Remy9

Postby Remy9 » May 5th, 2010, 3:36 pm

Sdiztiq

Postby Sdiztiq » May 5th, 2010, 3:44 pm

drunkenscorpion wrote:I am down to 2-3 cigs a day now, mainly due to this smoking law. I dont smoke during the day outside the building because I dont want to offend anyone, and actually I dont miss it at all. You can try cutting down if you can't stop all together, but if that is what you want to do, you need to change alot of habits, first being to stop liming in places and with people that you smoke with and around for a while.

I agree with this....try cold turkey and you need to change the company you be around, they will only influence the cravings more.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 5th, 2010, 3:47 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
I don't know what's so difficult about stopping. I smoked for about 5 years and then one day told myself I was going to stop and...I stopped.

Thats whats difficult about it.Try smoking for 17+ yrs and then tell yourself to stop

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » May 5th, 2010, 4:01 pm

i know the feeling when one drinks a few beers ,then the urge for the cigarette. the worst is in the morning. i does smoke the dunhill lights. i don't know if that helps. gona try to reduce to half a pack a day. then see where it goes from there. thanks for the advice funers 0X

scabs

Postby scabs » May 5th, 2010, 6:53 pm

As was said before! Buy the e-cigarette! I smoking for 15 years now an have been smoke free 1 month now thanks to that product. it works but you have to want to stop smoking or else youre cravings can get the better of u!

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » May 5th, 2010, 7:41 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
I don't know what's so difficult about stopping. I smoked for about 5 years and then one day told myself I was going to stop and...I stopped.

Thats whats difficult about it.Try smoking for 17+ yrs and then tell yourself to stop

whats so difficult about it ? i did it after 16yrs of smokin... dont worry ,, when ur coughing up the tar that caking the inside of yuh lungs, you'll quit

May 5th - 4 months 18 days Zero cigs

8-)

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 5th, 2010, 8:11 pm

Aug 28 will be make it two years of hard smoking.

it started off with bummin a smoke from meh padnas dem, to buyin meh own half pack of dumurier (look i smoke soo much ah dat sheit, and i not even sure of its spelling)

then it went to whole pack du murier wen i cudnt get half pack. it started to fcuk up meh throat, now gone to dunhill menthol as i thought it wud make me cut down.

but i smoking sooo much of that sheit it unreal now yes...

i tried to stop las aug 28. i made a 3/4 day.. and went back...

i NEED to stop this sheit!.

but as sumone above mentioned, its more of a routine ting.. coupled with the fact that once the stress level rises, your body tends to crave for the nicotine...

this is pure hypocrisy rite now yes, as ah dunhill in meh mouth rite now.. steupes...

will make up my mind soon bout the cold turkey approach.
that worked for an ole boy co-worker of mines.... after how many janums of over a pack a day, man decided on aug 28 las yr to stop... and dat was it...
it was a pact of his and mines to stop on that date. but i didnt succeed.

however the guy admitted he did smoke prob 2 cig to date. now he is totally off.

weight gain on him is obvious, and the jittery ting is real.... man is an electrician in work.. and start to wire up ting wrong side n sheit.. which is not in his character lol...

good luck to all and myself aswell.....

:cry:

sensiman

Postby sensiman » May 5th, 2010, 8:20 pm

Just think about impotency in your mid 40's due to blood vessel damage from smoking, that's a motivator.

I will do a proper article on making quitting easier when I get some time.

For those who at a pack a day and want to quit, you can consider zyban or Champix. If not the ecig in combo with 4mg gum along with a new habit to deal with the actual hand to mouth movement that a smoker has to break out of needs to be established.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » May 5th, 2010, 8:28 pm

i used to smoke and i quit ......u have to make up ur mind first .....then cut down gradually .......find a replacement like sugar free gums ........set a serious date like a birthday or newyears ........smoke plenty on ur last day an then quit ......try avoiding the scent of smoke for a while .....till ur body gets over the craving.......u mite end up buyin 1 or 2 retails when u drinkin ....den u will end up like me .....i Cant stand the smell of Cigarette smoke now.....i stop countin how long i stop now ..cuz i now i eh goin bak down dat road

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2010, 8:43 pm

I quit cold turkey. I smoked for about 9 years picked it up in school had liked the look of the Benson and Hedges gold pack seemed cool. Then went on to Du Maurier.

