Could internet posting be traced???

civic-hoe

Could internet posting be traced???

Postby civic-hoe » April 24th, 2010, 9:40 pm

postings on facebook from blackberry internet services., could this be traced?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 24th, 2010, 9:52 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » April 24th, 2010, 9:56 pm

the Blackberry Police will save you...

Re: Could internet posting be traced???

Postby redmanjp » April 24th, 2010, 10:08 pm

civic-hoe wrote:postings on facebook from blackberry internet services., could this be traced?

by who? face-book? your ISP? and traced meaning location or just IP address? they would already have the IP since thats how u contact website on the net, & they will know which country the person in & which ISP they using
this site can give that info http://network-tools.com/
- if they wanted to know the user then they will have to get that info from the ISP- of course yuh will have to report it to the police and if a crime was committed the they MIGHT investigate- but is Trinidad so doh be disappointed if nothin happen- until 25th May of course

civic-hoe

Postby civic-hoe » April 24th, 2010, 10:10 pm

thanks...

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 24th, 2010, 10:11 pm

Please keep it in one thread, and yes you can trace that but you'll need a computer specialist the likes of which are not at many people's immediate disposal.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 24th, 2010, 10:16 pm

pioneer wrote:yupp pioneer has a blackberry :?

there, mystery solved...

IBTL

Postby r3iXmann » April 24th, 2010, 10:19 pm

message facebook to get the IP (if they will give it to you)

make police report

submit to tstt and you'll get the location and phone number of the location the person was posting from

once you get the ip address,you good to go 8-)

Postby Trini Hookah » April 24th, 2010, 10:21 pm

r3iXmann wrote:message facebook to get the IP (if they will give it to you)

make police report

submit to tstt and you'll get the location and phone number of the location the person was posting from

i can see this plan stopping here, unless you have a close friend/family member relatively high in the service...

Postby r3iXmann » April 24th, 2010, 10:29 pm

no ^

i personally know people that went through the process

you just need to make a report and take that to tstt..police not going to do any investigation :?

civic-hoe

Postby civic-hoe » April 24th, 2010, 10:29 pm

r3iXmann wrote:message facebook to get the IP (if they will give it to you)

make police report

was looking on facebook , i dont see anywhere to email facebook

Postby buzz » April 24th, 2010, 10:33 pm

firstly i can't walk into the police station with simply an IP address

and secondly who's going through all that work here locally to pin point who's posting ?

BUT i dunno how exactly the BB service works so yeah i suppose you can pinpoint them with a IPv6 address perhaps ?

someone edmucate meh

Postby r3iXmann » April 24th, 2010, 10:38 pm

buzz wrote:firstly i can't walk into the police station with simply an IP address

and secondly who's going through all that work here locally to pin point who's posting ?

BUT i dunno how exactly the BB service works so yeah i suppose you can pinpoint them with a IPv6 address perhaps ?

someone edmucate meh

you don't go in with "just" an ip address to the police..you give a report of what happened (it's a formality) and take the report and the ip to tstt and then TSTT will find the person using the ip address

not rocket science

and it really isn't that hard to do an ip trace..how do you think those adultfriendfinder popups know what area you're in?

you can even trace where an email was sent from using email metadata

Postby Trini Hookah » April 24th, 2010, 10:42 pm

how do you think those adultfriendfinder popups know what area you're in?

I really thought she wanted a good time, i was now getting ready to go down Couva :cry:

Postby buzz » April 24th, 2010, 10:46 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
buzz wrote:firstly i can't walk into the police station with simply an IP address

someone edmucate meh

you don't go in with "just" an ip address to the police..you give a report of what happened (it's a formality) and take the report and the ip to tstt and then TSTT will find the person using the ip address

not rocket science

and it really isn't that hard to do an ip trace..how do you think those adultfriendfinder popups know what area you're in?

you can even trace where an email was sent from using email metadata

oh well i thought was simply an IP address BUT an IPv4 address ?

i thought those ads worked by lookin @ local subnet info (open for corrections)

and even if not, what if i use a hot spot ? then the only way to trace it back to me would be a MAC address not so ? and AFAIK MAC addresses don't pass through a gateway so i believe one would have to get access to the local (hot spot) ARP cache (again open for corrections)

Postby r3iXmann » April 24th, 2010, 10:58 pm

buzz, you're overanalysing

TSTT has all the technology, they're just not proactive

and if you have an issue like this, they will help you

i know two people personally (and a businessplace) that got justice like this..got the location and telephone number of the line the perps were connecting from

in any case, you can ask any of the admins of the other local forums on how they track down trouble users where necessary :wink:

Postby M_2NR » April 24th, 2010, 11:04 pm

r3iXmann wrote:in any case, you can ask any of the admins of the other local forums on how they track down trouble users where necessary :wink:

i thought they just PM Yeo?

Postby buzz » April 24th, 2010, 11:14 pm

r3iXmann, we go have to carry this discussion to PM at a later time

until then

stag time!1! :fadein:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2010, 12:18 am

corolla_2nr wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:in any case, you can ask any of the admins of the other local forums on how they track down trouble users where necessary :wink:

more or less yea :? :lol: :lol: :lol:
the great one never fails...ever 8-)

Postby M_2NR » April 25th, 2010, 1:09 am

ent!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 25th, 2010, 1:17 am

worksux101 wrote:
corolla_2nr wrote:

more or less yea :? :lol: :lol: :lol:
the great one never fails...ever 8-)

but yeo keeps demanding I come over and we put on katy perry and play with his taser.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2010, 2:33 am

the great yeo could taser u with a thought if he so desired..such is his ability..

I suggest u yield to his request with immediate effect..