 2010, 11:58 am

dat cud never be perfectly spherical like de real jabulani ball

Postby Greypatch » June 25th, 2010, 12:03 pm

they should supply a week pass for the man @ villa

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 26th, 2010, 12:26 am

lookin decent inside dey!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 26th, 2010, 7:00 am

man i will gladly do that for a whole year - it will be like you on holidays

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 26th, 2010, 12:12 pm

SO what is the whole point about having him live there?

Whats the aim?

Well for 2600USD ----say $15000 a month.....I'd do it.....to watch football and play video games....U cant go wrong.......

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2010, 2:59 pm

Nigson wrote:SO what is the whole point about having him live there?

Whats the aim?

Well for 2600USD ----say $15000 a month.....I'd do it.....to watch football and play video games....U cant go wrong.......

it's advertising for Adidas, $15K TT cash + around $20K TT (min) of swag after , media coverage and free food, yea I think that's a sweet 30 day deal

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » June 26th, 2010, 3:19 pm

eliteauto wrote:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 26th, 2010, 6:15 pm

its really a whole promotional thing to grab headlines - remember Adidas getting huge profits from the famous and controversial Jabulani ball

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 27th, 2010, 10:33 am

Why is the ball controversial? ---weight issues?

Ill google it....

E.T.

Postby E.T. » June 27th, 2010, 8:42 pm

amm how he eating/gettin food?

Postby Cjruckus » June 27th, 2010, 10:24 pm

Once you make the money you can buy friends duuuhhhh