However I only smoked about half pack a day then I moved onto one pack.

I tried and failed a few times but managed to succeed nevertheless.
How I did it was I decided to go on a Diet and attempt to get in shape. Now that I exercise everyday burn about 1000 calories a day and drink plenty water. I suddenly have no urge for the nicotine what so ever.

I think there is something about exercise that takes it away I exercise for about 3 hours a day cardio.

Ow also very very very important. You must give up fast food and sweet food. Give up coffee man I could not drink coffee or any milk drink without having a nice light after :lol:

When I used to drink tea and coffee with processed sugar I could not quit. Then I switched to apples and oranges no sugar and this killed a lot of my nicotine crave I have no idea why it just did.
To quit smoking you also need to quit what you usually accompany cigarette with and I am betting thats all the best foods :lol:
Start a damn lot of exercise and I mean a lot and eat fruits and real healthy stuff and you will be amazed how easy it will be to quit. At first you will feel like the world is going to end you will be depressed like you can't even imagine. And after that first month you good to go.

However 6 months or even 2 years down the road you WILL be tempted to try another cig if someone smokes it around you and you smell it. You must at all cost stay far far away from the slightest amount of cig smoke for a few years.
I know people who quit for 3 years and started back smoking.

After 8 years your body will return to normal and if you do smell it, it will be very nasty and you will hate it. After 15 years a smokers chance of getting lung cancer will return to that of a non smoker.

Did you know most people who can't go on a diet is because their guts is stretched. So if they dont eat a barrel of food a day they will feel sick and depressed and all kinds of mental problems.

However if you got the balls to eat once a day very little food and like steam vegetables mostly and only water for a Month. Then you will realize where you could eat 5 Burgers now you can't even eat 1. You get filled with half and yeah I am talking about grown men LOL

Quitting unhealthy food and quitting smoking is very similar just as difficult.
But if you can manage to suffer for a month of feeling like sh!t you can easily solve your problems. Like anything in life you hadda work hard for what you want. Like Bruce Lee said the Mind is stronger than the body.
You have to want to quit and if you are not serious you will never quit.

Its just one month of torture and then easy sailing. Compare that to a stroke which you will get if you continue. And then you hadda suffer the rest of your life.

Smoking is a very very nasty habbit, the only benefit that smoking has is it helps control the overpopulation problem on the planet.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » May 6th, 2010, 8:11 am

today is 52 days since i quit, and boy all i have to say is my mind is evil only trying to convince me to just take 1 , i just got fed up of depending on cigs, at times stoping late at night and to buy putting myself at danger , i smoked a pack a day at least for 16 years and with in 2 days of quiting the area under my nail turned pink ... i just take one day at a time, celebrate every victory, i have so far purposly put myself in all my trigger situations it was hard but i made it.
btw tell everyone you quit and you will see how much help and encourage ment you will get.
e-cig did not help i used champix for about 8 days then missed about 4 doses inbetween then i quit

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » May 6th, 2010, 8:28 am

congrats man ..... :lol: :lol: look a Trinituner ex-smoker's support group yes,, lol

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 6th, 2010, 8:30 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Same here.. But I start back heavy now cooling down.. Half pack of smokes lasting me 2 days.. Which eh bad for someone who smoked a pack a day.. :D

Dunhill Black you SOB!! :x

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » May 6th, 2010, 8:38 am

cold turkey with bread and pepper sauce yo. bess way to quit smoking.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 6th, 2010, 8:41 am

^^ I eh understand.. Break down how that going to do dat :?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » May 6th, 2010, 8:44 am

