talking a good few 100 million usd

Re: F1 Racing in Trinidad

Postby teems1 » June 3rd, 2010, 8:17 pm

hhahahahahahahahahahaahhahahahahahahahaha

*pause*

*wheeze*

hahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!

Postby eliteauto » June 3rd, 2010, 11:06 pm

it's possible, some of the principals of one of the larger multi-billion dollar projects about to start soon locally, have an F1 license

Postby Rooki3 » June 3rd, 2010, 11:21 pm

teems1 wrote:hhahahahahahahahahahaahhahahahahahahahaha

*pause*

*wheeze*

hahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!

well said!!!

Postby Cjruckus » June 3rd, 2010, 11:24 pm

Man actually think because UNC beat PNM in an election anything is possible yes. :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 3rd, 2010, 11:45 pm

UML I don't think you comprehend the scope, resources and infrastructure needed to host an F1 race.

Mexico has been trying unsuccessfully to get back into F1 since 2003.

chin999

Postby chin999 » June 3rd, 2010, 11:58 pm

ah dudus me ah seh, na bruce fi nat'n....dudus ah fi bring F1 race track ah jamaica...inna d gaza we haffi race inna we yard but ah dudus ah bring world class track......gaza straight!

xtinguisher

Postby xtinguisher » June 4th, 2010, 12:09 am

chin999 wrote:ah dudus me ah seh, na bruce fi nat'n....dudus ah fi bring F1 race track ah jamaica...inna d gaza we haffi race inna we yard but ah dudus ah bring world class track......gaza straight!

Wut? :-?

Postby Rooki3 » June 4th, 2010, 12:12 am

mi luv dudus & we nah give him up, we ah go ded fi im

Sneaky Pete

Postby Sneaky Pete » June 4th, 2010, 1:08 am

You guys will quicker get NASCAR before F1. Trini don't have the $ to hold such an event.

I saw the article online from the new sports minister and just had a chuckle but admire his intensions.

Postby Monk BANzai » June 4th, 2010, 2:25 am

Think F1 TESTING...which is just as lucrative moneywise.....in the off F1 season alot of testing takes place and alot of jostling for "Exclusive track time" takes place as well.

Trinidad cud very wel lbe godo F1 testing bed in the off season of F1...

i have another question though, and i didnt want o ask it in the "oh lets revive Wallers ched".....why is it the same principals...the VERY men that made racing in this country run to the effing ground, be invited to "revival talks"?...why not bring in new Business minded blood and thinking to the racing rather than have Preist et al go to a track site and talk on set of BS (heard the taped ball by ball of the questions asked to the Minister) of what it cud do for THEM indiviually and not collectively as a bargaining unit?

Why?....

zcarz

Postby zcarz » June 4th, 2010, 2:50 am

chin999 wrote:ah dudus me ah seh, na bruce fi nat'n....dudus ah fi bring F1 race track ah jamaica...inna d gaza we haffi race inna we yard but ah dudus ah bring world class track......gaza straight!

Postby equipped2ripp » June 4th, 2010, 2:57 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:why is it the same principals...the VERY men that made racing in this country run to the effing ground, be invited to "revival talks"?

I myself thought the same :|

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2010, 3:16 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Think F1 TESTING...which is just as lucrative moneywise.....in the off F1 season alot of testing takes place and alot of jostling for "Exclusive track time" takes place as well.

i have another question though, and i didnt want o ask it in the "oh lets revive Wallers ched".....why is it the same principals...the VERY men that made racing in this country run to the effing ground, be invited to "revival talks"?...why not bring in new Business minded blood and thinking to the racing rather than have Preist et al go to a track site and talk on set of BS (heard the taped ball by ball of the questions asked to the Minister) of what it cud do for THEM indiviually and not collectively as a bargaining unit?

Why?....

Like who? If these individuals were interested in having a say/making a contribution, why don't they step forward and make themselves heard? Like it or not, when most Trinis hear racing, Frankie/Cow etc come to mind first eh!

