Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » April 29th, 2010, 5:03 pm

Fishman wrote:
kss2801 wrote:
Fishman wrote:
kss2801 wrote:Fishman,
Tank is looking great. what kinda of lights u use? where do u get your coral?

Thanks man. I am using 2x250w MH ARO HQI ballasts with Phoenix bulbs. Supplimented with. a mix of 4 different 54W T5HO bulbs. Moonlights are varied intensity according to the current mooncycle by my controller. Not sure if the moonlights affects anything but it is cool to see.

I get coral from Santoo and Raj.

orrr, that's how you can keep a clam on your sand bed. that's a lot of light, you probably get a lot of growth, even from sps and the moonlights on a cycle are really cool.

Raj and Santoo don't have anything much now, they said probably next month.

Yeah I get good growth from the sps. The key besides light is to maintain the cal and alk levels. I also run a ULNS to bring out the colors.

I'm actually thinking of trying to dose amino's to push the color some more.

I haven't really looked into ULNS yet, but from what I've read, a lot of people who use it dose amino for that reason. do you have trouble keeping softies with such clean water?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » April 29th, 2010, 6:06 pm

kss2801 wrote:
Fishman wrote:
kss2801 wrote:
Fishman wrote:
kss2801 wrote:Fishman,
Tank is looking great. what kinda of lights u use? where do u get your coral?

Thanks man. I am using 2x250w MH ARO HQI ballasts with Phoenix bulbs. Supplimented with. a mix of 4 different 54W T5HO bulbs. Moonlights are varied intensity according to the current mooncycle by my controller. Not sure if the moonlights affects anything but it is cool to see.

I get coral from Santoo and Raj.

orrr, that's how you can keep a clam on your sand bed. that's a lot of light, you probably get a lot of growth, even from sps and the moonlights on a cycle are really cool.

Raj and Santoo don't have anything much now, they said probably next month.

Yeah I get good growth from the sps. The key besides light is to maintain the cal and alk levels. I also run a ULNS to bring out the colors.

I'm actually thinking of trying to dose amino's to push the color some more.

I haven't really looked into ULNS yet, but from what I've read, a lot of people who use it dose amino for that reason. do you have trouble keeping softies with such clean water?

I don't have any trouble at all but I am currently moving away from softies as I populate with more sps. I don't have the GSP's anymore so the only softy left is the leather which is thriving. I heavily overfeed though to compensate for the lack of dosing amino's and I think that it helps with the leather.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » April 30th, 2010, 10:16 pm

it must be cool to have to try to make your water dirtier.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 30th, 2010, 11:13 pm

Fishman, where u buy d powerheads dem and was d price?

netsket

Postby netsket » May 1st, 2010, 9:14 am

Fishman, I need some advice on the lighting

can the normal ballast for the fluorescent lights work?

or do I have to get a special ballast for reef tanks?

If so, what type or power ballast should I get?

thx

Fishman

Postby Fishman » May 1st, 2010, 4:01 pm

kss2801: LOL

Ryan99tt: I got them from the states. The brand is Ecotech Vortech, and the Model is MP40W. You can get them on most online retailers for reefs. They are US$420 for one and the reason for the high price is that they are more of a wavemaker than a powerhead. They vary the speed to create waves and sync with each other so that the opposite side is doing the opposite speed of the other. Also the motor is on the outside of the tank and only the prop is on the inside. They are coupled by magnetism so that you do not get the heat of the motor being in the water and also a cleaner look without wires. You can get used ones on reefcentral for a little less, but you must have at least 50 posts on that site before you can go into the buying and selling section of the forums.

Netsket: No flourecent ballasts will not work if you are planing to keep coral. The type of lighting that you use and also wattage will depend on what you are planning on keeping in terms of coral and also the depth/size of your tank.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 1st, 2010, 8:57 pm

Guys, im noticing one of my Bala Sharks is missing some scales on his side....1st time im ever seeing this from him...am i experiencing an ich outbreak? :|

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » May 1st, 2010, 10:17 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Guys, im noticing one of my Bala Sharks is missing some scales on his side....1st time im ever seeing this from him...am i experiencing an ich outbreak? :|

ich looks like little white spots on the fish. is there another fish that could be attacking it?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 2nd, 2010, 7:46 am

^I doubt....hes sharing the tank with another bala shark, 2 ID sharks and a columbian shark. he is also the largest fish in there

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » May 2nd, 2010, 8:56 am

Can you post a pic?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 2nd, 2010, 5:42 pm

^will try get a usable one...he's never still.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 2nd, 2010, 6:02 pm

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

^the couple white blotches on his back there are some scales that seemed to have come off also

link

Postby link » May 4th, 2010, 10:02 pm

'he' might be a 'she' ?? :idea:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 4th, 2010, 10:09 pm

^yeh i was wondering.....kinda plump ent? the other one is a lot more slender than this one.