I have been smoking since I was 15. I am 38 now. Do the math. I cant remember how many times I have tried to go "Cold turkey". Right now I only smoke on weekends. none during the week. I really fear the weekends now cause I want to stop. Gonna try the e-cig thing. Guess it all comes down to your resolve :|

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 6th, 2010, 8:48 am

Its more mind over matter than anything.. If you really wanna stop smoking you will.. The last time I stopped I bought a pack of Benson smoked half of one then looked at the pack crumpled it up and tossed it away. That was the end of it.. I didn't smoke for 4 years straight :|

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » May 6th, 2010, 8:52 am

illumin@ti wrote:congrats man ..... :lol: :lol: look a Trinituner ex-smoker's support group yes,, lol

when u iz a smoker, u does cough so Image

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 6th, 2010, 9:59 am

cutthroatInt wrote:it started off with bummin a smoke from meh padnas dem, to buyin meh own half pack of dumurier (look i smoke soo much ah dat sheit, and i not even sure of its spelling)

then it went to whole pack du murier wen i cudnt get half pack. it started to fcuk up meh throat, now gone to dunhill menthol

methol helps ease d throat ting, but nuttin else

i tryin Malboro's Fresh Mint now, it kinda annoyin but not enuff 2 stop

like d man sed, it's all about YOUR Resolve!

Postby crazybalhead » May 6th, 2010, 10:01 am

KURMAman wrote:cold turkey with bread and pepper sauce yo. bess way to quit smoking.

Yummy.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 6th, 2010, 11:33 am

I think I have to go the way of gradual reduction in consumption. of a pack per day.....that may be the only help for me......I buy by the cartons now and that is bothersome....

21+ years of this nasty habit.....

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 6th, 2010, 11:40 am

I buy by the cartons now and that is bothersome

Yeah kill dat one time.. Buy ony the half packs and try to make it stretch a day.. In your case that will be hell of a reduction. Then after that try a half pack do last 48hrs. Then from there you gonna feel for it less.

ECIGTT

Postby ECIGTT » May 6th, 2010, 12:26 pm

www.ecigtt.com - use the electronic cigarettes

Postby tr1ad » May 6th, 2010, 12:34 pm

look big J in d house.... passing tomorrow for stocks

ECIGTT

Postby ECIGTT » May 6th, 2010, 2:05 pm

no problem bro.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 6th, 2010, 11:40 pm

Picasso wrote:
I buy by the cartons now and that is bothersome

Yeah kill dat one time.. Buy ony the half packs and try to make it stretch a day.. In your case that will be hell of a reduction. Then after that try a half pack do last 48hrs. Then from there you gonna feel for it less.

yup, think I'll try that out, 'cause saying I'll make a whole pack last 2 days not working as I know that the cigs are there.....half pack it is!!!

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » May 7th, 2010, 8:25 am

illumin@ti wrote:congrats man ..... :lol: :lol: look a Trinituner ex-smoker's support group yes,, lol

I'm not a smoker nor have I ever been, so I don't have any advice for smokers or anyone trying to quit.

Choosing to smoke is your personal choice.............the problem is when your personal choice affects my health :?

To everyone who has smoked and quit, I've heard and can only imagine how difficult it was so to you a truly big and lungfelt CONGRATS :D :D :D

skindog

Postby skindog » May 7th, 2010, 12:39 pm

I went E-CIGG about a week ago an never looked back......

Postby bluesteel29 » May 7th, 2010, 1:01 pm

ECIGTT wrote:www.ecigtt.com - use the electronic cigarettes

ftw

any where in trini have blueberry liquid??

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » May 7th, 2010, 1:10 pm

cold turkey is the way to go...stopped like 1.5 yrs now...was hard at first, drank alot of lipton...it helps..lol...thing is ne ting with caffeine brings up the cravings, so stay away from that....i sometimes smoke if i'm under the influence, but dats jus on occasions...yuh need to free up sometimes..lol...ne ways if yuh trying to stop jus stay away from d caffeine!