Insurance problem

TheOne

Insurance problem

Postby TheOne » May 12th, 2010, 4:56 pm

Hi Guys any insurance tuners out there or any tuner lawyers.....I'm in need of some assistance.

I was involved in an accident in march for which the driver of the vehicle and the insurance accepted liability. I was advised that the insurance company namely..MotorONE gives alot of run around when it comes to reimbursement.

The adjustor came to view my vehicle on Friday 30th April, the following Tuesday I contacted MotorONE(after several failed attempts) and was told that the adjustors report would be complete in 2 weeks. I patiently waited for the 2 weeks and then contacted them again. The agent at motorONE told me that they(motorONE) accepted liability and to call back in 2 days and the settlement figures would be ready. I called after 2 days another agent told me that figures are only given at 3pm. I waited until 3pm and called again, the phone kept ringing and ringing, finally someone picked up and said, "sorry sir this is not the claims dep't, the claims dep't opens from 9am-3pm."

What am I do do now??? Run in there with a 3line and chop up they Mutha C@*t???

Are there any lawyers willing to take up cases like these or is this the usual run around when dealing with "small insurance" companies???

civic minded

Re: Insurance problem

Postby civic minded » May 12th, 2010, 5:01 pm

I called after 2 days another agent told me that figures are only given at 3pm. I waited until 3pm and called again, the phone kept ringing and ringing, finally someone picked up and said, "sorry sir this is not the claims dep't, the claims dep't opens from 9am-3pm."

LMAO!!!!!!

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 12th, 2010, 5:35 pm

Can any legal action be taken?

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 12th, 2010, 10:02 pm

Anyone??

Postby Damien » May 12th, 2010, 10:57 pm

yuh get played they lol, put on a marino and 3quarters and run in barefoot with 3line in hand and make sure and speak gunta problem solved

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 12th, 2010, 11:58 pm

I think there is something called an insurance Ombudsman
Not sure of the details
hopefully someone here does
There was a post about someone going that route recently when his car insurance wouldn't pay
not sure if it was here or on scoobytnt forums

dreadman

Postby dreadman » May 13th, 2010, 2:55 am

heard about d insurance ombudsman also but never had to go there

Bareback

Postby Bareback » May 13th, 2010, 8:34 am

1. Find their office address.
2. Drive there.
3. Park you car in such a way as to block the entrance.
4. Wait for uptight/ upset manager to come out.
5. Now you have your meeting.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 13th, 2010, 9:01 am

You do know that 2 weeks after Apr 30th is May 14th right?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 13th, 2010, 9:23 am

^^rofl

Bareback

Postby Bareback » May 13th, 2010, 10:11 am

This clearly is his first time around. Took me 3 months one time to get money from an Insurance company, and that was 3 months after they decided they were wrong!

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 13th, 2010, 6:03 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:You do know that 2 weeks after Apr 30th is May 14th right?

My apologies, got my dates mixed up the adjustor actually viewed the vehicle on April 23rd.

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:This clearly is his first time around

Yes this is my first time involved in any kind of accident.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » May 13th, 2010, 6:40 pm

You will get your money as i did, it took me 3 months to get it......First thing do not call they will not answer, if they say 2 weeks give them 3 and go to the office and speak to the person there. Note you cannot see anyone as there is reflective glass hiding them with so crack and holes but they will speak to you.
Once settled the amount they will tell you they need 14 working days to process the check.
The head office in in POS and only there they will do claim so you will run up there i few times, but they can send the check to the closest broker to you.

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 13th, 2010, 6:42 pm

Thanks man I appreciate the info

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 13th, 2010, 6:43 pm

motorone really does suck - most small insurance companies do... one setta run around for ur $$$

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » May 13th, 2010, 6:52 pm

aye allyuh doh bad talk motor one! them is the only ppl who wud insure a certain crash dummy tuner with a DC*! lol just joking! not even them wudnt insure him!