Postby SR » June 4th, 2010, 3:51 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Think F1 TESTING...which is just as lucrative moneywise.....in the off F1 season alot of testing takes place and alot of jostling for "Exclusive track time" takes place as well.

Why?....

sigh

destine to fail already before it even starts

same way you have gotten rid of the old minister of sports for new blood the same is required for motorsports

please dont let them come back into managment of the sport anymore

Postby teems1 » June 4th, 2010, 8:01 am

That's reaching a bit.

Mainly Barcelona and Jerez are used because of their geographic location close to all the European factories, and the 2 tracks have all the characteristics of a modern F1 track.

Having testing in Spain makes for easier shipping/transport/communication.

Only recently in 2005/2006 did some teams start using Bahrain as a testing facility because they could guarantee dry weather. Often in Spain the weather was an issue causing precious testing days to be lost to extreme downpours.

Currently the entire western hemisphere only has 2 races (from 2012 3 with a race in Austin TX) and there are no F1 teams.

The logistics to use Trinidad as a testing make it much more expensive and troublesome, and would never get sanctioned by the FIA since they desperately want the teams to reduce costs.

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » June 4th, 2010, 9:08 am

why don,t some of the so called new blood motorsport enthausiast form a delagation,try and arrange a meeting with the new minister of sport and express your concerns and put foward some ideas for his consideration 8-) .

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » June 4th, 2010, 10:03 am

SR wrote:

Why?....

please dont let them come back into managment of the sport anymore

Postby Damien » June 4th, 2010, 11:05 am

Hirotoshi wrote:why don,t some of the so called new blood motorsport enthausiast form a delagation,try and arrange a meeting with the new minister of sport and express your concerns and put foward some ideas for his consideration 8-) .

it is easier for them to criticize :roll:

Postby Monk BANzai » June 4th, 2010, 11:53 am

Why?....

Like who? If these individuals were interested in having a say/making a contribution, why don't they step forward and make themselves heard? Like it or not, when most Trinis hear racing, Frankie/Cow etc come to mind first eh!

nah Dragon...i dotn think its liek that....i honesylt think that aprt from prolly Rawle mahabir and Jimmy Fifi, the majority of ppl in that line up eeda want something perosnally out of it or want t orecoup lost investments. This is not about experience in the sport from an ADMINISTRATION or BUSINESS standpoint.

I will always maintain that its great to see these guys on the track doing thier thing....but leave the business of running motorsport to the men that have the tact and whereitall to actually make an impact where it matters.....i sorry but yo really think a corporate person (outside of "he is meh fren with 14 truck and want to become a sponsor) will take men like Priest and other seriously? Have they had training in negotiations? Can they put on a suit, don some Bluewater colonge and go and rub shoulders with the "cheque writers" for an evening without getting piss drunk and bloating out stories of who dont like who?

really...look at those involved now..and be honest.....who will you give your 40K to invest in motorsport?

I have my doubts about Anil Roberts. Gary Hunt was MORE than just a fan of a sport..Gary was a participant (and very successful at that)....what makes Anil any different? Going up to Wallerfield and taking a tour (with free gatorade i might add....yu must go and take a tour Eteck....tour in Rosa bus under a/c and Gatorade or water...i digress) ..True Gary has his own wants and needs that he abused the ministry for (though his ministry is prolly was best branded Ministry right now....coming from a fashion background.....grrr i dgress again)...but at the end of the day, unless Anil has been given free reign to do certain things....motorsport will still have that "jackass"ness about it that, unfortunately WE give. THere is no finese to the business of motorsport in this land....

Example.

or...

now....can you see any of our locals having that finish to go see a MAJOR money player?

No. Look at the other aspects of motor-sport. Solodex....yes it to does have its "TTASAness" about it....but Ryan Pinehro Et al can represent at different levels. Same for Karting....Same for Rallying...and in fact...the business voice of Rallying is Jackie...a woman that does not participate in Rallying, but does an EXCELLENT job administrating and running the Rally Club.

