Greendot Digital TV & Internet Service Thread

EmpireKing

Re: WTK: Who have Greendot Digital TV Service

Postby EmpireKing » June 13th, 2010, 7:52 am

Using for about two weeks now.....Better than the Independent Cable Company, cheaper and probably better than Flow. Heavy rains have no affected the signal in anyway. Channels are clean. Only 3 sports channels but it doh matter....TV6 shows superb for WC games.

Postby M_2NR » June 13th, 2010, 10:25 pm

Damien wrote:i find they sticking i made a request bout three weeks ago and i fulll out a credit card form so they can deduct everything from the cc, up to now nothing i fed up with flow $300 ah mth and half of the channels cant show good they run new cables and i changed the boxes and same thing

keep calling them. At least it's free if you got Smart Choice and a TSTT landline. and they dont take a year to answer either.

Tired Accord wrote:I've noticed over the last week or so, the on screen program guide is not up to mark. If you go to the EPG - most of the channels don't have the line up listed. What's up with that ??!! If you flip through the channels, though, you get it then...

same thing with mines. Doesnt affect me much tho. I hardly watch tv.

Postby Damien » June 14th, 2010, 5:55 pm

Paid for gd on thursday gone $2200 for two box and one yr fees,today they came and installed, shockingly my credit card aint even showing the payment yet they move real swift,working good so far movie channels real clean. will give it some time and see

Cant wait to tell flow udfr tommorow :lol:

Postby M_2NR » July 1st, 2010, 5:50 pm

So... "bad" weather here. All the channels choppy... :wtf:

1st time this happening. Is it because of the weather? or just bad connection?

Postby Damien » July 1st, 2010, 5:52 pm

my internet working normal though, i going and check the tv

Postby Damien » July 1st, 2010, 5:57 pm

tv giving trouble

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 1st, 2010, 7:30 pm

same problem here

xtech

Postby xtech » July 1st, 2010, 7:47 pm

lighting strike tower

Postby M_2NR » July 1st, 2010, 9:13 pm

^ohhhh :shock:

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 1st, 2010, 9:29 pm

xtech wrote:lighting strike tower

is this confirmed?

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » July 2nd, 2010, 7:42 am

they claim that bad weather is not supposed to affect the service yet every time there is heavy rains a lot of channels dont show or sticks...plus the audio has up to now not been sorted out some days u get audio on some channels other days its non existent or you need to turn the volume all the way up...after over a year in operation these kinks should have been sorted out

Postby M_2NR » July 2nd, 2010, 7:51 am

This time was the 1st time it was this bad. Something major had to have happened?

snicksnack

Postby snicksnack » July 23rd, 2010, 3:59 pm

Green dot internet is total crap and should not be called high speed internet more like a dial up alternative. Really in speedtest 14K down really it takes 5 mins to dl a song and 787 min to dl a 800 mb movie that over 10 hours people. i visited my sis who has it and I signed her up with flow internet instad its faster a 5mb down for 200 rather than a snail pkg for 268. Green dot is a WASTE OF TIME.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 23rd, 2010, 5:32 pm

snicksnack wrote:Green dot internet is total crap and should not be called high speed internet more like a dial up alternative. Greendot is a WASTE OF TIME.

You joined up today to report this?

Greendot internet has been known to be crap for a very very long time. You a few years late with your observations.

Welcome to the internets

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 1st, 2010, 1:20 am

Ok well I have also signed up for greendot TV-----feels good not having to waste my money any more on that crap flow has......Cant wait to drop in my cable boxes to flow's office......i still have analog cable.....

awaiting for the install ...hope it goes well.......was told that promotional offer would not be available from Tuesday 2nd August........

Whats the price for Flows Digital cable - monthly rent?

Only thing is that greendot is missing Nickelodeon, Game show and G4-----major channels for my kid...but i hope they do get more channels added to the list.....

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » August 1st, 2010, 1:53 am

snicksnack wrote:Green dot internet is total crap and should not be called high speed internet more like a dial up alternative. Really in speedtest 14K down really it takes 5 mins to dl a song and 787 min to dl a 800 mb movie that over 10 hours people. i visited my sis who has it and I signed her up with flow internet instad its faster a 5mb down for 200 rather than a snail pkg for 268. Green dot is a WASTE OF TIME.

Both the TV & Net is a waste of time...i agree with that...where i live though GD is my only option.... :cry:

but with regards to the net speed...it depends on what package you have...for me it takes 20 - 30 secs to download a song and an 800mb video approx 2 hrs...the crappy part is that the highest residential package is a 1MB connection...since flow will never be an option...jus have to keep hopin for blink ..... :(

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 1st, 2010, 1:55 am

where u livin bro?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 1st, 2010, 5:06 am

LikaStick wrote:
snicksnack wrote:Green dot internet is total crap and should not be called high speed internet more like a dial up alternative. Really in speedtest 14K down really it takes 5 mins to dl a song and 787 min to dl a 800 mb movie that over 10 hours people. i visited my sis who has it and I signed her up with flow internet instad its faster a 5mb down for 200 rather than a snail pkg for 268. Green dot is a WASTE OF TIME.

