Quality of People within recent times- Discuss.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Quality of People within recent times- Discuss.

Postby zodiaque » April 18th, 2010, 1:59 am

This thread is not meant to be a female bashing thread as I have used the opposite sex to bring across the point. It is not my intention to demean the female of my species in any way.

It is my observation (being high on red bull at this time) that the quality of girls now to say three or four years ago has dropped in Trinidad. By quality I mean character, values and looks et al.

A few years ago, a guy could have come across a nice girl who had good (relatively) values, with a charm and look that said "quality".

Nowadays, just a few years later, you would be hard pressed to find girls who have that combination. There always tends to be something lacking. Their values have gone out the door, their characters are not all that great and they have let themselves go physically.

I am not being bitter, I am just stating it how it seems to me and a few other people I have spoken with.

The same would be observed by girls in their view of guys. So what we are observing is really a drop in quality in the human race in Trinidad (the only place I can observe personally). Therefor, this makes it harder to find that "special someone" on both sides. This is resulting in many "by the way' relationships, relationships of convenience or no relationships at all. What has caused this?

Remember, no bashing. Just ideas on the topic.

Discuss.

Postby MG Man » April 18th, 2010, 2:10 am

this is why I not a geneticist
I;d find a way to sterilize the human race so that in about 3 generations the planet would be free of this plague of humanity

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » April 18th, 2010, 2:15 am

I would say the quality started to drop around the same time dancehall music started to change in quality

Postby MG Man » April 18th, 2010, 2:42 am

there was quality in dancehall????/

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 18th, 2010, 2:43 am

^ quandary, do you think the drop in people quality is directly related to drop in music and vice-versa? Do they influence each other?

Good observation.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » April 18th, 2010, 2:55 am

I do not know your age, to which your observation would be directly related to.
Either way, my opinion would be the following:

Trinidadian's are divided into multiple social groups that have an ever increasing religious or racial influence. This has been slowly evolving, but has accelerated over the past 15 years.

Just out of the question you ask, it would seem that you are caught between the way of the "old people" and the way of the "young people". Maybe you are in your late 20's or early 30's and as such you have a good feel for both sides as you have seen the changes. If you are younger than this you are probably not old enough to have observed the changes in Trinidadian society.

Our young people have been changed by what society has deemed to be acceptable and in Trinidad, unfortunately, what is acceptable is just about anything.

People are no longer concerned with each other's well being, or being courteous, being well spoken, polite, or in general they are no longer "well rounded".
It only gets worse when these same people start having children of their own and what then parents would consider to be acceptable socially.

Every body thinks for themselves, does business for themselves, helps no one else, hordes whatever in life makes them comfortable and only interacts if it suits them, or will not cost them. Sad but very true.

We are not really different to the rest of the world, but what does set us apart is the fact that we are and have always been very cosmopolitan and our society and social customs evolved from a collective and not from an independent and singular custom and tradition.

"Discipline Tolerance and Production"

I think it is safe to say that a Trinidadian is a text book definition of "Tolerant".
Discipline……..we have none.
Production…….for myself only.

"Let every creed and race find an equal place"

Only if that creed or race is far enough away so that I do not have to see or deal with them.

Our Society and by extension (not vise versa) our Government has the same mentality and leadership, as is very obvious, and is sadly lacking in quality. We are a "cleft" society, stuck in transition between being "pre-modern" and being "progressive" enough to become "modern".

So what does this have to do with your question?

Young people today have no time to be humane, sensitive, pay attention to normal and healthy relationships, or even pay attention to those relationships that are "good" but need to be committed to. Why should they if today's behavior is socially acceptable.
Making a living and enjoying life when you can is important, but loosing the idea that a strong and committed male / female relationship bears its own benefits to both and to society is wrong. Leadership by example, from us now, to being parents later on is what is missing..........good quality leadership.........not compromised by what is now socially acceptable.

As far as why looks may have declined?

I noticed this when Kentucky Fried Chicken changed their name to KFC, I think they may have changed the Colonial's secret ingredient.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 18th, 2010, 3:04 am

You hit the nail on the head with my age bracket. I am 27 (some say i am older than my age).

That was a very good write-up there CARVtech.We don't have time for courtesy any more, or good manners. If you speak properly and behave in a humane fashion you are actually now an outcast.