Its ONLY in the drag racing and Circuit area that have this "drunk Indian" finish ...yes i said it..and allyuh know exactly what i talking bout...doh call no flecking "race" card here. We need men and women with PROPER business pedigree. Men and women who dont have any interest in racing persa, but rather a passion for business and taking it to the next level.

Dragon i not biting into you personally eh....i think that we all frustrated at some level. However, we cannot use that as an excuse for allowing the same trend to take place over and over again..

As for the F1 testing think.....yeah Teems1....lots of sense there....given the current world economic trend to cut back on spending, then I agree...

But what I do think is that we can develop a world class track here that can host our own Caribbean F1 series....a track that has all the staples and stamps of a world grade F1 track...

Effects? maybe...just maybe the major media networks will open dey eye and take interest....maybe have a Caribbean version of Top Gear, using the track to teach young kids the basics of driving..develop a new pedigree of Caribbean racer, more responsible driving tactics by the general public...make it MANDATORY that a certain level of driving skill be established....i mean Europe does it extensively..why not here?

yeah i know i just ranted...but its been a while....

Postby MG Man » June 4th, 2010, 12:26 pm

silly rasta
reading's for kids
this be tuner

De Bench

Postby De Bench » June 4th, 2010, 2:30 pm

Banzai have some good points about off season testing, but the problem with such a plan is logistics.
Trinidad does not have direct shipping to Brazil, which is the closest F1 circuit.
So the cost to "move" the kit may be prohibitive for testing.

However, it may be feasible to peruse a F3 circuit or touring car circuit.
There are loads of used F3 and touring cars up for sale globally.

While all these notions seems quite plausible or extreme we should remember that Trinidad is now entering the modern world of Motorsport.
We have many things to prove to the FIA and all other sanctioning bodies before we can even be considered to host a 5th rate international event.
One of the major splinters in TnT's race efforts will be safety.
This is not just a helmet, this matter is far bigger.
it includes the safety response of the track workers, the equipment used, the validation on such equipments etc...
The drivers/teams will have to conform, the validation of seats, helmets, race suits, harnesses, decibel levels, roll cage material and validation & so on.
This level of safety also applies to the pit crew of such teams.

it's not bad to wish and hope, but we have to be realistic on what we can do/get achieved.

Postby buzz » June 4th, 2010, 7:06 pm

Postby Monk BANzai » June 5th, 2010, 2:21 am

De Bench wrote:Banzai have some good points about off season testing, but the problem with such a plan is logistics.
Trinidad does not have direct shipping to Brazil, which is the closest F1 circuit.

While all these notions seems quite plausible or extreme we should remember that Trinidad is now entering the modern world of Motorsport.
We have many things to prove to the FIA and all other sanctioning bodies before we can even be considered to host a 5th rate international event.
it includes the safety response of the track workers, the equipment used, the validation on such equipments etc...
The drivers/teams will have to conform, the validation of seats, helmets, race suits, harnesses, decibel levels, roll cage material and validation & so on.

it's not bad to wish and hope, but we have to be realistic on what we can do/get achieved.

hmmm a abit of history...for those un-informed...

On May 1st 2007, then Minister Roger Boynes convened a meeting at the Ministry of Agriculture to look at alternative sites for Motor Racing. He then suggested we arrange a meeting with Mr. Gaylord Kelshall at the Military Museum to look at all of the landing strips that existed around the island. This was quietly arranged and Dr. Baboolal went by himself to Chaguaramas. When it was determined that this was not the agreed position, the PS Mrs. Farray arranged another meeting and Mr. Paul Newallo and Christopher Maharaj of the MSYA accompanied R. Mahabir to Chaguaramas to look at he strips. The only feasible one was Camden. It was also indicated that there was a very short strip in Frederick Settlement previously used by the crop dusters. Doh forget Mohammed Ali take some idiots here and say, we racing here in 5 weeks !!

Camden. Sept. / Oct. 2007: TTASA again went quietly by themselves and arranged with Mr. Boynes to get Camden for 1 year in the first instance. They also were given over $200,000.00 to quickly stage an event before Elections 2007. It is now history that during the 1-year usage of Camden by TTASA, many breaches of the agreement took place and TTASA was put out of Camden at the end of the year.