Postby rollingstock » May 14th, 2010, 9:16 am

^^^ Would u stfu

TheOne if you still get a problem you can locate the insurance onbudsman at the Twin Towers in pos, usually a simple letter from that office can gets things speeded up, in the meantime get a vat letter, must warn you, you'll take a loss as they never fully compensate you for the damages to your vehicle.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » May 14th, 2010, 10:55 am

mmmm u do know that its YOUR insurance's job to see about your vehicle, they in turn get reimbursed by the other party's insurance company. Meaning its there job to do all the running around, after they fix your vehicle.

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 14th, 2010, 12:11 pm

TriniVdub wrote:mmmm u do know that its YOUR insurance's job to see about your vehicle, they in turn get reimbursed by the other party's insurance company. Meaning its there job to do all the running around, after they fix your vehicle.

It is my understanding that they only do the running around if your car is insured Fully Comprehensive. Unfortunately my vehicle is not.

rollingstock wrote:TheOne if you still get a problem you can locate the insurance onbudsman at the Twin Towers in pos, usually a simple letter from that office can gets things speeded up, in the meantime get a vat letter, must warn you, you'll take a loss as they never fully compensate you for the damages to your vehicle.

Thanks man I will get a number for that office today.

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » May 14th, 2010, 3:32 pm

You need to make a report to the Office of the Financial Services Ombudsman (OFSO). This office was established by the Central Bank to handle complaints in relation to Banks and Insurance Companies. Go to www.ofso.org.tt to get contact information.

If the insurance company fails to settle your matter promptly and expeditiously, they will be fined and made to settle your matter.

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » May 14th, 2010, 3:36 pm

Contact Info for Financial Services Ombudsman:

First Floor,

Central Bank Building,

Eric Williams Plaza,

Independence Square,

Trinidad, W.I.

Tel: (868) 625-4835; 5028

Exts: 2650; 2657; 2681; 2685

Fax: (868) 627-1087

Email: info@ofso.org.tt

Check their website for the Compalints Process.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 14th, 2010, 4:33 pm

Organize a VAT exemption document one time. They will ask you for it.

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 14th, 2010, 6:36 pm

Great Info here guys..........

Invisible

Postby Invisible » May 14th, 2010, 11:07 pm

In the few accidents that I have been involved in I have never had the need to deal with the other party's insurance company. They accepted liability, and I went to my insurance company, filled out the necessary paper work, went to their adjuster and they repaired my vehicle. They then got reimbursement from the other party's insurance company. They have their lawyers to deal with that...that's what I'm paying premiums for annually.

My 2 cents

I stand to be corrected.

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 15th, 2010, 11:13 am

Invisible wrote:In the few accidents that I have been involved in I have never had the need to deal with the other party's insurance company. They accepted liability, and I went to my insurance company, filled out the necessary paper work, went to their adjuster and they repaired my vehicle. They then got reimbursement from the other party's insurance company. They have their lawyers to deal with that...that's what I'm paying premiums for annually.

This can be done once your car is fully comprehensive, unfortunately mine is not so I have to battle on my own....

driveshaft

Postby driveshaft » May 15th, 2010, 7:53 pm

u got to make some noise....as i did when a cement truck bumber scraped the broad side of my car....i finally got thru after abt 2 months of noise and run around....and getting paper wrk...vat letter etc.............just let them see ur angry face every day possible..........and threaten them with legal action

Invisible

Postby Invisible » May 16th, 2010, 11:54 am

TheOne wrote:
Invisible wrote:In the few accidents that I have been involved in I have never had the need to deal with the other party's insurance company. They accepted liability, and I went to my insurance company, filled out the necessary paper work, went to their adjuster and they repaired my vehicle. They then got reimbursement from the other party's insurance company. They have their lawyers to deal with that...that's what I'm paying premiums for annually.

This can be done once your car is fully comprehensive, unfortunately mine is not so I have to battle on my own....

No scene. Hope u do get through. Sounds like they worse than "Bounce & Leave"

Skanky

Postby Skanky » May 16th, 2010, 3:30 pm

Ah tell yuh dem beyotches is headache.Good luck boi T.

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 17th, 2010, 2:28 pm

I called the Ombudsman's office, very helpful....they give insurance company's 2 months to settle claims. You just have to fill out the complaint form and drop it in.. I done speaking with MotorONE!!

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 17th, 2010, 3:14 pm

they can't be worse than "Capital" punishment