Also, with the time that has been freed with modern convenience, young people tend to feel bored in a proper relationship with potential to truly move forward. Its all about entertainment now. from a girl's perspective, a guy that quarrels all the time and puts you down, that's entertainment. From a guy's perspective, a girl that you can play and don't care much about but still hangs around, that's entertainment. True Love is dying to be replaced by debt to another person.

Relationship has become a mis-represented word and ideology now. What I personally know as a proper relationship is getting harder to find.

KFC? definitely a factor there, lol.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » April 18th, 2010, 3:13 am

not just in music in media as a whole print web tv movies and radio IMO
this tmz generation know everything bout they celebrity idols have poor role models and guidance plus they see crime pays and good guys dont win so why bother trying.

its not just a trini thing tho trust me i see it in saint Vincent, Montreal and Toronto but trini real surprise me tho it baddd

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » April 18th, 2010, 3:22 am

yeah carvtech yuh dead on with it. im a 1982 baby myself and me and a padn my age allways say same thing were the last good generation. i guess trini surprise me most cause i used to big it up so much out here (esp common courtesy) but after spending a few month in trini last year.... :| :| :( :( :(

Postby MG Man » April 18th, 2010, 3:23 am

CARVtech wrote:it would seem that you are caught between the way of the "old people" and the way of the "young people".

aint that the truth

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 18th, 2010, 3:41 am

i a late 80s child and fully agree with everything put forward so far :|
really really disappointing to be honest

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » April 18th, 2010, 4:41 am

Kinda off topic, kinda on topic.
I get chain up now reading this.

This was written in 2006 and was supposed to be a letter to the editor, but never made it.

“The Muppet Showâ€

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 18th, 2010, 7:37 am

I dunno bout the social aspects but....

when it have fellas like Banzai who find it ok for a girl ass to look like the road(cellulite) once it big and women start accepting that....is all downhill.

Same thing for stomachs....I see some women who belly have a belly and wearing navelbreakers too and men seem to like dat.....dat stinkkk

See I look at women like this.It's easy for a woman to have a nice phat ass all she hadda do it sit and eat sheit all day and don't take care of herself and voila...big thighs and arse that look like the road.Mentally though that points to all kinda 'problems'.....lazy,comfortable,not motivated..and that's not the kind of woman I want cuz those aspects translate throughout her life.Again this is Trinidad so mediocrity is the norm.

Now if you meet a woman with a fat arse that looks like the road and a lil stomach BUT she exercises regularly and eats well and generally takes care of herself....I interested.She takes care of herself so she is not comfortable,she is motivated,not lazy,smart and has goals for herself....and this translates well across other aspects of her life.

So basically how a woman looks to me tells a lot about the woman's character overall.....and honestly how a woman looks is less important that what her looks say about her.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » April 18th, 2010, 8:39 am

CARVtech wrote:
I noticed this when Kentucky Fried Chicken changed their name to KFC, I think they may have changed the Colonial's secret ingredient.

d spike

Postby d spike » April 18th, 2010, 9:27 am

Zodi buh why youz ah hater so only hating on we jus cuz we doin we ting you old and goin an ded soon you cyah unnerstan we ting cuz we young an ting jus pee an go in yuh bed nah better yet ded fas an stop wit de hate yuh only wasting good air an using clean water an taking up space your time over dis is our time an we run tings we rule peace

CARVtech, your first post is 'bang on de head' right. That's materialism for you - only the 'Me' is important, nothing else is.

MG Man wrote:this is why I not a geneticist
I;d find a way to sterilize the human race so that in about 3 generations the planet would be free of this plague of humanity

Working on this right now... hint, don't drink the water :lol:

Zodi, those with children will suffer the most. An old friend from Barrackpore took one look at my daughter, and asked me if I had acquired my shotgun as yet...
There are those not touched by the finger of these times, but you need to search well. I am an optimist trapped in a cynic's body, so I'd tell you to carry out your search with a good torch... and a sharp 'three-line'.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 18th, 2010, 10:36 am

all that the people need is JESUS
no God .... no quality ........

monkeyman

Postby monkeyman » April 18th, 2010, 10:46 am

Man i wish i was young again slap orn some rubbers and bull everything in sight :|

Postby buzz » April 18th, 2010, 10:53 am

Human race on the whole is on the decline... well morally that is

Postby wagonrunner » April 18th, 2010, 11:24 am

T.I. wrote:values is a disarrayed, prioritizing horribly.
Unhappy with the riches, cause your piss poor morally.
Ignoring all prior advice, and fore warning.
And we mighty full of ourselves, all of a sudden, aren't we?