Waller Field. Around the period 2001 – 2003, TT Motorsport Federation (TTMF) came on the scene and using their own private funds, developed the Circuit track on the South Runway. When AutoSport was removed from using the North Runway and sent to the South Runway, AutoSport used its own funds to clean and develop the western end of the South Runway.

Then TTASA was given control over the South runway, and put some crazy demands on TTMF - TTMF refused to comply, and ceased having any events.

TTASA attempted to then charge AutoSport $5,000.00 for any event it wanted to stage – this when TTASA spent no money to do any development works. AutoSport did not pay.

Then Eteck decided that it needed the entire area, TTASA was evicted, the matter went to Court, and to speed up the process, Eteck paid TTASA approximately $500,000.00.

And we are here today. What are our experiences on trying to work with TTASA over the years and operating in Good faith with them?

Too much dam guinness and puncheon!

and NOW allyuh want to name teh new motorsport facility teh Frankie Boodram Motorsport Complex?

THE HELL!!!

zcarz

Postby zcarz » June 5th, 2010, 2:34 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
De Bench wrote:Banzai have some good points about off season testing, but the problem with such a plan is logistics.

On May 1st 2007, then Minister Roger Boynes convened a meeting at the Ministry of Agriculture to look at alternative sites for Motor Racing. He then suggested we arrange a meeting with Mr. Gaylord Kelshall at the Military Museum to look at all of the landing strips that existed around the island. This was quietly arranged and Dr. Baboolal went by himself to Chaguaramas. When it was determined that this was not the agreed position, the PS Mrs. Farray arranged another meeting and Mr. Paul Newallo and Christopher Maharaj of the MSYA accompanied R. Mahabir to Chaguaramas to look at he strips. The only feasible one was Camden. It was also indicated that there was a very short strip in Frederick Settlement previously used by the crop dusters. Doh forget Mohammed Ali take some idiots here and say, we racing here in 5 weeks !!

Camden. Sept. / Oct. 2007: TTASA again went quietly by themselves and arranged with Mr. Boynes to get Camden for 1 year in the first instance. They also were given over $200,000.00 to quickly stage an event before Elections 2007. It is now history that during the 1-year usage of Camden by TTASA, many breaches of the agreement took place and TTASA was put out of Camden at the end of the year.

Waller Field. Around the period 2001 – 2003, TT Motorsport Federation (TTMF) came on the scene and using their own private funds, developed the Circuit track on the South Runway. When AutoSport was removed from using the North Runway and sent to the South Runway, AutoSport used its own funds to clean and develop the western end of the South Runway.

Then TTASA was given control over the South runway, and put some crazy demands on TTMF - TTMF refused to comply, and ceased having any events.

TTASA attempted to then charge AutoSport $5,000.00 for any event it wanted to stage – this when TTASA spent no money to do any development works. AutoSport did not pay.

Then Eteck decided that it needed the entire area, TTASA was evicted, the matter went to Court, and to speed up the process, Eteck paid TTASA approximately $500,000.00.

And we are here today. What are our experiences on trying to work with TTASA over the years and operating in Good faith with them?

and NOW allyuh want to name teh new motorsport facility teh Frankie Boodram Motorsport Complex?

THE HELL!!!

Well yes, it was either that or the Duane Boodasingh Motorsport Complex

Postby Rooki3 » June 5th, 2010, 2:36 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

THE HELL!!!

Finally someone came out & said what actually was going on instead only talkin in code

now i understand why so much 2nrs detest TTASA

FACKING CROOKS

Postby SR » June 5th, 2010, 6:37 am

oh theres a lot more

lets talk about accountability for TTASA's successfull night nite drag event at wallerfield where they claimed they lost money

but the take at the gates were not tallied until a few days later and ticket stubs and money collected did not balance

ask TTASA why the secretary at the time demanded a response on the accountability and was brushed off

Postby Rooki3 » June 5th, 2010, 11:50 am

buzz wrote:

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

WTMC?

Postby Damien » June 5th, 2010, 6:06 pm

wtf...