AGENT RORO

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby AGENT RORO » May 13th, 2010, 7:22 pm

2NR Smurf, It looks to me as if it's just scale loss from abit of picking between the fish.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » May 14th, 2010, 6:42 pm

aye fellas wa going orn? long time, still in & out of it.... how things going? so any more discus men out here? thas wat i am into these days for the while.....

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 16th, 2010, 2:39 pm

i building a tank now. 6 feet x 3 feet wide x 2 feet high.

Freshwater though....got some arowanas, catfish and rays :)

will keep u guys posted :D

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » May 16th, 2010, 8:04 pm

b18b_turbo wrote:i building a tank now. 6 feet x 3 feet wide x 2 feet high.

Freshwater though....got some arowanas, catfish and rays :)

will keep u guys posted :D

Wayzzzz.... that's a nice size tank.
3 feet deep and 2 feet high. What thickness glass you using?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 16th, 2010, 8:16 pm

deep and high is the same thing...lol....

its 3 feet wide and 2 feet high.....costing me $2000 with 3/8" glass (Sump included)

do you think i should use thicker glass?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » May 16th, 2010, 10:17 pm

b18b_turbo wrote:^^

deep and high is the same thing...lol....

its 3 feet wide and 2 feet high.....costing me $2000 with 3/8" glass (Sump included)

do you think i should use thicker glass?

Well I am currently setting up a 72"x24"x30" Marine Tank.
And it's made of 1/2" thick glass. Real heavy but extra strong.
I would go 1/2" because of that size tank.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 16th, 2010, 10:23 pm

i was thinkin the same thing.........most likely i would use 1/2 inch yes....just to be safe...

ur tank is 30 inches high or wide?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » May 16th, 2010, 10:47 pm

30 inches high

haterforever

Postby haterforever » May 18th, 2010, 5:33 pm

anyone in need of a spare tank to temporarily keep fish in? i think its 26 x 12.5 x 12.5. will confirm when i go home. only issue with it is that its made out of cabinet glass. i'l upload pics ltr. anyone interested?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 18th, 2010, 6:28 pm

im interested....

i have real guppies lookin for a home....

marcuantearcop

Postby marcuantearcop » May 18th, 2010, 9:48 pm

Hey Fellow fish keepers!!!!!I'm From south,can you plz give me some of the best north side fish keepers who have a variety of cichlids! Im a cichlid fan but really looking to find these two.......havent seen them in years down my side.
red devil cichlid.jpg
red devil cichlid.jpg (1.57 KiB) Viewed 3093 times
Jaguar cichlid (Managuense).jpg
Jaguar cichlid (Managuense).jpg (2.74 KiB) Viewed 3093 times

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 18th, 2010, 10:37 pm

marcuantearcop you can check...

Nu Image, Valpark Shopping Plaza - 645-4847
Fishy Bizniz, Dinsley Village, Tacarigua - 755-8688
South Beach Aquariums, Grand Bazaar - 663-0836
Funky Pets, St. James and Trincity Mall - 640-5446
Chai's Exotics Ltd., Mausica Rd., D'Abadie - 642-7627

JM

Postby JM » May 19th, 2010, 1:54 am

Fishy Bizniz had some red devil cichlids I THINK a few weeks ago...
not sure tho...

And if u calling Grand Bazaar...dont let him tie up ur head on the phone or in person...

link

Postby link » May 19th, 2010, 5:30 am

no fair, man
the guy in Grand bazaar is both a businessman & a salesman.........he'll talk yr head off to sell u something.......
but he does hve some overseas cnxns...
marcuantearcop
there is also a place in freeport, quite down Sewdass road next to the WASA pump station. It's a huge commercial facility that's been virtually shut down to barebones operations (your mouth will drop open when u see the setup !!). It has a funny name -WASAMACKIE- and I've spelt it how I heard it because I don't what the correct thing is, but everybody around knows the place.
You can also reach there by way of the Freeport/Arena side where you pass by the Presto Presto Youth Camp.
Last time I was there (abt 1 1/2 yrs ago) he had a lot of nice cichlids.
rgds

link

Postby link » May 19th, 2010, 5:33 am

discus men
saw new shpmnt of 'blue' & 'tomato' discus at Charran's in Cunupia couple days ago......also, plenty kinds of 'sharks'
rgds

haterforever

Postby haterforever » May 19th, 2010, 11:31 am

haterforever wrote:anyone in need of a spare tank to temporarily keep fish in? i think its 26 x 12.5 x 12.5. will confirm when i go home. only issue with it is that its made out of cabinet glass. i'l upload pics ltr. anyone interested?

pic of the tank here showing the cabinet glass. thats the only issue. as i said its for temporary use, not a pretty tank. i got a few ppl interested in it. guess its who needs it the most. located trincity. pm for more info