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » April 18th, 2010, 11:50 am

Having values and morals is now considered to be backward thinking and unheard of. :|

Postby MG Man » April 18th, 2010, 12:06 pm

I disagree
you mubbe liming with the wrong crowd
I blame parents
the mentality of 'my chirren must have all the things I missed out on and do all the stuff I did not get to do' is breeding a whole generation of dumbfucks

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 18th, 2010, 1:05 pm

what shyt are u talking bro....you all treat women/girls like shyt/objects on this site,,,
and even each other...look at where some of the posts on this site goes??
if a new member logs in and it happens to be a female she is asked a whole lot of
questions which is degrading.. to any normal female..........

i can site tuner as a place to profile potential rapists....lol....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 18th, 2010, 1:16 pm

Good thing I start back going to church yes :| , don't even have to ask if eeet fat cuz everyting printing out like :shock:

Postby MG Man » April 18th, 2010, 1:31 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:what shyt are u talking bro....you all treat women/girls like shyt/objects on this site,,,
and even each other...look at where some of the posts on this site goes??
if a new member logs in and it happens to be a female she is asked a whole lot of
questions which is degrading.. to any normal female..........

i can site tuner as a place to profile potential rapists....lol....

I only provoke the ones who promote false advertising

d spike

Postby d spike » April 18th, 2010, 1:52 pm

I only provoke the ones who promote false advertising and practise on everyone else

fixed :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ronsin1 » April 18th, 2010, 1:59 pm

MG Man wrote:I disagree

I blame parents
the mentality of 'my chirren must have all the things I missed out on and do all the stuff I did not get to do' is breeding a whole generation of dumbfucks

I agreed with you 100% here

d spike

Postby d spike » April 18th, 2010, 2:13 pm

MG Man wrote:I disagree
you mubbe liming with the wrong crowd
I blame parents

I think kiamotors was using sarcasm to make a similar point, but I could be wrong. I quite agree with you, ya old bung, but what I'd like to ask you is why did these parents think this way?

Why is it that one generation should labour to ensure that benefits exist to further assist future generations, creating ideals and a work ethic... yet, despite the belief that demonstrated ideals are the best taught, this work ethic has almost entirely disappeared in one major ethnic group, and is fast disappearing in the others due to the influence exerted by the former group through the media and entertainment. The 'cool-pose' syndrome, as it is referred to by our present scholars, is affecting all our young people. The clashing of cultures has a negative effect on our society... take corporal punishment for example. Our society appreciates (and sometimes overdoes) this tool in child-rearing. However, the wholesale importation of western values/standards decries a good cut-arse as barbaric... so we cast it out the window in the school system - ensuring that children accustomed to doses of guava tonic are exposed to a system that does not allow this method of control. This gives rise to the assumption of a powerless authority (yuh cyah beat mih, wha yuh go do?) as the children do not consider what passes for punishment as such. Many children get the impression that they can control the teachers via fear of job loss. Discipline breaks down... and without discipline, learning cannot take place. So most schools that are "doing well" are either strongly supported by the majority of the parents (the only ones left who can assert true authority) or they are really on the brink of toppling into chaos.

urabus

Postby urabus » April 18th, 2010, 2:25 pm

interesting post zodiaque

reminds me of an article i read last week entitled, "the downside of 'friends' with benefits" http://edition.cnn.com/2010/HEALTH/04/1 ... index.html

people do not have much regard for others in today's society
but don't give up hope, there are a few good people around, just very hard to locate!

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 18th, 2010, 2:31 pm

you speak as if Trinidad has any choice of good men :S

Computerman

Postby Computerman » April 18th, 2010, 2:47 pm

CARVtech wrote:People are no longer concerned with each other's well being, or being courteous, being well spoken, polite, or in general they are no longer "well rounded".
It only gets worse when these same people start having children of their own and what then parents would consider to be acceptable socially.

Every body thinks for themselves, does business for themselves, helps no one else, hordes whatever in life makes them comfortable and only interacts if it suits them, or will not cost them. Sad but very true.

I've observed that most ppl in society care for only three people... "ME, MYSELF and I"!

Sumana.00 wrote:you speak as if Trinidad has any choice of good men
I can introduce you to one. He is well educated, has a good job, is good looking and in top physical shape. He is not married (he is not a 'playa'). He will be leaving T&T in the near future.