Both the TV & Net is a waste of time...i agree with that...where i live though GD is my only option.... :cry:

but with regards to the net speed...it depends on what package you have...for me it takes 20 - 30 secs to download a song and an 800mb video approx 2 hrs...the crappy part is that the highest residential package is a 1MB connection...since flow will never be an option...jus have to keep hopin for blink ..... :(

i know they advertise one speed but then you can download at a much lower speed
(re: Blink)....
So how is that connection working out....?
i can't see myself paying 350-400 for 1mb depending on if i take a 1 year, 2 year or 3 year contract! I wish their speeds were faster and prices more competitive...then they'd be competition but I guess if you living in a place with no Blink and Flow or both giving trouble (my situation), it may be the only option....
sigh.

Rx

Postby Rx » August 1st, 2010, 9:32 am

GD tv working good... good reception ... when compared to DTv ....

well no comparison in terms of quality- Dtv wins !

No Speed, FX, E! and of course, NO ESPANOL .......lol

much cheaper too ...GD wins ...lol

geodude

Postby geodude » August 1st, 2010, 3:00 pm

Rx wrote:GD tv working good... good reception ... when compared to DTv ....

so true bro i switched from Dtv a few months ago cause i never actually home to watch Tv so i just went for the cheaper alternative but i noticed an immediate reduction in Visual quality , i have a 42 full HD Sharp Aqueos ( i know i spelt that wrong),
anyone knows if they plan to upgrade soon to a HD package?

on the other hand my mons so happy cause she now has 4 Hindi channels, so to her this is the best that ever happen in the history of tv

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 2nd, 2010, 5:43 am

geodude wrote:
Rx wrote:GD tv working good... good reception ... when compared to DTv ....

so true bro i switched from Dtv a few months ago cause i never actually home to watch Tv so i just went for the cheaper alternative but i noticed an immediate reduction in Visual quality , i have a 42 full HD Sharp Aqueos ( i know i spelt that wrong),
anyone knows if they plan to upgrade soon to a HD package?

on the other hand my mons so happy cause she now has 4 Hindi channels, so to her this is the best that ever happen in the history of tv

jus got DirecTV...well the spanish ads that come on 80% of the time...well what ah go say...ah learning a bit but the quality of picture is pristine!...i dare say it trumps flow...
not all channels have spanish ads...channels like NBC,ABC,CBS and some others have good english ads.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 2nd, 2010, 10:03 am

Which has the better channel line up?
Dtv or gdtv?

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » August 2nd, 2010, 10:53 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
LikaStick wrote:

i know they advertise one speed but then you can download at a much lower speed
(re: Blink)....
So how is that connection working out....?
i can't see myself paying 350-400 for 1mb depending on if i take a 1 year, 2 year or 3 year contract! I wish their speeds were faster and prices more competitive...then they'd be competition but I guess if you living in a place with no Blink and Flow or both giving trouble (my situation), it may be the only option....
sigh.

yup its absolutely ridiculous the cost....thats why i just keep hoping for blink 1 day... :(
when i first got it...it was fine...but then when i upgraded my package i started getting a lot of prob...in that never getting the speed i was paying for and sometimes no connection at all (for aprox 6 mths)...but for the past year ....haven't had any probs *knock wood*

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 2nd, 2010, 11:16 am

....how often does gd add new channels? existing users feedback please>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 2nd, 2010, 11:34 am

as far as i recall, the only new channels they actually added was those hindi channels and that was way back when they launched.

other channels like mtv & synergy were 'added' eventually but these channels were already advertised as 'coming soon' when they launched.

apart from the hindi channels, nothing new has been added :?

even if they have to increase the price a liitle, i would like to see they add some channels like G4, Warner channel, E!, ABC family etc.

i have no complaints of the service really. my 1 year subscription expires next month and i plan to subscribe for another year.

they jus need to add some new channels dammit! :x

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » August 2nd, 2010, 11:35 am

^^ add new channels you say...thats a laugh.....GD once had a forum on the site where you could ask questions about adding new channels...and report problems etc...people would do this but getting a response was another issue...until they just took off the forum completely....in Nov last year they added 5 channels and that was it...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 2nd, 2010, 11:41 am

dont realy expect them to add any new premium channels for the price they charge.

i mean, it's $175/month and u get 2 premium movie channels, Starz & Showtime.

how much would Flow charge if they add these 2 channels? $300/month?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 2nd, 2010, 11:55 am

All I would like them to add is Nickelodeon,,,,,,I mean its the kids favourite channel....It works t keep them quiet 4 a while.........Nick has spongebob , iCarly, Big time rush etc......

I believe other GD users would agree with me here......We need Nickelodeon

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 2nd, 2010, 1:52 pm

any problems with gdtv on this rainy Monday holiday?

Postby M_2NR » August 2nd, 2010, 3:58 pm

I doubt they'd add anymore. My year in service coming up in oct. (thankfully i posted here about it)

a year flew fast! i think i'll be going back GD as well.